AI Minor Final 2017 Kerry v Derry

Just want to wish the Kingdom's young warriors and their inspirational captain David Clifford all the very best of luck on Sunday!

These young lads are looking to achieve something never done before and it would be a huge achievement and another amazing thread to weave into our footballing history.

But there's no doubt all the pressure is on their young shoulders for Sunday and David Clifford, more than anyone, is having to bear that strain of huge expectations.

Derry are going into this match as complete underdogs but after watching them against Dublin they will be a right handful and probably the biggest test this Kerry side have faced all year.

It will be a huge task for the Kerry lads but hopefully they can bear the pressure and come out on top.

On a personal level I want to wish our local boy Barry Mahony of St Senan's and Crotta ever good fortune. Great to see a Kilflynn man playing in the Green and Gold!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 15/09/2017 10:37:43    2046169

It will be a fascinating encounter, Kerry and Clifford in particular are coming into this game with serious hype and it will be a tough task for Derry.

The general feeling up here is that the ticket allocation for the Minors was really poor.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 15/09/2017 21:00:16    2046331

Replying To GaryMc82:  "It will be a fascinating encounter, Kerry and Clifford in particular are coming into this game with serious hype and it will be a tough task for Derry.

The general feeling up here is that the ticket allocation for the Minors was really poor."
I heard that, not sure how many Kerry got either but it wasn't a lot.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 15/09/2017 23:03:25    2046356

Best of luck to both teams and safe journey to all travelling.

Young Cliffard looks a good one all right and Kerry going for remarkable record, i think he will have another fine game, really he is very comfortable at this level so i dont think hype or expectation will have any bearing on him, but would be remiss to talk about one player when their are many fine ones on the Kerry team. Hoping for a good game, Derry themselves look a very physically capable team of good footballers and have beat some good teams via their route.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 16/09/2017 10:23:10    2046383

Derry are indeed a far more physical outfit than anything Kerry have come across yet and Kerry minors have always been a bit on the light side so that would be a big concern for us going into this game. I think this game is wide open, like all games at this level tend to be. But hopefully Kerry do it!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 16/09/2017 10:40:05    2046387

Replying To TheHermit:  "Derry are indeed a far more physical outfit than anything Kerry have come across yet and Kerry minors have always been a bit on the light side so that would be a big concern for us going into this game. I think this game is wide open, like all games at this level tend to be. But hopefully Kerry do it!"
But very skillful mate, having the capacity to make the ball sing at speed counts for a lot and there are also some big units in that Kerry team too, young David himself is a lad and a half he must be playing senior football for Fossa i would wager. I think in some ways its like Mayo and Dublin, if Kerry can get a foothold in the game and weather the early energy early doors and their noses in front Derry will open up and you have the scorers to punish. Derry are good though and showed a lot of character throughout the championship has the making of a cracking game.

Looks like it will be fine day that will allow for a good football too.

Best of luck tomorrow.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 16/09/2017 11:15:49    2046399

Replying To TheUsername:  "But very skillful mate, having the capacity to make the ball sing at speed counts for a lot and there are also some big units in that Kerry team too, young David himself is a lad and a half he must be playing senior football for Fossa i would wager. I think in some ways its like Mayo and Dublin, if Kerry can get a foothold in the game and weather the early energy early doors and their noses in front Derry will open up and you have the scorers to punish. Derry are good though and showed a lot of character throughout the championship has the making of a cracking game.

Looks like it will be fine day that will allow for a good football too.

Best of luck tomorrow."
And to Dublin username and Mayo too!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 16/09/2017 12:14:57    2046414

If I was the Derry manager I would look at what Galway did to our U21s and do similar , attack the sh*t out of the game from the start catch us cold and build a lead and then just chip away till the end of the game.

The Derry team are big men and class footballers from what I've seen and some of those lads played with st pats as well, young Quig and the McWilliams twins.

Our boys it's hard to tell where we're at, we made hard work of our first game against Clare in Tralee then beat a very good cork team in cork, then beat Clare well in the Munster final, then struggled at times in the Louth game without ever being in danger , and then beat an excellent Cavan team in a monsoon but gave up a big lead late in the game only to stretch it out again in the 10 mins of extra time.

Our boys will have to be tuned in tomorrow from start to finish and our lads of the bench will all need to make a big impact as well.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 16/09/2017 12:25:08    2046416

Replying To TheHermit:  "And to Dublin username and Mayo too!"
Nice one, cheers mate, wont be long before yee wont be able to book holidays again.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 16/09/2017 12:31:12    2046419

I haven't seen one man destroy a team on his own like this since Jonah Lomu scored 4 tries v England in the 1995 RWC semi final. David Clifford...this is masterfull.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 17/09/2017 13:40:22    2046646

Replying To Laois76:  "I haven't seen one man destroy a team on his own like this since Jonah Lomu scored 4 tries v England in the 1995 RWC semi final. David Clifford...this is masterfull."
Unusual for a big lad like that to have such excellent movement off the ball and vision. It would be a very even contest if Kerry had an ordinary football wearing no.11, Derry have some fine footballers of their own.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 17/09/2017 13:55:38    2046650

First time really seeing David Clifford live. Jesus oh.

Kerry have a monster.

GetOverTheBar (Tyrone) - Posts: 1388 - 17/09/2017 13:58:30    2046653

Good lord what a player this David Clifford is, like a mash up of Donaghy and Gooch. He has the power of Donaghy and the finishing of Gooch. Be a shame if he heads to Oz.

Are Kerry running some sort dodgy genetic program down there lol. Taking the genes of Maurice Fitz and cloning him ha ha.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1873 - 17/09/2017 14:04:25    2046656

were looking at something very special here people..

kavvie (Clare) - Posts: 505 - 17/09/2017 14:21:07    2046662

I can't understand how Derry didn't start Calum Browne. He caused wreck inside anytime ball came into him. Maybe the Aussie Rules boys should look at him for his fielding and athleticism

The_Bull (Cork) - Posts: 248 - 17/09/2017 14:38:51    2046665

Green Gold. I'd organize a crowd fund to send him to Oz.
This guy is incredible, the thought of Cork facing Kerry & this guy scares the wits out of me.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 17/09/2017 14:44:06    2046668

Young men of Kerry take a bow, you have done us so proud! History makers and breakers and as for David, a legend already and only 17.

The future is bright thank God!!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 17/09/2017 16:26:04    2046708

Clifford is amazing but the team, as a whole, are fantastic. You would have to feel sorry for any minor team coming up against them. The Derry team must be shell-shocked after that but, fair play to them they played the game fairly. Not wishing to nit-pick, but I found the approach of number 12 (O'Sullivan, I think) very interesting - he simply stuck the ball under his arm and ran like hell as far as could, dispensing with such niceties as hopping the ball or soloing. A future Munster winger maybe.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 17/09/2017 17:53:44    2046814

Congrats to Kerry on a dazzling performance and creating history today. To put up that scoreline with the pressure of not just winning an All Ireland final but by also creating history in winning 4 in a row was just incredible. The thing is each one was won without much stress which makes it all the more incredible. In 2014 Donegal put up a decent show but never really looked like winning. Derry made a game of it in the semi final in 2015 but again Kerry came through easily enough then sauntered to the title in the final against Tipp. I know from a Donegal perspective 2015 was the year we might have really put it up to ye but we made a mess of the Ulster semi final against Derry with a very talented squad who in truth we should have being beating. In 2016 Galway again put in an ok showing in the final but never looked like winning though the final scoreline did flatter Kerry. Then to this year which was a steering job for Kerry. I know Cork put it up to Kerry a couple of times but to have a team win 4 in a row relatively unscathed at the business end makes the achievement all the more. Needless to say the rule changes at U-20 where no team can play a player required by the senior set up will really suit Kerry (and the Dubs) so more underage success beckons.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2779 - 17/09/2017 17:54:13    2046817

Replying To TheHermit:  "Young men of Kerry take a bow, you have done us so proud! History makers and breakers and as for David, a legend already and only 17.

The future is bright thank God!!"
Well done to you Hermit and the genuine Kerry posters. Clifford is amazing. No doubt Kerry will be back soon.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 17/09/2017 18:55:23    2046889