Hurling pundits v Football Pundits V CCCC

So, DC puts his hand on a linesman, barely.
The football panelists go after him like a criminal. He is hung out to dry by RTE, Newstalk, Irish Independent.
Everyone accepts what he did was silly and not in anway dangerous, but hey, a rule is a rule, so he gets a massive suspension.

Austin Gleeson deliberately pulls the helmet off the head of an opponent. The hurling pundits raise the issue, but to a man they say "we dont want him to miss the match but.."
So basically, they defend the player. They accept what he did was wrong but they dont to after him. None of this "a rule is a rule" simplistic BS that the football lads go on with,

In a nutshell, the hurling pundits have the best interest of the game and the players at heart, the football lads only want to make noise.

I hope Gleeson gets off. But the double standards are glaring.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 15/08/2017 14:34:16    2033644

I remember a Football player punching another on the ground repeatedly and getting away with it a couple of years ago.......

AgainstTheOdds (Kerry) - Posts: 47 - 15/08/2017 14:50:48    2033650

Ah great, just what we needed. Another Connolly thread! Even Diarmuid must be sick of this by now.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 15/08/2017 14:54:41    2033653

Give all football games to SKY and make it so they don't have give the highlights to RTE.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1800 - 15/08/2017 14:56:43    2033656

Replying To kildare73:  "Ah great, just what we needed. Another Connolly thread! Even Diarmuid must be sick of this by now."
This is not a DC thread
This is a thread about the different approach taken by the hurling and football analysts and how they have influence over what happens to individual players

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 15/08/2017 15:09:49    2033664

Replying To AgainstTheOdds:  "I remember a Football player punching another on the ground repeatedly and getting away with it a couple of years ago......."
Are you talking about the time a certain Kerry legend boxed a limerick wing forward 4 times in the Gaelic Grounds and then went down like a sack of spuds when he got a push back and had his man sent off....
That time is it?

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 15/08/2017 15:11:05    2033666

C'mon Liam - I am guessing you haven't seen the Referee Competency Test they have to take - Question 15:

You are refereeing a match where Diarmuid Connolly is playing do you:
a) Give him a straight red
b) Give him two yellows
c) Tick him, then book him twice
d) Tick him, book him, black card him
e) Tick him, book him, red card him

I failed as I pointed out there was no option of putting the boot in him too for good measure...... ;-)

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 15/08/2017 15:12:27    2033668

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "So, DC puts his hand on a linesman, barely.
The football panelists go after him like a criminal. He is hung out to dry by RTE, Newstalk, Irish Independent.
Everyone accepts what he did was silly and not in anway dangerous, but hey, a rule is a rule, so he gets a massive suspension.

Austin Gleeson deliberately pulls the helmet off the head of an opponent. The hurling pundits raise the issue, but to a man they say "we dont want him to miss the match but.."
So basically, they defend the player. They accept what he did was wrong but they dont to after him. None of this "a rule is a rule" simplistic BS that the football lads go on with,

In a nutshell, the hurling pundits have the best interest of the game and the players at heart, the football lads only want to make noise.

I hope Gleeson gets off. But the double standards are glaring."
You'll have to get the hurling pundits to do the football too so. As Donal Og says the football pundits just talk down their game and focus on the negatives.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 15/08/2017 15:18:47    2033672

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "This is not a DC thread
This is a thread about the different approach taken by the hurling and football analysts and how they have influence over what happens to individual players"
Please, unless you are completely naive and I doubt you are, you know what this will descend into. You are long enough on here to know this. Just for good measure, you mentioned him at the very beginning. You could have got the thread up and running without mentioning any player and it would have been equally effective. Your county are in the lucky position to still be involved, sit back and enjoy.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 15/08/2017 15:22:21    2033676

I have always been a "football man"
Viewed hurling almost with suspicion and disdain
2017 has changed all that for me. I have a new massive respect for hurling. Even poor-ish games have these epic endings than make u remember a game like it was a battle for all times, when 60 mins of it might have been terrible, but that 10 minutes, is enough to whet any appetite. Hurling when its tight and close is just a thing of beauty.
Compared that to what we had to watch in football this year, the comparison is almost embarrassing.
Then to hear Donal Og, Liam Sheedy, Cyril, Duignan and these lads talk about hurling, and you play it off against they way Spillane, Brolly talk about football and footballers....

Hurling lads being honest about what Gleeson did but at all times sticking up for him, compared to football lads taking every opportunity to have a go at a fella and pretty much do their damnest to get them suspended. And I dont just mean the SG, Newstalk were worse. They had a saturday panel where Mike Quirke basically made the case for the CCCC Prosecution against DC, that doesnt happen in hurling. Hurling lads own their game, they want it to be the best it can be, they want the best players to play all games. Hurling lads see themselves as one big hurling community, all in this together wearing different colour tshiirts. And they would be embarrassed to go after a fella the way football people regularly do.

Feck this lads, time to jump ship

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 15/08/2017 15:31:12    2033684

Liam out fishing again and as per usual.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 15/08/2017 15:58:02    2033700

Replying To Laois76:  "Liam out fishing again and as per usual."
And when Liam takes out his rod there's always a lot of activity.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 15/08/2017 16:14:07    2033706

Replying To Laois76:  "Liam out fishing again and as per usual."
Genuinely not

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 15/08/2017 16:15:22    2033709

Liam is correct

The Sundat Game and RTE are too cosey to the playing population, listening to the 'marty squad on sunday evening, it was beyond a joke..... Look A. G. pulled the helmet off, this wasn't accidental, Do I want him to miss the final -No !! But if Armagh played Longford and a helmet was pulled off, there would be no RTE demanding that it was an accident......
There is double standards - I'm no lover of D.C but he must feel aggrieved by the double standards........ and wait for it we will hear it all week... ' he's not that type of player

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1671 - 15/08/2017 17:31:08    2033746

And now the verdict is passed
Austin receives no punishment
One man gets a 12 week ban because the Media went after him, one man gets off because they didn't.....

Here's a thought, say if the DC thing never happened and If Austin Gleeson had "put his hand" on an official in the same nothing manner as DC, do you think
(a) The hurling analysts, RTE, Newstalk would have went after him for it
(b) He would have received a ban?

I think we all know the answers

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 15/08/2017 18:24:08    2033781

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "I have always been a "football man"
2017 has changed all that for me. I have a new massive respect for hurling. Even poor-ish games have these epic endings than make u remember a game like it was a battle for all times, when 60 mins of it might have been terrible, but that 10 minutes, is enough to whet any appetite. Hurling when its tight and close is just a thing of beauty.
Compared that to what we had to watch in football this year, the comparison is almost embarrassing.
Then to hear Donal Og, Liam Sheedy, Cyril, Duignan and these lads talk about hurling, and you play it off against they way Spillane, Brolly talk about football and footballers....

Hurling lads being honest about what Gleeson did but at all times sticking up for him, compared to football lads taking every opportunity to have a go at a fella and pretty much do their damnest to get them suspended. And I dont just mean the SG, Newstalk were worse. They had a saturday panel where Mike Quirke basically made the case for the CCCC Prosecution against DC, that doesnt happen in hurling. Hurling lads own their game, they want it to be the best it can be, they want the best players to play all games. Hurling lads see themselves as one big hurling community, all in this together wearing different colour tshiirts. And they would be embarrassed to go after a fella the way football people regularly do.

Feck this lads, time to jump ship"
I actually agree with you Liam that hurling people are a different breed and view their game differently than football people do. And right now hurling is a much much better game. If the GAA wanted to bring in a Super 8 they should have put it into hurling. Imagine the brilliant games we could have as opposed to the dross we are likely to get in football next year.
I could see why the guys on the panel were hoping Gleeson would get off. Having seen the replay of it he was a bit lucky but he's in the clear now and fair play to him. But when they addressed the Conor Gleeson sending off and went on about him only giving the Cork guy a tap across the legs, they lost credibility. It was only a half sending off and ah sure it's the final, the ref could have let it go. Well he couldn't. It's a pull across the legs of an opponent and he gave the ref no choice. The Austin Gleeson/DC incidents were grey areas, you could make arguments either way but Conor Gleeson was clear cut and to have RTE panelists immediately launch a campaign to undermine what was an obvious decision from the referee was poor form. He had only one decision he could have made and the player gave him no choice. It's not fair on any referee to have to have his decision subjected to "ah sure" analysis afterwards.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 15/08/2017 18:47:09    2033792

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "I have always been a "football man"

Feck this lads, time to jump ship"
Quirke loves to play the fool and comes out with all sorts of guff.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 15/08/2017 19:07:41    2033804

Kildare, i am not actually giving out about the actual incidents themselves as opposed to the way they were treated by the media and in particular the SG and Newstalk OTB.
According to Newstalk, the Connolly incident was black and white, he HAD to be banned and no more about it, because a rule is a rule is a rule
The SG went to town on him and basically forced the disciplinary bodies to take action. If they hadn't made a meal of it, considering how minuscule the incident was, the disciplinary bodies would have left it alone, it was the football panels reaction to the incident that stoked the whole thing.

Austins incident, you go the feeling the SG lads only mentioned it because they had to, and even in mentioning it they were almost apologetic for mentioning it. Their lack of bite in their analysis meant they GAA felt little or no pressure to act, thus AG got off.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 15/08/2017 19:11:11    2033807

The CCCC ruling that Austin Gleeson is free to play in the final is great for Austin, Waterford & hurling fans but has made a mockery & laughing stock out of the whole Gaa disciplinary system & the CCCC itself. Tadhag De Burca & other lads banned have been very hard done by if this is the case. It was never more clear cut, even when you enlarge the photo, you clearly see the fingers slide in, then grip the helmet & pull it off. You see Meades ear actually crunched up & caught in the plastic strap, it takes some force to pull off a strapped on helmet, Tadhag De Burca put his hand out to go by & caught a strap & gets banned & this case is dismissed, it's laughable. Zero credibility in the CCCC, I would love to see all the names on it published as they are an embarrassment, I know of three of them. At this stage it will be a complete & utter pantomime & injustice if they go on to ban Ciaran Gleeson, now that the rules are thrown out the window don't deny the lad his shot of playing in an All Ireland final & rescind the red card. Nothing to lose now as there is zero credibility anyways. If the rules were implemented, Cork would have been playing against 14 men from early on in the semi final & it might have changed the course of the game. Also Adrian Tuohy would have missed out & Galway would have had a great chance in the final if both Gleesons were banned. I feel sorry for all the players as once again it's the make it up as we go along rules & inconsistency & failure to implement them by the Gaa governance that has led to this situation.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 15/08/2017 20:15:01    2033842

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "And now the verdict is passed
Austin receives no punishment
One man gets a 12 week ban because the Media went after him, one man gets off because they didn't.....

Here's a thought, say if the DC thing never happened and If Austin Gleeson had "put his hand" on an official in the same nothing manner as DC, do you think
(a) The hurling analysts, RTE, Newstalk would have went after him for it
(b) He would have received a ban?

I think we all know the answers"
Have to agree. Both the referee and linesman saw the Connolly incident on the day and didn't feel it worthy of a sending off. Yet the CCC decide to suspend him. The referee says he saw the Gleson incident so CCC say it dealt with on the day.
The system a joke! Hope Connolly plays on Sunday Week against my neighbours and wins MOTM!!!!!!

Molaise (Fermanagh) - Posts: 96 - 15/08/2017 21:10:12    2033882