Testimonials for individuals - in the GAA?

Replying To Breffni39:  "link

No doubt the legal advice will be "yerra that's life"."
Its double standards really in my opinion from the GAA, they even go on to acknowledge "under the counter" payments etc.

Its very clear a blind eye is turned to a degree. Its approaching a time were they are going to have to make a definitive stand one way or the other, but there are already established informal practices they will have difficulties realing in. I suspect its a very delicate area for the GAA as citizens have rights, the country has laws.

I suspect the GAA dont have a right or the jurisdiction to stop a player trading their image, profile or the rights to it, which is what i see Gooch doing here.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 13/10/2017 11:34:52    2055017

Modern Ireland is based on money and individualism. The amateur, community-based GAA is counter-cultural.
If amateurism goes, the GAA will then have been downgraded from being a focus for community cohesion to being just another vehicle for passive entertainment.
Currently, a winning team is only the tip of a big amateur iceberg. Kerry, for instance, keep on winning, not just because they have many fine players, but also because the community is united in a common purpose behind them. There's something genuine in a common endeavour that brings people together and brings out the best in people; and you'll never replicate that by having a handful of fancy pro county/regional teams while the rest of us sit on our sofas with a bag of tinnies and a remote control.
The pro pay-for-play "reformers" talk about how the GAA "needs" to "embrace" professionalism and then it'll be "even better". Sure, better for players who would have more time for training and better for TV audiences; but any such fracturing into active professional elite and passive amateur consumers would represent a victory for the market over community.
Cooper's brilliance was nurtured and facilitated by unseen and unsung work by an infrastructure built by amateurs and volunteers and by great people in Kerry who gave freely of their time - former players, trainers, club administrators, team mates. No one begrudges anybody getting some money, but the principles that get lost are the unfashionable ones of equality and fairness.
Once you start saying that a big star deserves money for being a member of the GAA, then, logically, so does everyone else, to some extent. Where, exactly, do you draw the line? Star players only? Forwards only? First team only? County players only? Club payers also? Squads? Div I teams only? They guy who mans the gate and repaints the white lines? The people who wash the kit? The old bloke who has done the line every Sunday for the last 30 years? The guys who has given up his family time to knock on umpteen thankless doors selling raffle tickets for the new stand? At some point, if some people are paid to be in a club, whether as player or non-player, and some aren't, you're into a cultural death spiral. Why should you put in time for nothing if some other joker is getting paid for doing similar?
Comparisons with people getting paid for writing a book or doing punditry miss the point. You write a book about your life; if your life involved the GAA, so what; that's your business. You're being paid for the book, not for being a GAA player. Or if you're a GAA pundit being asked to do a job by RTÉ, how could you be a GAA pundit without having played the game?
The issue here is *whether you should be paid for being a GAA member - whether player or non-player*.
Joe Brolly gets paid for punditry. I am not aware that he ever got paid simply for being a player.
And of course the GAA takes in sponsorship money. I don't have an issue if it's re-invested in the Association. Nor do I have an issue with the GAA playing people to bring in skills at HQ (finance, marketing) or at club level (trainers) that volunteers might not be able to provide themselves. Will there be corruption? Sure; I'm not that naïve; but there's a distinction between an amateur principle, even if its poorly adhered to, and a straightforward abandoning of amateurism and going with full-on professionalism.
You couldn't rule out a two-tier GAA developing; amateur clubs and a handful of pro county teams, essentially playing two different games.
The amateur, community-driven, pride-of-place GAA that we have is perhaps the best thing about Ireland. It'd be sad to see it go; and I'm not optimistic that it can be preserved in a selfish "selfie" culture as up-its-own-arfe as ours has become.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 13/10/2017 13:27:32    2055046

Again though lads

Players are making a lot of money trading off their profile off the pitch these days

What's the difference here?

The sport really isn't amateur.. the physical playing part yes but off the pitch high profile IC players are capable of making a very good living trading off their celebrity

So I see no issue with the Gooch making a few quid with the bulk going to some very worthy causes..

Hope it rakes in a small fortune for those charities and the funds go to great use

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 14/10/2017 07:54:35    2055195

Replying To Pope_has_spoken:  "People acting as if it's a one way street, that Gooch has done so much for the GAA and the GAA has done nothing for him in return. I think he's done okay for himself on and off the pitch. Book deal, job with the Examiner, a job with RTÉ, etc. And people seem to think that the GAA are slave labourers. There's no contracts, no one forces you to do anything, you don't have to get up at 5.30am to go training before work, you don't have to drive cross country after work to go training, you do it because you love it and if you don't, you don't have to.
I personally don't agree with this testimonial because a) why demand so much money per table? It's for one guy. And who wants to pay €500 for a dinner exactly? Play a testimonial match or something. And b) It's like asking to be rewarded for playing an amateur sport.
What should happen in my opinion is a team of a particular era, like the Kerry/Tyrone teams of the 00's, the 4 in a row Kilkenny team or the present day Dublin team, the Cork lady footballers, they should have some sort of testimonial to celebrate their achievements, as a team. But hey, that's just my two cents. ~ PHS"
It's always a difficulty within club and county.... How did we acknowledge the team and their success. With Colm we gave a player going on his own.... This is a first ! Clubs and counties have acknowledged success by a dinner and in the case of All Ireland wins perhaps a holiday. This has been accepted as due recognition by players and teams up till now. The GAA community has helped finance these dinners holidays etc. Hard to see how it will respond to an individual into the future. Personal gain has not been part of the ethos of the GAA in the past. Colm has challenged the while thing. Interesting times !

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1820 - 14/10/2017 11:56:59    2055222

if it's not okay for players to earn money out of the game then why is it okay for administrators to earn money out of it?

centerfield (Mayo) - Posts: 360 - 15/10/2017 09:44:37    2055318

Centrefield - administrators run the games and ensure the organisation runs smoothly! They are essential for the organisation to work!

Without them we would be in the dark ages and would fold in a matter of weeks.

They do not make money from the games - they run the games and are an essential core to the GAA.

In Carlow we have about 3 people who run the games and work as coaches. They are paid and without them we would be in trouble.

The brave decision to employ coaches in Leinster came around 25 years ago and it has kept the GAA relevant and up there as the number one sport in the country. Without their hard work our clubs and counties would be all the poorer.

Coaches and some of them are being paid and that is a very real issue that has not yet been addressed fully by the GAA. And when it is addressed - there will be some fun then!

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1820 - 15/10/2017 18:46:19    2055395

Replying To jimbodub:  "Again though lads

Players are making a lot of money trading off their profile off the pitch these days

What's the difference here?

The sport really isn't amateur.. the physical playing part yes but off the pitch high profile IC players are capable of making a very good living trading off their celebrity

So I see no issue with the Gooch making a few quid with the bulk going to some very worthy causes..

Hope it rakes in a small fortune for those charities and the funds go to great use"
I agree.
The corporations involved in this are using Gooch's celebrity to promote themselves the same way say a crisp company is using Bernard Brogan's celebrity to promote their product.
Both will get paid. I don't see any difference or have any issue with it.

Also, people should take more issue with what players are actually endorsing.
I've been eating crisps since I saw that King of the Hill billboard and I still look nothing like Brogan.

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 17/10/2017 11:28:16    2055711

Wonderful article by Michael Quirke in today's Irish Examiner pointing out the hypocrisy of Barrister Brolly from whom one expect far more than the Tabloid like article that he wrote for the Sunday Independent Let's face it life moves on --the Ban---,Ads on Jersies , remember the Cork 'scandal' of the 70s? tapes on nix-- the opening of Croke Park -- So thetime has come for GAA celebrities to be celebrated and maybe more thought given to how the funds generated should be spent But it is slightly unfair that the name and reputation of Colm Cooper be dragged through the mire A sportsman who played the game and not even in retaliation descended to the level of unsporting behaviour employed against him Long live the Gooch

37sowhat (Sligo) - Posts: 752 - 17/10/2017 12:49:38    2055730

Lovely picture on hoganstand of the killeavy under ten manager and senior footballer Raymond Teggart being mobbed by his young players after winning the Armagh Intermediate title. Absolute class.

salvador (Roscommon) - Posts: 439 - 17/10/2017 18:23:19    2055828

Replying To 37sowhat:  "Wonderful article by Michael Quirke in today's Irish Examiner pointing out the hypocrisy of Barrister Brolly from whom one expect far more than the Tabloid like article that he wrote for the Sunday Independent Let's face it life moves on --the Ban---,Ads on Jersies , remember the Cork 'scandal' of the 70s? tapes on nix-- the opening of Croke Park -- So thetime has come for GAA celebrities to be celebrated and maybe more thought given to how the funds generated should be spent But it is slightly unfair that the name and reputation of Colm Cooper be dragged through the mire A sportsman who played the game and not even in retaliation descended to the level of unsporting behaviour employed against him Long live the Gooch"
I have to say I'm against the Gooch doing this but the above article did make me think. I remember Kerry getting into a world of trouble because they didn't wear O'Neills jersies for the 1982 final. Then they were in an ad in the papers for a washing machine which drew the wrath of the powers that be. Maybe in 10 years time this will be the norm. But to me it just doesn't feel right. So I won't be supporting it. The fact that I could probably not even afford the starter on the night is a happy coincidence!!

FootblockREF (Monaghan) - Posts: 563 - 18/10/2017 13:26:24    2056001

Replying To Superglue:  "I agree.
The corporations involved in this are using Gooch's celebrity to promote themselves the same way say a crisp company is using Bernard Brogan's celebrity to promote their product.
Both will get paid. I don't see any difference or have any issue with it.

Also, people should take more issue with what players are actually endorsing.
I've been eating crisps since I saw that King of the Hill billboard and I still look nothing like Brogan."
That's funny , me too and I've tried the salt and vinegar and the cheese and onion every day for a month.
Think I'm starting to look more like Bernard Manning though.
Bloody false advertising.
Sure look it's all about the cheese at the end of the day.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 18/10/2017 19:15:18    2056080