The Super 8

I would be amazed if the Dublin players actually slept in their own beds the night before a game if i am honest.

Surely in this day an age they are staying as a group in a hotel for preparations. Ha ha can see the lads stolling down Jones road with their kit bags now.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 17/04/2018 13:54:37    2093550

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Didn't seem to be a problem with the unfamiliarity of the venue when Maurice Fitz kicked his point in Thurles.
Funny that though. Maybe he had a good nights sleep though."
Kerry team traveled up the morning of that match, I remember passing the team bus on the road . And ya Maurice was a special talent for sure.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 17/04/2018 14:00:02    2093553

Replying To TheUsername:  "I would be amazed if the Dublin players actually slept in their own beds the night before a game if i am honest.

Surely in this day an age they are staying as a group in a hotel for preparations. Ha ha can see the lads stolling down Jones road with their kit bags now."
I read somewhere last year that the Dublin players do stay at home the night before a game but I'm open to correction on that.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 17/04/2018 14:02:33    2093555

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I read somewhere last year that the Dublin players do stay at home the night before a game but I'm open to correction on that."
I would be amazed given the level of prep and detail that the set up goes into, though i dont know for certain.

The Gibson is also a sponsor so i would be very surprised.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 17/04/2018 14:12:20    2093559

Replying To TheUsername:  "I would be amazed if the Dublin players actually slept in their own beds the night before a game if i am honest.

Surely in this day an age they are staying as a group in a hotel for preparations. Ha ha can see the lads stolling down Jones road with their kit bags now."
You mean they don't have people who do that for them? Surely in this day and age:)

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 17/04/2018 14:23:52    2093561

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Yes I would say it helps."
I think whatever about staying in their own beds or not, Dublin having the vast majority of a crowd in their corner in every game they play in Croker (excluding the AI final) has a big influence on both their own morale and also the match officials.

But I suppose saying that is only 'trolling', eh username?? Funny how that insulting post you put up on Saturday night is left on here but I've not been allowed take you up on the nonsense you wrote.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 17/04/2018 14:33:57    2093565

Replying To kildare73:  "You mean they don't have people who do that for them? Surely in this day and age:)"
:D

Those delivered meals are heavy truth be told, you'd be wrecked. ;)

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 17/04/2018 14:35:43    2093566

The Dublin lads do in fact stay at home the night before every championship game, meet up at Parnell Park late morning before team meeting/lunch and final prep (in a local hotel) before heading to Croke Park on a bus together. This has been going on since Tommy Lyons was manager.

TrueBlue35 (Dublin) - Posts: 206 - 17/04/2018 14:53:53    2093571

Jaysus imagine if Kerry had the advantage of sleeping in their own beds on top of playing in a hurling province for well over 100+ years..

50+ titles ?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 17/04/2018 15:03:59    2093576

Replying To TheUsername:  "I would be amazed given the level of prep and detail that the set up goes into, though i dont know for certain.

The Gibson is also a sponsor so i would be very surprised."
Sher the dubs are receive sponsorship from half the place. They could equally all be sleeping in Riverrock HQ or King crisps.

Millthehill (Mayo) - Posts: 5 - 17/04/2018 15:05:17    2093578

Replying To TrueBlue35:  "The Dublin lads do in fact stay at home the night before every championship game, meet up at Parnell Park late morning before team meeting/lunch and final prep (in a local hotel) before heading to Croke Park on a bus together. This has been going on since Tommy Lyons was manager."
Really, have to say im surprised at that, but there you go, fair play.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 17/04/2018 15:30:25    2093586

Replying To Millthehill:  "Sher the dubs are receive sponsorship from half the place. They could equally all be sleeping in Riverrock HQ or King crisps."
Ah come on mate you need to be realistic, where would the hurlers sleep.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 17/04/2018 15:31:49    2093587

Yawn. Another thread which has descended into a Dublin resources/advantages whinge-fest.
Look, teams will dominate every sport in cycles. Taking soccer as an example - given Liverpool's size and heritage it is unbelievable that they haven't won the premier competition in the UK for so long. When Utd were winning all round them under Alex Ferguson it seemed unlikely that any team would ever challenge their dominance. But things change, players come and go, new systems emerge etc to challenge and tip the status quo.

It's up to others to work harder, think better and, referring to Mr Ferguson again, "knock Dublin off their ****ing perch!"
Crying about it won't solve anything. Nothing in sport s preordained thank God. Otherwise why would we bother with it?

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9115 - 17/04/2018 15:44:02    2093596

Replying To TrueBlue35:  "The Dublin lads do in fact stay at home the night before every championship game, meet up at Parnell Park late morning before team meeting/lunch and final prep (in a local hotel) before heading to Croke Park on a bus together. This has been going on since Tommy Lyons was manager."
Thanks for that info, I knew I had read that they slept at home, it's great for them , no sharing with a guy listening to loud music or snoring loudly.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 17/04/2018 15:52:42    2093598

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Kerry team traveled up the morning of that match, I remember passing the team bus on the road . And ya Maurice was a special talent for sure."
Indeed, and talent is what wins out in the end.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 17/04/2018 15:53:51    2093599

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Yawn. Another thread which has descended into a Dublin resources/advantages whinge-fest.
Look, teams will dominate every sport in cycles. Taking soccer as an example - given Liverpool's size and heritage it is unbelievable that they haven't won the premier competition in the UK for so long. When Utd were winning all round them under Alex Ferguson it seemed unlikely that any team would ever challenge their dominance. But things change, players come and go, new systems emerge etc to challenge and tip the status quo.

It's up to others to work harder, think better and, referring to Mr Ferguson again, "knock Dublin off their ****ing perch!"
Crying about it won't solve anything. Nothing in sport s preordained thank God. Otherwise why would we bother with it?"
Lockjaw unlike the premiership which all teams have money only one team in Gaelic football has the money where the rest have next to nothing, plus in the premiership teams play home and away man united don't play all their games at old trafford.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 17/04/2018 15:57:53    2093601

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Kerry team traveled up the morning of that match, I remember passing the team bus on the road . And ya Maurice was a special talent for sure."
True, and we have our own talented bunch now and long may it last.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 17/04/2018 15:59:35    2093603

With the sheer volume and consistency of the whinging buy the Kerry lads on here, it's really hard to know if they've actually thrown in the towel regarding Dublin or if it's just a load of aul yerra.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12115 - 17/04/2018 16:17:20    2093609

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Lockjaw unlike the premiership which all teams have money only one team in Gaelic football has the money where the rest have next to nothing, plus in the premiership teams play home and away man united don't play all their games at old trafford."
Aw here look Kerry Group haven't exactly been stingy to your lads over the years now in fairness.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9115 - 17/04/2018 16:23:57    2093613

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Aw here look Kerry Group haven't exactly been stingy to your lads over the years now in fairness."
And they have gone to the staes with theirs hands out a few times too and not came home empty handed

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 17/04/2018 16:33:01    2093617