Overcrowding on the Hill

Replying To MesAmis:  "For the millionth time.

They can't. Railway track etc etc"
Stop it Mes of course they could. That's just an excuse cause they don't want to spend the money.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 11/08/2017 17:21:45    2032425

The Lansdowne Road stand sat over the track so it could be done. Would need thumbs up from Irish Rail and local residents and construction before July with Leinster championship early games out of Croker.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7324 - 11/08/2017 18:15:28    2032431

Replying To GreenandRed:  "The Lansdowne Road stand sat over the track so it could be done. Would need thumbs up from Irish Rail and local residents and construction before July with Leinster championship early games out of Croker."
Don't talk to me about that stadium that's even more shocking down the north end wtf is that about? Like Croker not finished down one end.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 11/08/2017 19:34:02    2032444

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Knock the thing down it looks shocking , build the stadium around once and for all."
If that day came that would be the end of me going to croke park.
there should always be a terrace option for people, not everybody wants to sit on their backside all day. The atmosphere would be dead too as the stands generate nothing. Most annoying thing is people getting up and down in front of you sitting and people going in and out to the toilets or shops I honestly don't know how people can enjoy that. They also run to the back of the stand at the first sight of rain the windy so and so's.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 11/08/2017 19:56:01    2032447

Replying To GreenandRed:  "The Lansdowne Road stand sat over the track so it could be done. Would need thumbs up from Irish Rail and local residents and construction before July with Leinster championship early games out of Croker."
Perfect opportunity for Dublin to use their "actual" home ground I've heard all these rumors of....

Iamlegion666 (Monaghan) - Posts: 285 - 11/08/2017 20:22:27    2032449

Why do we think that the GAA have not already thought about this?

In fact the stadium already comes out over the railway track at the Canal End. Although the GAA have to pay Irish Rail 'rent' because they built over the track.

The fact of the matter is that it is far easier to build up and over a track that's at ground level and that is already set a bit back from the original stand. That's the case at the Canal End and in Lansdowne Rd. It isn't the case at the back of the Hill. The rail track is raised off ground level and is literally directly behind the back wall of the hill.

Even if you could build something that didn't move the track, and I remain unconvinced that you could, the track would still have to be closed during construction for some length of time and I don't think that would fly as that track is an extremely busy commuter link to the city.

It's pie in the sky stuff lads.

The GAA didn't not 'complete' the stadium because they wanted to keep the Hill. They didn't want to keep the Hill, they had no other choice.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13703 - 11/08/2017 20:31:05    2032451

Replying To hill16no1man:  "If that day came that would be the end of me going to croke park.
there should always be a terrace option for people, not everybody wants to sit on their backside all day. The atmosphere would be dead too as the stands generate nothing. Most annoying thing is people getting up and down in front of you sitting and people going in and out to the toilets or shops I honestly don't know how people can enjoy that. They also run to the back of the stand at the first sight of rain the windy so and so's."
So you only go to Croker to stand and not support the Dubs ? That's a bit weird.

So you won't go if they build the Hill around ? Jesus please god they build it.

People getting up to go the jacks is better than lads pissing down the back of you're legs ha mind you I love the smell of the grass up their so fresh.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 11/08/2017 20:31:30    2032452

Difference with the Lansdowne Road scenario was that the rail track was at ground level and the stand went over it, the track behind the Hill is elevated and runs along the top of the Hill so its not a like for like scenario, if the tracks were at the level of the ones behind the Canal End it would be much less problematic of course. Yes the Hill could be redeveloped I'm sure but it would be a challenge engineering wise and also I would think very expensive, expense that really cant be justified given that the present capacity is rarely tested and given that other stadia are in more urgent need of improvements. Personally I have no issue with the present Hill and it was the best that could be done given the space constraints at that end of the ground, perhaps given all these issues being raised of late they should just install permanent seating on the Hill and attempt to install some type of cover over it.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 11/08/2017 20:31:58    2032453

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Don't talk to me about that stadium that's even more shocking down the north end wtf is that about? Like Croker not finished down one end."
I didn't say I liked the idea, just that it could probably be done.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7324 - 11/08/2017 20:46:03    2032455

They obviously built what they have for good reason.
The restriction of the rail line meant there had to be a compromise and the hill will stay as it is.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 11/08/2017 21:04:05    2032458

Replying To clondalkindub:  "So you only go to Croker to stand and not support the Dubs ? That's a bit weird.

So you won't go if they build the Hill around ? Jesus please god they build it.

People getting up to go the jacks is better than lads pissing down the back of you're legs ha mind you I love the smell of the grass up their so fresh."
What a silly comment
I go to support the dubs of course but I may aswell stay at home and do that if sitting in the stand as I had to do it in 2004 when hill was being revamped and ended up in all three stands and it was terrible experience especially upper canal end which was like watching subbuteo down below. What are you on about people releaving themselves I have never seen that once in all the years I think you might actually want to go to the hill for a match and see like in father ted reality and myth theories dougal.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 11/08/2017 21:06:31    2032459

Its not possible to extend the Hill, not only will Irish Rail not allow it as it is a major commuter line to Maynooth/Newbridge and off to Sligo. The rail line itself is angled (look at it on Google earth) and the properties behind would have to be bought out. Its a none runner.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4893 - 11/08/2017 21:09:36    2032460

There's no need for anything to be done
82,300 is large enough capacity with almost 70thousand seats as it is. The hill and nally are large enough capacity they just need to remove the screen and instead of having the whole divide of sections just make it open the whole way across for all as then you won't have the people climbing from nally into hill area.
would rather see the gaa work on better ticketing policies like extending season ticket schemes and not capping them so low and getting rid of the archaic way of distribution of all ireland final tickets that still exists.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 11/08/2017 21:24:26    2032463

Replying To hill16no1man:  "What a silly comment
I go to support the dubs of course but I may aswell stay at home and do that if sitting in the stand as I had to do it in 2004 when hill was being revamped and ended up in all three stands and it was terrible experience especially upper canal end which was like watching subbuteo down below. What are you on about people releaving themselves I have never seen that once in all the years I think you might actually want to go to the hill for a match and see like in father ted reality and myth theories dougal."
Silly comment ? You just said you won't go to the games any more if they get rid of the Hill? Honestly maybe not in the near future but eventually they will build it around.

On my mothers life I've seen lads piss on the hill loads of times , the old Hill was remnant for it up the corner behind the goal , it was too hard to get out to the jacks so lads would just go on the terrace everyone would run for cover.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 11/08/2017 21:31:06    2032466

Replying To avonali:  "Was just wondering if any other fans noticed that the aisles were packed with people because there was no room in the standing areas.
The same happened in the 2015 All-Ireland Fnal. Croke Park is in breach of all Health and Safety protocols if there are over-selling tickets for terraces. Some day somebody is going to get hurt."
How did everyone get out alive in the 60's, 70's and 80's before it was redeveloped? There was no gangways all you could do was move with the crowd. Its a lot better now than them times surely?

Chops (Westmeath) - Posts: 775 - 11/08/2017 21:33:12    2032467

Replying To hill16no1man:  "If that day came that would be the end of me going to croke park.
there should always be a terrace option for people, not everybody wants to sit on their backside all day. The atmosphere would be dead too as the stands generate nothing. Most annoying thing is people getting up and down in front of you sitting and people going in and out to the toilets or shops I honestly don't know how people can enjoy that. They also run to the back of the stand at the first sight of rain the windy so and so's."
Yeah. All of us in the stand get up constantly and run to the back of the stand when it rains... want to generalise anymore? You seem to have this notion that only fans on the Hill are proper fans. Not the 1st time you've made comments like this.

GaaGaa78 (UK) - Posts: 285 - 11/08/2017 21:36:02    2032468

Replying To GaaGaa78:  "Yeah. All of us in the stand get up constantly and run to the back of the stand when it rains... want to generalise anymore? You seem to have this notion that only fans on the Hill are proper fans. Not the 1st time you've made comments like this."
Not at all each to their own but I can only comment on what I see the whole lower cusack empties when it rains regardless.
I don't like sitting and plenty others the same you do that's your buisness so why can't we both be accomadated as it is by having both options? Don't see why hell bent on taking the terrace option away there's already 70thousand seats for those who want them

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 11/08/2017 22:27:07    2032481

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Silly comment ? You just said you won't go to the games any more if they get rid of the Hill? Honestly maybe not in the near future but eventually they will build it around.

On my mothers life I've seen lads piss on the hill loads of times , the old Hill was remnant for it up the corner behind the goal , it was too hard to get out to the jacks so lads would just go on the terrace everyone would run for cover."
I have been going since I'm three and never seen anybody do that.
Yeah it is a silly comment looking for it to be done away so I won't go to games you said, why does it bother you that some people rather standing?
You have 70thousand seats for those who want sit what's wrong with having the terrace option for those who rather stand?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 11/08/2017 22:30:38    2032483

Replying To MesAmis:  "For the millionth time.

They can't. Railway track etc etc"
They could build above it. The Aviva have. They already have with the canal.

Although 'can't be done' is the default Irish approach to just about everything unfortunately

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5009 - 11/08/2017 22:41:04    2032486

Replying To cavanman47:  "They could build above it. The Aviva have. They already have with the canal.

Although 'can't be done' is the default Irish approach to just about everything unfortunately"
It's been explained why it's different to Lansdowne Rd already.

Too many people's default setting is to not bother reading explanations already posted.

Also it shows how little attention yous pay to Croker when you reference Lansdowne Rd as a stadium that has built above a railway line rather than referencing the Canal End!!!!!!!

To summarise for those who don't wish to read too much.

Not everything is the exact same as everything else.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13703 - 11/08/2017 23:07:19    2032494