Heartbreak for Mayo once again

Replying To neverright:  "So, so tough for Mayo. An enthralling game with everything in it. Goal and a point for Dublin should have been called back for 'steps' but it's the final scoreboard that counts. Vaughan's rush of blood leading to a red card did not help"
Vaughans red was the turning point of the match.
Free to go two up plus an extra player reversed in a moment of madness,

Vishred (Mayo) - Posts: 303 - 17/09/2017 21:09:50    2047008

Replying To Yew1951:  "Mayo like so many times in the recent past have choked again. Indiscipline in the form of Vaughan and again choking at two points up with 10 to go. We as Mayo supporters need to step off and stop putting these lads on pedestals until they deliver something real...Connaught titles don't cut it. chokers!"
Disgraceful comment. Mayo died with their boots on. They couldn't have given any more. They lost to one of the greatest teams of all time by 1 point. You should be proud of your team no cutting them down. It's easy talk from up in the stand.

jj72 (Kildare) - Posts: 53 - 17/09/2017 21:19:06    2047022

Replying To galwayford:  "Mayo needed a good start, not to concede a goal. They did'nt get it. Once the first goal went in you just knew Dubs would do it. Mayo are not good coming from behind. Also Aidan O Shea, Donal Vaughan and their manager Rochford had bad games. Rochfordl lost his cool with all the subbings he did. This reminds me of Galway hurlers in 2012- under Antony Cunningham. They should have Kilkenny beaten but the sideline lost the "head"."
Ridiculous post. Mayo were far the better team in the first half. Their downfall was in fact not racking up more scores in that half. The start they had was of little or no bearing on the end result other it was a score that contributed to Dublin's victory. I felt Mayo probably should have got something from that game yesterday, at least another day out. They were excellent. They were still well in the game at 70 mins. Vaughan's sending off was more of a factor. An extra man would have saw them over I think.

Fair play to Dublin - a classy outfit. There is very very little between these teams but Dublin are just the tiny bit ahead.

seanfinn (Monaghan) - Posts: 360 - 18/09/2017 11:13:49    2047340

Replying To galwayford:  "Mayo needed a good start, not to concede a goal. They did'nt get it. Once the first goal went in you just knew Dubs would do it. Mayo are not good coming from behind. Also Aidan O Shea, Donal Vaughan and their manager Rochford had bad games. Rochfordl lost his cool with all the subbings he did. This reminds me of Galway hurlers in 2012- under Antony Cunningham. They should have Kilkenny beaten but the sideline lost the "head"."
I have to agree. I think Stephen Rochford is a good manager, but he seems to have subs pre-planned before most games. He took off some of Mayo's best players, and in particular, Andy Moran.

PK57 (Louth) - Posts: 1653 - 18/09/2017 11:40:10    2047363

Football is dead, some say. Give me a break. That was absolutely absorbing stuff. 2 teams going at it hammer&tongs for 80 mins or so. As a neutral, its what I wanted to see. Neutral in that I'm from Offaly but I'd have liked Mayo to win yesterday as was the case with most 'neutrals'. But fair dues to Dublin. They know how to grind it out. They do what they have to do. Dark arts maybe, but all the top teams do it. Dublin are just better at it. Many varied opinions here. I enjoy reading them all. So much to analyse, I'd love to discuss it all day. Firstly, lots of negative stuff. The O'Gara incident, Vaughan's moment of madness, Keegan GPS-throwing, the wrestling of men to the ground after Rock's free & some refereeing decisions in general. All in all they probably evened themselves out.
On the positive side, Mayo are an unbelievable team, make no mistake about it. I think they'd beat any other All-Ireland winning team in recent times. They've just happened to meet a particular Dublin juggernaut now on too many occasions. They are as good as them I've no doubt. But Dublin have just managed to get a psychological edge on them & have probably utilised the cynical aspects of the game a little better than Mayo in recent meetings. That Dublin have won 5 titles since 2011, 4 of them by a point, shows the psychological strength they have to dig deep & get a result from an apparent 50/50 situation. Mayo needed to be cuter when it mattered, but were hit & miss in this particular aspect. One example being a well-engineered free towards the end, which O'Connor missed. They did well to get it, probably could have stolen an extra yard or 2 infield & then inexplicably had nobody there to fight for the dropping ball inside the 14 or 21. Compare this to the winning Dublin free & how they dealt with it, especially their clock management around this time.
Personally I think Dublin won the game as a team. They were slightly more consistent amongst the 21 that played yesterday over Mayos 21. The subs had a big influence. It wasn't hugely apparent but compared to the impact of Mayos bench, it was significant. Mayo just dont have the quality to come in. Split-second decisions cost Mayo the game & won it for Dublin. Loftus turning left (with his back to goal near the 45) instead of right was one. O'Shea's rash, glory-seeking effort was another. Contrast that with the decision making of Dublin, such as Rocks fisted effort & Mannions nice score when many would've gone for goal. Collectively Dublin were better yesterday as a unit. Mayo probably had more visible outstanding performers. Overall, I felt that Barrett was consistently the best performer & probably deserved Man of the Match. I thought O'Shea bossed McCarthy for most of the 1st half. Fair play to James, he redeemed himself 2nd half against a visibly slowing O'Shea. But over the full game I don't think he merited MotM. Mayo needed more from O'Connor. And I think they needed more from Rochford too. Dont get me wrong, he got 95% of his calls correct, but his substitutions were predictable. Boyle had more in the tank, again. His early exit every game along with that of Sheamus O'Shea bugs me.
I was leaning towards Andy Moran for Player of the Year, but last years decision to give it to Keegan will work against him, I feel. Dublin will surely get it this time & McCarthy will be the recipient. McCaffrey is a contender, but going off injured in the final has cost him the gong I'd say. Cluxton had a great year too, one of his best. Made some great saves this year as well as his almost flawless kicking, up to yesterday. Boyle was flying too, but being burned by O'Callaghan for the early goal yesterday will count against him. O'Callaghan, O'Sullivan & Mannion had good years without ever really hitting 'great' status. Rock will get a mention but his overall contribution in open play lets him down. Keegan, Barrett, Parsons, all shined at times throughout the season. Colm Cavanagh too had a super year

OffalyBigBall (Offaly) - Posts: 625 - 18/09/2017 12:27:45    2047394

Really? You must not have noticed that they did actually come from behind to lead at half-time and they also led late in the game. Every one of them can hold their heads high after a magnificent performance. As for the subbing, players from both sides were going down with cramp in the second-half and I'm sure the guys who came off had absolutely nothing left in the tank. The subs also did quite well when they came in. Its too bad that a few other so-called top teams cannot man up like this against Dublin instead of rolling over and playing dead at the sight of a Dublin jersey and then making pathetic excuses after they get crushed.

Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 996 - 18/09/2017 13:58:49    2047471

Replying To offyertrolley:  "Heartfelt commiserations to Mayo. A fantastic effort yet again. Dublin are a great team but they were not the better team on this occasion."
The scoreline would suggest different.

Marse (Dublin) - Posts: 217 - 18/09/2017 14:25:13    2047483

Fair play to Dublin yesterday and congrats on a great win. Mayo were almost excellent but it's the "almost" bit that cost them. At the very highest level it's the head that gets you over the line and Mayo made a couple of errors that Dublin don't make. Vaughan getting himself sent off just as they had a scoreable free and about to get a man advantage was crazy stuff. He's a brilliant and experienced back, he should have never put himself in that position. Clark kicking his kick out after the clinching free was no help either. Mayo never touched the ball again after that. These things cost you and I would have really loved to see Mayo climb the steps yesterday. I know a few Mayo people aren't happy with the ref but overall I thought he did alright. O'Shea could have easily got a black at the start of the second half but he overlooked it. Well done to Dublin, what they have achieved is fantastic in the modern day. The rest of us have to reload and go at them again.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 18/09/2017 14:46:13    2047493

Replying To Gaillimh_Abu:  "Really? You must not have noticed that they did actually come from behind to lead at half-time and they also led late in the game. Every one of them can hold their heads high after a magnificent performance. As for the subbing, players from both sides were going down with cramp in the second-half and I'm sure the guys who came off had absolutely nothing left in the tank. The subs also did quite well when they came in. Its too bad that a few other so-called top teams cannot man up like this against Dublin instead of rolling over and playing dead at the sight of a Dublin jersey and then making pathetic excuses after they get crushed."
Yes Mayo did the West proud yesterday. But they did'nt win. Galway hurlers did. And have shown a template how Mayo can finally win Sam.
A good manager, a good team and a bit of luck. Mayo should concentrate on the league next year. It is 2003? I think since they last won it. Win the league and surely good things will follow! Eg Galway hurlers.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2517 - 18/09/2017 15:50:57    2047545

Replying To galwayford:  "Yes Mayo did the West proud yesterday. But they did'nt win. Galway hurlers did. And have shown a template how Mayo can finally win Sam.
A good manager, a good team and a bit of luck. Mayo should concentrate on the league next year. It is 2003? I think since they last won it. Win the league and surely good things will follow! Eg Galway hurlers."
Still not sure if that's the way to do it. There can be such a thing as peaking too soon. Happened Louth this season in division 3. I know, I know, not the same situation as Mayo, but still. Mayo have managed to peak at the right time the last 2 seasons after 2 fairly ordinary seasons. They've just happened to come up against the best team of this (and possibly any other) generation. Mayo haven't done a whole lot wrong, they really haven't.

Whitey_Toppskin (Louth) - Posts: 64 - 18/09/2017 22:56:50    2047803

Replying To galwayford:  "Yes Mayo did the West proud yesterday. But they did'nt win. Galway hurlers did. And have shown a template how Mayo can finally win Sam.
A good manager, a good team and a bit of luck. Mayo should concentrate on the league next year. It is 2003? I think since they last won it. Win the league and surely good things will follow! Eg Galway hurlers."
Galways hurlers of today wouldnt last 5 mins against the kilkenny team in their pomp 3 years ago, and only had to overcome a very ok waterford team.
What Mayo are up against is a dublin machine so compairing both is rather bias.

Vishred (Mayo) - Posts: 303 - 19/09/2017 09:31:22    2047908