Lee Keegan throwing GPS at Rock?

Tried and failed to put the best free taker in the game off - #thingsleedid

GaaGaa78 (UK) - Posts: 285 - 18/09/2017 19:32:01    2047643

Replying To pdempsey:  "This is nonsense. Plenty of stuff happened in the game yesterday and throwing a small plastic object along the floor is down the list a bit. Well done to Dean Rock for converting the free under pressure."
I'll finish that for you...

Well done to Dean Rock for coverting the free while under pressure.... from flying objects.

GaaGaa78 (UK) - Posts: 285 - 18/09/2017 19:34:56    2047645

Replying To GetOverTheBar:  "I'm sure a thrown GPS was nothing compared to the words shouted. Nothing incident on this one."
Words don't distract you the way a hard object would if it had hit him while taking the free.

GaaGaa78 (UK) - Posts: 285 - 18/09/2017 19:37:57    2047648

Replying To SaffronDon:  "yea can you imagine. 80% from you, Joxer and Hill etc defending all wrong doing by Dublin players with endless excuses. You should read back over some of those drawn out threads in case you forget who contributes to most of them.

Posters on here aren't as obsessed with your players as you'd like everyone to believe they are."
Defending what exactly? Ulster posters really letting themselves down on here this past two days. Sad to see.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 18/09/2017 19:45:43    2047651

Replying To SaffronDon:  "yea can you imagine. 80% from you, Joxer and Hill etc defending all wrong doing by Dublin players with endless excuses. You should read back over some of those drawn out threads in case you forget who contributes to most of them.

Posters on here aren't as obsessed with your players as you'd like everyone to believe they are."
Utter drivel.

You'd think I'd defend J Cooper doing that or John Small?

I'd be embarrassed and condemn it without hesitation

If you don't think this would be an even bigger story if a Dub player threw his GPS tracker at COC to put him off winning an AI title with the last kick of the game in injury time then you're either daft or a liar.

Look at the negative reaction already directed at some calls that went Dublin's way..

Your opinion of me is way off

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 18/09/2017 19:52:36    2047657

Replying To The_Fridge:  "I have to agree with you Hill. It would explode on here to be fair.
Probably the same reaction if a Tyrone man did it."
Shame your far lesser Ulster GAA comrade can't accept the truth!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 18/09/2017 19:54:52    2047659

Replying To Brolly:  "If he misses the free then it becomes a major issue. Shouldn't have done it. Lee should have put his easy shot for a point over in the first half rather than dropping short, then he wouldn't have to worry about throwing his tracker."
100% spot on

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 18/09/2017 19:56:21    2047660

No one is trying to claim non-Dublin posters are 'obsessed' with Dublin players. The issue is the'obvious anti-Dublin bias evident in this forum.
Much of it is sheer spite and begrudgery masquerading as reasoned argument. Pitiful stuff really.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 18/09/2017 20:00:21    2047663

Some of ye guys might remember that in Iraq throwing a shoe is regarded as a huge insult. In Mayo the tradition is the opposite and involves throwing your GPS! Lee threw his GPS at the brilliant Dean Rock as a compliment:)

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 18/09/2017 20:08:43    2047667

Replying To Pericles:  "Some of ye guys might remember that in Iraq throwing a shoe is regarded as a huge insult. In Mayo the tradition is the opposite and involves throwing your GPS! Lee threw his GPS at the brilliant Dean Rock as a compliment:)"
Fair play to him maybe next year Dean can throw one of his 5 All Ireland medals in Lee's direction

dubshurling7 (Dublin) - Posts: 1017 - 18/09/2017 20:29:04    2047680

Imagine the uproar now if Connolly had done that to O'Connor taking a free for mayo....

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1908 - 18/09/2017 20:35:44    2047684

Replying To pdempsey:  "This is nonsense. Plenty of stuff happened in the game yesterday and throwing a small plastic object along the floor is down the list a bit. Well done to Dean Rock for converting the free under pressure."
the 'floor' is inside, I think you're watching too much sasana soccer.

El_Torro (Tyrone) - Posts: 155 - 18/09/2017 20:41:49    2047692

in fairness the Mayo fans gave Roscommon plenty of criticism for a section of our fans (silly fools , we all have them ) booing the excellent Andy Moran....I was there yesterday....the Mayo fans booed the Dublin free taker at every opportunity....sad thing is that this is creeping into our game ....Mayo can't have it every way.

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1079 - 18/09/2017 20:58:06    2047699

Replying To dubshurling7:  "Fair play to him maybe next year Dean can throw one of his 5 All Ireland medals in Lee's direction"
That's the spirit!

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 18/09/2017 21:26:35    2047727

It's a disgrace and shameful. But if I was loosing my third all Ireland final I would definitely do the same thing. What is more I would make sure it hit him to really put him off. I am not proud of admitting that.

Daith (Kildare) - Posts: 1171 - 18/09/2017 21:33:50    2047737

Replying To GaaGaa78:  "Words don't distract you the way a hard object would if it had hit him while taking the free."
Fair enough point. It was never thrown at anyone though. It was tossed into periphery vision - which was no use anyway, two very different things.

GetOverTheBar (Tyrone) - Posts: 1388 - 18/09/2017 21:43:55    2047743

Replying To Joxer:  "Defending what exactly? Ulster posters really letting themselves down on here this past two days. Sad to see."
not me. I've given Dublin due praise since yesterday. but you have been known to defend Dublin players no matter what the issue so lets not dance on the end of a needle.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 18/09/2017 21:56:07    2047751

Replying To jimbodub:  "Utter drivel.

You'd think I'd defend J Cooper doing that or John Small?

I'd be embarrassed and condemn it without hesitation

If you don't think this would be an even bigger story if a Dub player threw his GPS tracker at COC to put him off winning an AI title with the last kick of the game in injury time then you're either daft or a liar.

Look at the negative reaction already directed at some calls that went Dublin's way..

Your opinion of me is way off"
my opinion of you is based on your treatment of another Dublin poster who you accused of not being from Dublin just because he didnt jump to their defence like you seem to always do.

The fact that you are on here one day after winning an AI playing the poor mouth with the 'what if it was Dublin' talk speaks volumes when you should be setting the pettiness aside and smelling the roses of another fantastic victory.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 18/09/2017 22:09:44    2047766

Replying To avonali:  "No one is trying to claim non-Dublin posters are 'obsessed' with Dublin players. The issue is the'obvious anti-Dublin bias evident in this forum.
Much of it is sheer spite and begrudgery masquerading as reasoned argument. Pitiful stuff really."
i agree. it is pathetic and im not part of it. Dublin are deserving AI champions and the best I've seen play the game. but it is a two way street. there are paranoid Dublin posters who think their players should never be held accountable or get worse treatment than any other team which is also rubbish. Today should be a cheerished day for you lads and the bitterness put to one side, at least until the long boring winter kicks in.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 18/09/2017 22:16:20    2047771

I think this incident show that this Mayo team are starting to suffer mental fatigue
For a player of such high standard to try such a thing tell me that he needs time out

paul39 (Galway) - Posts: 22 - 18/09/2017 22:20:18    2047776