Roddy Doyle. Typical Dub or the exception?

On what basis are you suggesting soccer is number 1 sport in dublin, anybody I ever hear say this has no actual answer to that question with a single fact.
I have clearly stated three real categories of defining a sport's position as
1 attendances
2 participation
3 general interest including tv viewing figures
If you take each sport to task on all three areas Gaelic football is clearly number 1 in Dublin
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts:12455 - 01/09/2017 12:17:44

Soccer is most participated in team sport in Dublin. From organised leagues, to 5 a side, to lads playing heads and volley down the park etc. That's anecdotally but am happy to say I'm wrong if you've stats to contradict the prevailing opinion of most people.

I'm not sure but I'd imagine that aggregated TV viewership for soccer in Dublin is higher all across the year than for Gaelic Football. I certainly haven't seen any stats that would dispute that but again I am happy to see them and say I'm wrong if that is the case.

Attendances is the only place where Football trumps soccer in Dublin, although I'd wager it is closer than you may think when one factors in all those heading to the UK (and Europe) every weekend for a game. Have you ever been to Dublin airport early on a Sat morn? It's full of lads in Celtic, Man Utd, Liverpool etc jerseys catching flights. Thousands head over every weekend from Ireland (not just Dublin obviously).

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 01/09/2017 12:51:17    2041563

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Just to show ye its not just a Dublin thing, I tried watching the All Ireland hurling semi final in a pub in Kerry last September and they only agreed to put it on if i left the volume on mute..............
My father in law who is a clare man had to try 3 pubs in West Clare to watch a CLARE hurling match on TG4 2 years back! (West Clare is football country)"
True and I have witnessed it in Galway city Centre too where many bars won't show GAA action outside of the really big games. In my local (all be in rural) Mayo bar the GAA action is always given preference no matter who is playing. In the off-season they will show soccer, rugby but not at the expense of the GAA.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 01/09/2017 12:53:59    2041567

I see loads of Dublin players about town regularly and they're always just minding their own business and left to themselves. I see MDMA so often in different parts of town he probably thinks it's odd haha

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12118 - 01/09/2017 12:54:44    2041568

Replying To hill16no1man:  "But thats the same thing with pubs up and down the country not just Dublin or regarding the gaa that happens with anything.
limerick for example I went into Mcgettigans a place with around twenty screens on a saturday afternoon, sky had a double header of gaa championship action but on ever single screen was a rugby club game from New Zealand beeing aired. It took me six more pubs to find the gaa on, 10 minutes later a guy sitting at the bar told him to put that rubbish off and he did, myself and four other tables of people who had been watching the gaa said we would go elsewhere if he didn't put it back on and he immediately flicked back.
another time munster were playing a rabo game in thomond park and when the match was over I asked to put in one of the tv's the world darts semi finals, the barman flicked over and was getting into it, about twenty minutes later the manager flicked off and put a rerun of the Munster match that they just shown live on every tv, I asked the same barman can't you just let the one tv I was watching who the darts and he said the manager wants all tv showing the rugby as people will be coming back from thomond park and he wants the rerun of the rugby on for them."
I see what you did wrong there Hill.....u went into McGettigans ;)

U shoulda went down the Dock road a few yards to Clem Smiths!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 01/09/2017 13:09:14    2041575

Replying To Breffni39:  "I see loads of Dublin players about town regularly and they're always just minding their own business and left to themselves. I see MDMA so often in different parts of town he probably thinks it's odd haha"
LoL

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 01/09/2017 13:38:16    2041587

COS came into my job in the IFSC after the 2013 final with the SAM for a Q and A session.. Id say there was about 30 people in the room out of a workforce of over 1000 and most of the attendees were from the country... Due to the low numbers it turned out to be an excellent hour and very informative...

Himself and SOS are regularly spotted around here and I guarantee you most people are oblivious they are going head to head in two weeks in the showpiece game of the year...

MURPHB33 (Dublin) - Posts: 166 - 01/09/2017 13:42:53    2041590

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Hill, its simple.
The Dub's IS the single biggest sporting franchise in Dublin, no question.
But.......
if you took a sample of 30 youngfellas in Dublin, drawn from all over the county, told them pick 2 keepers and gave them a patch of grass and a standard ball, i GUARANTEE you they will play soccer, not football. Even if it was a GAA goals, they would still use the goals part and play soccer.
Do you think thats true Hill?

Also, if you asked the same 30 youngfella's who their favourites sports team is......I would be fairly sure, more would say a soccer team than a GAA team.
That's what I mean. The Dubs are huge, no question, bigger than they ever have been. But give lads a ball and they will play soccer, give them a tablet and they will look up soccer before GAA
That's how I define it
Do you think I am wrong?

Its not like i am having a pop at Dublin here....hardly!!!!!!!!"
So your basing a sport's positioning solely on a madcap idea for to do with one demographic teenagers? Teenagers is one sole area what about every other demographic?
If you ask them same teenagers have they gone to watch bohs,rovers or Dublin play, which do you think they will answer?
What about women who make up more than half the population for example the rise of women attending and playing gaa is far greater than any other sport in Dublin, would you see women attending dalymount park, inchicore or tolka in the numbers they file into croker or Parnell in?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 01/09/2017 15:01:05    2041618

Replying To MesAmis:  "On what basis are you suggesting soccer is number 1 sport in dublin, anybody I ever hear say this has no actual answer to that question with a single fact.
1 attendances
2 participation
If you take each sport to task on all three areas Gaelic football is clearly number 1 in Dublin

Soccer is most participated in team sport in Dublin. From organised leagues, to 5 a side, to lads playing heads and volley down the park etc. That's anecdotally but am happy to say I'm wrong if you've stats to contradict the prevailing opinion of most people.

I'm not sure but I'd imagine that aggregated TV viewership for soccer in Dublin is higher all across the year than for Gaelic Football. I certainly haven't seen any stats that would dispute that but again I am happy to see them and say I'm wrong if that is the case.

Attendances is the only place where Football trumps soccer in Dublin, although I'd wager it is closer than you may think when one factors in all those heading to the UK (and Europe) every weekend for a game. Have you ever been to Dublin airport early on a Sat morn? It's full of lads in Celtic, Man Utd, Liverpool etc jerseys catching flights. Thousands head over every weekend from Ireland (not just Dublin obviously)."
Soccer participation levels are completely flawed, the census that 5 aside astro or a bunch of lads togging out before they go to the pub to watch a match is classed as actual players largely dwells these numbers. Tv viewership levels for league of Ireland is miniscule compared to gaa figures, just look at tg4 figures for league games with there most highest rates programmes being gaa bro not to mention the Sunday game on rte on another planet to republic of soccer.
attendance wise the gaa totally demolishes league of Ireland ithat you get more at a Dublin club championship game on a Wednesday night than the entire league of Ireland attendances for a round of fixtures in Dublin.
it's a great myth that soccer is number one sport in Dublin, there's no figures to back it up whatsoever.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 01/09/2017 15:09:06    2041620

ah look Hill, come on. I wish to God you were right, I would love if you were! I am a GAA man to my core, and soccer is merely a past time between October and January for me, but for anyone to claim that the "man on the street" in Dublin, or any other urban area in Ireland BTW is more into GAA than soccer is just simply wrong.
I prefer GAA, but most people DO have more of a real interest in soccer, be it LOI/Premier league/SPL
As unpalatable as that is, its just a fact.

ps - just for the record, i would be just as confident that it would be the very same if you went into the estates in Tralee, Letterkenny or Omagh. Give a kid a ball and most will play soccer not GAA

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 01/09/2017 15:23:57    2041625

Lads playing on pub teams or playing 5 a side is still lads playing soccer. What's your point there?

Also I think we can all see why you're only using soccer attendances in Ireland or TV viewership of soccer games in Ireland.

Its fairly disingenuous.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 01/09/2017 15:47:52    2041636

Replying To hill16no1man:  "
Replying To MesAmis:  "On what basis are you suggesting soccer is number 1 sport in dublin, anybody I ever hear say this has no actual answer to that question with a single fact.
1 attendances
2 participation

Attendances is the only place where Football trumps soccer in Dublin, although I'd wager it is closer than you may think when one factors in all those heading to the UK (and Europe) every weekend for a game. Have you ever been to Dublin airport early on a Sat morn? It's full of lads in Celtic, Man Utd, Liverpool etc jerseys catching flights. Thousands head over every weekend from Ireland (not just Dublin obviously)."
Soccer participation levels are completely flawed, the census that 5 aside astro or a bunch of lads togging out before they go to the pub to watch a match is classed as actual players largely dwells these numbers. Tv viewership levels for league of Ireland is miniscule compared to gaa figures, just look at tg4 figures for league games with there most highest rates programmes being gaa bro not to mention the Sunday game on rte on another planet to republic of soccer.
attendance wise the gaa totally demolishes league of Ireland ithat you get more at a Dublin club championship game on a Wednesday night than the entire league of Ireland attendances for a round of fixtures in Dublin.
it's a great myth that soccer is number one sport in Dublin, there's no figures to back it up whatsoever."

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 01/09/2017 15:57:18    2041639

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Have you heard this podcast an what he said? I haven't so I'm not taking an edited version if what he said in a podcast from an online tabloid journalist as gospel truth.

Doyle is a Chelsea supporter twice as long as the EPL has been around. No doubt some will think he's a Chelsea bandwagoner.

link"
I couldn't care less about who he supports and for how long. I prefer gaa and don't like his accusations that it's a non attended con job. Who does he think he is?

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 01/09/2017 17:04:20    2041656

Its a pastime for fans in every county. Its also a massive part of life for a lot of people in every county. Still nothing like it. Roddy can have his opinion

Brianmac78 (Dublin) - Posts: 1168 - 01/09/2017 18:36:41    2041676

Replying To seanie_boy:  "
Replying To GreenandRed:  "Have you heard this podcast an what he said? I haven't so I'm not taking an edited version if what he said in a podcast from an online tabloid journalist as gospel truth.

Doyle is a Chelsea supporter twice as long as the EPL has been around. No doubt some will think he's a Chelsea bandwagoner.

link"
I couldn't care less about who he supports and for how long. I prefer gaa and don't like his accusations that it's a non attended con job. Who does he think he is?"
Have you heard the podcast? Is he not entitled to his opinion even if you disagree with him?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 01/09/2017 19:29:23    2041684

Replying To MesAmis:  "Lads playing on pub teams or playing 5 a side is still lads playing soccer. What's your point there?

Also I think we can all see why you're only using soccer attendances in Ireland or TV viewership of soccer games in Ireland.

Its fairly disingenuous."
Well if that's the case walking is the biggest sport in Ireland let alone Dublin by some distance, as how many people walk every day. Come out of it man five a side astro is a social thing anybody does that, you don't train as a team for that, plus pub teams if you want to call them don't train either they tog out and hit the pub after the match. There's a marked difference between real soccer clubs and that stuff.
I'm using tv viewiership and attendances in Ireland because that's what we are talking about ireland here not any other country in the world.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 01/09/2017 19:37:27    2041685

Replying To GreenandRed:  "
Replying To hill16no1man:  "[quote=MesAmis:  "On what basis are you suggesting soccer is number 1 sport in dublin, anybody I ever hear say this has no actual answer to that question with a single fact.
1 attendances
2 participation

it's a great myth that soccer is number one sport in Dublin, there's no figures to back it up whatsoever."
link"]What's the point of the link?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 01/09/2017 19:40:56    2041687

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "ah look Hill, come on. I wish to God you were right, I would love if you were! I am a GAA man to my core, and soccer is merely a past time between October and January for me, but for anyone to claim that the "man on the street" in Dublin, or any other urban area in Ireland BTW is more into GAA than soccer is just simply wrong.
I prefer GAA, but most people DO have more of a real interest in soccer, be it LOI/Premier league/SPL
As unpalatable as that is, its just a fact.

ps - just for the record, i would be just as confident that it would be the very same if you went into the estates in Tralee, Letterkenny or Omagh. Give a kid a ball and most will play soccer not GAA"
Again your not giving any reasons just a common myth that everybody loves soccer get the figures for the three areas I have outlined don't add up to that.
also the pub I went to after mcgettigans was the old quarter and the rugby repeat pub was the Locke bar.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 01/09/2017 19:43:59    2041688

Replying To seanie_boy:  "[quote=GreenandRed:  "Have you heard this podcast an what he said? I haven't so I'm not taking an edited version if what he said in a podcast from an online tabloid journalist as gospel truth.

link"
I couldn't care less about who he supports and for how long. I prefer gaa and don't like his accusations that it's a non attended con job. Who does he think he is?"
Have you heard the podcast? Is he not entitled to his opinion even if you disagree with him?"]He is entitled but when he can't back up any point he makes then aren't we entitled to rip that opinion apart for what it is as somebody who just doesn't like gaa ?
ig your going to come out and paint a whole sport with one brush then you for to be able to take what comes back at you.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 01/09/2017 19:49:38    2041690

Replying To seanie_boy:  "[quote=GreenandRed:  "Have you heard this podcast an what he said? I haven't so I'm not taking an edited version if what he said in a podcast from an online tabloid journalist as gospel truth.

link"
Have you heard the podcast? Is he not entitled to his opinion even if you disagree with him?"]Off course he's entitle to his opinion. But like the sayin goes "You are entitled to your own opinion not your own facts". Roddy Doyle obviously gives no creedance to the fact that there are gaa clubs in every single town land/parish in this country when he's coming out with statements like that. The real con job is the EPL with it's over paid sporting mercenaries.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 01/09/2017 20:37:28    2041696

Replying To hill16no1man:  "
Replying To GreenandRed:  "[quote=seanie_boy:  "[quote=GreenandRed:  "Have you heard this podcast an what he said? I haven't so I'm not taking an edited version if what he said in a podcast from an online tabloid journalist as gospel truth.

link"
Have you heard the podcast? Is he not entitled to his opinion even if you disagree with him?"]He is entitled but when he can't back up any point he makes then aren't we entitled to rip that opinion apart for what it is as somebody who just doesn't like gaa ?
ig your going to come out and paint a whole sport with one brush then you for to be able to take what comes back at you."]he's entitled to his opinion which is the same you'll hear from most sucker supporters then again look who he's writing with. 2 jumped up mouth pieces who seem to have an opinion on everything 1 from Dublin 1 from cork which certainly doesn't represent either city/ county people and a cynical move to get publicity for a new book

bulmccabe (Tyrone) - Posts: 361 - 01/09/2017 20:42:04    2041698