Calls to split Dublin

I don't think a strong case has yet been made to split Dublin from a competitive point of view. For example their strike rate is not yet as impressive of Brian Coady's Kilkenny hurlers (11 titles in 16 seasons) or Mick O'Dwyer's Kerry footballers (8 titles in 12 seasons). In All Ireland finals Dublin have not yet given out some if the hidings Coady' Kilkenny or O'Dwyer's Kerry did. Seeing Kerry winning last 4 minors indicates it is not inevitable that Dublin will dominate the coming year's Today if the GAA were to split Dublin it would be more if a strategic decision designed to continue the growth in playing numbers of the GAA in Dublin.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1333 - 18/09/2017 23:15:44    2047817

Replying To markesmith:  "imagine how fierce the rivalry would be between a north and south Dublin team.....it would be mental....I live in Beaumont.....I commute to blessington, dalkey, balbriggan and elsewhere....Dublin is insanely big population wise.....and its football mad
county dblin 1.3 million people
county cork 0.5 million people"
1.3 million football mad people?

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 18/09/2017 23:27:52    2047822

Talk of splitting Dublin into three could never happen, unless of course splitting up other counties was on the agenda, obviously Cork would be split in half but also the other counties with huge population advantages over other counties like like Kildare, Meath and Galway would need to be looked at

Splitting Dublin would not address the massive population disparity between the lowest populated counties and the population superpowers like Meath,Kildare, Galway and Cork. Just because these counties who should be able to compete with the dubs can't its a problem never mind the massive advantages they have over the smaller counties.

salvador (Roscommon) - Posts: 439 - 19/09/2017 09:46:19    2047914

Replying To salvador:  "Talk of splitting Dublin into three could never happen, unless of course splitting up other counties was on the agenda, obviously Cork would be split in half but also the other counties with huge population advantages over other counties like like Kildare, Meath and Galway would need to be looked at

Splitting Dublin would not address the massive population disparity between the lowest populated counties and the population superpowers like Meath,Kildare, Galway and Cork. Just because these counties who should be able to compete with the dubs can't its a problem never mind the massive advantages they have over the smaller counties."
You forgot about Derry, Antrim, Down etc Also counties play many sports, in the case of Galway hurling is huge for example, big ball not as widespread as you think in all these areas you mentioned but yes population is one issue to be looked at. You might end up having Dail Ceanntairs

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1667 - 19/09/2017 10:34:41    2047936

Watched the Sky Sports coverage last night and after the game Canavan said I am sure there will be calls to split Dublin, and then he said that counties should look at themselves and get their own house in order and not look at splitting Dublin. Completely agree with him. How come Mayo and Kerry are the only teams who seem to be able to challenge the Dubs, other counties need to look at their own failings and what they can do to remedy them.

Rosineri1 (UK) - Posts: 2099 - 19/09/2017 10:47:22    2047942

For those advocating a split how would it work? Can you answer these questions....

Is it (A) a north/south based on Liffey split or (B) a split based on administrative borders Fingal, DLR, South Dub?
Regardless of which does DCB get broken up also or does DCB just fields a number of team based on splits in the question above?
If DCB remains intact should they get extra funding now that they have to bear the responsibility of running a number of teams?
If DCB remains intact do they run multiple hurling teams as well as minor/U21 for football or does Dublin compete as one in those areas?
Do county championships remain as one Dublin champ or based on the splits?
In year one what division do these split teams compete in nation league? If you say Div 1 explain why?
If you answer B in first question do they all compete in Leinster or have a mini 3/4 team provincial champ within Dublin?

RoyalBadger (Meath) - Posts: 571 - 19/09/2017 11:10:46    2047952

One extra question, where would the team(s) based south of the Liffey play home games?

RoyalBadger (Meath) - Posts: 571 - 19/09/2017 11:32:16    2047966

It's always a good laugh when splitting up Dublin get's trotted out straight after another All-Ireland win.

If some people want to make it "fair", we'd have to start by looking at the county with the lowest population which is Leitrim with around 32,000 and work from there.
We'd have to split Meath into 6 or 7 and Derry into 8 or 9 separate teams. I can imagine the hysteria and tears from O'Rourke and Brolly if that were to happen.

Or, we could do the sensible thing and look at how poorly some counties are run, and try to remove the deadwood and people holding certain counties back.

bangbang (Dublin) - Posts: 113 - 19/09/2017 11:32:22    2047969

Replying To bangbang:  "It's always a good laugh when splitting up Dublin get's trotted out straight after another All-Ireland win.

If some people want to make it "fair", we'd have to start by looking at the county with the lowest population which is Leitrim with around 32,000 and work from there.
We'd have to split Meath into 6 or 7 and Derry into 8 or 9 separate teams. I can imagine the hysteria and tears from O'Rourke and Brolly if that were to happen.

Or, we could do the sensible thing and look at how poorly some counties are run, and try to remove the deadwood and people holding certain counties back."
Bring in the Grannyrule and let the poaching begin.

Vishred (Mayo) - Posts: 303 - 19/09/2017 11:48:17    2047982

Replying To RoyalBadger:  "For those advocating a split how would it work? Can you answer these questions....

Is it (A) a north/south based on Liffey split or (B) a split based on administrative borders Fingal, DLR, South Dub?
Regardless of which does DCB get broken up also or does DCB just fields a number of team based on splits in the question above?
If DCB remains intact should they get extra funding now that they have to bear the responsibility of running a number of teams?
If DCB remains intact do they run multiple hurling teams as well as minor/U21 for football or does Dublin compete as one in those areas?
Do county championships remain as one Dublin champ or based on the splits?
In year one what division do these split teams compete in nation league? If you say Div 1 explain why?
If you answer B in first question do they all compete in Leinster or have a mini 3/4 team provincial champ within Dublin?"
I'd suggest only splitting Dublin underage football into north vs south based on the liffey. In say 5 years then split the seniors. Dublin don't need extra funding as they already get way too much. But the gaa should invest a lot of money to advertising this new North/South gaa brand.

It could become a rivalry like the following. man United / man city, arsenal / Tottenham, Everton / Liverpool, real Madrid / athletico, inter and AC Milan. They would be 2 evenly matched sides and the Dublin Derby if it took off would have the ability to draw huge crowds and fanfare.

I'd say it would take 20 years for the public to back it but it would be worth doing as in the long run it makes no sense having Dublin together. In reality Dublin should have been split in the past but because they were doing absolutely crap nobody realised it.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 19/09/2017 11:59:20    2047992

Replying To ritchie:  "I do be curious when this stuff starts.
From 2000 to 2017 Kilkenny won 12 of 17 all ireland's. Why has no one called for them to be split. Dublin did their first 3 in a row since the 1920's and now they must be split " to give everyone a chance to play on the big stage .. Cork have a few hundred thousand down here too must we be split ???

Now lets look at things a bit closer

2011 they beat kerry by 1 POINT
In 2013 they beat mayo by 1POINT
In 2015 they beat Kerry by 3 points after beating Mayo in a semi-final replay
in 2016 they beat mayo by 1 point in the replay
and in 2017 they beat Mayo against the run of play some what by 1 point.

Dublin cant be held responsible for the fact that the rest of the country don't have their house in order. Mayo do. Mayo don't take a backward step from dublin. They went out every time to beat dublin not to stop them . Dublin deserve huge credit cause to do three in a row is unreal. Whealan is right why split them . In the next few years given their under age success we could see kerry go on a roll of dominance. How the hell do you split them. Dublin won nothing from 1995 to 2011 where was the call to split them then ??? When the rest of the country stop being afraid of dublin and actually tog off to play them then we will see a change. People go on about the money and this that and the other. 2 INCHES and yesterday could have been a different story. Kilkenny said it himself it was a game of two free's.

I say a huge congrats to Dublin. 3 in a row playing great football by great athletes. So so sorry for mayo but exceptionally proud and in awe of that group of players. For the rest of the country my own counry in particular. Get it together. Put in the times and effort dublin and mayo do. Find the best players and play them no matter what or where they come from. Nurture your under age and play the game. To beat dublin you must beat dublin stopping them is only delaying the inevitable .."
Well Ritchie, there is a precedent which makes adherence to the county rule unnecessary. When the GAA was formed in 1884 Tipperary South and North Riding were recognised as two separate counties, Like Meath and Westmeath, but Arch.bishop Croke asked that the then two Tipps should be allowed to be one. So the county only rule need not be sacrosanct.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4316 - 19/09/2017 12:58:22    2048038

I've numerous misgivings about splitting Dublin, one that I never actually thought about until I read this thread was what happens with the hurlers? People only think of this in terms of the senior footballers but are people suggesting that there's 2 or possibly 3 Dublin football teams and only 1 hurling team?

Or do they suggest splitting the hurlers up too and thus ensuring the hurling renaissance in the capital is well and truly squashed before it ever takes hold?

iluvspuds (Longford) - Posts: 160 - 19/09/2017 14:00:51    2048064

Also, Colm O'Rourke's argument for splitting Dublin because he's concerned for all the great club players in the city that can't get to play county football because of the competition for places is absolute manure. I'd be very dubious that O'Rourke's driving motivation for splitting Dublin is his concern to give more Dublin lads inter-county experience!

iluvspuds (Longford) - Posts: 160 - 19/09/2017 14:05:17    2048070

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "I'd suggest only splitting Dublin underage football into north vs south based on the liffey. In say 5 years then split the seniors. Dublin don't need extra funding as they already get way too much. But the gaa should invest a lot of money to advertising this new North/South gaa brand.

It could become a rivalry like the following. man United / man city, arsenal / Tottenham, Everton / Liverpool, real Madrid / athletico, inter and AC Milan. They would be 2 evenly matched sides and the Dublin Derby if it took off would have the ability to draw huge crowds and fanfare.

I'd say it would take 20 years for the public to back it but it would be worth doing as in the long run it makes no sense having Dublin together. In reality Dublin should have been split in the past but because they were doing absolutely crap nobody realised it."
true to your name.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 19/09/2017 14:20:40    2048087

Replying To Richieq:  "I doubt there would be too many logistics involved in a second team, as I said before I wouldn't favour splitting the county but a second team is a plausible idea I think, purely to give more opportunity to players to play county football, the suggestion isn't a knock against the Dubs more an acknowledgement of the talent they have and the structures they have developed"
Yeah I would be personally against splitting up Dublin. But I would be in favour of a second team competing

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/09/2017 14:22:10    2048089

Replying To iluvspuds:  "I've numerous misgivings about splitting Dublin, one that I never actually thought about until I read this thread was what happens with the hurlers? People only think of this in terms of the senior footballers but are people suggesting that there's 2 or possibly 3 Dublin football teams and only 1 hurling team?

Or do they suggest splitting the hurlers up too and thus ensuring the hurling renaissance in the capital is well and truly squashed before it ever takes hold?"
Weren't they split for Hurling in the recent past. Fingal used to compete in the leagues. Good precedent there for splitting the footballers based on council boundaries!

himachechy (Donegal) - Posts: 293 - 19/09/2017 17:48:50    2048204

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "Nobody was talking about kilkenny because many other teams had the same resources and others even more then them. Their success was truly deserved and not manufactured by the gaa giving them every possible advantage they could.

Dublin should be split but their hurling, camogie and ladies football teams should remain for now.

And don't split them straight away. Start by splitting all underage teams, North and South.

And in a few years bring it in at senior level."
And again same rubbish year after year from you jesus wept !!

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 19/09/2017 18:10:33    2048214

This issue has been flogged to death here and elsewhere. Dublin will not be split nor should it. Addressing the disparity in funding between Dublin and the rest, heavily promoting the game and employing more coaches particularly for schools, will go a long way towards improving the standards.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 2986 - 19/09/2017 18:49:22    2048227

So...we split the football team, but not the hurling team...........rriigghhttt
And what happens as would be completely possible if they started meeting in the AIF??
What would Ewan McKenna and his cronies say then?
And Jack Off say they do split the Dubs and ye then get ye're act together and with ye're population ye could be next.....
Its a ridiculous idea, the logical conclusion to this is disbanding the IC scene and going all out with clubs
Forget it!

and just for the craic, say your from Dublin 12, but you live in Phibsboro, with the moth, but you still play with St James Gaels/Crumlin/Synge st etc....
Your living in the north side , your playing on the southside......
Who do you play for?

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 19/09/2017 19:52:55    2048247

a second Dublin team doesn't sit right with me. This whole idea is designed to begrudge a phenomenal team. Instead of looking to emulate some would rather see a good team broken up. Its jealous, its negative and it'll do little to nothing to bring other struggling counties forward given there would all of a sudden be another team needing investment.

The GAA need to use the Dublin success template and internalize that in other counties so that teams can get at least closer to Dublin's level. What other sport would allow the break up of a team because they are too good for their opponents. I'm surprised that one was allowed air time!

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 19/09/2017 20:00:53    2048253