Hurling All Stars 2017

If past experience is anything to go by, All Ireland Champions will have 7 or 8 beaten finalists 4 or 5 and between 2 & 4 amongst the rest.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 03/09/2017 22:49:57    2042366

Replying To ruanua:  "One clue - He wears no 11"
To be perfectly honest I didn't think Mahoney done enough this year but he was close alright. H
Himself and chin were certainly two men that played in that position to score well from play unlike bonner and canning.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 04/09/2017 00:13:24    2042394

I think the Sunday Game team of the year was pretty much bang on the money. This year's hurling championship was so good that you could have a really impressive alternative 15 based on the form of another 15 players in this year's championship only:

1. Eoin Murphy

2. Stephen McDonnell 3. Liam Ryan 4. Sean Finn

5. Tadgh De Burca 6. Cillian Buckley 7. Mark Coleman

8. Conor Gleeson 9. Darragh Fitzgibbon

10. Dan McCormack 11. Conor Lehane 12. TJ Reid

13. Alan Cadogan 14. Lee Chin 15. Seamus Callanan

Other players that did really well this year but probably won't win an all star would be: Stephen O'Keefe, Pauric Mahony, Philip Mahony, Gleeson, Darragh Fives, Brendan Maher, John and Noel McGrath, Colin Fennelly, Kyle Hayes, Dowling, Conor McGrath, Ellis, Conor McDonald, Shaun Murphy, Nolan, Morris, O'Keefe (Wex), Peter Casey, etc.

No doubt I have left out another 10 or 15 players out. 2013 was a great season but I really feel 2017 was much better and far more competitive.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 04/09/2017 03:53:06    2042406

Replying To Killarney.87:  "I think the Sunday Game team of the year was pretty much bang on the money. This year's hurling championship was so good that you could have a really impressive alternative 15 based on the form of another 15 players in this year's championship only:

1. Eoin Murphy

2. Stephen McDonnell 3. Liam Ryan 4. Sean Finn

5. Tadgh De Burca 6. Cillian Buckley 7. Mark Coleman

8. Conor Gleeson 9. Darragh Fitzgibbon

10. Dan McCormack 11. Conor Lehane 12. TJ Reid

13. Alan Cadogan 14. Lee Chin 15. Seamus Callanan

Other players that did really well this year but probably won't win an all star would be: Stephen O'Keefe, Pauric Mahony, Philip Mahony, Gleeson, Darragh Fives, Brendan Maher, John and Noel McGrath, Colin Fennelly, Kyle Hayes, Dowling, Conor McGrath, Ellis, Conor McDonald, Shaun Murphy, Nolan, Morris, O'Keefe (Wex), Peter Casey, etc.

No doubt I have left out another 10 or 15 players out. 2013 was a great season but I really feel 2017 was much better and far more competitive."
Be a great game if they played the two teams against each other! I forgot about Eoin Murphy. To be fair he was unbelievable this year. Despite KK not getting to the latter stages he deserves to be a contender

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 04/09/2017 08:43:51    2042420

Replying To tiobraid:  "Be a great game if they played the two teams against each other! I forgot about Eoin Murphy. To be fair he was unbelievable this year. Despite KK not getting to the latter stages he deserves to be a contender"
It's some team alright as an alternative and I only picked it on this year's form. The likes of Richie Hogan, Paul Murphy, Padraig Walsh, Walter Walsh, Conor Fogarty, Bubbles, Ronan Maher, James Barry, Breen, Harnedy, O'Donnell, Hanbury (had a very good game yesterday) aren't mentioned at all.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 04/09/2017 17:44:40    2042648

Replying To tiobraid:  "Speculation. Most players carry some knocks into games. If he was 100% injured he wouldn't be playing!"
'If he was 100% injured' - that's a strange one. Didn't think you could be partially injured. Joking aside, I think you are very hard on Joe.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 04/09/2017 19:59:55    2042705

Replying To neverright:  "'If he was 100% injured' - that's a strange one. Didn't think you could be partially injured. Joking aside, I think you are very hard on Joe."
I was replying to someone else on that comment
I just have the opinion there was 8/10 forwards who contributed more through out the full season and many of them
Are wearing maroon too
I'll stand by that
People saying Coleman should've got in ahead of maher are also judging corks results this year against tipps s and not the players performaces.
Coleman was exceptional but maher was unreal this year from start to finish

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 04/09/2017 22:06:41    2042784

Replying To Hurling1Guru1:  "All Stars so far: The ones with ** after them are ones that I think are guaranteed an All-Star regardless of what happens in the final. Others are subject to change depending on performances or lack of performances in the final.

Nash (The better goalie in the final will almost certainly get it)

Spillane (Wont get one, Hanbury or Touhy, depends on the final)
Burke**
Connors ( Should get one, barring an awful final)

Mannion
McInerney
Coleman

(Incredibly competitive line. Obviously Gleeson could take a spot here. Good performaces Philip Mahony, Darragh Fives, Aidan Harte and possibly even Tadhg De Burca could see them take a spot. Lack of performances could see Padraig Maher take one.)

Gleeson (Position may change and if he misses the final he won't get one, good games from David Burke or Johnny Coen would see them take it. Lee Chin or Kevin Moran could be picked here if the two Galway lads underperform.)
Barron**

J Cooney
Canning**
Kevin Moran
(If Pauric Mahony or Brick Walsh out perform Cooney in the final they could take his spot. Lee Chin also a possibility)

Whelan**
Horgan
C Cooney
(Conor Cooney highly likely but not 100% guaranteed, it would take a very bad performance from him coupled with a huge performance from Brick or Bennett for him not to get one)"
Happy enough with those predictions.

Final selection:

O' Keeffe - Really don't see why so many people are mentioning Nash. Meltdown in semi-final, no clean sheet all year, don't see how you can pick him. Obviously Callanans chance went with the goals in the final.

Touhy - Hanbury the only other real contender, but Touhy just shades it.
Burke
Connors

Mannion
McInerney
Coleman - His performances in the three Munster games (1 MOTM and 2 nominations) just shade it ahead of Paudie.

Burke
Barron

Brick
Canning
Kevin Moran

Whelan
Horgan
C Cooney

I think the 6 forwards pick themselves really. Joe Cooney had a great year but the you couldn't leave out any of that half forward line. Similar sentiments for John McGrath, Conor Lehane and Pauric Mahony.

POTY - Jamie Barron - I'd obviously love to see McInerney or Canning get it, but I think Barron deserves it. Brilliant performances against Kilkenny, Cork and Galway (when sick).
YPOTY - Conor Whelan

Hurling1Guru1 (Galway) - Posts: 244 - 06/09/2017 15:31:46    2043481

Replying To Killarney.87:  "It's some team alright as an alternative and I only picked it on this year's form. The likes of Richie Hogan, Paul Murphy, Padraig Walsh, Walter Walsh, Conor Fogarty, Bubbles, Ronan Maher, James Barry, Breen, Harnedy, O'Donnell, Hanbury (had a very good game yesterday) aren't mentioned at all."
Hanbury played very well in both semi and final.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1791 - 06/09/2017 16:00:36    2043492

Replying To baire:  "Hanbury played very well in both semi and final."
Yeah, he was very good in both games. I was hoping he was going to be the weak point in the Galway defence ahead of the semi-final but he did really well. He had a great tussle with Brick too.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 06/09/2017 17:42:00    2043536

Replying To Brianmac78:  "Hard to pick but..

Nash
Tuohy
Burke
Connors
Harte
Ellis
Coleman
Barron
Chin
Gleeson
Canning
J Cooney
Whelan
Horgan
C Cooney"
Couple of changes to my original.

Gearoid mc for Ellis.
Burke for Chin
Moran for Gleeson

Brianmac78 (Dublin) - Posts: 1168 - 06/09/2017 18:29:33    2043556

1. Stephen O Keeffe
2. Shane Fives
3. Daithi Burke
4. Colm Spillane
5. Padraig Mannion
6. Gearoid Mcinerney
7. Mark Coleman
8. David Burke
9. Jamie Barron
10. Michael Walsh
11. Joe Canning
12. Noel McGrath
13. Conor Whelan
14. Conor Cooney
15. Patrick Horgan

Hurler of the year: Jamie Barron
Young hurler: Conor Whelan

Subs:
16. Anthony Nash
17. Adrian Tuohy
18. Stephen McDonnell
19. Noel Connors
20. Mark Ellis
21. Tadhg de Burca
22. Darragh Fitzgibbon
23. Kevin Moran
24. Conor Lehane
25. Alan Cadogan
26. John McGrath

HurlingSnob (Dublin) - Posts: 220 - 06/09/2017 18:33:26    2043559

Replying To baire:  "Hanbury played very well in both semi and final."
Hanbury was great all Summer considering many seemed to think he was the weak link in the Galway defence. Might not have even got in the Galway team either only for the injury to Killeen in the league final I think.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2214 - 06/09/2017 19:31:52    2043589

It's incredible how so few consider Aonghus Clarke midfield, Tommy Doyle full back both Westmeath,Patrick Purcell Midfield and Matthew Whelan half back both Laois.

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1456 - 07/09/2017 00:16:48    2043693

Replying To HurlingSnob:  "1. Stephen O Keeffe
2. Shane Fives
3. Daithi Burke
4. Colm Spillane
5. Padraig Mannion
6. Gearoid Mcinerney
7. Mark Coleman
8. David Burke
9. Jamie Barron
10. Michael Walsh
11. Joe Canning
12. Noel McGrath
13. Conor Whelan
14. Conor Cooney
15. Patrick Horgan

Hurler of the year: Jamie Barron
Young hurler: Conor Whelan

Subs:
16. Anthony Nash
17. Adrian Tuohy
18. Stephen McDonnell
19. Noel Connors
20. Mark Ellis
21. Tadhg de Burca
22. Darragh Fitzgibbon
23. Kevin Moran
24. Conor Lehane
25. Alan Cadogan
26. John McGrath"
There was a lad called Kevin Moran playing midfield for Waterford this year and another lad called Padraic Maher for Tipp who were a minimum of 8/10 for every game! Interesting team but some big calls!

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 07/09/2017 08:51:52    2043706

S.O Keefe
A.Tuohy Daithi N.Connors
P.Mannion Gearoid Mc. P.Maher
J.Barron David Burke
k.Moran Joe Canning C.Lehane
C.Whelan C.Cooney P.Horgan

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 07/09/2017 09:40:25    2043721

The All Stars despite being a great honor for the players selected and their families is the greatest joke the GAA have, aside from the club fixtures debacle.

I find it very frustrating that the decision is made by journalists and they go in search of the 15 best players, obviously that makes sense but naming a player at a position they have never played for the sake of including them is silly.

Why isn't a system created where every panel member across all 32 counties in both codes are given a 15 votes, for each position of the field. This way the 15 players who secure the most nominations are the All Stars chosen by their fellow players. Obviously one can not vote their own team mates. To combat the issue of naming players in positions they really do not play in within the voting process players should be sectioned off into the area of the field they play.

TheFullBack (Galway) - Posts: 110 - 07/09/2017 14:01:44    2043837

Replying To jobber:  "It's incredible how so few consider Aonghus Clarke midfield, Tommy Doyle full back both Westmeath,Patrick Purcell Midfield and Matthew Whelan half back both Laois."
Fair point. Doyle did get universal recognition for the job he did on Seamus Callanan though, all the more impressive when Callanan scored 3-11 the next day out.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 07/09/2017 20:07:01    2043956

Replying To tiobraid:  "There was a lad called Kevin Moran playing midfield for Waterford this year and another lad called Padraic Maher for Tipp who were a minimum of 8/10 for every game! Interesting team but some big calls!"
Wow, I don't know how anyone could leave Padraic Maher and Moran out of a team of the year, never mind a 26 man panel.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 07/09/2017 20:08:51    2043957

Replying To Killarney.87:  "Wow, I don't know how anyone could leave Padraic Maher and Moran out of a team of the year, never mind a 26 man panel."
In my (probably biased opinion). My front runners for hurler of the year would be 1. Jamie Barron and I couldn't split McInerney, Moran and Maher out side of that. I've been to a hell of a lot of games this year and there is no one else I can think of who were consistently as good in every championship game as these lads. Probably a bit harsh maybe on Whelan and Connors though....
But that's 5 players who I'll be shocked if they aren't on the All Star team.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 08/09/2017 08:33:54    2044049