Is Rochford Calling The Shots

Replying To browncows:  "Some of the best players all year, Boyle and Moran stayed on for the full game today and that proves the point that a few have been making- you do not rely on GPS to determine how well a guy is playing as it should be fairly obvious. Well done Mayo and hard luck Kerry."
Very true brown cows.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 26/08/2017 20:10:19    2038216

Great job by Rochford the O'Shea tactic worked brilliantly today after it working reasonably well last week.

uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 26/08/2017 20:23:35    2038232

Replying To uibhfhaili1986:  "Great job by Rochford the O'Shea tactic worked brilliantly today after it working reasonably well last week."
worked under high ball last week but a mess otherwise but what was the alternative i guess..got it spot on today compared to fitzmaurice

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 26/08/2017 20:51:22    2038264

Replying To uibhfhaili1986:  "Great job by Rochford the O'Shea tactic worked brilliantly today after it working reasonably well last week."
I 2nd that.

Absolutely hate the man's tactics but for the love of god I can't help feeling like he's going the whole way with these pack of lunatics.

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 27/08/2017 00:47:28    2038408

Replying To jimbodub:  "If Rochford puts AOS into the full back line again he should be shown the door"
Well Jimodub - "wha do ya think of dat?"

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1108 - 27/08/2017 06:29:42    2038429

Margins are so fine arent for managers arent they, one errant decision and you a hero or a villain.

Compare yesterday to the stick he got after the final last year.

Who would be a manager.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 27/08/2017 09:15:35    2038464

Got to hold my hands up and say I got that wrong. Rochford deserves huge credit, the early switch of AOS into the forwards had Kerry quite confused. His mere presence in there seemed to upset Kerry. Mayo won the kick out battle hands down, they put huge pressure on every kickout. They got their match-ups right, Keegan played further forward, Boyle paced himself better in this game and hung back a bit more than last week, much to Mayo's advantage with some great blocks and tackles made.
Mayo's preparation was 2nd to none, their intensity was frightening and really put Kerry on the back foot in the physical stakes. Mayo set their stall out and stuck to it. Granted they got a few soft frees but over the 2 games I think that balanced out.
Roll on the final

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 27/08/2017 09:25:04    2038471

Replying To GreenandRed:  "No doubt about that. Dropping Clarke was a massive error. But people rarely focus on the good calls he makes. He took one of the greatest teams ever to a replay in the final in his first year managing intercounty. We could fall flat today and the knives will be sharpened for Stephen. I think that would be wrong.

O'Mahony, Maughan, Moran and Connelly/Holmes are probably not remembered for for been criticised for any unorthodox decisions that went wrong. Because they were fairly predictable and we got to finals or lost semi finals, again!

I know well he makes bizarre decisions, risky ones. But we can only do groundhog days so many times before enough is enough. He has the balls to make decisions. His predecessors did very little to change how we played."
Very few mentioned the fact that lady year was SR first year with the Mayo team. And I think bringing in J mcEntee has helped out and all I think S R has done very well with Mayo leaving out last year's call of dropping Clarke. But fair play to Clarke he came back and got his place back. No throwing out the toys from the pram here. I can tell ye S R will be a hero in Castlebar in three weeks time. I can't see Mayo loosing this one. They have paid their dues and it will be great to see Clarke , a Moran and all the rest get their Celtic cross
Well done again Mayo

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 27/08/2017 10:36:13    2038496

Not bad to get a team to an All Ireland for a crowd of Donkeys as that idiot Eamonn Sweeney said.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 27/08/2017 11:58:57    2038520

Fair play to Rochford and Mayo.

Easy to kick and knock a team, Another provincal title was no good to those lads to be honest - they now have a shot at the big one.

That's two All Ireland Finals in a row for Rochford, maybe....just maybe he'll get them over the line this time.

GetOverTheBar (Tyrone) - Posts: 1388 - 27/08/2017 12:51:37    2038551

I think it's only fair for me to eat a bit of humble pie on this. I thought Rochford got his tactics spot on. I know some have been critical on the substitutions made late on but I thought overall he got it right. Mayo completely nullified Dublin's long kickouts, they were able to handle the late inclusion of O'Gara and kept Dublins forwards scoreless from play in the first half. Aidan O'Shea put in a solid first half and his movement on Cian O'Sullivan kept him on the back foot. Mayo worked a lot of openings and should have been further ahead at half time. Although Dublin came out well second half, I thought Mayo competed really well, they left it all out on the pitch.
Fair play to Rochford, ever so close again and I fully expect Mayo to be back competing at the top table again next year.

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 20/09/2017 13:39:56    2048559

I think it's only fair for me to eat a bit of humble pie on this. I thought Rochford got his tactics spot on. I know some have been critical on the substitutions made late on but I thought overall he got it right. Mayo completely nullified Dublin's long kickouts, they were able to handle the late inclusion of O'Gara and kept Dublins forwards scoreless from play in the first half. Aidan O'Shea put in a solid first half and his movement on Cian O'Sullivan kept him on the back foot. Mayo worked a lot of openings and should have been further ahead at half time. Although Dublin came out well second half, I thought Mayo competed really well, they left it all out on the pitch.
Fair play to Rochford, ever so close again and I fully expect Mayo to be back competing at the top table again next year.

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts:665 - 20/09/2017 13:39:56

Dublin forwards scored 1-2 from play in the first half.

O'Callaghan with a goal and both Rock and O'Gara scored a point each.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 20/09/2017 14:48:54    2048586

One of the highlights of gthe day for me was the way Rochford held his dignity while clearly devastated, He seems like a class act. And that's more important in the long run. A wonderful exemplar of sportsmanship.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 20/09/2017 15:03:09    2048592

Replying To avonali:  "One of the highlights of gthe day for me was the way Rochford held his dignity while clearly devastated, He seems like a class act. And that's more important in the long run. A wonderful exemplar of sportsmanship."
Can I ask all Dublin posters why do ex Dublin players continuously attack Mayo players you don't see ex county players from any other counties doing this - Charlie Redmond again ! We all remember 1995 and Charlie's behaviour never seen in a final before or since

belmay (Mayo) - Posts: 172 - 20/09/2017 15:20:07    2048603

Replying To MesAmis:  "I think it's only fair for me to eat a bit of humble pie on this. I thought Rochford got his tactics spot on. I know some have been critical on the substitutions made late on but I thought overall he got it right. Mayo completely nullified Dublin's long kickouts, they were able to handle the late inclusion of O'Gara and kept Dublins forwards scoreless from play in the first half. Aidan O'Shea put in a solid first half and his movement on Cian O'Sullivan kept him on the back foot. Mayo worked a lot of openings and should have been further ahead at half time. Although Dublin came out well second half, I thought Mayo competed really well, they left it all out on the pitch.

O'Callaghan with a goal and both Rock and O'Gara scored a point each."
You're right Mes, I'm on a roll of mistakes today!!
Too much coffee this morning

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 20/09/2017 15:23:48    2048608

Very much this, i was actually a little annoyed that people were sticking a camera in his face and of the Mayo players. I can only say i have the height of respect for how Rochford and the Mayo team in general have held there dignity. Many a county can learn from them.

If i am being honest and as much as i love Jim Galvin. Rochford got more right on the day then Jim. Ok Dublin won the All Ireland but Jim had more angles and options at his disposal. Rochford got far more right in his set up and execution and won the managerial contest for me.

I was really surprised t read that he is only 38, what a good young manager and a credit to his county.

Fair play to him, as he took an awful lot of flack after the final last year.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 20/09/2017 16:27:02    2048639

Hopefully he stays on for next year I think he can find a way to take this Mayo team to the next level

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 20/09/2017 17:29:27    2048669

Replying To keithlemon:  "
Replying To MesAmis:  "I think it's only fair for me to eat a bit of humble pie on this. I thought Rochford got his tactics spot on. I know some have been critical on the substitutions made late on but I thought overall he got it right. Mayo completely nullified Dublin's long kickouts, they were able to handle the late inclusion of O'Gara and kept Dublins forwards scoreless from play in the first half. Aidan O'Shea put in a solid first half and his movement on Cian O'Sullivan kept him on the back foot. Mayo worked a lot of openings and should have been further ahead at half time. Although Dublin came out well second half, I thought Mayo competed really well, they left it all out on the pitch.

Too much coffee this morning"
No bother. Don't necessarily disagree with the overall sentiment of your post.

Although I do think that the narrative of just how bad Dublin played in the first half is a little exaggerated.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 20/09/2017 17:41:54    2048676

Replying To MesAmis:  "
Replying To keithlemon:  "[quote=MesAmis:  "I think it's only fair for me to eat a bit of humble pie on this. I thought Rochford got his tactics spot on. I know some have been critical on the substitutions made late on but I thought overall he got it right. Mayo completely nullified Dublin's long kickouts, they were able to handle the late inclusion of O'Gara and kept Dublins forwards scoreless from play in the first half. Aidan O'Shea put in a solid first half and his movement on Cian O'Sullivan kept him on the back foot. Mayo worked a lot of openings and should have been further ahead at half time. Although Dublin came out well second half, I thought Mayo competed really well, they left it all out on the pitch.

Too much coffee this morning"
No bother. Don't necessarily disagree with the overall sentiment of your post.

Although I do think that the narrative of just how bad Dublin played in the first half is a little exaggerated."]John Small scored a point, Rock scored 0-4, 0-1 from play. Con O'Callaghan got the goal.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1741 - 20/09/2017 17:56:56    2048687

John Small scored a point, Rock scored 0-4, 0-1 from play. Con O'Callaghan got the goal.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts:701 - 20/09/2017 17:56:56   2048687 

First half scorers for Dublin were:

Rock 0-3 (0-2 frees)
O'Callaghan 1-0
Small 0-1
O'Gara 0-1

1-5 in total.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 20/09/2017 20:33:52    2048769