David Clifford

Replying To Vishred:  "Ahh , Clifford the great Kerry hope..
but fans need to realise it wasnt a lack of punch in the final 3rd which has left them behind Mayo and Dublin.
Kerry are lacking a backbone atm."
Agreed.Kerry in the replay against Mayo were devoid of any shape or structure.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2156 - 07/10/2017 15:00:27    2053738

but fans need to realise it wasnt a lack of punch in the final 3rd which has left them behind Mayo and Dublin.
What are Mayo lacking?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 07/10/2017 15:44:17    2053741

Numerous posters have made that point

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 07/10/2017 15:49:49    2053743

Replying To KY4SAM2015:  "Numerous posters have made that point"
and some physicality while thyre at it.
Yer know what i mean ;

Vishred (Mayo) - Posts: 303 - 07/10/2017 16:27:33    2053749

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "What are Mayo lacking?"
A paul geaney

Vishred (Mayo) - Posts: 303 - 07/10/2017 16:51:29    2053754

Replying To Vishred:  "A paul geaney"
We need Donie Buckley.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 07/10/2017 18:09:49    2053763

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "What are Mayo lacking?"
Losing two All Ireland finals by a single point in two years doesn't really mean you are missing much......

Iamlegion666 (Monaghan) - Posts: 285 - 07/10/2017 19:39:49    2053776

Pity Clifford isn't a defender.. It's not forwards that Kerry needs

Completely exposed with AOM and TOSe leaving the panel in 2017

But on Clifford Let's see how good he is playing against men and not against under developed children

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 07/10/2017 20:30:06    2053786

Replying To jimbodub:  "Pity Clifford isn't a defender.. It's not forwards that Kerry needs

Completely exposed with AOM and TOSe leaving the panel in 2017

But on Clifford Let's see how good he is playing against men and not against under developed children"
How about we see him play against fellas his own age at U20 for a couple of years first jim.

And ya we need backs and a new half forward line.

We need more athletes and less natural footballers just like jim gavin did with the dubs.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 07/10/2017 22:16:24    2053795

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "How about we see him play against fellas his own age at U20 for a couple of years first jim.

And ya we need backs and a new half forward line.

We need more athletes and less natural footballers just like jim gavin did with the dubs."
need a mixture...fairly poor kerry group of players by their standards

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 08/10/2017 11:23:03    2053836

Replying To alano12:  "need a mixture...fairly poor kerry group of players by their standards"
This is the worst group of Kerry players since the late 80s and early to mid 90s.

There was feck all done at underage during our dominant spell at senior level in the naughties and we're suffering for that now.

The same thing happened in the 70s/80s when had a great team.

I was at the county semifinals yesterday and going by what I saw things won't be good down here for a good while yet.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 08/10/2017 11:42:17    2053841

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "This is the worst group of Kerry players since the late 80s and early to mid 90s.

There was feck all done at underage during our dominant spell at senior level in the naughties and we're suffering for that now.

The same thing happened in the 70s/80s when had a great team.

I was at the county semifinals yesterday and going by what I saw things won't be good down here for a good while yet."
The 2014 Minors will be around 22 next year.Are you not hopeful of the good minors making a senior breakthrough.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2156 - 08/10/2017 12:00:00    2053842

Replying To endgame:  "The 2014 Minors will be around 22 next year.Are you not hopeful of the good minors making a senior breakthrough."
Out of that 2014 minor team probably goal keeper Shane Ryan, defenders Tom O'Sullivan and Brian o'beaglaoih, midfielder Robaird o'sé, forwards tomás o'sé , Michael burns , Matthew flaherty and killian Spillane, but the best one of our 2014 minors was midfielder mark O'Connor from Dingle and unfortunately he's now in Australia.

People are fawning over Brian Fenton and rightly so but having seen both play mark O'Connor is the best I've ever seen and he's a massive loss to us.

But it's ultimately up to Eamon fitzmaurice to give these guys a chance.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 08/10/2017 13:00:57    2053849

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Out of that 2014 minor team probably goal keeper Shane Ryan, defenders Tom O'Sullivan and Brian o'beaglaoih, midfielder Robaird o'sé, forwards tomás o'sé , Michael burns , Matthew flaherty and killian Spillane, but the best one of our 2014 minors was midfielder mark O'Connor from Dingle and unfortunately he's now in Australia.

People are fawning over Brian Fenton and rightly so but having seen both play mark O'Connor is the best I've ever seen and he's a massive loss to us.

But it's ultimately up to Eamon fitzmaurice to give these guys a chance."
I'd agree with that, O'Connor was / is incredible. If you were sent in to a lab to engineer a player to improve Kerry it would be him. Big, strong, lightning fast and skillful midfielder who always puts in a massive performance on the big days. I remember seeing him as a minor and thinking we had the new Jack O'Shea on our hands. Would love to have seen him come in to the Kerry setup but his heart was set on Australia so good luck to him.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 08/10/2017 22:56:45    2053965

I think it's a bit early to be celebrating David Clifford staying around. All he has said is he will stay around for 2018. He could still have every intention of going . Tommy Walsh postponed his move to Oz for a year in a similar way. I hope I am wrong, would love to see this lad reach his peak playing our game.

dahayeser (Cork) - Posts: 336 - 09/10/2017 10:33:45    2054021

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Doesn't matter how big Clifford is. It's the size of the fight in the dog that matters not the size of the dog in the fight. He could well take straight into the physical side of inter county football, he definitely has the skills. But he's still a boy up against bigger and smaller men who are experienced in hitting other experienced men as hard as they can. Clifford will have to adapt to that more physical game. Plus he'll have a load more media attention in and outside Kerry. The other thing is Kerry were miles the better minor team for 4 years. If his attitude and work rate are good then Clifford could be a great. But I don't think we should expect greatness straightaway."
he's playing senior championship in Kerry atm, I think he'll be fine

Seamy_Hendrix (Derry) - Posts: 47 - 09/10/2017 11:43:00    2054056

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "I'd agree with that, O'Connor was / is incredible. If you were sent in to a lab to engineer a player to improve Kerry it would be him. Big, strong, lightning fast and skillful midfielder who always puts in a massive performance on the big days. I remember seeing him as a minor and thinking we had the new Jack O'Shea on our hands. Would love to have seen him come in to the Kerry setup but his heart was set on Australia so good luck to him."
I agree Gerry, mark had it all but alas he's gone and won't be back, what a loss.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 09/10/2017 12:08:33    2054069

Fierce pressure on a young lad - being more or less expected to save, not just Kerry football, but all non-Dublin football by himself. Youth football is fast in terms of running, but it's slower in that you have more time on the ball and there's nothing like the cynicism of adult football. Having said that, Seán Cavanagh was pitched into the senior game aged 19 or 20 I think and that worked grand. So you'd think another year at youth level would seem to be in the lad's best interests. Here's hoping he stays and prospers.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 09/10/2017 13:16:18    2054109