Attention Posters

Lads just a little post here hoping for some of you to listen. The amount of nonsense posted on here is getting worse from week to week. Post match here we are with loads of separate threads debating multiple aspects of the game. And half of the posts are absolute pants.

What an absolutely brilliant game of football today from 2 outstanding teams. It's heartbreaking looking back wondering how we didn't get the job done. So many ifs and buts but the fact is is we were dead on our feet in injury time and we didn't have anyone left on the bench to make the difference. That 3 point swing when we went one up was the killer. The Vaughan red card was a killer. O Gara should have been red carded but wasn't spotted. So many ifs and buts but when all is said and done that bit of class got Dublin over the line and it is what it is. People blaming the red should stop, there were soft frees on both sides, the couple of frees for Dublin before half time were a killer but these things happen. I couldn't imagine what it would be like trying to ref that game.

Andy Moran is player of the year no doubt and Barrett should be MOTM today in my opinion. These Mayo lads have given all they can but just weren't quite good enough.

Life goes on. Nobody died. Credit to both teams and I would love for their posters on here to up their game a little going forward instead of the biased nonsense we have to read week in week out.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 17/09/2017 22:25:08    2047058

Fair play Flaker.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 17/09/2017 22:28:13    2047059

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Lads just a little post here hoping for some of you to listen. The amount of nonsense posted on here is getting worse from week to week. Post match here we are with loads of separate threads debating multiple aspects of the game. And half of the posts are absolute pants.

What an absolutely brilliant game of football today from 2 outstanding teams. It's heartbreaking looking back wondering how we didn't get the job done. So many ifs and buts but the fact is is we were dead on our feet in injury time and we didn't have anyone left on the bench to make the difference. That 3 point swing when we went one up was the killer. The Vaughan red card was a killer. O Gara should have been red carded but wasn't spotted. So many ifs and buts but when all is said and done that bit of class got Dublin over the line and it is what it is. People blaming the red should stop, there were soft frees on both sides, the couple of frees for Dublin before half time were a killer but these things happen. I couldn't imagine what it would be like trying to ref that game.

Andy Moran is player of the year no doubt and Barrett should be MOTM today in my opinion. These Mayo lads have given all they can but just weren't quite good enough.

Life goes on. Nobody died. Credit to both teams and I would love for their posters on here to up their game a little going forward instead of the biased nonsense we have to read week in week out."
Fair play to you, you have dignity in spades my friend, good luck to you and yours.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8584 - 17/09/2017 22:42:06    2047069

Replying To MesAmis:  "Fair play Flaker."
Its the Ulster posters creating idiotic threads toget a reaction.
More in their line to appreciate and accept that both teams today have shown you the required standard to cut it in todays modern game.

Vishred (Mayo) - Posts: 303 - 17/09/2017 22:44:53    2047072

Agreed, no need for half of these rubbish threads, Mayo just came up against a better team, Dublin still had more in the locker I always felt, they are such a fantastic team in all fairness to them, 4 in a row is very possible unless Kerry can step up again.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2737 - 17/09/2017 22:56:43    2047084

Replying To MesAmis:  "Fair play Flaker."
both sets of players were out on their feet, great game played well, ref'd well, supported magnificently, thought it was a brilliant game for the neutrals, not a classic but then finals normally aren't and nobody on that pitch today could have given anymore if it had of went on a couple more mins. don't listen to the whingers or begrudgers because that's usually all they can contribute, enjoy the celebrations and commiserations to mayo, at least you gave Dublin a game

bulmccabe (Tyrone) - Posts: 361 - 17/09/2017 23:11:46    2047093

Well said flaker

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 17/09/2017 23:52:33    2047135

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Lads just a little post here hoping for some of you to listen. The amount of nonsense posted on here is getting worse from week to week. Post match here we are with loads of separate threads debating multiple aspects of the game. And half of the posts are absolute pants.

Life goes on. Nobody died. Credit to both teams and I would love for their posters on here to up their game a little going forward instead of the biased nonsense we have to read week in week out."
Well said Flaker. Well played today and best wishes.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 17/09/2017 23:53:53    2047138

Post of the year, the Flaker. Well said.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1902 - 18/09/2017 00:01:18    2047146

Apologies for the one or two typos,
I didn't review, the head was melted!

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 18/09/2017 00:06:23    2047149

100% Flaker. Some ridiculous talk on here this evening. This after an absolutely gripping game that could have went either way right to the death. I think the criticism of AO'S has been scandalous, some people must judge performances by looking at the score board, or simply have a bee in their bonnet about the man. He ran himself ragged and was a great link man with the ball and started a lot of Mayo attacks. Nobody shy'd away from battle on that field today and that's what this final should be remembered for.

I guess we should remember that Mayo have had some gripping contests to tune into this summer, some of them they looked second best but still got through them and seemed to learn from draws better than all their opponents to bounce back and win. Dublin are just a phenomenon that are almost impossible to stop and in another era this Mayo side would definitely have made that breakthrough by now. If its any consolation I'd give my back teeth to have a team anywhere near as quality as Mayo to get behind every summer, even with the heartbreak.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 18/09/2017 00:13:07    2047154

Great game of football -edge of seat stuff with game in the balance all thru with the more experienced team winning at end.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 18/09/2017 00:45:47    2047178

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "Post of the year, the Flaker. Well said."
Great post flaker. But I disagree with you on one point. Mayo were good enough to win today. And nearly did. A couple of things went against ye in the last few minutes. No need to reiterate them here. Mayo were the only team who could have beaten Dublin this year.
Congratulations to Dublin on wining three in a row and sincere commiserations to Mayo, a fantastic football team who brightened up our otherwise dull summer with their never give up attitude and footballing ability that brought them once again, deservedly to Croke Park on All-Ireland final day. You can be proud of your team and supporters. Today was a great final between the two greatest teams of the modern era.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 2986 - 18/09/2017 02:31:14    2047185

Apologies for the spelling errors in the original post. I was typing from in a packed pub with one or two pints on board.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 18/09/2017 07:53:45    2047204

Replying To lilywhite1:  "Great post flaker. But I disagree with you on one point. Mayo were good enough to win today. And nearly did. A couple of things went against ye in the last few minutes. No need to reiterate them here. Mayo were the only team who could have beaten Dublin this year.
Congratulations to Dublin on wining three in a row and sincere commiserations to Mayo, a fantastic football team who brightened up our otherwise dull summer with their never give up attitude and footballing ability that brought them once again, deservedly to Croke Park on All-Ireland final day. You can be proud of your team and supporters. Today was a great final between the two greatest teams of the modern era."
Agree with all of that hard luck tough to take but that's sport

runnerin (Meath) - Posts: 202 - 18/09/2017 08:09:02    2047208

Replying To lilywhite1:  "Great post flaker. But I disagree with you on one point. Mayo were good enough to win today. And nearly did. A couple of things went against ye in the last few minutes. No need to reiterate them here. Mayo were the only team who could have beaten Dublin this year.
Congratulations to Dublin on wining three in a row and sincere commiserations to Mayo, a fantastic football team who brightened up our otherwise dull summer with their never give up attitude and footballing ability that brought them once again, deservedly to Croke Park on All-Ireland final day. You can be proud of your team and supporters. Today was a great final between the two greatest teams of the modern era."
I known they could have won, no doubt about that. But they didn't. Loads of things didn't go their way but the game went on for 76 mins and our lads were gone. They were 2 up and got hit for 3 on the bounce. As I said nearly but not good enough.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 18/09/2017 09:38:18    2047253

I'd say this one is especially hard to take as Mayo supporters because you were absolutely magnificent yesterday. Commiserations, I really really thought you had it especially when COC had that free from a tight angle, I felt like it was your day and it was going to sail over. Not to be, I honestly think this Mayo team is up there with the best I've seen play the game, they've just come up against an even better side in Dublin these past 4 years.

I thought to a man they were excellent yesterday. AOS got on a lot of ball and ran himself ragged, Barrett was colossal, Doherty, McLaughlin jesus all of them just fantastic. I thought Vaughan was having an excellent game as well til the red card. Things were missed, decisions could've gone either way, look that's football. Anyway, I'm sure most Mayo folks are just devastated today and not too interested in the opinions of well wishers or wind up merchants. They've been here before, too many times probably, they'll be back again next year.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 18/09/2017 09:51:44    2047266

Well done to Dublin on another All Ireland win. It wasn't one of their better performances but like all great teams they found a way to get the job done and credit must go to them for that. Three in a row is a magnificent achievement and they will rightly go down in GAA history as one of the best teams of all time. Congratulations again and enjoy all the celebrations!

For Mayo, heartbreak again. They are a great, honest group of lads who deserve immense credit for the way they keep on going. They were well served yesterday with some fantastic displays from the likes of Barrett, Moran, Parsons, Harrison, Higgins etc. Unfortunately it wasn't to be. They gave their absolute all and were dead on their feet at the end, which is all you can ask of a team. To leave it all out there on the pitch. I don't want to sound too patronizing though. If I was being a bit overly critical I would highlight the fact that Mayo missed about 3 or 4 very scorable opportunities and in tight games these make all the difference.

Finally, to sum up. Thanks to both teams for an epic blood and thunder final. The atmosphere looked to be electric yesterday and the result was in the balance right til the end. All you could ask for in a final. Well done men!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9111 - 18/09/2017 09:53:39    2047267

Bad luck Flaker, you can be proud of your team.

Hopefully you can get over the line at some point over the next few years. The team has been around for a while, hopefully the likes of Coen, Diarmuid O'Connor, Loftus all get better with experience to compensate for others getting a little past their prime.

I agree with your post entirely.

I come on here wanting to have a conversation about a great game and some of the crap posts going up are close to putting me off completely.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4203 - 18/09/2017 10:03:44    2047278

Replying To Vishred:  "Its the Ulster posters creating idiotic threads toget a reaction.
More in their line to appreciate and accept that both teams today have shown you the required standard to cut it in todays modern game."
lol - it's all them big bad Nordies so it is so it is. Banish them I say...... oh wait.....

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 18/09/2017 10:23:58    2047288