Mayo need to save football

When Dublin face Mayo in the final, if the Dubs do to Mayo what they have done to every other team this year it is going to be a hammer blow for football. It has been well documented about how the GAA have invested in Dublin to make the capital competitive but we are at the brink of this backfiring in a major way. Unless Mayo can buck the trend we will be left with an uncompetitive championship where the Dubs are miles ahead of the rest of the pack. This is going to undoubtedly effect interest in the championship.

as_ky (Kerry) - Posts: 535 - 29/08/2017 07:40:41    2039801

Replying To as_ky:  "When Dublin face Mayo in the final, if the Dubs do to Mayo what they have done to every other team this year it is going to be a hammer blow for football. It has been well documented about how the GAA have invested in Dublin to make the capital competitive but we are at the brink of this backfiring in a major way. Unless Mayo can buck the trend we will be left with an uncompetitive championship where the Dubs are miles ahead of the rest of the pack. This is going to undoubtedly effect interest in the championship."
Yep it's not like when Kerry were winning 4 in a row and dominating football. The rest of Ireland loved yis for that and somehow the game survived.

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 29/08/2017 09:53:40    2039862

Just to put a different lens on it, Dublin are fighting to the good fight in terms of playing attractive open, attacking football.

Im not going to put the boot into Kerry as many have over the last few days as i know anything that is said wont be as hard as how much Kerry as a county will feel the sting, but they style of football served up isnt what people want to see in the games biggest spectacle.

I have to say fair play to Mayo for getting through against both of the cynical/defensive teams in the semi final were beaten. I think its great a great victory for the spirt of the game, so fair play to Dublin and Mayo, playing the game as it should be, victory for football in my opinion.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 29/08/2017 10:07:12    2039874

Did Offaly save football in 1982? Football back then was a disaster. I seen an article over the weekend that stated just over 17,000 showed up for the Kerry v Armagh 1982 semi final. It was a great spell for Kerry but not for the rest of Ireland.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 29/08/2017 10:07:43    2039876

Replying To as_ky:  "When Dublin face Mayo in the final, if the Dubs do to Mayo what they have done to every other team this year it is going to be a hammer blow for football. It has been well documented about how the GAA have invested in Dublin to make the capital competitive but we are at the brink of this backfiring in a major way. Unless Mayo can buck the trend we will be left with an uncompetitive championship where the Dubs are miles ahead of the rest of the pack. This is going to undoubtedly effect interest in the championship."
Would you have been of the same opinion back when your own county Kerry were winning everything or is it only now Dublin are the dominant force in football it's become an issue for you?

GaaGaa78 (UK) - Posts: 285 - 29/08/2017 10:08:38    2039878

Save football!! You mean save Sam from staying in Dublin another year. Never heard mention of uncompetitive championships when you boys were dominating or when Kilkenny were. Amazing how the game needs to be saved from these Dubs.

Marse (Dublin) - Posts: 217 - 29/08/2017 10:10:13    2039880

8 titles in 12 seasons I believe. Dublin can only dream of such actual dominance.

DannyMcA (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 29/08/2017 10:12:36    2039885

A far bigger issue Is the failed drug tests in a certain county being brushed under the carpet. Makes you wonder what else is to come our?

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 29/08/2017 10:20:59    2039895

Replying To TheUsername:  "Just to put a different lens on it, Dublin are fighting to the good fight in terms of playing attractive open, attacking football.

Im not going to put the boot into Kerry as many have over the last few days as i know anything that is said wont be as hard as how much Kerry as a county will feel the sting, but they style of football served up isnt what people want to see in the games biggest spectacle.

I have to say fair play to Mayo for getting through against both of the cynical/defensive teams in the semi final were beaten. I think its great a great victory for the spirt of the game, so fair play to Dublin and Mayo, playing the game as it should be, victory for football in my opinion."
Fair enough, Dublin's attack was brilliant in overcoming the Tyrone defensive setup. But, I think Dublin's defensive formation when Tyrone had the ball was identical to that of Tyrone. When Tyrone had the ball the whole - and I mean the whole - of Dublin's outfield players scurried back behind their own 65. On numerous occasions I noticed that 14 dublin players were behind their 65. So, the defensive formations were the same; the difference was that the Dublin forwards got through for brilliant scores whereas the Tyrone forwards failed dismally. So, perhaps Dublin are not the 100% 'pure' attacking team we are being led to believe they are.
I certainly did not see Mayo funnel back in a similar manner.

Aibrean (Kerry) - Posts: 263 - 29/08/2017 10:22:09    2039897

Replying To GaaGaa78:  "Would you have been of the same opinion back when your own county Kerry were winning everything or is it only now Dublin are the dominant force in football it's become an issue for you?"
Exactly.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 29/08/2017 10:24:13    2039900

Mayo winning would give football the warm glow good news story it badly needs. Imagine the celebrations if Mayo win, it'll dwarf anything Waterford or Galway do (and they will have big celebrations). There wont be dancing in the streets in Dublin or a massive 'homecoming'. It'll be a professional team doing a professional job. Mayo need to win this to give all us football people a feeling of hope.

RoyalBadger (Meath) - Posts: 571 - 29/08/2017 10:32:19    2039910

When Kerry won 8 in 11 years I am sure you were worried about the state of football. 17000 at a semi final in the 80's is a shocking figure. Kerry supporters are poor they don't travel to support there team unless it is a final and then they are still outnumbered. Was down in Fitzgerald stadium over the last few years and the Kerry attendance was pathetic they were outnumbered by 3 to 1.

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 29/08/2017 10:34:05    2039912

You have to laugh Kerry praying for Mayo to beat the big bold dubs. Ye had plenty of opportunities yourself and we're simply not good enough.

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 29/08/2017 10:36:38    2039918

Dublin have set the bench mark and set it high. They play a great style of attacking football that is leaving the ultra defensive teams in their wake. They changed their style a few years ago and are reaping the rewards. Most other counties are stuck in a time warp. Dublin can defend man to man or in numbers but when they turn the ball over it's all out attack.They are a joy to watch unlike the puke ball we have to endure in the Ulster championship.
Not only has their play changed but their attitude. Under pillar they were aggressive, not in football terms but in the " in your face terms" and they were despised by everyone outside the pale. Under Jim Gavin they have adapted a ruthless streak but they are doing it in football, style, pace, energy and as demonstrated with Sean Cavanagh after the game on Sunday, a sense of decency.
In the league in Breffni Park this year, At the end of the game they took time to sign autographs, have pictures taken and talk to people, mostly kids from Cavan. It's the way it should be but wasn't part of their ethos until recent years.

Hopefully we have seen an end to the bore fests we have endured for the past number of years and credit Dublin for the change.

As a neutral I'm looking forward to the final. The two best teams are in it and I think it will be a lot closer than people think.

Dublin won't dominate for ever, no team ever does. Someone else will have their day in the sun and we'll be bitching about them and demanding they get split in two or even three as suggested last weekend.

StirringIt (Cavan) - Posts: 374 - 29/08/2017 11:25:55    2039949

Replying To StirringIt:  "Dublin have set the bench mark and set it high. They play a great style of attacking football that is leaving the ultra defensive teams in their wake. They changed their style a few years ago and are reaping the rewards. Most other counties are stuck in a time warp. Dublin can defend man to man or in numbers but when they turn the ball over it's all out attack.They are a joy to watch unlike the puke ball we have to endure in the Ulster championship.
Not only has their play changed but their attitude. Under pillar they were aggressive, not in football terms but in the " in your face terms" and they were despised by everyone outside the pale. Under Jim Gavin they have adapted a ruthless streak but they are doing it in football, style, pace, energy and as demonstrated with Sean Cavanagh after the game on Sunday, a sense of decency.
In the league in Breffni Park this year, At the end of the game they took time to sign autographs, have pictures taken and talk to people, mostly kids from Cavan. It's the way it should be but wasn't part of their ethos until recent years.

Hopefully we have seen an end to the bore fests we have endured for the past number of years and credit Dublin for the change.

As a neutral I'm looking forward to the final. The two best teams are in it and I think it will be a lot closer than people think.

Dublin won't dominate for ever, no team ever does. Someone else will have their day in the sun and we'll be bitching about them and demanding they get split in two or even three as suggested last weekend."
"Someone else will have their day in the sun and we'll be bitching about them and demanding they get split in two or even three as suggested last weekend."

But will there be b*tching? Genuinely don't recall ever reading calls for Kerry or Kilkenny to be split in 2.

GaaGaa78 (UK) - Posts: 285 - 29/08/2017 11:57:06    2039977

Replying To Aibrean:  "Fair enough, Dublin's attack was brilliant in overcoming the Tyrone defensive setup. But, I think Dublin's defensive formation when Tyrone had the ball was identical to that of Tyrone. When Tyrone had the ball the whole - and I mean the whole - of Dublin's outfield players scurried back behind their own 65. On numerous occasions I noticed that 14 dublin players were behind their 65. So, the defensive formations were the same; the difference was that the Dublin forwards got through for brilliant scores whereas the Tyrone forwards failed dismally. So, perhaps Dublin are not the 100% 'pure' attacking team we are being led to believe they are.
I certainly did not see Mayo funnel back in a similar manner."
"I certainly did not see Mayo funnel back in a similar manner"

Think you may be wrong. Expect Mayo to alter tactics accoringly and they won't go all out attack against Dublin. Not sure you got the game on Sunday? From the outset Tyrone piled on the blanket. Dublin dealt with it and , strangely, defended when they hadn't the ball. What did you expect? Tyrone defenders to break like they do in Ulster and Dublin forwards to stay where they are? May have made the game closer but would have been shocking tactics.

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 29/08/2017 12:28:32    2040007

Dublin are the ones saving football. They are one of the few teams who play football in an entertaining way. I'm biased but Liam Kearns in another manager who has had relative success playing entertaining football. If Tyrone won the All Ireland for example it certainly wouldn't save football. That's not being disrespectful to Tyrone..I just don't like their style!!

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 29/08/2017 12:33:18    2040013

Replying To Aibrean:  "Fair enough, Dublin's attack was brilliant in overcoming the Tyrone defensive setup. But, I think Dublin's defensive formation when Tyrone had the ball was identical to that of Tyrone. When Tyrone had the ball the whole - and I mean the whole - of Dublin's outfield players scurried back behind their own 65. On numerous occasions I noticed that 14 dublin players were behind their 65. So, the defensive formations were the same; the difference was that the Dublin forwards got through for brilliant scores whereas the Tyrone forwards failed dismally. So, perhaps Dublin are not the 100% 'pure' attacking team we are being led to believe they are.
I certainly did not see Mayo funnel back in a similar manner."
I think we have a great balance if im honest and the transition is excellent. To be honest i think this weekend shows anything you cant play one way or the other, the team with the best balance between attack and defense wins the all Ireland. I think there is a difference between defending well and being cynical though to compensate vulnerabilities. To be honest you need a variety of styles these days.

You also need hybrid players. The likes of Cian O Sullivan has won all Irelands at corner back, midfield, and half back. Kilkenny plays in the half forward line, half back and midfield at different points during a game. Scully plays in half forward but drops but also half back during games. even Mannion as corner forward did a job at corner back. Equally many of the backs are adept at going forward, Jack, Philly, Cian, Cooper, Small etc. I think positions these days need to be more a concept then a rule and you need a full skillset in offense and defense.

Controlled defense and good honest tackling can be very beautiful.

Kerry and Tyrone were bet because they stuck rigidly to outdated structures or tactics in my opinion and havnt been coached accordigly as the game has evolved that is something that begins at grassroots.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 29/08/2017 13:16:40    2040038

From the county that accused Ulster of ruining football , such hypocrites Kerry lads are , whats it now my enemies enemy is my friend.

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 29/08/2017 13:26:01    2040046

How long does this have to continue before someone shouts STOP?

5 in a row? 10 in a row? 15 in a row?

Because when one team has every advantage handed to them there is only one inevitable outcome and that will lead to the destructuon of the sport

Look at the Leinster Championship which was traditionally the most vibrant and exciting Championship to watch as a neutral is now dead as both players and fans have turned their backs to it as they know it's is eons away from being a fair and sporting competition well the same will happen on a national level

Is that what people want.....................

AgainstTheOdds (Kerry) - Posts: 47 - 29/08/2017 13:30:43    2040050