Colm O'Rourke is nearly 60.........

Jesus Wept....60!
Christ I feel old, SIXTY!!
Seems only a few years since he was dragging corner backs around croker with his knee brace and his languid running style.
A hell of a footballer,
But I cant bloody believe he is nearly 60!
Sean Boylan must be ancient!!! :)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 23/08/2017 13:09:26    2036751

Meath's greatest ever player, outstanding footballer up there with the greats imo.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 23/08/2017 14:32:47    2036796

Yes his last season was 1995, 38 yrs old. Meath lost to Dublin by 10 pts in the Leinster final. Remember Paul Clarke's brilliant fisted goal? O'Rourke was one of Meath's better players, he could have hung around for 1996 and got a 3rd all-ireland medal!

I think Meath may have lost the 1991 all-ire v Down owing to his missing most of the match. He had flu in the build up. Came in and scored something like 4 points from play with 20 min to go.

He was a great.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 23/08/2017 15:13:59    2036808

Colm O'Rourke was nearly 38 when he hung up the boots for Meath so no surprise he's nearly 60 now.

M Lyster (Antrim) - Posts: 461 - 23/08/2017 15:14:21    2036809

O'Rourke's longevity was something else. Started out as an 18 year old in 1976. So 1976 to 1995!! I remember himwriting about how the 1976 game against the great Dublin team of the time passed him by and he missed a penalty.

Sean Boylan is 68. I actually thought he was a few years older.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 23/08/2017 15:19:11    2036810

He played with some legends during his time also.

Heard him on the radio recently saying that his first All-Ireland with Meath felt like an anticlimax - very different to the elation of winning a County title with Skryne.

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 23/08/2017 15:28:08    2036816

Replying To M Lyster:  "Colm O'Rourke was nearly 38 when he hung up the boots for Meath so no surprise he's nearly 60 now."
Classic!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7336 - 23/08/2017 15:28:31    2036817

Would like to have seen Colm O'Rourke manage Meath.Would have been interesting to see how he got on.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2155 - 23/08/2017 15:34:10    2036823

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Meath's greatest ever player, outstanding footballer up there with the greats imo."
Of course he was an native of County Leitrim and his older brothers played with them

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4316 - 23/08/2017 17:25:50    2036870

I remember Colm mentioning
That he was envious of his friend Tony McManus
Because he was playing in the 1980 Final against Kerry

Scarabin (Dublin) - Posts: 116 - 23/08/2017 20:16:18    2036907

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Of course he was an native of County Leitrim and his older brothers played with them"
What you trying to say? That Meath's greatest ever player wasn't really a Meath man???

Nothing new there sure Cork's greatest ever footballer was a Kildare man.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 23/08/2017 20:28:01    2036914

Colm was a great player, I find him fair when assessing Dublin too, for a Meathman anyway :D He took some hits off our lads, namely Barr and Heery but he was a tough cookie!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 23/08/2017 20:49:16    2036922

My favourite Meath player growing up in those special days, and yes at 38 he was one of Meath's best players in that Leinster Final of '95 which included a sideline kick sailing over the bar at the Canal End. His inability to start the '91 final due to pneumonia was a major blow, not saying we would have won with him starting as that was a special Down team that had loads of pace and ability, but the difference he made when he came on always made me and plenty of others wonder. I had hoped given his form in '95 that he would have stayed on in '96 and got that third medal but who was to know after that Leinster Final that we would be lifting same the following year, certainly I didn't. Happy Birthday Colm you gave me and all Meath supporters some great days.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 23/08/2017 21:22:18    2036937

He's not the only one!!!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 23/08/2017 22:24:38    2036956

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "He's not the only one!!!!"
Theres a few of us getting on here :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 23/08/2017 22:56:45    2036969

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Jesus Wept....60!
Christ I feel old, SIXTY!!
Seems only a few years since he was dragging corner backs around croker with his knee brace and his languid running style.
A hell of a footballer,
But I cant bloody believe he is nearly 60!
Sean Boylan must be ancient!!! :)"
Feck I was only a young snipe watching Colm and Stafford and all the great Meath team of 87-91

I remember my father god rest him after seeing Stafford (Stafford was a surgeon I think) miss a free against cork in the semifinal in 89 saying I'm glad I'm not going under the knife with him tomorrow.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 23/08/2017 23:41:32    2036979

never gave anything but 100%, one of the main drivers behind Meaths success in the 80s. Son Shane had potential to follow in fathers footsteps, but forced to retire from county football due to injury.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2135 - 24/08/2017 00:42:33    2036984

Replying To clondalkindub:  "What you trying to say? That Meath's greatest ever player wasn't really a Meath man???

Nothing new there sure Cork's greatest ever footballer was a Kildare man."
Make that Cork's two finest footballers ever were Kildare men!:)
O'Rourke was a stand out player on an outstanding team. Teak tough, never gave up and could kick scores from every angle. Himself Stafford and Flynn were a hell of an inside line.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 24/08/2017 03:27:43    2036990

Without a shadow of a doubt the best forward Meath ever produced.

hootervillian (Meath) - Posts: 308 - 24/08/2017 06:41:18    2036993

One of the best

hipster (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 24/08/2017 09:19:05    2037013