Return to 3 Subs

allowing teams to have 6 subs clearly plays into the hands of the Dubs.
If the GAA want to have a championship that is more competitive they need to revert back to the 3 sub rule.

There is no reason why players shouldn't be able to go for 70 min given the fitness levels nowadays.

i don't see any county outside of Dublin and Kerry ever producing more than 18 players of the required standard

if you had only 3 subs you would have to hold one in reserve till late in the game

The Dubs are using the subs system almost like a semi interchange system and burning teams off with their subs late in the game

centerfield (Mayo) - Posts: 360 - 18/09/2017 12:47:59    2047414

Split the Dublin subs in 2 :-)

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 18/09/2017 13:36:24    2047459

Replying To centerfield:  "allowing teams to have 6 subs clearly plays into the hands of the Dubs.
If the GAA want to have a championship that is more competitive they need to revert back to the 3 sub rule.

There is no reason why players shouldn't be able to go for 70 min given the fitness levels nowadays.

i don't see any county outside of Dublin and Kerry ever producing more than 18 players of the required standard

if you had only 3 subs you would have to hold one in reserve till late in the game

The Dubs are using the subs system almost like a semi interchange system and burning teams off with their subs late in the game"
Same rules for everyone. We need to get better to get to Dublin's level. We were close to it yesterday. Making rule changes won't stop them being a great team.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7324 - 18/09/2017 13:50:46    2047465

Feck it, why stop there? Maybe all Dublin players should be forced to play with their laces tied together.
Ffs, look at Mayo, they're gee hair behind us, no whinging just hard work and belief, use Mayo as your yardstick and that's a good place to start!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8584 - 18/09/2017 15:55:39    2047553

Is this for real. My god what next. Blindfold cluxton. Dublin players to be only allowed to kick at the goals from 60 metres out, maybe they should be only allowed 1 attempt at a goal per game, give the opposition a 15 point start. Best thing would be to bring this to Colm O' Rourkes attention and he can get it brought up for discussion on the Sunday Game next year.

Adamski (Dublin) - Posts: 339 - 18/09/2017 16:20:42    2047570

Replying To centerfield:  "allowing teams to have 6 subs clearly plays into the hands of the Dubs.

The Dubs are using the subs system almost like a semi interchange system and burning teams off with their subs late in the game"
"Dubs are using the Sub system......."...Well that's what good managers should be doing. Mayo, like most teams, have ofter needed more than 3 subs to see out games. Matches like yesterday are very demanding and I couldn't imagine any manager wanting to have less options than they currently have.

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 18/09/2017 16:27:16    2047576

It's a debate worth having but not today, there is a long winter coming to discuss things like this. If only 3 subs can be used then panels would be smaller with more lads able to play games for their clubs. But if only 3 subs could be used lads like Andy Moran, who don't have 70 minutes in them, might not be kept around if only 3 subs can be used. For those getting precious about this suggestion, the rules would be the same for every team so if it is considered more disadvantageous for some more than others then clearly the current rule is favouring some more than others. It's not too long ago anyway when only 3 subs were allowed in each game.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 18/09/2017 16:49:36    2047587

Maybe use a handicap system for subs. The better the team the less subs available. For example, when Leitrim are playing Mayo, Leitrim can have 6 and Mayo none.

Or perhaps put the weaker teams in charge of the opposition subs so like in the same scenario if AOS is playing a stormer, Leitrim can sub him off?

Just an idea to make the game fairer, after all it's not like the whole point of the competition is to find out who is the best team.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12115 - 18/09/2017 17:06:44    2047598

Lads taking the Mick on here but it is a genuine argument.

Dublin have the advantage of their players not having to travel 2 or 3 hours three times a week for a place on the bench. This allows them to keep their best 24/25 players on the county setup. A luxury no other county enjoys.

Imagine a player of the calibre of Bernard brogan travelling 3 hours both ways three times a week for a spot in the mayo bench. No player of that quality would stick around in those circumstances

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5009 - 18/09/2017 17:32:31    2047605

Of course the 5 sub rule is one of the factors that ensures that the strong teams will always win and the the gap between the strong and weak is getting ever wider. The black card is another aspect of that too. But there won't be any change because intercounty is all about the elite teams now.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1901 - 18/09/2017 17:42:37    2047608

Very good point. Dublin had three subs used by half time.
In all sports the more subs that can be used favours the bigger teams not just Dublin.
It's not Dublin's fault but the last two all Ireland's have been won by the subs.

tom84 (Cavan) - Posts: 334 - 18/09/2017 19:07:59    2047631

Replying To Adamski:  "Is this for real. My god what next. Blindfold cluxton. Dublin players to be only allowed to kick at the goals from 60 metres out, maybe they should be only allowed 1 attempt at a goal per game, give the opposition a 15 point start. Best thing would be to bring this to Colm O' Rourkes attention and he can get it brought up for discussion on the Sunday Game next year."
Yes its for real this is the way it used to be.

15 players starting and 3 subs

centerfield (Mayo) - Posts: 360 - 18/09/2017 19:13:21    2047635

Replying To cavanman47:  "Lads taking the Mick on here but it is a genuine argument.

Dublin have the advantage of their players not having to travel 2 or 3 hours three times a week for a place on the bench. This allows them to keep their best 24/25 players on the county setup. A luxury no other county enjoys.

Imagine a player of the calibre of Bernard brogan travelling 3 hours both ways three times a week for a spot in the mayo bench. No player of that quality would stick around in those circumstances"
How do you know how long it takes Dublin players or other county players to get to training?
Have you tried getting through Dublin city center or up the M50 at peak time? Just did it this evening an to get from one side of the M50 to the N11 took me well over an hour and that was a good day

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 18/09/2017 19:37:05    2047647

Replying To cavanman47:  "Lads taking the Mick on here but it is a genuine argument.

Imagine a player of the calibre of Bernard brogan travelling 3 hours both ways three times a week for a spot in the mayo bench. No player of that quality would stick around in those circumstances"
Grand.. build a new CP the exact same distance from every county for absolute fairness

Oh no wait

That's impossible.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20598 - 18/09/2017 19:58:56    2047661

The people setting up these threads are an unreal shower of losers.

I have to quote Jim Telfer. 'The honest man gets up and looks at himself in the mirror and says i'm going to get better, and better and better. He makes no excuses'.

I thought Hoganstand was bad before the final but some of you are just wasting with bitterness.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 18/09/2017 20:15:20    2047672

Replying To keithlemon:  "How do you know how long it takes Dublin players or other county players to get to training?
Have you tried getting through Dublin city center or up the M50 at peak time? Just did it this evening an to get from one side of the M50 to the N11 took me well over an hour and that was a good day"
This is fecking pathetic. This always happens in the GAA. Unsuccessful counties identify perceived unfair advantages enjoyed by successful counties. Unsuccessful counties demand that the GAA bring in special rules to even up this perceived unfair advantage.

Well used to hearing this sh*te aimed at Kilkenny when we were successful, my favourite one was that we "should be med play football".

Oh yeah, there's an another idea. A lot if the Dublin lads are meant to be good hurlers too, they should be "med play" for the hurling team!

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 18/09/2017 20:20:13    2047673

Maybe in the interest of fairness Dublin have no subs, play with 11 and start with a handicap of - 5 points.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4893 - 18/09/2017 20:37:09    2047685

Replying To arock:  "Maybe in the interest of fairness Dublin have no subs, play with 11 and start with a handicap of - 5 points."
your point is neither here nor there.

i'm saying revert back to the old system pick your best 15 and you've got 3 subs to make.

the weaker counties should propose this

centerfield (Mayo) - Posts: 360 - 18/09/2017 21:16:55    2047718

Replying To keithlemon:  "How do you know how long it takes Dublin players or other county players to get to training?
Have you tried getting through Dublin city center or up the M50 at peak time? Just did it this evening an to get from one side of the M50 to the N11 took me well over an hour and that was a good day"
I will admit, I don't know how long it takes the Dublin players to get to training.

But having read John Leonard's book, he says he used to show up to training an hour early only to find that cluxton was there 2 hours early practicing frees.

Tom Parsons was on newstalk last week and he spends those same 2 hours in his car driving to castlebar.

Take from that what you will.

(On a completely separate note, I live and work in Dublin and face its traffic every day and it's nothing compared to other large cities - try London, Dubai, Paris, LA, Chicago on for size!)

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5009 - 18/09/2017 21:58:24    2047753

You're right to point this out because most of us people down the country don't realise that players travelling to training in far flung places like Kerry, Mayo or Donegal have it much easier than Dublin players getting to and from training sessions. However, I don't know why they time training sessions to coincide with rush hour traffic - it must be tough for Dublin lads to get off work that early.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 18/09/2017 23:15:32    2047816