Dublin v Mayo. Who will win the 2017 All Ireland football final?

I have to admit I was hard on Mayo last year and had little sympathy for them to be honest after not getting over the line again. This year, I feel nothing but sympathy for them. Moran, Doherty, Boyle, Parsons, Barrett, they're immense players and their luck is incomprehensibly cruel.

Again I felt the O'Shea brothers didn't really stand up enough but I appreciate this is the highest level we are talking about.

The only criticism I would have of Mayo, if you could criticise Mayo tonight, is that in the first half, when they had scored a number of points; a goal for them at that stage would have seriously thrown Dublin into a spin. Invariably they stay either Dublin but can't actually ask the really big questions of Dublin. They scored a goal to haul themselves back into it but even that was reactionary and in desperation.

Dublin are A1 at getting over the line. In general play Mayo were the better side but in truth, Dublin had enough goal chances in the second half to bury the game. Yet Mayo wouldn't go away. Football is funny, Dublin go down in history yet Mayo are probably more the team on everyone's lips tonight. I have never seen bad luck of this magnitude.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1319 - 17/09/2017 18:35:10    2046871

Replying To galwayford:  "Would Cillian O Connor have scored the peno? I would say he might have put it over the bar. Mayo played well but they needed a good lead at half time, they did'nt get it. Their manager picked the wrong team again!"
Never said he would have scored it. And to be clear I'm not taking away from dubs victory, over 70+ mins they were the better team just.
But it was a penalty, even if it had been scored I'd say dubs probably would still have won. But it was a penalty all day long. Of that their is no denying.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 17/09/2017 18:40:25    2046876

Bottler, chokers what ever term you want to use . As supporters we cannot simply avoid the fact it can't be always bad luck, hard done by, the refs decision done us etc...
The Mayo lads while a great bunch are bootlers and we seen it again today...Vaughan had he kept his head would defo have swung the balance in Mayos favour and we'd be winners now. Instead the same auld shite on here from Mayo supporters who put these lads on pedestals year end year out without delivering anything.

Yew1951 (Mayo) - Posts: 2 - 17/09/2017 18:51:52    2046887

Replying To Yew1951:  "Bottler, chokers what ever term you want to use . As supporters we cannot simply avoid the fact it can't be always bad luck, hard done by, the refs decision done us etc...
The Mayo lads while a great bunch are bootlers and we seen it again today...Vaughan had he kept his head would defo have swung the balance in Mayos favour and we'd be winners now. Instead the same auld shite on here from Mayo supporters who put these lads on pedestals year end year out without delivering anything."
Great to hear from new posters. So insightful with hindsight. Bravo.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 17/09/2017 19:47:16    2046932

Not sure what to say about Mayo, they played really well but yet again they failed to get over the line. Congrats to Dublin who showed real character by digging out the victory when not at their best. James McCarthy and Paul Mannion were excellent and Connolly did well when he came on

Donal Vaughan, what was he thinking. I dont think the Mayo management can be blamed either as they really took the game to Dublin and got most match-ups spot on, for example Keegan on Kilkenny.

One team will go down as one of the best teams of all time, the other will be accused of being bottlers, funny old game.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1873 - 17/09/2017 20:01:15    2046943

Replying To galwayford:  "Regarding the peno, O Connor would have missed it. Or else put it over the bar."
Mystic Meg over here

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 17/09/2017 20:08:48    2046951

Replying To Laois76:  "That poster just begrudges Mayo. Win a Connacht title fffs, they won 5 of the last7!
Congrats to Dublin, showed serious composure.

I don't know what to say to Mayo. They were heroic."
I was shouting for Mayo all the way through. But they must face facts:
1. Managment picked wrong team.
2. Some Mayo players looked unfit. They tired at the end, and it cost them badly. Dubs full of running.
3. I think Dubs took a lot of steps, and it is something GAA should be looking at. I mean Diarmuid Connolly must have ran with the ball so many times.
4. Mayo need to change their sponsor, Elverys just are not delivering for them.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2517 - 17/09/2017 21:13:31    2047012

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Congratulations to Dublin. Best team on the day. Showed all yer class to hold out for the win even when not playing well. From the Hogan Dean Rock looked like man of the match. Enjoy the celebrations."
Fair play man.

Mí adh inniu.

Mayo will be back. Yous were written off completely after last year and again when Galway beat yous but yous came roaring back.

This Mayo side will win an All-Ireland soon. They'll be written off again this winter by idiots but they're a great side full of skill and character.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 17/09/2017 21:28:44    2047032

Tender today , yes.
Delighted, yes.
What an amazing win and again by the smallest of margins.That's what makes them even better for me.
When it's there for the taking , they just keep doing it.
It's easy when you are doing what Kerry done to Derry in the minor but when you consistently win the biggest prize by the smallest of margin that's the mark of a special group and for me the greatest.
To Mayo , commiserations, it's hard to believe that this side haven't one an AI. Incredible how again and again they return and in any other era I believe would have at least 1if not 2 winners medals.
There will be a lot of people who are disappointed you didn't get the job done yesterday. Notable though a lot of the sorriest ones are from outside Mayo.
Always knew it would go all the way again as Mayo have proved themselves to be a supremely fit and athletic group who can match Dublin physically.All the rubbish talked about a big winning margin proved to be just that.
We'll enjoy this one for some time and it'll make the winter a little warmer.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 18/09/2017 10:31:58    2047302

THREE IN A ROW WHAT A DAY!!!!!!!!!!!
so proud to be a dub and of this team who just keep giving time after time.
rare ould times these are and long may they continue.
Thaught Jim Gavin made harder work for himself and the team with his starting line up, now I know he picks on training ground form and never complain about that as its been such a proven success, but eoghan o gara starting and scully taken out seemed madness before throw in and unfortunatly didnt work at all, then after loosing jack to injury I have to say another strange decision to bring in flynn and move mccarthy out of midfield for the remainder of the first half completly backfired as flynn was nowhere to be seen on kickouts and had no impact and eventually got called ashore, lowndes or daly for me were a direct swap for jack and leave mccarthy in midfield were he has been so effective all year.
Thankfully Gavin made the right switches at half time and bringing mccarthy back midfield made all the difference and connolly and mcmannoman made huge impacts in the forward line. second half that saw us kick 12 points of which 11 came from play was testiment to Gavin and the players to acknowledge where they were going wrong and fix the problems on the spot. Felt dean rock was immense throughout the game he took the right option several times and took the point to keep the scoreboard ticking and his free before half time was huge and then that massive show of composure at the end to kick the winner shows that practice pays off as he nailed it. thaught mannion and o callaghan were thorns in mayos side all day and will both grow into leaders of this team over the next few years.hard luck to mayo played their part in what was a great game of football.
will head into town tonight to celebrate SAM STAYING IN THE CAPITAL
UP THE DUBS!!!!

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 18/09/2017 10:58:57    2047331

Replying To jimbodub:  "Have a feeling that this will go down to the wire!

Dubs seem to have a habit of wasting an awful lot of chances against this Mayo side and they need a clinical performance.

If they are wasteful this Mayo side are more than good enough to beat Dublin, no doubt about it...

Best of luck to both teams and hats off to either side if they win. Both teams are playing for history, and there's no doubting the huge commitment and drive of both panels.

Although if Mayo can finally get over the line it'll be a good day in Irish sport. We can all finally move on and stop talking about it every year!!

If the Dubs win well a break from this place will be in order after offering my condolences

The bitterness and usual guff will be plastered across here, there was no talk of finances or splitting when teams have deservedly beaten Dublin.. all that talk is conveniently redundant all of a sudden

So really the only team that can actually win today is Mayo haha.. ;)

All the best to both teams. Looks like it's meant to be dry for the game. Happy days!"
As usual I have it spot on

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 18/09/2017 11:16:10    2047341

Well done to both sets of players, management, officials and supporters for what was an outstanding spectacle yesterday. What was produced yesterday only happens because there are volunteers all over the country letting boys and girls have the chance to dream of one day being involved in something so incredible. Despite all the begrudgery the GAA is a credit to the country.
Dublin have confirmed themselves as one of the best sides of all time, and when their victories are remembered in the distant future so too will the efforts of an outstanding Mayo team. Winning is obviously the ultimate aim in sport but the most important question when a career ends is 'did I do the jersey proud?' Every one of the Mayo players will be able to answer that with their head held high.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 18/09/2017 11:20:26    2047343

Is anyone else getting fed up with Cillian O'Connors antics? Every time the ref took out the book for a Mayo player O'Connor was in on top of him soft talking him patting him on the arm. I didn't see Cluxton coming running out every time the book was produced to a Dublin player to chat to Joe McQuillan. Every game this year he's been at it trying to influence referees. He'd be more in his line concentrating on his own game than getting involved in that carry on.

Chops (Westmeath) - Posts: 775 - 18/09/2017 11:27:15    2047352

Congrats to the Dubs.
Ye earned it the hard way again.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 18/09/2017 13:23:40    2047446

Very tender today. But so so happy. Its an absolute privilege to be witnessing history. Very very proud of the team and the county.

I wont plamause Mayo, but what a team, a wonderful committed display probably the best ive seen from Mayo vs us in all the years, of all our all irelands won that was the toughest game and all i can say is when we won i couldn't understand or believe how we won. It was an All Ireland winning performance in everything bar winning it. Mayo got so much right the match ups, tactics and high press, Keegan on Kilkenny cut of Dublins brain and creativity, was am master stroke. I feel the game was lost in the first half, when Mayo had the momentum they really should have punished Dublin, i couldn't believe we were only a point behind at half time. I was very confident at that point knowing Dublin wouldn't be as bad in the second half and so it proved and as was well punished i knew the cavalry would swing the momentum. Really i think Dublin were just more clinical with their scores. It was the wides that lost the game for Mayo, very small margins. It was a penalty as well for Mayo all day for me, Dublin got very lucky. The Donnie Vaughan red card was lunacy and was another thing that shifted the momentum Dublins way. But such are all Ireland won and lost on the smallest details. But many heroes yesterday i thought Barret was terrific and felt Clark had an excellent game also, Moran going of was an awful decision and there was no umph from the bench.

As for Dublin, yet another contained and game managed final which seems to be calling card of this team. On reflection, i think Jim Galvin is a lucky boy today. The plan with the starting line up and O Gara didnt come off and i thought Dublin didnt get a foot hold in the game until the second half. Really Mayo should have bet Dublin out the gate in the first half, that was the crucial period but they kicked to many wides and Dublin kept in touching distance. Thankfully he didn't persist with it and the substitutions at half time were crucial to winning as was the change in kick out strategy. James MCCarthy was brilliant as was Jonny Cooper who was my man of the match. Cluxton is just super human. This won was dug out with resilience, grit, experience and better game management. But who cares three in a row and we will winter well in the capital. One of the aspects of this that is pleasing is that Dublin have been in transition this year and yesterdays game will be a vital experience to the lads in their development, many of whom now know what its like to win on the biggest day. This team will get stronger i think.

On a side note i am delighted for Cian O' Sullivan, Cluxton, McCarthy, Bernard, Macker, Bastick, Philly, Mick McCauly, Flynner and irrepressible Dermot Connolly who now have 5 all Ireland winners medals, What careers these lad have had and they are not done yet.

We look to the O Byrne Cup and league now and hopefully we will see some of the young lads from the U21 this year.

A great year for Dublin football, with another Senior All Ireland and U21 All Ireland wintering in Dublin thanks to the labors of 2017.

Champions!

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 18/09/2017 14:37:53    2047487

i am not sure if any of the Mayo subs yesterday improved the team. he took off Seamy O' Shea, Colm Boyle, Andy Moran, Jason Doherty, kevin Mcloughlin and Keith Higgins. the last 2 bizzarely after about 4 mins of injury time had elapsed.

I thought all of these players were playing well. perhaps the last 2 were out on their feet but if that was so why leave it so late.

The others I felt had more to give. Seamy O' Shea was getting a lot of breaking ball around the middle and driving forward, Andy Moran is always a threat and looks to be fitter than ever. Colm boyle was flying as usual. perhaps Doherty was flagging but he had a good game and would probably have kicked that free that Cillian O' Connor missed. Rochford brings on Coen in every game and I have yet to see him make any significant impact.
Diarmuid O' Connor is a good player but he hasn't looked 100% all year. I think Loftus should have come on for Cillian O' Connor instead of Andy Moran. The Dublin subs always are an improvement on the team at the time they are introduced and that is the difference.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 18/09/2017 15:27:39    2047525

Replying To galwayford:  "I was shouting for Mayo all the way through. But they must face facts:
1. Managment picked wrong team.
2. Some Mayo players looked unfit. They tired at the end, and it cost them badly. Dubs full of running.
3. I think Dubs took a lot of steps, and it is something GAA should be looking at. I mean Diarmuid Connolly must have ran with the ball so many times.
4. Mayo need to change their sponsor, Elverys just are not delivering for them."
I've just watch the game again and can't see how you got the opinion on Connolly.

DC was big influence in calming Dublin down and was the play maker we lacked in the first half. His ball retention was fantastic. He has great ability to solo in tight spaces. Don't recall him over carrying. Possible on the point he got when the ref was giving advantage for several fouls against him (in which case Rock wouldn't have missed the free)

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 18/09/2017 16:46:14    2047586

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Kerrrchingggg! How to win All Irelands the Croke Park 16 million Euro way. Dublin are the most disliked county in Gaelic football."
Such awful whining and bitterness.. ... We love our team, we love our All Irelands and we'll suppot the boys in blue for ever more. All that matters to us a chara.

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 18/09/2017 16:57:52    2047592

Replying To Yew1951:  "Bottler, chokers what ever term you want to use . As supporters we cannot simply avoid the fact it can't be always bad luck, hard done by, the refs decision done us etc...
The Mayo lads while a great bunch are bootlers and we seen it again today...Vaughan had he kept his head would defo have swung the balance in Mayos favour and we'd be winners now. Instead the same auld shite on here from Mayo supporters who put these lads on pedestals year end year out without delivering anything."
I don't know where I read it last wk but the jist of the article was that in Mayo it's ok to be a loser, that's why they aren't driven enough to win, getting beaten repeatedly like this would not go down well in the likes of Kerry, but in Mayo all you hear is 'ah sure weren't the great though all the same'
they weren't great, they lost again, end of.

El_Torro (Tyrone) - Posts: 155 - 18/09/2017 21:06:32    2047703

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "There's an asterisk beside all your wins these days anyway. And that's the money that should be going to 31 other counties going to you.

Congrats a team of professionals is dominating an amateur sport. It's embarrassing at this stage.

Anybody wondering why the ref played 3 mins extra it's because Dublin were constantly time wasting the whole additional time period."
There's only one big giant asterisk in GAA history bud and that's the leinster final in 2010

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 18/09/2017 21:15:57    2047715