Total Injustice!

Replying To nextyear:  "I didn't think the last free should have been given. I watched it back. Barret stood his ground and Connolly charged in to him and fell over. I know I've got my mayo glasses on but did anyone see that differentl?"
You could add the six to seven steps taken leading up to that free and the 9 steps taken before the early goal scored- if the Ref does not pull these up then who else does. Now I though Mayo lost to a more experience team and they proceeded to take their best players when the game was there to be won. Why did Mayo not contest the Dublin kick outs in the second half -you cannot allow a team of Dublin's ability to have free ball.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 19/09/2017 15:47:01    2048144

Replying To browncows:  "You could add the six to seven steps taken leading up to that free and the 9 steps taken before the early goal scored- if the Ref does not pull these up then who else does. Now I though Mayo lost to a more experience team and they proceeded to take their best players when the game was there to be won. Why did Mayo not contest the Dublin kick outs in the second half -you cannot allow a team of Dublin's ability to have free ball."
You might need to watch it again. Free was as clear as they come and there wasn't a 'steps' issue. Of the all the things folk bring up on decisions, questioning that one is baffling.

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 19/09/2017 17:04:40    2048179

Replying To GreenMan:  "In my opinion the best team won without playing well. It used to be said that you needed twelve players playing well to win a final, Mayo had that and still lost. You couldn't say Dublin had twelve players that played well but they still won and that's a measure of how good they are. All this talk about splitting Dublis is pure rubbish. This great Dublin team will eventually fade away as all teams do and the some other county will take over. No need for all the hysteria. Kerry have won much more than Dublin and there is no talk of splitting them."
You play as well as you are let - simple as that. Some Dublin 'stars' just came up against better players on the day. Mayo were the better team but did not take their chances. Dublin did although the goal and one of their points should have been ruled out for 'steps'.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 19/09/2017 17:08:25    2048182

Dublin Joe isn't called dublin Joe for nothing!!!

End of story close the thread!

BigJohn.6_8 (Galway) - Posts: 704 - 19/09/2017 17:17:45    2048186

avonali
I have checked this and you are wrong as usual. The ref had signalled advantage when he was outside the square. As there was no advantage from the first foul accruing he had to call it back to where he first signalled it. A subsequent foul is not given. Get ytour facts right before posting your usual tripe.

Where did you check this out of interest. From the Official Referees Guide:

Foul Subsequent to Advantage Award
If, during the advantage period, a foul is committed by a player of the team which was originally fouled then the advantage
is cancelled and a free kick/puck awarded for the "second" foul.
If, during the advantage period, another foul is committed against the team which received the original advantage, then a
free kick/puck will be awarded for the "second" foul if it is considered more advantageous than the original.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 19/09/2017 17:30:35    2048193

Replying To nextyear:  "I didn't think the last free should have been given. I watched it back. Barret stood his ground and Connolly charged in to him and fell over. I know I've got my mayo glasses on but did anyone see that differentl?"
That's not like Connolly to do a thing like that

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 19/09/2017 17:33:29    2048195

Replying To browncows:  "You could add the six to seven steps taken leading up to that free and the 9 steps taken before the early goal scored- if the Ref does not pull these up then who else does. Now I though Mayo lost to a more experience team and they proceeded to take their best players when the game was there to be won. Why did Mayo not contest the Dublin kick outs in the second half -you cannot allow a team of Dublin's ability to have free ball."
It must be enjoyable going back over every free given or score taken and counting how many steps were taken.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 19/09/2017 17:36:15    2048197

And you could add in the 10'steps taken by Vaughan for his point, Cillian O'Connor strike on Cooper for his point, inexplicable free to Mayo after Cluxton save and AOS black card for rugby tackle on Fenton. It's all swings and roundabouts. It's easy to talk about pushing up on kickouts but it requires enormous fitness over 90m. Moran was knackered coming off. I should imagine that McLoughlin and Doherty were too.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 19/09/2017 17:52:00    2048206

Replying To heresam:  "I find it incredible the amount of abuse and bitterness there is against this dublin team. Why can't you acknowledge this is a great team. Every paper has the same slant by 90% of journalists.
Mackenna kimmage fogarty and on and on and on
The majority of us were gracious in our win our players are certainly gracious in their win
Just because we are in the capital and the largest county population wise is that why most of you hate us

You embarrass yourselves and the gaa with all this nonsense"
Well i ll give you some reasons.
1.your captain cant be bothered to learn a single line of irish to address our president properly.
2.your captain unwilling to give 3 cheers to the opposition.
3. Your manager is unwilling to celebrate . I mean if its no big deal...
4. Your manager crushing any journalist who actually challenges him instead of plamasing. Colm parkinson never got another interview.
5. The sunday game arent allowed mention controversial incidents involving your players so the o gara incident is swept under the carpet.
6. Home games like laois v dublin in 2016 have to be moved to different venues so that all dublin season ticket holders have a seat. Strangely portlaoise was an adequate venue when carlow were the oppisition.
7. 3 incidents of face gouging in last 3 seasons.
8.the hypocrisy surrounding the campaign against lee keegan last year when you see the co ordinated cynicism at end of the game on sunday
Thats just a few reasons to start you off

Malonemagic (Laois) - Posts: 766 - 19/09/2017 17:54:41    2048207

Maybe the fact that 2 were sent off made it more difficult to contest kick outs. Mayo had been zonal marking but there was more space for players to run on to after the sending offs.
Mayo should have closed it out when they had the 2 point lead. Dublin did show experience there

nextyear (Mayo) - Posts: 60 - 19/09/2017 18:10:12    2048213

Replying To Ulsterman:  "I stand by every word. The GAA and media coverage around Dublin is becoming like a one party state like China where dissenting opinion is actively discouraged, indeed punishable."
Ah would you ever stop ya jealous Belfast wannabe...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 19/09/2017 18:36:30    2048218

Replying To clondalkindub:  "And what about the O Conor free? Just before that ?

How can posters only see it so one sided?

We both got frees late on that were questionable Mayo missed theirs we didn't miss ours. That's how tight it was again. We scored 11 points from play and 1 free in the second half Mayo scored 1-3 the rest were frees so this Dublin Joe is ridiculous stuff."
Cilian O'Connor scored 4 frees, all of the rest of Mayo's total of 1-16 came from play.

Dean Rock scored 3 frees for Dublin.

The amount of spinning that goes on here is unreal at times.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 19/09/2017 19:56:13    2048249

Replying To Gleebo:  "Cilian O'Connor scored 4 frees, all of the rest of Mayo's total of 1-16 came from play.

Dean Rock scored 3 frees for Dublin.

The amount of spinning that goes on here is unreal at times."
Yes and you got given another 4 scoreable frees , Joe was very kind to Mayo with a lot of soft free's in both half's, I didn't spin anything but in the second half when Mayo were struggling to score from play it was Joe keeping them in it with frees.

Mayo's first 5 points could all of easily have been free outs and disallowed.

I hate all this bs but I'm sick of posters only watching it from one side.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 19/09/2017 20:22:12    2048263

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Yes and you got given another 4 scoreable frees , Joe was very kind to Mayo with a lot of soft free's in both half's, I didn't spin anything but in the second half when Mayo were struggling to score from play it was Joe keeping them in it with frees.

Mayo's first 5 points could all of easily have been free outs and disallowed.

I hate all this bs but I'm sick of posters only watching it from one side."
And Joe was very kind to Dublin allowing the many, many steps that Callaghan took for Dublin's goal, and at least two soft frees in the first half when they were struggling. Mayo also had a very good claim for a penalty turned down in the second half.

Take off your navy and blue shades for a moment, and analyse the game objectively.

Both sides got the benefit of some marginal decisions.

There's a reason why Dublin v. Mayo games are always close affairs, and that's because Mayo are almost as good as Dublin are. Why some Dublin posters have difficulty accepting this is beyond me, particularly when you've just won three in a row and should really be celebrating that, instead of carping about the officials.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 19/09/2017 21:17:00    2048292

If you want to take injustice what about Darren O'Sulivan getting a one match suspension tonight, for being taken out of the play by a Mayo player in the semi-final defeat!

Christ, Gough should never be allowed ref a game again!!

Keegan, O'Gara and the wrestling antics of the 6-7 Dubs at the end of Sunday's game will all be forgotten but Darran walks the plank for nothing...

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 19/09/2017 21:30:12    2048300

Replying To Malonemagic:  "Well i ll give you some reasons.
1.your captain cant be bothered to learn a single line of irish to address our president properly.
4. Your manager crushing any journalist who actually challenges him instead of plamasing. Colm parkinson never got another interview.
5. The sunday game arent allowed mention controversial incidents involving your players so the o gara incident is swept under the carpet.
6. Home games like laois v dublin in 2016 have to be moved to different venues so that all dublin season ticket holders have a seat. Strangely portlaoise was an adequate venue when carlow were the oppisition.
8.the hypocrisy surrounding the campaign against lee keegan last year when you see the co ordinated cynicism at end of the game on sunday
Thats just a few reasons to start you off"
What a lot of tripe. Was Connolly incident against Carlow not analysed to death. Is there protocol to address the president in Irish. Did cluxton not.say how great a team mayo were. Is Jim Gavin not allowed to react as he does to winning. Was he not interviewed on the Sunday game in the Gibson hotel. Is it Dublin who object to playing games outside Croke Park. Get your facts right..

Adamski (Dublin) - Posts: 339 - 19/09/2017 21:36:48    2048304

Replying To avonali:  "I have checked this and you are wrong as usual. The ref had signalled advantage when he was outside the square. As there was no advantage from the first foul accruing he had to call it back to where he first signalled it. A subsequent foul is not given. Get ytour facts right before posting your usual tripe."
Please read the rules.

Westfester (Limerick) - Posts: 943 - 19/09/2017 21:39:17    2048306

Cop on!

He praised them in his speech. Less condescending than 3 cheers.

Should've seen him in the Gibson!

I think you're Wooly. Makes sense.

Only one of the summer's biggest controversies arose from the Sunday Game mentioning a Dublin player. Your statement is B.S..

This one is baffling & outside of the teams hands.

I don't agree with any form of gouging at all. No doubt he will be punished.

No different to the 2012 semi when Mayo engaged in the exact same cynisism. There was no campaign against Lee.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 19/09/2017 21:39:28    2048307

3 in a row bud. The only time Laois will get out of Leinster again will be in a bus on the M7. Did you actually mention the word journalist and Parkinson in the same sentence there? Bah, ha.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 19/09/2017 21:56:03    2048319

Replying To Joxer:  "3 in a row bud. The only time Laois will get out of Leinster again will be in a bus on the M7. Did you actually mention the word journalist and Parkinson in the same sentence there? Bah, ha."
I don't agree with Malonemagic on a fair few points Joxer and have no time for Parkinson.

But when ye dip, as inevitably will happen. Look at Kerry 1975-86, KK 2006-2015 etc. Along with Meath, Kildare, Wexford (pre 1974), Westmeath 2004 etc we'll be waiting in the long grass!! Remember 1981 and 2003 to name but two. 1999 should have been a Laois win but Ian Robertson picked the ball off the ground for an equalising point.

We have a habit of producing good footballers and will get our act together to beat ye every 20 years or so! Our underage from U16 down is showing signs of a return to the form of 1995-2003. We never lacked good footballers. We're low now but we'll rise!

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 19/09/2017 23:24:55    2048370