The Super 8

Replying To Mona1:  "Wrong there comrade. I'm the real deal. I genuinely believe we have the stuff to go all the way. I think that most real Monaghan supporters are of a similar opinion. Some like you seem to be waiting for us to fall so that you can say i told you so."
Not at all, I'd be very positive about Monaghan in general and think we have a good chance of getting through this group. But you can't throw around claims of winning Sam when we have yet to get past the last 8. Baby steps.

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 936 - 10/07/2018 17:07:55    2120459

Replying To Mona1:  "Look I know that my fellow county men will lambast me for saying this but I feel that we have the team to finally win the big one. We have already beaten kerry, our forward unit are superior to galways and in fairness to kildare, we should hardly be shaking with fear at a team who were hammered by carlow. I see us winning our group and, with Roscommon who can't defend to save their lives, one forward Donegal minus that forward, and an overly defensive Tyrone as potential opponents, I see us making the final. Dublin would agree that we are the one team that are capable of defeating them in a one off game in croke park. Why not believe."
Look forums are full of WUMs. Your not the first. In terms of who has the best forwards I think it is squad depth that ultimately achieve anything of significance. On beating the Dubs you do remember the game ye beat them in the league was a dead rubber in that final placings were decided so I would not be pinning my hopes on that. Look ye have a decent team but this thing about your forwards is over exaggerated. I would say talented but inconsistent. Ulster was not the strongest this year as impressive Donegal were and surely your capitulation to Fermanagh should focus your minds and give a sense of realism.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 10/07/2018 17:19:58    2120469

Replying To patk:  "Not at all, I'd be very positive about Monaghan in general and think we have a good chance of getting through this group. But you can't throw around claims of winning Sam when we have yet to get past the last 8. Baby steps."
Fair enough reply. I just can't help get excited about this bunch. Best full back line in Ireland with the best forward. Then you throw in lads like Darren Hughes becoming a too class midfielder. The sky's the limit.

Mona1 (Monaghan) - Posts: 21 - 10/07/2018 17:32:23    2120475

Replying To kiloughter:  "Look forums are full of WUMs. Your not the first. In terms of who has the best forwards I think it is squad depth that ultimately achieve anything of significance. On beating the Dubs you do remember the game ye beat them in the league was a dead rubber in that final placings were decided so I would not be pinning my hopes on that. Look ye have a decent team but this thing about your forwards is over exaggerated. I would say talented but inconsistent. Ulster was not the strongest this year as impressive Donegal were and surely your capitulation to Fermanagh should focus your minds and give a sense of realism."
Galway beat a tired Mayo team and were very lucky not to have been beaten by Roscommon. Just wonder how good that Galway team are....

Farney1977 (Monaghan) - Posts: 59 - 10/07/2018 18:02:01    2120485

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "Every now & again a post appears that leaves me shaking my head & wondering at what some fellas might be ingesting in the middle of the working week.

One forward Donegal?

This is the team that scored 2-18 against a Fermanagh team that Monaghan scored 0-12 against with that "one forward" scoring 0-1.

If ever a team could be accused of being a one forward team it's Monaghan & we all saw what happened when he was kept quiet. Disaster followed."
Spot the imposter ... someone from another county with too much time on their hand's, ignore.

OrielAbu (Monaghan) - Posts: 21 - 10/07/2018 18:13:08    2120492

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "Couldn't affort to take a chance Patk.

If these young fellas aren't shown the error of their ways early in their posting lives, God knows where it might end up."
Hadn't noticed patk had already posted re imposter

OrielAbu (Monaghan) - Posts: 21 - 10/07/2018 18:18:03    2120494

Replying To Farney1977:  "Galway beat a tired Mayo team and were very lucky not to have been beaten by Roscommon. Just wonder how good that Galway team are...."
Funny I get a sense that many posters and some pundits don't rate us or certainly have doubts. We seem to be the least talked about of the group 1
teams. Suits us fine. This thing on the provincial final with it being one that the Rossies left behind them is a little wearying. We came good when it mattered and beat Mayo last 3 years running getting little credit. Remember a decent portion of our players have good underage pedigree combined with a few years mixing it at senior. Maybe we are just quieter than ye guys and will do our talking when it matters. Of course the group is wide open and if it comes down to Salthill on the August b/h weekend I think we will deliver.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 10/07/2018 19:19:49    2120511

Replying To kiloughter:  "Funny I get a sense that many posters and some pundits don't rate us or certainly have doubts. We seem to be the least talked about of the group 1
teams. Suits us fine. This thing on the provincial final with it being one that the Rossies left behind them is a little wearying. We came good when it mattered and beat Mayo last 3 years running getting little credit. Remember a decent portion of our players have good underage pedigree combined with a few years mixing it at senior. Maybe we are just quieter than ye guys and will do our talking when it matters. Of course the group is wide open and if it comes down to Salthill on the August b/h weekend I think we will deliver."
Suits Galway down to the ground and best of luck to Galway i hope and expect them to come through the group and make a semi final. People are turning there noses up at Gakway yet they beat Mayo and Roscommon. But yet Kerry and Donegal are serious contenders for beating nothing but utter muck in their games so far. Kerry look good i cant disagree but Tyrone beat Cork by just as much. Donegal beat a few dire teams. Galway better off been wrote off do their talking and the field.

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 10/07/2018 20:29:03    2120529

Replying To Cuckoosinging:  "Suits Galway down to the ground and best of luck to Galway i hope and expect them to come through the group and make a semi final. People are turning there noses up at Gakway yet they beat Mayo and Roscommon. But yet Kerry and Donegal are serious contenders for beating nothing but utter muck in their games so far. Kerry look good i cant disagree but Tyrone beat Cork by just as much. Donegal beat a few dire teams. Galway better off been wrote off do their talking and the field."
It's not so much that Donegal/Kerry have beaten "dire" teams, mind you Cavan are Div 1 & Fermanagh are Div 2, it's more the way that they've done it that has caught people's attention.

In Donegal's case any time you are averaging 2-20 a game you're doing something right.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 10/07/2018 21:27:17    2120543

Replying To Cuckoosinging:  "Suits Galway down to the ground and best of luck to Galway i hope and expect them to come through the group and make a semi final. People are turning there noses up at Gakway yet they beat Mayo and Roscommon. But yet Kerry and Donegal are serious contenders for beating nothing but utter muck in their games so far. Kerry look good i cant disagree but Tyrone beat Cork by just as much. Donegal beat a few dire teams. Galway better off been wrote off do their talking and the field."
Don't see who is writing Galway off.....they favorites to come through group and the whole country expects them to be in final.....Kerry Galway Tyrone &Dublin are the teams everyone expects to be in semi's...... I only questioned are Galway as good as everyone thinks they are...to date they look the real deal

Farney1977 (Monaghan) - Posts: 59 - 10/07/2018 21:40:42    2120548

Replying To Farney1977:  "Don't see who is writing Galway off.....they favorites to come through group and the whole country expects them to be in final.....Kerry Galway Tyrone &Dublin are the teams everyone expects to be in semi's...... I only questioned are Galway as good as everyone thinks they are...to date they look the real deal"
Point taken in relation to the question you pose. But i would suggest that aside from Dublin all teams have question marks including your own. I just get a sense that we are not to be trusted. Does not really bother me and can totally understand why Kildare fans for example are getting giddy given their turn in fortunes. If i was a Lily i probably would as well. Serious turnaround but am not hugely surprised as Kildare have not come overnight. We beat them in the 2013 u21 all ireland semi but you could see then they had a few players that would blossom at senior. Our progression has been very consistent and remember we have beaten a really good Rossie team who themselves have similar ambitions to ourselves. Actually ourselves and the Rossies mirror each other in our development. i.e. gradual development, some bad blips along the road but curve very much upwards. Between your fellow county person Dick Clerkin and a whole host of others the Connacht final has been one of where one team lost it rather than a team winning it.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 11/07/2018 09:22:39    2120625

Ok maybe that was a bit too harsh on Donegal. I still think that our forwards minus Mcmanus are better that Donegal minus Mcbrearty. I stand by my opinion that we are a better team than yous regardless of this year's Ulster. Monaghan, after the success of this year's league are it seems attempting to peak in late July early August. Donegal peaked for Ulster.

Mona1 (Monaghan) - Posts: 7 - 10/07/2018 15:50:18 212043

Ha you're having a laugh Monaghan peaked in March as usual. No good when the ground hardens up!!

supporter (Donegal) - Posts: 205 - 11/07/2018 09:53:08    2120631

Important for Galway & Donegal (both likely to get beaten next weekend) that Kildare & Roscommon lose at the weekend too. The two beaten provincial champion teams in week1 won't want to be heading 'away' to a team that has 2pts on the board, in week2. If Ros & Kildare get beaten in Croke Park, you'd imagine that Galway & Donegal would have easier tasks in week2, and more importantly would likely have something to play for at home in week3, even if their week2 results happened to be adverse in Newbridge or Roscommon.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3410 - 11/07/2018 10:15:00    2120635

Why have fixture details not been confirmed for all the Super 8 games???? Tickets should be on sale as well.

Do the GAA not realise people like to plan.

They might actually sell tickets now for potential dead rubbers in the final games giving them a crowd they would not normally get.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1826 - 11/07/2018 11:12:04    2120648

Only a few days away from the cash cow that is the Super 8s. All hail the noble lads upstairs who proposed it and who passed this to happen. I actually cant wait to Dublin to fly their their group and fingers crossed itll come down to points difference which one of Roscommon, Dongeal and Tyrone get the second spot there.

To see a situation where we could have ourselves or one of the other teams jumping for joy only getting beaten by 6 or 7 points to the Dubs to qualify for the semis will be car crash comedy but a sad fact that we are all staring into the abyss for.

Sure why stop there should just be one group after and we can have a round robin to determine the champion, title will be over by the end of July instead of September so!

WaitingInTheLongGrass (Roscommon) - Posts: 165 - 11/07/2018 12:56:13    2120679

Few days to go, call it
Kerry v Galway. Kerry
Kildare v Monaghan. Should be Monaghan but Kildare are going through a good patch with senior and U20 success. Kildare to sneak a win
Group of death
Dublin v Donegal. Dublin
Tyrone v Roscommon. Tyrone
Overall I see Kerry and Dublin waltzing through the 2 groups, sadly I don't see Roscommon having a chance at this stage, 1st group all 3 teams believe they have a chance to take the 2nd spot behind Kerry.
2nd group will be a Dublin top with 50/50 call who from Donegal or Tyrone to get 2nd spot.
If Monaghan lose to Kildare they are out as their 2nd game is against Kerry which you'd expect the Kingdom to win, the Monaghan Kildare game is a must win game for both sides even at this early stage

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 11/07/2018 13:54:59    2120713

Replying To WaitingInTheLongGrass:  "Only a few days away from the cash cow that is the Super 8s. All hail the noble lads upstairs who proposed it and who passed this to happen. I actually cant wait to Dublin to fly their their group and fingers crossed itll come down to points difference which one of Roscommon, Dongeal and Tyrone get the second spot there.

To see a situation where we could have ourselves or one of the other teams jumping for joy only getting beaten by 6 or 7 points to the Dubs to qualify for the semis will be car crash comedy but a sad fact that we are all staring into the abyss for.

Sure why stop there should just be one group after and we can have a round robin to determine the champion, title will be over by the end of July instead of September so!"
What do you want.....go back to the days before qualifiers were implemented when the Roscommon team bus was brought out for a spin once a year....

Farney1977 (Monaghan) - Posts: 59 - 11/07/2018 14:16:29    2120725

Replying To Farney1977:  "What do you want.....go back to the days before qualifiers were implemented when the Roscommon team bus was brought out for a spin once a year...."
well thats fierce big talk from a team that was all ireland contenders one minute, sucker punched by fermanagh the next in the "must watch" ulster championship. i know blankets are not in short supply with ye anyway!

I think the problem here as pointed out above is the fact there could be dead rubber games happening now, if we want more competitive games why not look at implementing the league format in the summer instead and have the provincial championships later in the year. Not this glorified "lets pander to the sky lads" nonsense that we will no doubt see over the next few weeks. The glory days of yesteryear are dead and buried now.

If fans want to see the same monotonous teams in the latter stages fair enough but I somehow don't think I am alone in thinking this is not going to benefit anyone other than the million euro sponsored counties

WaitingInTheLongGrass (Roscommon) - Posts: 165 - 11/07/2018 15:01:32    2120745

Lots of hot air being dumped around here. Monaghan fans need to learn not to get carried away. Monaghan are unpredictable and the Fermanagh result is a pure example of this.

The general consensus around the county is that we will take each game at a time. Kildare are no pushovers and probably are favourites (even if the bookies don't) as they have come up against much stronger opposition in the qualifiers. Let's face it, Monaghan didn't so realistically we don't know where Monaghan are right now.

However, we are all glad to be in the Super 8's and will definitely throw everything at it. So fingers crossed.

P.S any Monaghan supporter stating that we will win an All Ireland needs to book themselves into St. Davnet's!!

MuineachanAbu (Monaghan) - Posts: 640 - 11/07/2018 15:34:25    2120752

Replying To riverboys:  "Few days to go, call it
Kerry v Galway. Kerry
Kildare v Monaghan. Should be Monaghan but Kildare are going through a good patch with senior and U20 success. Kildare to sneak a win
Group of death
Dublin v Donegal. Dublin
Tyrone v Roscommon. Tyrone
Overall I see Kerry and Dublin waltzing through the 2 groups, sadly I don't see Roscommon having a chance at this stage, 1st group all 3 teams believe they have a chance to take the 2nd spot behind Kerry.
2nd group will be a Dublin top with 50/50 call who from Donegal or Tyrone to get 2nd spot.
If Monaghan lose to Kildare they are out as their 2nd game is against Kerry which you'd expect the Kingdom to win, the Monaghan Kildare game is a must win game for both sides even at this early stage"
What have you seen from Donegal or Tyrone this year that makes you think we won't touch them?Maybe you are right and we won't win a game In the group but Donegal got relegated from division 1 and then won Ulster but have also lost one of the best forwards in the game..Tyrone haven't been unbelievable this year with scraping by meath and they weren't brilliant against Cavan. I think every roscommon supporter knows we have our problems in our defence but I think we will push Tyrone and Donegal very hard and you never know what could happen.

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1046 - 11/07/2018 15:36:33    2120755