Lee Keegan throwing GPS at Rock?

Replying To uibhfhaili1986:  "Stop talking bull would you.

Any player would do that to try and help their team it's no different to a jersey pull or a drag down."
Tell me you're joking.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 18/09/2017 10:27:03    2047294

Replying To wishfulthinkin:  "what has sportsmanship got to do with trying to win the most important match off the year for your team and your county? Quit whinging over nothing. If anything..doing something like that shows incredible sportsmanship, putting everything on the line to try and achieve for your county. If joe canning did it, there wouldn't be half the moaning out off you."
What a daft comment.
What keegan did was totally unsporting.It is a sport we are talking about here not a war.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 18/09/2017 10:28:47    2047296

I have looked at the free again and see very little in it. I can't see anything being thrown in anyways. They're trying to put him off but it doesn't look much different to a lot of other frees in that sense.

If he did I kinda admire him for it. It's fairly good, quick thinking in anyways!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 18/09/2017 10:31:39    2047300

Shows how far we have come and modernised in recent years when instead of trying to put an opponent off by giving him a puck or insulting his mother you throw a GPS tracker at him instead, what a wonderful time to be alive.......

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 18/09/2017 10:45:02    2047319

Replying To MesAmis:  "I have looked at the free again and see very little in it. I can't see anything being thrown in anyways. They're trying to put him off but it doesn't look much different to a lot of other frees in that sense.

If he did I kinda admire him for it. It's fairly good, quick thinking in anyways!"
Clear photos on google images of tracker being thrown

I know you've a hard on for Mayo Mes and fair enough on that, they are a great team but... you admire him for it?

Talking through yer hoop chief or are you just having a laugh?

Would you admire him if Deans focus was impacted enough for him to miss it?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 18/09/2017 11:07:10    2047338

Replying To MesAmis:  "I have looked at the free again and see very little in it. I can't see anything being thrown in anyways. They're trying to put him off but it doesn't look much different to a lot of other frees in that sense.

If he did I kinda admire him for it. It's fairly good, quick thinking in anyways!"
https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2017/0917/905495-dean-rock-not-phased-by-thrown-gps-unit-on-final-free/

Chops (Westmeath) - Posts: 775 - 18/09/2017 11:43:28    2047365

Clear photos on google images of tracker being thrown

I know you've a hard on for Mayo Mes and fair enough on that, they are a great team but... you admire him for it?

Talking through yer hoop chief or are you just having a laugh?

Would you admire him if Deans focus was impacted enough for him to miss it?
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts:17384 - 18/09/2017 11:07:10

Ha Jimbo!

What I mean by admire is that I've never seen someone do that on a football field before! You have to admit it was serious quick thinking no?

Dean's focus wasn't impacted though so I don't really care about it!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 18/09/2017 11:52:29    2047373

Replying To uibhfhaili1986:  "Stop talking bull would you.

Any player would do that to try and help their team it's no different to a jersey pull or a drag down."
Well not really, cant recall it happening before. Doesn't bother me but maybe would've been contentious if he missed.

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 18/09/2017 11:53:16    2047374

Replying To Joxer:  "Keegan's a super player but if he threw that GPS then that is a disgrace. Sore loser and really poor form."
Terrible sportsmanship but I can see why he tried it. It was a desperation move as he knew Rock wouldn't miss. I don't think he was being a sore loser. He was risking a second yellow card and the free being taken in closer but he didn't care. Not condoning it and has no place in the game but I can see why he tried it.

Mobot (Donegal) - Posts: 459 - 18/09/2017 12:01:18    2047378

He missed anyway.....sums up Mayo's problems!

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1826 - 18/09/2017 12:04:35    2047381

Mustn't be good GPS if it missed!

RoyalBadger (Meath) - Posts: 571 - 18/09/2017 12:15:15    2047386

Didnt matter he was seriously focussed maybe mayo kicker should look at Deans mental focus

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 18/09/2017 12:30:04    2047396

Lee Leegan? Why am I not surprised?

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 18/09/2017 12:32:18    2047398

Replying To Joxer:  "Tell me you're joking."
It's cynical just like those things I highlighted.

Last minute of the all ireland I don't exactly blame a player for doing whatever ut takes to try and win.

It may not be right but it's understandable what he did.

uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 18/09/2017 12:40:12    2047404

When Keegan plays football there's very few players in the country as good as him. He did get away with a couple of tackles on Kilkenny in the first half but was eventually picked up later on and given a yellow. Funnily enough, I thought when he got the yellow he played better. Kilkenny barely touched the ball, Keegan could have been a bigger threat had he been given license to go forward.
But a petty gesture like throwing a GPS tracker at a player ready to take a free is poor form. A shame for his performance to be remembered with this in the context.

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 18/09/2017 12:59:19    2047425

I'm sure a thrown GPS was nothing compared to the words shouted. Nothing incident on this one.

GetOverTheBar (Tyrone) - Posts: 1388 - 18/09/2017 13:06:26    2047432

Anyone who thinks this act was a disgrace or any other word you'd like to term it is nothing but soft, the game is being ruined by softness. You do what you must to win. Hats off to Keegan for his creativity.

TheFullBack (Galway) - Posts: 110 - 18/09/2017 13:31:13    2047450

nothing here. Could give countless other incidents which could also come under the non sportmanship umbrella. Shur the the off the balls stuff was unreal. this is a nothing tread . Fair plat to keegan for thinking of it i wouldnt have and fair play to Rock for landing the kick. Jasus lads we dont have to hen peck every little detail. Only person how was unsporting was o gara. STICKING FINGERS IN TO FACE/EYE/MOUTH AND SMILING WHILE DOING IT HAS NO PLACE IN THE GAME. Other than that i didnt see anything worth commenting on. few dodgy decisions for both side will happen in every game. If its a drawn game and i felt a tracker would put off the free taker and get me a replay would i do it. 100% And if the situation was reversed so would dublin. Shur look a Philly yesterday . O connors father hasnt spoke to him as much about taking frees as philly did

ritchie (Cork) - Posts: 346 - 18/09/2017 13:53:49    2047468

So much for 10 meters as well. It was like that rule didn't exist yesterday,

Sad to see that kind of thing.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 18/09/2017 13:59:12    2047472

Well in the first instance it shouldn't have been thrown in the first place, I understand someone doing it at the time and place but it is bad form. The thing I would also have issue with is James McCarthy giving off about it at his acceptance of man of the match lack of class there for me there wasn't a need for him to discuss it. I recall people giving out about Aidan O'shea saying he was headbutted by McMahon after the drawn semi in 15 and was roundly criticised by posters here.

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 18/09/2017 14:46:38    2047495