Overcrowding on the Hill

Replying To cavanman47:  "They could build above it. The Aviva have. They already have with the canal.

Although 'can't be done' is the default Irish approach to just about everything unfortunately"
Why should they though? To spend a fortune, disrupt part of a season of fixtures, cause rail disruption, lose possible concert revenue during construction and lose the traditional end for Dublin supporters which creates a great atmosphere at matches. The Hill is also great for non-Dublin supporters for games, much better craic than being in the stands. There'd only be football finals, the odd hurling and maybe some Dublin matches that would sell out the extra capacity. They would never make that money back unless they sold naming rights.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7324 - 12/08/2017 00:08:07    2032502

Replying To hill16no1man:  "I have been going since I'm three and never seen anybody do that.
Yeah it is a silly comment looking for it to be done away so I won't go to games you said, why does it bother you that some people rather standing?
You have 70thousand seats for those who want sit what's wrong with having the terrace option for those who rather stand?"
Wtf are you on about , here you go again twisting things , the whole of hoganstand has seen you say "you won't go to Croker again" and Now unbelievably your trying to twist it again. You never seen it I've seen it loads of times I also seen women being carried out after fainting loads of times back in the '90 I'm also in the paper the day the Union Jack was burned I'm wearing the number 8 jersey that made the front of the star the Monday after.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 12/08/2017 06:51:06    2032520

"So you won't go if they build the Hill around ? Jesus please god they build it."

That was your words so don't make out im twisting anything you have serious form for that stuff.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 12/08/2017 18:18:46    2032616

Terraces are the way forward worldwide. Stadiums all over Europe are turning back the clock and refitting rail terracing everywhere. So to say that Croker needs to be all seats is ridiculous. Get the atmosphere back...get people up off their giant derrieres

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 12/08/2017 19:01:48    2032624

Replying To Dubsfan28:  "Very true, there were a few fine Kingdom heifers who ventured onto the Hill for the 2011 and 2015 finals and boy health and safety would have a field day ha ha."
Nice language there bud, fair play to ya

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 12/08/2017 19:31:24    2032627

Replying To bloodyban:  "Terraces are the way forward worldwide. Stadiums all over Europe are turning back the clock and refitting rail terracing everywhere. So to say that Croker needs to be all seats is ridiculous. Get the atmosphere back...get people up off their giant derrieres"
Having seats doesn't mean people have to sit. Just look at many big soccer games and there's thousands who're in seats but stand for entire games. And having people standing won't get atmosphere better

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 12/08/2017 22:17:55    2032661

Replying To hill16no1man:  ""So you won't go if they build the Hill around ? Jesus please god they build it."

That was your words so don't make out im twisting anything you have serious form for that stuff."
Ok your really starting to scare me here;

I said knock the hill down and build the stadium around

You then said; the day they do that I'll stop going to Croke Park.

Now somehow your now saying I'm twisting things when the whole of hoganstand can see what you've said.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 13/08/2017 20:32:05    2032898

Replying To MesAmis:  "For the millionth time.

They can't. Railway track etc etc"

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 14/08/2017 01:02:06    2033026

Replying To MesAmis:  "For the millionth time.

They can't. Railway track etc etc"
Railway tracks aren't the real problem The residents pose the big problem Also was told by the guide on the Croke Park tour that it would only add 5000 seats So really not financially prudent The GAA have all ready bought some of the houses right behind the Hill at least that's what I was told True or false I don't know

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 14/08/2017 01:08:10    2033028

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Ok your really starting to scare me here;

I said knock the hill down and build the stadium around

You then said; the day they do that I'll stop going to Croke Park.

Now somehow your now saying I'm twisting things when the whole of hoganstand can see what you've said."
Your still trying to ignore your own post it's there in black and white what you said.
I give up man you have some serious problem with me but yet that's your problem hope you sort it out as I'm not one for grudges my friend

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 14/08/2017 18:42:27    2033401

Only time the Hill is overcrowded is when Dublin are playing.

So much for counties crying about Hill tickets for football games that don't involve Dublin. Very few fans yet again for these games but if Mayo or Kerry get to the Final both counties will be Demanding tickets for the Hill, especially Mayo CB.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3718 - 20/08/2017 15:38:34    2035558

Replying To Fionn:  "Only time the Hill is overcrowded is when Dublin are playing.

So much for counties crying about Hill tickets for football games that don't involve Dublin. Very few fans yet again for these games but if Mayo or Kerry get to the Final both counties will be Demanding tickets for the Hill, especially Mayo CB."
I reserve the right to demand and am entitled to Hill tickets , however I don't want them until I do want them , just about sums up the attitude of many to standing on the Hill

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 20/08/2017 17:26:37    2035613

Replying To Fionn:  "Only time the Hill is overcrowded is when Dublin are playing.

So much for counties crying about Hill tickets for football games that don't involve Dublin. Very few fans yet again for these games but if Mayo or Kerry get to the Final both counties will be Demanding tickets for the Hill, especially Mayo CB."
This was my point last year when Mayo played tipp and the hill was more or less empty , I said give out equal amount of tickets but at least give the Dubs more Hill tickets seen as we fill it every game. People didn't agree with my point I still stand over it.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 20/08/2017 17:38:15    2035626

Replying To clondalkindub:  "This was my point last year when Mayo played tipp and the hill was more or less empty , I said give out equal amount of tickets but at least give the Dubs more Hill tickets seen as we fill it every game. People didn't agree with my point I still stand over it."
So the opposition should not be given the same chance to buy 40 euro All Ireland final tickets? Get over it. It ain't Dublin's Hill.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11225 - 22/08/2017 10:14:32    2036295

Replying To yew_tree:  "So the opposition should not be given the same chance to buy 40 euro All Ireland final tickets? Get over it. It ain't Dublin's Hill."
Of course you should be allowed some hill tickets but Dublin should get more and then yous get more stand tickets. We've fill it every game ffs , in you're last 3 games you've had max 2 thousand people on it. You obviously don't like going to the Hill and the few that do can still go with the Hill tickets you get. I'm saying give out equal amount of tickets but give more Hill tickets to the supporters who fill it all year long. Obviously this means nothing if we don't get to the final.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 22/08/2017 10:42:12    2036308

Stand tickets are €45 for quarter and semi and then €80 for final..the hill for the final is €40/45..there is a big difference in price for the final and thats why many ppl want hill tickets come the final..never mind the stupid facebook posts about taking over the hill from the dubs, its about been able to afford the day..

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 600 - 22/08/2017 11:22:04    2036323

The Hill is vital to the atmosphere in Croker. You have to give it to the Dubs fans. They really light the place up when they play.

If it was up to me I would also put some terracing on the far side. really adds to atmosphere. Saying that all the terracing needs to be upgraded to the safe standing terracing.

Also what's the story with the Pizza slice?? Should be amalgamated into the hill. It is ridiculous and you have zero facilities underneath.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1825 - 22/08/2017 13:41:04    2036387

Tickets for all other sections of the ground are divided & allocated on a reasonably equitable basis, except the Hill when Dublin are playing. It's absolutely unacceptable in today's age that not only are Dublin playing most of their C'ship games there but one entire end of the ground is allocated to their supporters. This has a huge effect on the opposition as it is very intimidating. The Hill should be allocated equitably to all counties & Mayo fans who have travelled for nine games at huge cost are been treated like sh%te by the Gaa. They should be entitled to an equitable share of Hill tickets to accommodate their fans to give them a cheaper option ticket. But we all know that the Gaa is now run on an inequitable basis & Dublin benefit most, most games in Croke Park, total dominance of Hill 16, highest rate of direct funding, highest number of coaching officers on the ground, greatest number of games televised, Cumann an mBunscoil finals played in Croke Park, it's very frustrating for the other counties who scrape by & have to go to massive expense to go to Croke Park. Can't see things changing under the present leadership of the Gaa.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 22/08/2017 14:44:15    2036415

Replying To moc.dna:  "Tickets for all other sections of the ground are divided & allocated on a reasonably equitable basis, except the Hill when Dublin are playing. It's absolutely unacceptable in today's age that not only are Dublin playing most of their C'ship games there but one entire end of the ground is allocated to their supporters. This has a huge effect on the opposition as it is very intimidating. The Hill should be allocated equitably to all counties & Mayo fans who have travelled for nine games at huge cost are been treated like sh%te by the Gaa. They should be entitled to an equitable share of Hill tickets to accommodate their fans to give them a cheaper option ticket. But we all know that the Gaa is now run on an inequitable basis & Dublin benefit most, most games in Croke Park, total dominance of Hill 16, highest rate of direct funding, highest number of coaching officers on the ground, greatest number of games televised, Cumann an mBunscoil finals played in Croke Park, it's very frustrating for the other counties who scrape by & have to go to massive expense to go to Croke Park. Can't see things changing under the present leadership of the Gaa."
Nonsense whinging.

The Hill is not allocated specifically to Dublin fans for Dublin games.

For any Dublin game, opposition supporters have the exact same access to the Hill as Dublin fans.

Nothing more annoying on here than posters pontificating and complaining about things that are so clearly untrue.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13703 - 22/08/2017 16:21:28    2036456

Replying To MesAmis:  "Nonsense whinging.

The Hill is not allocated specifically to Dublin fans for Dublin games.

For any Dublin game, opposition supporters have the exact same access to the Hill as Dublin fans.

Nothing more annoying on here than posters pontificating and complaining about things that are so clearly untrue."
Not true, check it out, Dublin get a greater allocation of Hill tickets than other counties.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 22/08/2017 16:51:21    2036468