Mayo need to save football

Mayo don't need to save football , they need to win a championship for themselves the players their coaching staff and their fans , if they do I will be one of the first to shake their hand , I expect the country to shout for them its understandable , what's not understandable is the crying from Kerry, take this as someone who has suffered at their hands since the 70s , I've drank into the early hours in both Dublin and Killarney with Kerry folk and when they were beating us they were the nicest feckers you'd ever meet , since 2011 I've seen a change by god a huge change in them, no longer the complimentary funny guffaws , distain and venom , they once saved it for teams from the north , now they are willing to share their venom with the Dubs, you see its anyone that gets in their way , they are happy to play in Munster and put up with the odd rebel every now and then , they are happy when secure that they are the greatest county of all time , but dare you rock their boat , this snivelling self serving go after the Dubs when more than happy to annihilate everyone in Munster at ever age group and not a peep , said it before Kingdom boy total hypocrites , winter well.

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 30/08/2017 11:16:37    2040654

I don't think Dublin fans should get hung up on who is supporting them or not....what does it matter? I imagine most neutrals will shout for Mayo as the underdog trying to bridge a long gap but there are also many who won't. I spoke to a man who watched the Mayo v Kerry first game in a Galway pub not far inside the border where the majority were shouting for Kerry....so what?

IF Mayo were to win Sam....the majority would soon get fed up of us. I seen the same goodwill disappear towards Armagh and Tyrone when they made the breakthrough.

Mayo need to win the All Ireland for ourselves and nobody else matters. It has been 7 long years getting to semi finals and finals without closing the deal. Many thousands have been spent following the team so I think finally winning it would release an outpouring of emotion and the "feel good" factor would be a major boost to the county.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 30/08/2017 11:45:19    2040667

Replying To cluichethar:  "I have a simple question for the people bashing the Dubs on here What are they supposed to do Lose to Laois or maybe for the craic Louth Ok they do have an advantage They have a huge population to draw from Is that their fault"
Well, c'mon, a city with over a million people, now that's not very Irish is it? How can they possibly be considered true gaels? About time they switched codes to the NFL and played with their mates from NY and Washington!!

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 30/08/2017 12:01:11    2040672

I think one player will have a big bearing on the final and can bring Mayo on again and that is Cillian O'Connor who for me hasnt had the best of years to date. Yes, he is a good free taker but his scoring from play hasnt been great and he seems to have lost some pace. I know he will largely be a marked man and the quality of the defender on him will be excellent but he just hasnt done it from play this year.

One thing I have noticed, and i know he is Captain, but does he have to try and referee the game and question EVERY decision. He seems to get too involved in referee decisions and cynical stuff off the ball (e.g. Darren O'Sullivan incident) when he should be concentrating on getting scores for his team. Maybe i'm wrong but i just find that he is spending too much time involved in reffing the game rather than getting scores from play.

Meridian (Westmeath) - Posts: 601 - 30/08/2017 12:07:44    2040679

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Minors in 2013, U21s in 2016. Underage success is no guarantee of senior success though.

We were losing finals before this great Dublin team were around and Donegal and Kerry managed two wins in this golden era. You and me are biased. We know we have a great Mayo team. But great teams are judged by how many All Ireland they have won. I think we'll beat Dublin but I'm biased. If we win or lose it won't improve or regress football in any other county. They have to do that themselves. No team is unbeatable but that's not why I think we'll win. Tactics, unpredictability, defensive setups, experience of winning All Irelands is massively important. I think everyone in our squad will believe on the day that they're going to win. Arguably that wasn't the case for other finals. And every single one of them hates losing. So I don't expect a freeflowing game. I think it'll be a bad-tempered low scoring game."
I hope your right.

theblackcard (Mayo) - Posts: 47 - 30/08/2017 12:16:21    2040684

Both finalists play great football. Nothing between them.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1667 - 30/08/2017 12:55:51    2040703

Replying To Damothedub:  "My son has just spent five years on Dublin development squad hurling , one year dual this year with footballers , not one protein shake ever I mean ever. I have no reason to lie , they are given diet sheets to take home , up to me and the missus to purchase the recommended foods , up to him to follow the diet. I have spent a fortunate travelling from Antrim to Cork from Waterford to Galway for the last five years and met many parents were we swapped stories , I found none of the counties we played to be lacking in strength and conditioning , facilities etc bar possibly Offaly , I say this as the poster started out stating let me tell you a story and that he's done , it's a miss mash of truths designed to startle , it's also poor in insight into developments squads and preparations countywide"
Damo the reason I said the period between 2006-2012 is because since then Dublin's funding has been cut. I know the Dublin club scene very well, I work with a lot of lads who play there club football in Dublin and I know quite a few lad's that were on the development squads (u15 to Minor) during that period and they have all said that they had the best of everything. Since then it has changed there is no more free meals after training or games, they don't get the protein shakes and free rubs when needed.

What I am trying to say is that during 2006-2012 most young lads had to pay for gym memberships, if they played for their county, they never got meals after training or protein shakes after gym sessions where as Dublin did. The playing field has since been leveled most u16's to Minors have access to a free gym if they play with their county (I know the young Meath lads do).

Dublin mightn't have won much during that period but they had good foundations that were put in place for lads to go on to play senior and the only way those foundations were put in place was through funding from the GAA.

UsernameInvalid (Meath) - Posts: 354 - 30/08/2017 13:44:02    2040732

Replying To UsernameInvalid:  "Damo the reason I said the period between 2006-2012 is because since then Dublin's funding has been cut. I know the Dublin club scene very well, I work with a lot of lads who play there club football in Dublin and I know quite a few lad's that were on the development squads (u15 to Minor) during that period and they have all said that they had the best of everything. Since then it has changed there is no more free meals after training or games, they don't get the protein shakes and free rubs when needed.

What I am trying to say is that during 2006-2012 most young lads had to pay for gym memberships, if they played for their county, they never got meals after training or protein shakes after gym sessions where as Dublin did. The playing field has since been leveled most u16's to Minors have access to a free gym if they play with their county (I know the young Meath lads do).

Dublin mightn't have won much during that period but they had good foundations that were put in place for lads to go on to play senior and the only way those foundations were put in place was through funding from the GAA."
Ok at peak funding of these young lads between 2006 and 2012 here are the all-ireland minor winners

2012 Dublin
2011 Tipp
2010 Tyrone
2009 Armagh
2008 Tyrone
2007 Galway
2006 Roscommon

So much for the protein shakes and rubs for the Dublin young lads! One out of 7 wins at minor level.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 31/08/2017 04:58:11    2040973

And the 3 years after this to cover the chaps who were 15 and 16 in 2012 had the following results.

2013 Mayo
2014 Kerry
2015 Kerry

Seems like the teams with the best players and most organised in the grade won regardless of this money argument.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 31/08/2017 05:02:17    2040974

Replying To Laois76:  "And the 3 years after this to cover the chaps who were 15 and 16 in 2012 had the following results.

2013 Mayo
2014 Kerry
2015 Kerry

Seems like the teams with the best players and most organised in the grade won regardless of this money argument."
Minor Level has no correlation to Senior level, particularly with the level of Sport Science and such at the Senior level, red herring

FreeSpirit (UK) - Posts: 19 - 01/09/2017 15:51:29    2041637

Replying To FreeSpirit:  "Minor Level has no correlation to Senior level, particularly with the level of Sport Science and such at the Senior level, red herring"
Posters are talking about the money that was pumped into Dublin underage 2006-2012. So it surely has a correlation there. Those deveopment squads had a lot of money invested in them many are claiming. But were beaten by outfits with supposedly far less financial clout. The core of the Dublin investment was claimed to be underage, not senior.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 01/09/2017 16:43:39    2041650

The title of this thread makes me laugh more each day.

Football is maid Marian and has been captured by a brute called The Sheriff of Nottingham (Dublin) who wants to consummate his love with football (Marian).

Now for a while we didn't know who Marian (football's) true love was. Kerry felt they had a divine right to Marian's hand and were her true love. Another pretender for the hand of Marian was expected to be good on the defensive and with rapid counter attacks sneak off with Marian. But he had an off day.

So Mayo emerged, yet again, as Robin Hood, always the bestman but never the groom. We all eagerly await to see if Robin Hood (Mayo) can finally 'save' Marian on 17th September.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 02/09/2017 20:52:03    2041963

Mayo are kinda battle hardened, while Dublin breezed through to the Final with relative ease. This could finally be a battle that Mayo win.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 04/09/2017 20:46:11    2042723