Tyrone breaking from parade

Replying To MissDownFanatic:  "Seanieboy sure you've plenty of time on your hands now ;). Have to say I cringed for Tyrone when they did that, made them look like they were afraid of the Dubs/hill, disrespected the GAA, and tbh made eejits of themselves. Should've concentrated more on their football. Granted other teams have broke off before the full parade but Tyrone doing it as an attempt, albeit unsuccessful, to make a point."
welcome back, you need to take a couple of ranitidine to get rid of the bitterness and bile in your gut for tyrone. when down get as far let us know how they parade, they'll probably have done away with it at that stage.

bulmccabe (Tyrone) - Posts: 361 - 29/08/2017 22:17:13    2040439

Replying To bulmccabe:  "welcome back, you need to take a couple of ranitidine to get rid of the bitterness and bile in your gut for tyrone. when down get as far let us know how they parade, they'll probably have done away with it at that stage."
Listen you don't need to tell me what state down football is in, it's a shambles. But here since you mention it, When Tyrone have 5 all ireland through it the front door come back to me. Flip you boyos are easy to wind, emotions still high?

MissDownFanatic (Down) - Posts: 411 - 29/08/2017 22:39:21    2040450

Replying To bulmccabe:  "welcome back, you need to take a couple of ranitidine to get rid of the bitterness and bile in your gut for tyrone. when down get as far let us know how they parade, they'll probably have done away with it at that stage."
Bitterness is not healthy.

CrubeenBlue (Dublin) - Posts: 28 - 29/08/2017 22:45:00    2040455

Replying To waynoI:  "They did it to try and rile Dublin, provoke a reaction, which, if Tyrone know absolutely anything about this Dublin team, they would know that psychologically, They wont let nonsense like that take their minds off the job that has to be done, our resulting annihilation and demolition job shows that."
Surprised you took the bait on this Wayno. No need for it on your part. To be joining in the Tyrone bashing with these 2 doesn't suit ye. We were beat by a better team and that's it and I've no complaints in that regard.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 30/08/2017 04:13:39    2040542

The parade is part of the GAA. While those who are calling for the parade to be abolished may consider themselves fans of GAA, they don't understand the GAA. What separates the GAA from other sports and other sporting organisations is the general ethos and volunteer tradition. If we keep on stripping all these things away we lose a lot more than can be seen superficially. It is basic respect to the people in the Artane band to stay in the parade for the whole thing. Even if there are no mind game reasons for leaving it early, I think it's disrespectful. But the idea that it is for some psychological benefit is laughable. And nobody's just targeting Tyrone here. People have mentioned other teams doing it before. It's wrong for any team to do it.

HurlingSnob (Dublin) - Posts: 220 - 30/08/2017 17:56:04    2040839

Lads, I'd rather keep the parade and get rid of that poxy handshake they do before matches which is a complete load of boll*x and a blatant rip off from soccer, we don't need it.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 30/08/2017 20:56:43    2040885

An awful lot of hand-wringing on here over a complete non event.

ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 647 - 30/08/2017 21:49:53    2040901

I think it was disappointing that Tyrone did break away from the parade, it did not help their
cause one iota and it looked foolish. I also think Tyrone management should make themselves
available for interview with RTE.

fainleog (Limerick) - Posts: 598 - 30/08/2017 22:19:22    2040914

Tyrone have done far worse than that over the years.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 30/08/2017 22:32:46    2040918

Replying To Killarney.87:  "Tyrone have done far worse than that over the years."
explain please with the facts not hearsay

bulmccabe (Tyrone) - Posts: 361 - 30/08/2017 22:39:31    2040921

Replying To dstuction:  "Donegal never do the full pitch. If they do half they are doing well. It has nothing to do with who they are playing."
why do they never do the full pitch ?

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 30/08/2017 22:49:44    2040925

It just shows that it does not matter if you break away from the parade, if you don't break away from it, if you wear a certain coloured jersey or you wear your usual one. If you are not good enough on the day it doesn't matter what you do or don't do in the preparation.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 30/08/2017 23:12:55    2040933

The parade is part of the GAA. While those who are calling for the parade to be abolished may consider themselves fans of GAA, they don't understand the GAA. What separates the GAA from other sports and other sporting organisations is the general ethos and volunteer tradition. If we keep on stripping all these things away we lose a lot more than can be seen superficially. It is basic respect to the people in the Artane band to stay in the parade for the whole thing. Even if there are no mind game reasons for leaving it early, I think it's disrespectful. But the idea that it is for some psychological benefit is laughable. And nobody's just targeting Tyrone here. People have mentioned other teams doing it before. It's wrong for any team to do it.
HurlingSnob (Dublin) - Posts:183 - 30/08/2017 17:56:04
That's nonsense, Asking for removal of parade isn't a lack of understanding of what the GAA is.
What benefit is the parade to the game/match day? What sports don't have the general ethos and volunteer tradition that's in the GAA?

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 30/08/2017 23:12:59    2040934

Replying To bulmccabe:  "explain please with the facts not hearsay"
God, that was wrote in jest and to say posters are making a mountain out of a mole hill over the parade.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 30/08/2017 23:13:25    2040935

HurlingSnob (Dublin) - Posts:183 - 30/08/2017 17:56:04
How is looking for parade to be removed showing a lack of understanding of the GAA?
What is missing in my understanding in asking for its removal?
What sport organisations don't have a similar ethos as the GAA? What sport organisations don't have a similar volunteer tradition as the GAA?
How is leaving the parade early disrespectful? Players will want to continue their warm up and parade distracts from that.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 30/08/2017 23:43:35    2040946

I don't think this was big deal

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 31/08/2017 02:02:17    2040958

Replying To fainleog:  "I think it was disappointing that Tyrone did break away from the parade, it did not help their
cause one iota and it looked foolish. I also think Tyrone management should make themselves
available for interview with RTE."
You know well that that won't happen until there's a change of management. If the national broadcaster had made fun of a death in your family, I suspect you'd not be in too much of a rush to speak to them either.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 31/08/2017 07:38:09    2040978

Replying To HurlingSnob:  "The parade is part of the GAA. While those who are calling for the parade to be abolished may consider themselves fans of GAA, they don't understand the GAA. What separates the GAA from other sports and other sporting organisations is the general ethos and volunteer tradition. If we keep on stripping all these things away we lose a lot more than can be seen superficially. It is basic respect to the people in the Artane band to stay in the parade for the whole thing. Even if there are no mind game reasons for leaving it early, I think it's disrespectful. But the idea that it is for some psychological benefit is laughable. And nobody's just targeting Tyrone here. People have mentioned other teams doing it before. It's wrong for any team to do it."
Not targetting Tyrone you say? This is the first thread I've ever seen about this so-called "topic"!

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 31/08/2017 07:40:39    2040979

Dubs entered the field 5 minutes later than they were meant to in the official programme, was that mind games? Was that disrespect to the opposition? Was it disrespectful to the young children standing by the tunnel having to wave the flags for an extra five minutes - God forbid some of them might of got a fatigue or repetitive stress injury from the extra 5 minutes waving they done.
Or was it simply Dublin finishing their pre-match routine and preparations and taking to the field when they were ready?
Some people seriously need to look at their lives and where they find their outrage?

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 31/08/2017 11:09:48    2041059

while we're at it we might as well mention the amount of counties supporters who break into a cheer about 30 seconds before the end of the national anthem!!! from experience i can tell you Tyrone isn't one of them.

theweanling (Cavan) - Posts: 414 - 31/08/2017 11:43:15    2041085