Sunday Game

I decided to watch the Sunday Game last night and to be honest I couldn't believe the route it went at the end. After showing the game and picking MOTM, Player and Team of the Year it then degenerated into a debate about breaking up Dublin. It is hard to believe that on a night when a team achieved a three in a row that we were subjected to a debate of this nature with the main protagonists being Colm O' Rourke and Joe Brolly. IF it is a debate that will need to be held sometime in the future so be it but last night was not the time for it and to be honest O' Rourke is using the argument about young players in Dublin not getting to play for the county due to the population as his main point. In my opinion this is because for all his outward praise of Dublin he begrudges them their winning run over the last 6 years. The county of Meath has never been as highly populated and look at their performance in the last decade and a half at inter-county level. Have they and other counties got their house in order, no so rather than praise the best we know want to look at taking them apart for the good of the game. Come on Colm, if that it what top level sport is about we are going no where. Why not get Michael Phelps to start his races, two seconds behind his competitors or put weights around Usain Bolt's ankles or have Lionel Messi prohibited from kicking the ball with his left foot. Brolly just is a parody of himself and has no consistency in anything he says. Then it proceeded to Kevin McStay going back to Dublin playing at home and the advantage they can from this, absolutely shocking stuff. You had the Dublin team, management, back room, friends and family in a hotel celebrating a three in a row and we had this utter garbage at the end of the sunday game and even as infuriating was the likes of Tomas O Shea,the Gooch and Co. were constantly talked over by the old brigade.

Adamski (Dublin) - Posts: 339 - 18/09/2017 09:39:22    2047255

Replying To Adamski:  "I decided to watch the Sunday Game last night and to be honest I couldn't believe the route it went at the end. After showing the game and picking MOTM, Player and Team of the Year it then degenerated into a debate about breaking up Dublin. It is hard to believe that on a night when a team achieved a three in a row that we were subjected to a debate of this nature with the main protagonists being Colm O' Rourke and Joe Brolly. IF it is a debate that will need to be held sometime in the future so be it but last night was not the time for it and to be honest O' Rourke is using the argument about young players in Dublin not getting to play for the county due to the population as his main point. In my opinion this is because for all his outward praise of Dublin he begrudges them their winning run over the last 6 years. The county of Meath has never been as highly populated and look at their performance in the last decade and a half at inter-county level. Have they and other counties got their house in order, no so rather than praise the best we know want to look at taking them apart for the good of the game. Come on Colm, if that it what top level sport is about we are going no where. Why not get Michael Phelps to start his races, two seconds behind his competitors or put weights around Usain Bolt's ankles or have Lionel Messi prohibited from kicking the ball with his left foot. Brolly just is a parody of himself and has no consistency in anything he says. Then it proceeded to Kevin McStay going back to Dublin playing at home and the advantage they can from this, absolutely shocking stuff. You had the Dublin team, management, back room, friends and family in a hotel celebrating a three in a row and we had this utter garbage at the end of the sunday game and even as infuriating was the likes of Tomas O Shea,the Gooch and Co. were constantly talked over by the old brigade."
I'd be annoyed too if I were a Dublin supporter. It turned into a bit of a farce. I do think O'Rourke was making a little sense but Brolly ruined the point he was trying to make. I could be wrong but I don't think O'Rourke meant spilting Dublin into 2 or 3 etc but that because Dublin have got their house in order and are producing so many top quality players that they could have more than one team. There are so many young players in Dublin that will never get a chance to play county football but as O'Rourke said this would have to come from Dublin themselves. It would improve Dublin even more in the long run. Personally I hope this never happens because it's hard enough trying to compete with one Dublin team never mind multiple teams and the thought of an all Dublin leinster or all ireland finals probably wouldn't appeal to the nation as much as a Dublin v Mayo or Kerry final etc.

Mobot (Donegal) - Posts: 459 - 18/09/2017 10:29:59    2047298

Replying To Mobot:  "I'd be annoyed too if I were a Dublin supporter. It turned into a bit of a farce. I do think O'Rourke was making a little sense but Brolly ruined the point he was trying to make. I could be wrong but I don't think O'Rourke meant spilting Dublin into 2 or 3 etc but that because Dublin have got their house in order and are producing so many top quality players that they could have more than one team. There are so many young players in Dublin that will never get a chance to play county football but as O'Rourke said this would have to come from Dublin themselves. It would improve Dublin even more in the long run. Personally I hope this never happens because it's hard enough trying to compete with one Dublin team never mind multiple teams and the thought of an all Dublin leinster or all ireland finals probably wouldn't appeal to the nation as much as a Dublin v Mayo or Kerry final etc."
I don't believe O Rourke is advocating anything other than splitting them and it is not that he wants to see them improve. Let's be honest no meath man wants to do anything that would improve Dublin. At this stage they have had their fill of looking at this Dublin team winning all-irelands. I live in meath and am 100% sure of this. Anyway I don't disrespect your comments and possibly you could be correct but there is a time and place for this discussion and last night it was not it. If mayo had got home by a point this would not have even come up for discussion.

Adamski (Dublin) - Posts: 339 - 18/09/2017 10:48:45    2047322

Replying To Adamski:  "I don't believe O Rourke is advocating anything other than splitting them and it is not that he wants to see them improve. Let's be honest no meath man wants to do anything that would improve Dublin. At this stage they have had their fill of looking at this Dublin team winning all-irelands. I live in meath and am 100% sure of this. Anyway I don't disrespect your comments and possibly you could be correct but there is a time and place for this discussion and last night it was not it. If mayo had got home by a point this would not have even come up for discussion."
It's not that he wants them to improve it's about inclusion, how many times does he have to say it before the penny drops with ye lads, he stated there are thousands of players that will never get the chance to play with Dublin because there is only one outlet, one team to aim for. Now personally I wouldn't split the county but the introduction of a second team and maybe a third has serious merit and that's what O'Rourke is on about. And before anyone argues it we know Dublin have always had a population advantage but now they are organised which they never really were before and the potential dominance that their population threatened is now a reality as a result of that proper organisation. And in relation to the population in Meath well if all this new population in the county wanted to play for Meath it would be something but when players are playing club football and hurling with clubs like Ratoath and Donaghmore Ashbourne and still heading in for trials in Parnell Park and elsewhere trying to get into Dublin teams then that is no good to Meath, particularly when playing for Meath isn't even considered as a second option so that's an overblown argument for me.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 18/09/2017 11:20:26    2047342

Replying To Adamski:  "I decided to watch the Sunday Game last night and to be honest I couldn't believe the route it went at the end. After showing the game and picking MOTM, Player and Team of the Year it then degenerated into a debate about breaking up Dublin. It is hard to believe that on a night when a team achieved a three in a row that we were subjected to a debate of this nature with the main protagonists being Colm O' Rourke and Joe Brolly. IF it is a debate that will need to be held sometime in the future so be it but last night was not the time for it and to be honest O' Rourke is using the argument about young players in Dublin not getting to play for the county due to the population as his main point. In my opinion this is because for all his outward praise of Dublin he begrudges them their winning run over the last 6 years. The county of Meath has never been as highly populated and look at their performance in the last decade and a half at inter-county level. Have they and other counties got their house in order, no so rather than praise the best we know want to look at taking them apart for the good of the game. Come on Colm, if that it what top level sport is about we are going no where. Why not get Michael Phelps to start his races, two seconds behind his competitors or put weights around Usain Bolt's ankles or have Lionel Messi prohibited from kicking the ball with his left foot. Brolly just is a parody of himself and has no consistency in anything he says. Then it proceeded to Kevin McStay going back to Dublin playing at home and the advantage they can from this, absolutely shocking stuff. You had the Dublin team, management, back room, friends and family in a hotel celebrating a three in a row and we had this utter garbage at the end of the sunday game and even as infuriating was the likes of Tomas O Shea,the Gooch and Co. were constantly talked over by the old brigade."
Great post.

O'Rourke hiding behind this ridiculous stat of a small percentage playing inter county. Take Laois 82,000 population, have we 1%, 800 inter county players alive? I don't think so. If 0.5% play senior inter county that would be a lot. Maybe 0.1% in Dublin at a stretch. You'd think half the kids in Dublin were deprived of playing inter county.

The likes of Rourke etc were building Dublin up but secretly hoping for a fall and their faces painted 1,000 words last night. To compliment the measly words.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 18/09/2017 11:36:12    2047360

Replying To Richieq:  "It's not that he wants them to improve it's about inclusion, how many times does he have to say it before the penny drops with ye lads, he stated there are thousands of players that will never get the chance to play with Dublin because there is only one outlet, one team to aim for. Now personally I wouldn't split the county but the introduction of a second team and maybe a third has serious merit and that's what O'Rourke is on about. And before anyone argues it we know Dublin have always had a population advantage but now they are organised which they never really were before and the potential dominance that their population threatened is now a reality as a result of that proper organisation. And in relation to the population in Meath well if all this new population in the county wanted to play for Meath it would be something but when players are playing club football and hurling with clubs like Ratoath and Donaghmore Ashbourne and still heading in for trials in Parnell Park and elsewhere trying to get into Dublin teams then that is no good to Meath, particularly when playing for Meath isn't even considered as a second option so that's an overblown argument for me."
That's bull. If you're playing with a club in Meath you can't play inter county with Dublin.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 18/09/2017 12:00:14    2047376

Replying To Laois76:  "That's bull. If you're playing with a club in Meath you can't play inter county with Dublin."
Numerous examples of this happening in meath underage anyway - don't know about other bordering counties.

showforit (Meath) - Posts: 156 - 18/09/2017 12:23:46    2047391

No gouging mentioned on Sunday game by them why ? Oh no ulster team involved

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 18/09/2017 12:27:37    2047393

Replying To Laois76:  "That's bull. If you're playing with a club in Meath you can't play inter county with Dublin."
Really?? I bow to your superior intellect....

http://hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=177852

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 18/09/2017 12:34:12    2047400

Replying To Richieq:  "It's not that he wants them to improve it's about inclusion, how many times does he have to say it before the penny drops with ye lads, he stated there are thousands of players that will never get the chance to play with Dublin because there is only one outlet, one team to aim for. Now personally I wouldn't split the county but the introduction of a second team and maybe a third has serious merit and that's what O'Rourke is on about. And before anyone argues it we know Dublin have always had a population advantage but now they are organised which they never really were before and the potential dominance that their population threatened is now a reality as a result of that proper organisation. And in relation to the population in Meath well if all this new population in the county wanted to play for Meath it would be something but when players are playing club football and hurling with clubs like Ratoath and Donaghmore Ashbourne and still heading in for trials in Parnell Park and elsewhere trying to get into Dublin teams then that is no good to Meath, particularly when playing for Meath isn't even considered as a second option so that's an overblown argument for me."
Don't agree with your arguments. Firstly there was none of this argument until Dublin's dominance kicked in. Then we have everything from population, sponsorship, full time professionalism etc. etc. being wheeled out. In relation to club players in meath clubs declaring for Dublin they are very much in the minority and let's be honest about there is not one member of the Dublin senior panel playing club football in Meath. Deegan left ashbourne and went to na fianna and is not in the panel. Ironically we have O' Rourke rambling on about integration and giving everyone a fair shot to play for their county, come on you know as well as I do that he wants a split to damage the success not to help it.

Adamski (Dublin) - Posts: 339 - 18/09/2017 12:57:07    2047423

Replying To Dellboypolecat:  "No gouging mentioned on Sunday game by them why ? Oh no ulster team involved"
No reference to a definite penalty for Mayo not to mention the free that was awarded to Dublin when two of them collided.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1791 - 18/09/2017 13:01:53    2047427

Laois76

You can play club football/hurling in one county and declare allegiance for another, there are examples of this - if you were originally born in the other county ( which would be most of meath) if a parent was from that county...

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1673 - 18/09/2017 13:02:20    2047428

Replying To baire:  "No reference to a definite penalty for Mayo not to mention the free that was awarded to Dublin when two of them collided."
It wasnt awarded for the collison it is what happened after it, do you just see what you want to see?

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 18/09/2017 13:06:59    2047434

Replying To baire:  "No reference to a definite penalty for Mayo not to mention the free that was awarded to Dublin when two of them collided."
No mention either of the black that AOS should have got or the lineball at the end that led to COCs free.There was missed calls both ways.
The free wasn't awarded when the 2 collided but rather when keegan stupidly fouled. As regards the penalty incident i'd like a ref to clear this one up. The 1st foul was outside and advantage was being played. However he was fouled again so which is it; the 1st or the 2nd foul ? Any ref care to call it ?

footballfirst (Dublin) - Posts: 48 - 18/09/2017 13:14:52    2047440

Replying To arock:  "It wasnt awarded for the collison it is what happened after it, do you just see what you want to see?"
What happened afterwards was good tackling from Mayo players, over carrying and it should have been a free out.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1791 - 18/09/2017 13:15:07    2047441

Replying To Adamski:  "Don't agree with your arguments. Firstly there was none of this argument until Dublin's dominance kicked in. Then we have everything from population, sponsorship, full time professionalism etc. etc. being wheeled out. In relation to club players in meath clubs declaring for Dublin they are very much in the minority and let's be honest about there is not one member of the Dublin senior panel playing club football in Meath. Deegan left ashbourne and went to na fianna and is not in the panel. Ironically we have O' Rourke rambling on about integration and giving everyone a fair shot to play for their county, come on you know as well as I do that he wants a split to damage the success not to help it."
I don't think it's something you'll have to worry about anyways but if I were a Dublin supporter I would love the idea of setting up a second team and using it as a feeder team to the main Dublin team. Didn't Dublin field a completely different team in the O'Byrne cup this year and that's where the found young Niall Scully?? I wouldn't be surprised if the Dublin county board seek permisson from Croke Park for something like this down the line. Maybe trial it in the league or Leinster championship first to see how it works. It could suit players under the age of 23 (Not a restriction just an idea) who aren't at the required level to break into Dublin's first 30 but provide a stepping stone to graduate into the Dublin first team squad and keep lads interested after underage.

Mobot (Donegal) - Posts: 459 - 18/09/2017 13:15:48    2047442

No mention either of the black that AOS should have got or the lineball at the end that led to COCs free.There was missed calls both ways.
The free wasn't awarded when the 2 collided but rather when keegan stupidly fouled. As regards the penalty incident i'd like a ref to clear this one up. The 1st foul was outside and advantage was being played. However he was fouled again so which is it; the 1st or the 2nd foul ? Any ref care to call it ?

footballfirst (Dublin) - Posts: 48 - 18/09/2017 13:16:37    2047443

Replying To Richieq:  "Really?? I bow to your superior intellect....

Complaining" target="_blank" rel="nofollow">http://hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=177852"
Complaining abt losing Mick Deegan's son! The fact is y

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 18/09/2017 13:29:11    2047448

Replying To Adamski:  "Don't agree with your arguments. Firstly there was none of this argument until Dublin's dominance kicked in. Then we have everything from population, sponsorship, full time professionalism etc. etc. being wheeled out. In relation to club players in meath clubs declaring for Dublin they are very much in the minority and let's be honest about there is not one member of the Dublin senior panel playing club football in Meath. Deegan left ashbourne and went to na fianna and is not in the panel. Ironically we have O' Rourke rambling on about integration and giving everyone a fair shot to play for their county, come on you know as well as I do that he wants a split to damage the success not to help it."
You are right, the discussion didn't kick in until Dublin started dominating but as I said this domination is down to Dublin GAA getting their house in order and organising themselves properly, proper organisation was always a problem for the Dubs. Heffo went about sorting it in the 70's but even he couldn't have created what exists now. It is now, because if the structures and organisation Dublin have in place, that their population advantages will be felt, and their on field success is garnering the off field success for which the potential again was always there. I genuinely do not believe O'Rourke would ever speak on an issue like this with the intent of damaging Dublin, his admiration for this Dublin team is never hidden in my view. Young Deegan played for Dublin whilst playing with Ashbourne, that's one example and there are others and I used it as an example to defend myself from speaking bull from a certain Laois man, many others playing with clubs in Meath are trying to play for Dublin but not being successful but not thinking of Meath as a second option, that's a real pity but probably only adds strength to what O'Rourke is saying players that want to play for Dublin but can't, I'd love to see young Deegan in a Meath jersey and think he would improve with intercounty exposure but you can't force the chap, he wants to play intercounty with Dublin only and that's his call

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 18/09/2017 13:31:16    2047451

Replying To Richieq:  "Really?? I bow to your superior intellect....

Complaining" target="_blank" rel="nofollow">http://hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=177852"
Complaining abt losing Mick Deegan's son. Fact is ye have a population to be competitive but are whining.

You might aswell bow. Ye're getting used to bowing and bending the knee.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 18/09/2017 13:31:54    2047453