The 4 in a row

Campaign looks like a

Wicklow, Offaly Vs Dublin

Offaly/Wicklow/Dublin v Longford/Meath

Kildare or Westmeath prob in a Leinster final unless Longford Meath or Wicklow, Offaly beat Dublin.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 19/10/2017 21:34:27    2056367

Replying To Crinigan:  "Im sure Dublin will win another 40 All Irelands. Given their advantages, what else should we expect? Who cares anyway. Nobody will be watching. Its time ye all realised that intercounty football is finished."
It's actually not that popular in Helsinki....

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 19/10/2017 21:42:33    2056373

Handy draw for Wicklow.

sponger (Wicklow) - Posts: 2897 - 19/10/2017 21:48:53    2056377

Replying To Offside_Rule:  "Saying Mayo compete consistently with Dublin is like saying Gatlin competed consistently with Bolt. And we know how that consistently worked out....."
Since Gatlin beat Bolt in his final race I'm guessing what you're saying is that Mayo are going to win the All Ireland this year?

SamandLiamSoon (Galway) - Posts: 588 - 19/10/2017 21:49:44    2056379

Jimbo - why are you bringing Donegal and Kerry in to it - they weren't mentioned in my post, it was only Dublin and Mayo. Gatlin, like Mayo, has won a few and ran Bolt close in others but for the main part Bolt, like Dublin, was in his head and picked up gold when it mattered.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 19/10/2017 22:26:16    2056405

Since Gatlin beat Bolt in his final race I'm guessing what you're saying is that Mayo are going to win the All Ireland this year?

SamandLiamSoon

Unfortunately I don't write the script.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 19/10/2017 22:32:24    2056409

The championship is boring now. Just give Dublin the leinster title and a bye into the super 8. I'd also back them for 4 in a row.

Bring on the hurling. The real Irish sport.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 19/10/2017 22:59:48    2056415

4 in row won't be as easy this time ry.

oakleafersir (Derry) - Posts: 808 - 19/10/2017 23:32:04    2056422

Dear oh dear, the white flagging of some Kerry and Meath posters is pathetic, what will ye all do when we eventually get beat, hide them behind your back and say, "what white flag, I didn't have a white flag". I notice very little moaning from the Mayo lads, the one team that will not wave that flag.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8584 - 20/10/2017 00:08:52    2056428

Replying To realdub:  "Dear oh dear, the white flagging of some Kerry and Meath posters is pathetic, what will ye all do when we eventually get beat, hide them behind your back and say, "what white flag, I didn't have a white flag". I notice very little moaning from the Mayo lads, the one team that will not wave that flag."
Exactly. Far too much moaning. Dublin's dominance should be something that motivates people. Liverpool looked invincible back in the 80's until Alex Fergsuon came along and famously declared he was gonna knock them off their f****** perch! Now I know it's different in soccer. You can trade players to strengthen your team. But a bit of sheer bloody mindedness coupled with talent and an astute plan can take any team down, including Dublin. 'Traditional' counties like Meath and Cork have been wallowing in mediocrity for years. Time to get the finger out, stop blaming outside factors and get the houses in order.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9115 - 20/10/2017 09:06:12    2056451

Replying To Damothedub:  "Couldn't agree more , I don't enjoy paying my hard earned few bob in to watch a team roll over , and there are teams beaten coming down the tunnel , thankfully Mayo are not one of them while they have been ridiculed by many for not getting over the end line no one can say they were beaten before the ball is thrown in , that's the reason for a long time now Leinster has been as shi7 as it has been teams rolling over , at least Kildare showed a bit of a spark this year ,
Forget Dublin any team winning big games by one point is there for the taking , now going and doing it is another thing altogether to talking about it."
Attitude within a county can be changed. James Horan changed the landscape of Mayo football. His aim when he came in was to make Mayo consistently competitive. Now having the players to do that helps. Mayo have been there or thereabouts since 2011...semi or final stage. The kick in the teeth for us, is we have not won an All Ireland...yet....nobody is throwing in the towel.

The days of getting hammered out the gate by the likes of Kerry or Cork in Croke Park are hopefully long gone. IF you make yourself competitive and never give up, you can get over the line eventually.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 20/10/2017 09:37:15    2056462

Replying To yew_tree:  "Attitude within a county can be changed. James Horan changed the landscape of Mayo football. His aim when he came in was to make Mayo consistently competitive. Now having the players to do that helps. Mayo have been there or thereabouts since 2011...semi or final stage. The kick in the teeth for us, is we have not won an All Ireland...yet....nobody is throwing in the towel.

The days of getting hammered out the gate by the likes of Kerry or Cork in Croke Park are hopefully long gone. IF you make yourself competitive and never give up, you can get over the line eventually."
Your right Yew_tree
Gilroy is taking a similar approach with the hurlers , for all his faults and lord knows I wasn't his biggest fan but Jimmy did something similar with Donegal , you have to have the head and heart sorted you still may not win but at least your taking to the pitch with the right approach.

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 20/10/2017 10:45:03    2056482

Replying To realdub:  "Dear oh dear, the white flagging of some Kerry and Meath posters is pathetic, what will ye all do when we eventually get beat, hide them behind your back and say, "what white flag, I didn't have a white flag". I notice very little moaning from the Mayo lads, the one team that will not wave that flag."
Mayo remind me of the knight from monty pythons holy grail where he's had his two arms cut off and one of his legs and he's still bouncing around trying to fight saying it's only a flesh wound, I mean it's gotta cut deeper than that for Mayo fans .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 20/10/2017 11:25:50    2056495

Replying To Damothedub:  "Your right Yew_tree
Gilroy is taking a similar approach with the hurlers , for all his faults and lord knows I wasn't his biggest fan but Jimmy did something similar with Donegal , you have to have the head and heart sorted you still may not win but at least your taking to the pitch with the right approach."
Jimmy's biggest achievement was completely changing the mindset of a group of talented but underachieving players. The legend goes that in his first team meeting he told them they'd win Ulster that year and the 2 All Irelands within the next 4 years. I'd say there were some incredulous looks around the room that day but by Jesus they nearly did it.

There are talented footballers in every county. Others have obvious advantages over others, bigger populations, resources, traditions etc. But with the right attitude and focus teams should be performing to a greater level than they are.

Teams that I think can & should be capable of challeging for All Irelands more regularly:

Cork, Galway, Meath, Kildare, Donegal, Tyrone.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9115 - 20/10/2017 11:49:26    2056518

Mayo remind me of the knight from monty pythons holy grail where he's had his two arms cut off and one of his legs and he's still bouncing around trying to fight saying it's only a flesh wound, I mean it's gotta cut deeper than that for Mayo fans .

Ha :-)

Come back here and take what's coming to you... I'll bite your legs off!!!

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 20/10/2017 12:11:22    2056527

Replying To Gaillimh_Abu:  "Why is it that Mayo are able to push Dublin to the absolute limit every time they play them in the championship, yet about half a dozen teams that would fancy their chances against Mayo simply roll over and play dead at the sight of a Dublin jersey? I am sick and tired of hearing people moan about Dublin's advantages with their population and finances. If Mayo can compete with them on a consistent basis, why can't others? As long as so-called top teams go out with an attitude like Tyrone had in their absolutely shameful and pathetic performance against the Dubs, then Dublin will continue to dominate for years to come."
Hear hear. Exactly right - if Mayo can push the Dubs to the wire, then surely there's a number of other teams who can at least give the Dubs a game. Not failing to show up like Tyrone who were a total embarrassment.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 20/10/2017 13:14:11    2056549

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Mayo remind me of the knight from monty pythons holy grail where he's had his two arms cut off and one of his legs and he's still bouncing around trying to fight saying it's only a flesh wound, I mean it's gotta cut deeper than that for Mayo fans ."
2014 cut deeper than any result against dublin.
If it was replayed in Croker ive no doubt we would have won, but limericks short pitch allowed you to squeeze us.
All ireland for kerry in 2014 has covered over alot of cracks and it falsely confirmed your over-all status as a top 2 team , and we had to wait 3 years to set the record straight.

Vishred (Mayo) - Posts: 303 - 20/10/2017 22:35:46    2056716

Replying To Offside_Rule:  "Mayo remind me of the knight from monty pythons holy grail where he's had his two arms cut off and one of his legs and he's still bouncing around trying to fight saying it's only a flesh wound, I mean it's gotta cut deeper than that for Mayo fans .

Ha :-)

Come back here and take what's coming to you... I'll bite your legs off!!!"
That's the one :-)
I must get that film and watch it again.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 21/10/2017 00:58:43    2056726

Replying To Vishred:  "2014 cut deeper than any result against dublin.
If it was replayed in Croker ive no doubt we would have won, but limericks short pitch allowed you to squeeze us.
All ireland for kerry in 2014 has covered over alot of cracks and it falsely confirmed your over-all status as a top 2 team , and we had to wait 3 years to set the record straight."
That day in 2014 in limerick was best craic I've ever had at a match, I knew we would win it , I just had that feeling all the week.

I never felt so comfortable at a game even when we were 7 points down , I didn't realise it was going to be such a classic though, and I remember leaving limerick that day thinking we'll beat the dubs but instead we had to beat Donegal.

Great memories.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 21/10/2017 01:07:07    2056727

When Dublin are eventually beaten it will just be another meath vs Dublin in 2010 scenario. It will motivate Dublin more and you'll go onto win another 4/5 in a row until you eventually lose. This sport has no future when the county with all the natural advantages gets all the resources.

It's amateurs vs professionals and there's really nothing to be proud of regarding Dublin. You're just doing what's expected of you.

BTW can't wait to see Dublin do the 8 in a row in leinster next year. Such excitement.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 21/10/2017 06:01:46    2056730