Vinny Murphy, a bit of fun on Up for the Match

Watching Up For The Match Vinny Murphy provided much amusement but not in a good way.

When i was in college we trained in Santry some nights and the Dubs trained there the other nights. Back in the mid 1990s. Vinny always turned up on the wrong nights!

Saturday night he said his first all-ireland was 1975 and he got lost. He then proceeded to say he actually wasn't born in 1975. Only to correct himself a minute later saying he was born around 1969 or 1970!

Des Cahill asked him what present day Dublin players he would like to play football with and Vinny replies 'what team?'. He made a few other comments that were all over the place and then apologised for coughing as he had given up cigarettes!

Was it just me or did anyone else find Vinny's behaviour a bit bizarre?

Poor oul Dicey Reilly!

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 20/09/2017 22:27:57    2048812

Charlie redmonds bleedin'arts club

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 20/09/2017 23:39:31    2048838

A light hearted programme. Thought his comment about not being born in 75 was a joke in that "I am obviously much younger"type of thing. Wouldn't describe it as bizarre, the whole programme and questions are all over the place.

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 21/09/2017 07:29:41    2048857

He's good value on Twitter

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12116 - 21/09/2017 10:43:12    2048918

I think they should add Charlie next year too it would be a great comedy double act :-) ;-)

belmay (Mayo) - Posts: 172 - 21/09/2017 11:11:31    2048929

Compared to John Mullane on the hurling ..Vinnie was fine, a bit of fun and an inspirational character on or off the field. His time in Kerins O Rahillys in Tralee saw huge growth in Underage for that club.

hurler32 (Limerick) - Posts: 867 - 21/09/2017 11:26:27    2048943

Bomber Liston talked about him highly, he thought it was mad Murphy wasn't getting a shot on the Kerry team back then
That would have been something else, a Dub on the Kerry team!!!

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 21/09/2017 11:53:22    2048952

This is a good read:

https://www.buzz.ie/sport/long-read-fab-vinnie-will-always-be-king-of-the-hill-232588

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12116 - 21/09/2017 11:56:26    2048955

I'm doing the man a disservice. I didn't know he played for the Kerry hurlers. Knew about the football trial alright.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 21/09/2017 13:12:19    2048989

Replying To poguemahone:  "A light hearted programme. Thought his comment about not being born in 75 was a joke in that "I am obviously much younger"type of thing. Wouldn't describe it as bizarre, the whole programme and questions are all over the place."
But he said i got lost at the 1975 all ireland as a child but i wasn't born then?! That's not exactly a joke in my book Pogue!!

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 21/09/2017 14:17:28    2049014

Replying To Laois76:  "But he said i got lost at the 1975 all ireland as a child but i wasn't born then?! That's not exactly a joke in my book Pogue!!"
You are just to hard to please Laois76..i personally can see Vinny Murphy and Bill Connolly working together ! And no i don't mean community service !

Think Uinseann Ó Murchú may have been tad bit nervous plus i would say their was a good bit of bubbly handed out to all involved at Up For The Match !

But a good show and i thought Vinny was just being Vinny a good character..

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 875 - 21/09/2017 14:53:11    2049033

Replying To Laois76:  "But he said i got lost at the 1975 all ireland as a child but i wasn't born then?! That's not exactly a joke in my book Pogue!!"
Jaysus, ye made me watch it again. :)

He says that he got lost at the "75 final. Des C asks "what age were ye then?". Vinny says, "I was 5...eh, I wasn't even born then" and laughs. Then in a more serious tone he continues" I was actually 6.". The lad was in control, trying to inject a bit of humour to the show.

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 21/09/2017 18:01:40    2049098

I played against Vinny. He reffed those games too. A Wednesday evening in Fr Collins Park wasn't for the faint hearted.

themaddog (Wicklow) - Posts: 130 - 21/09/2017 20:29:29    2049152

Just watching the 92 final here on eirsport. Vinny was a colossus of a full forward. As Good as u would ever see under a high ball. Also for anyone who thinks Tyrone invented swarm defence, watch Donegal 92!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 21/09/2017 21:51:13    2049186

While I don't like it I can understand people having a pop at Charlie as he has lead with his jaw and not for the first time , but talk about putting two and two together and coming up with five , some people need a serious head test , a bit of humor by someone who is not trained in a profession to be in front of the cameras I know it's too much to ask of people to see things with a balanced head but this thread is the biggest joke of all

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 22/09/2017 00:10:43    2049216

Replying To Laois76:  "I'm doing the man a disservice. I didn't know he played for the Kerry hurlers. Knew about the football trial alright."
Ah lads, who can forget the chants when he came on a sub

'Vinnie's going to get you'

He's a character, but since he is a Dub well....

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 22/09/2017 16:27:44    2049391

Replying To Damothedub:  "While I don't like it I can understand people having a pop at Charlie as he has lead with his jaw and not for the first time , but talk about putting two and two together and coming up with five , some people need a serious head test , a bit of humor by someone who is not trained in a profession to be in front of the cameras I know it's too much to ask of people to see things with a balanced head but this thread is the biggest joke of all"
Damothedub: 'some people need a serious head test , a bit of humor by someone who is not trained in a profession to be in front of the cameras I know it's too much to ask of people to see things with a balanced head but this thread is the biggest joke of all'

Just reading this now. Because i don't find Vinny funny, the next Billy Connolly i need 'a head test'?

It was a nothing thread i should never have started, in hindsight. Still a poster should be able to make a trivial opinion comment without such abuse. You're all compliments when i post against Dublin begrudgery but your comments here were a bit of an eye opener.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 25/09/2017 11:43:13    2050253

Replying To witnof:  "Ah lads, who can forget the chants when he came on a sub

'Vinnie's going to get you'

He's a character, but since he is a Dub well...."
No witnof for me the initial post on Vinny had nothing to do with him being a Dub. I love Dub wit.

I opened a thread, i wouldn't have in hindsight, as i thought he made no sense that night and wanted to see what others thought.

It's also nothing got to do with his football ability or character. We all make posts in hindsight that we wouldn't. Still i think one should be able to make rather harmless comment without it being suggested you need a 'head test'.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 26/09/2017 12:11:49    2050610

Replying To Laois76:  "Damothedub: 'some people need a serious head test , a bit of humor by someone who is not trained in a profession to be in front of the cameras I know it's too much to ask of people to see things with a balanced head but this thread is the biggest joke of all'

Just reading this now. Because i don't find Vinny funny, the next Billy Connolly i need 'a head test'?

It was a nothing thread i should never have started, in hindsight. Still a poster should be able to make a trivial opinion comment without such abuse. You're all compliments when i post against Dublin begrudgery but your comments here were a bit of an eye opener."
You started a thread and made assertions and misunderstood what the guy was implying you can't whinge about people pulling you up on that. Just face facts you missed his joke and move on not the end of the world.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 26/09/2017 20:38:15    2050797

Replying To hill16no1man:  "
Replying To Laois76:  "Damothedub: 'some people need a serious head test , a bit of humor by someone who is not trained in a profession to be in front of the cameras I know it's too much to ask of people to see things with a balanced head but this thread is the biggest joke of all'

It was a nothing thread i should never have started, in hindsight. Still a poster should be able to make a trivial opinion comment without such abuse. You're all compliments when i post against Dublin begrudgery but your comments here were a bit of an eye opener."
You started a thread and made assertions and misunderstood what the guy was implying you can't whinge about people pulling you up on that. Just face facts you missed his joke and move on not the end of the world."
Not whingeing at all. Missed his joke!!! Lol! There was no joke. He's not funny! Even Des Cahill was looking at him like are you for real when he misinterpreted yet another question.

Ye're awful precious about ye're Vinny! If a Laois player was like him on tv i'd say the same. Awful clannish crowd some of ye.

The reaction that you need your head tested when you don't find him anything to write home about is what i dislike.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 26/09/2017 20:51:01    2050800