Waterford v Cork.

Yea that's definitely it's fingers got stuck.

In all honesty lads he will be suspended and so will the midfielder and Galway will win. It's unfortunate but rules are rules and it's not looking good for them

And I would love to see the two of them in the final and I think the gaa should do something to see these suspensions take place in league games or something.

Don't know who I want to win. Probably galway but I hope Waterford win it next year. Or vice Versa

Frederick (Louth) - Posts: 479 - 13/08/2017 23:28:04    2033001

Replying To bennybunny:  "No sour grapes here. I have never boasted or gloated or bigged Cork up on this site. I have been posting here since 2002. However today only one team tried to play hurling. Damien Cahalane deserved to get sent off and that, and a mistake from our number 5,cost Cork a certain and deserved victory. Waterford are an abomination. Their style and that of Clare and Wexford are ruining the sport (Cork tried the very same shite last year.. Thankfully unsuccessfully).

Still, best of luck to them in the final. They are not breaking the rules. I just hope that Galway win, for hurling sake."
I would have to agree with your post benny.

I wouldn't be a major fan of Damien Cahalane over the years and this is the 2nd time he has got sent off when Cork needed him (against galway in 2015 QF). This game wasn't going to be won with a team down a man. I'm not getting into the referee. I will mention the Waterford supporters in the Cusack Stand. Some of their behaviour was disgraceful constantly giving the middle fingers with ever score. I've been to many semi-finals where teams have made the breakthrough e.g. Donegal and they conducted themselves magnanimously in victory.

The_Bull (Cork) - Posts: 248 - 13/08/2017 23:28:38    2033002

Ah Jaysus, clondalkindub I hope for your sake you're being sarcastic, otherwise that's just embarrassing.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 14/08/2017 01:04:56    2033027

If Austin Gleeson is not sanctioned as a result of this incident the rule should be removed from the rule book as it is not being enforced or worse is being enforced arbitrarily and is hugely discriminatory.

Bigdin (Tipperary) - Posts: 1 - 14/08/2017 07:23:52    2033043

Gleeson should have walked absolutely no question. And the madness is the ball had gone dead when he decided to intentionally rip off meades helmet. Out for final no question and can have absolutely no complaint considering what waterford had already gone through. Cahalanes sending off was crucial. At the time cork were a point up and looked to be stretching their legs.

I hope that a day like today will be a learning curve for cork. We need to expand our bench find 2/3 quality players for key positions and push on again for 2018. It has been a big year for cork and the foundations are there for the coming years with under age teams finally coming to the fore. We had some players under perform today and they were our experienced players thats why we need to build up and expand our squad we need stronger options when key players not performing

ritchie (Cork) - Posts: 346 - 14/08/2017 09:36:32    2033074

Replying To Bigdin:  "If Austin Gleeson is not sanctioned as a result of this incident the rule should be removed from the rule book as it is not being enforced or worse is being enforced arbitrarily and is hugely discriminatory."
I have to agree, if Gleeson gets away with it the GAA should downgrade the offence back down to a yellow card offence like it was, as they will have shown that they have no stomach to enforce the rule if (a) the match is too important or (b) the player is too high profile.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 14/08/2017 10:24:35    2033104

Austin Gleeson should of been sent off. Should miss the final as the rules are clear. Anthony Daly stating that there was a sense of injustice with TDB. What a load of crap. He deserved to be banned. The sending off cost us big time. We where getting on top of Waterford at that stage but i guess it does not mean we would of won but i think we had the legs on them, Joyce giving away the ball for the Waterford goal was a disaster but he played very well besides that so won't knock him. Over all though some of big players in the forward line once again on the big stage failed to fire. Lehane to me has had way too many chances and i think they seriously need to look at him not being a big championship player.

rebeltrev (Cork) - Posts: 344 - 14/08/2017 11:12:42    2033134

Remember banville v fanning a few years ago: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c-kAgXxge2o&t=86s

This is what the GAA wanted to get rid of. Fair enough.

However, there are degrees of violence with how a helmet is taken off so it would make sense if it came down to the interpretation of the ref rather than a blanket ban. Gleeson should have got a yellow yesterday. If Fanning and Banville's scrap happened today then they should see red. Tuohy and De Búrca were also yellow card offences. It's the same a striking. It should come down to how bad it is. It would be better off giving conor gleeson a yellow yesterday. Some afters is inevitable in hurling and once it's not dangerous, it shouldn't be a red.

Best of luck to waterford who were the must better team overall yesterday. Didn't think we targetted kieran bennett enough. Cahalane's two yellows were deserved and reminded me of ryan o'dwyer for the dubs in 14, mindless play.
Looking forward to a brilliant final between two serious teams.

hurlinspuds (Cork) - Posts: 1494 - 14/08/2017 12:23:59    2033187

C Gleeson deserved his red for a clear strike with the hurl. A Gleeson should've known better particularly after deBúrca's ban was upheld. That being said the CCC have made a rod for their own backs by not banning Touhy.
Aside from that, I can't believe nothing was said or done about the Cork midfielder (think it was Fitzgibbon) kicking Barron when he scored the second goal.
As someone said earlier in the thread the difference between the hurling and football pundits when it comes to disciplinary matters is nothing short of disgraceful "yerra it's a man's game" doesn't seem to cut it when it's a footballer involved (anyone remember Cluxtons red card for kicking Mayo's McLoughlin or Sean Cavanagh's famous foul on McManus that heralded the much maligned black card)
Spillane (rightly) went to town on Connolly for pushing the linesman and Connolly was subsequently (and rightly) banned but The Sunday Game pundits last night were all going on about how awful it would be if the Gleesons missed the final and that in the interests of the romance of it all they should get off?

Long.Dub.Glic (Dublin) - Posts: 190 - 14/08/2017 12:41:47    2033202

Its a shame that all everyone is talking about is the incidents.
Waterford were top class yesterday as was Horgan for Cork. I predicted a Tipp Waterford final before the qualifiers, nearly got it! I hope Waterford go on and win it now. They deserve it after such a long time.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 14/08/2017 14:06:14    2033259

Replying To The_Bull:  "I would have to agree with your post benny.

I wouldn't be a major fan of Damien Cahalane over the years and this is the 2nd time he has got sent off when Cork needed him (against galway in 2015 QF). This game wasn't going to be won with a team down a man. I'm not getting into the referee. I will mention the Waterford supporters in the Cusack Stand. Some of their behaviour was disgraceful constantly giving the middle fingers with ever score. I've been to many semi-finals where teams have made the breakthrough e.g. Donegal and they conducted themselves magnanimously in victory."
You'll get that with a lot of counties but I'd have to agree Waterford have more than most. We got terrible abuse after the 2008 semi final which was totally uncalled for. Young lads screaming in our faces and pushing us (albeit not very roughly) walking down Jones road.
I nearly ended up shouting for KK in that final but not quite! It is a minority though

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 14/08/2017 14:10:10    2033262

Tiobaird - almost got very nasty in the Davin yesterday at the end.....group of Waterford fans at the entrance to section 317 effectively goading and verbally abusing Cork fans leaving including young children, was disgusting to watch and something I thought I would never see at hurling game.

Davin used to be almost solely for juvenile tickets/teams on semi final day but now they are also putting the 'club tickets' there and some of the clubs would need to look at some of the clowns they are giving tickets to......god knows Cork have some spanners as well a la the Munster final in the terrace but very nasty under current to some of the Waterford fans in the Davin yesterday......we had 40 kids there from my own club up north and some of the kids got very upset at the end with the antics, as usual stewards did nothing

PaudieSull1 (Down) - Posts: 738 - 14/08/2017 15:05:23    2033295

Having looked at the A Gleeson incident a few times, I don't think there is any way he can get off. I don't know if there was something going on between him and the Cork player before hand but Gleeson seemed intent on making a point to him. The initial tackle was acceptable but there was no need for him to swing the player around with a high tackle and then follow it up with a clear grab and pull on the helmet. There seems to be a wild streak in him which is a pity as he is a magnificent hurler

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 14/08/2017 15:29:26    2033307

Replying To hurlinspuds:  "Remember banville v fanning a few years ago: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c-kAgXxge2o&t=86s

This is what the GAA wanted to get rid of. Fair enough.

However, there are degrees of violence with how a helmet is taken off so it would make sense if it came down to the interpretation of the ref rather than a blanket ban. Gleeson should have got a yellow yesterday. If Fanning and Banville's scrap happened today then they should see red. Tuohy and De Búrca were also yellow card offences. It's the same a striking. It should come down to how bad it is. It would be better off giving conor gleeson a yellow yesterday. Some afters is inevitable in hurling and once it's not dangerous, it shouldn't be a red.

Best of luck to waterford who were the must better team overall yesterday. Didn't think we targetted kieran bennett enough. Cahalane's two yellows were deserved and reminded me of ryan o'dwyer for the dubs in 14, mindless play.
Looking forward to a brilliant final between two serious teams."
Agree with you fully spuds.... Black and white interpretation of rules is not good at all for the game. Rules are there for a purpose and poor interpretation of rules leads to injustice and players being suspended when it is clear that players should not be suspended.
Interesting few days ahead.
A pity that such incidents are taking away for the games themselves.
The rule re the helmets needs to be looked at again. I agree with your assessment of the cards that should have been given out yesterday. Referees this year seem to be Redding differently to other years.

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1819 - 14/08/2017 15:58:29    2033324

Rules are meant to be applied, not interpreted.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 14/08/2017 20:53:43    2033432

Replying To neverright:  "Rules are meant to be applied, not interpreted."
Agree. Most people seem to forget or dont understand why this rule was introduced and there should be no back-tracking on it.

lochgarmanabu (Wexford) - Posts: 1020 - 14/08/2017 21:09:03    2033437

It's Friday evening, on the eve of another probable epic battle between Kerry and Mayo at Croke, but in this moment it's last Sunday's Hurling semi final between Waterford and Cork that I find I cast my eye back to. That day as I streamed the game on the RTE Player, I took up residency on the stairs of my house in Drumcondra in search of improved wifi. Twenty minutes to go... and the roars reverberated from the nearby Croke Park as I cursed my slow stream. The roars crucial giveaways as to what was unfolding live a few hundred yards away at Headquarters. I stuck in my headphones, electing to keep suspense seeing that the tactic of sitting on the stairs had bettered my stream.

52 minutes on the clock... the game level, Cork now down to 14. Fitzgibbon races onto the ball in midfield. Breaking the tackle of two Waterford men he solo's through the centre driving forward before being hauled down. Free to Cork, Horgan obliges. A minute later, Coleman feeds Horgan who drives over from 100 yards.. Cork two to the good. Fitzgibbon's run and Horgans wonder score were heroic, amongst the loudest roars of the day, indicative of a Cork team showing heart and will to win.

But such is sport - a moment later, Aussie Gleeson robs Mark Ellis out on the wing before pinpointing a pass to Jamie Barron inside who finishes well, goal to Waterford. Another point, followed by a wonder goal from Gleeson 3 minutes later and it's game over. Cork heads stoop Waterford smell blood and pace and hunger take them home to a handy 11 point victory. A deserved victory no doubt but I found myself shocked by comments made by Ger Loughnane in the post match analysis. Ger had been repeating his sound bite throughout the program about the question marks over what he described as a Cork team that melted under the pressure of Croke Park in 2013 and '14. Now, having witnessed Waterford accelerate to assured victory, Ger was ripe to say 'i told you so'. But for me, this is far too easy. An easy assumption to make: Cork 'didn't like it up them' and caved when the pressure was on. I find this a convenient and easy but highly inaccurate assessment to make of a team that lit up the championship this year only to fall short in the final 17 minutes of play on a day where the Derek Mcgrath system finally clicked in that way that it promised to for the past 4 seasons.

MassiMaher (Tipperary) - Posts: 2 - 19/08/2017 10:56:26    2035316

Replying To lochgarmanabu:  "Agree. Most people seem to forget or dont understand why this rule was introduced and there should be no back-tracking on it."
continued.. Of course I understand that when a team plays so emphatically and clinically in the final quarter of a game as Waterford did with brilliant and regular scoring, naturally all the post match talk will be about that. Barrons great goals, Gleeson's wonderful pass to set up the first, the same mans genius goal moments later. Tommy Ryan's pacey runs and Maurice Shanahan's catches. Darragh Fives filling De Burca's boots better than anyone expected. I thoroughly enjoyed the analysis and celebration of Waterfords great play myself. But there was a solemness as I noted how quickly this brilliant Cork team had been virtually forgotten now, and more and more forgotten in the minutes, hours and days after the game. The same Cork team who chanced giving younger players a run like Coleman, Meade and Fitzgibbon and who's exciting attacking running style lit up the championship all summer long. That fire of Cork burned until the 53rd minute of last Sunday's game at Croke Park and I would argue that it continued to burn until the final whistle. Sometimes a game gets away from you. Sometimes it's not your time. On a day where we all sat back and celebrated Waterford's coming of age, Waterford's brilliant finish to an epic game, comments by a senior analyst that point to a perception that Cork's improvement this year was not real were in bad taste and above all else inaccurate.

Last Sunday's game was a joy to watch. A celebration and a reminder of what hurlings all about and why we love to watch it. How there can be any room for generalised un-thought-out criticisms from a supposed hurling legend and expert I do not know nor comprehend. What's worse is that perhaps many listeners at home will prescribe to the same beliefs of Cork held by Ger Loughnane.

High level sport is highly competitive and cut throat. People fail to realise how difficult it is to win, how many factors need to align well and at the right time. An error here and there and a team can be finished. Heading into a long winter of training, dreams dashed for another year. We see it time and again in sport how quickly a sports person or a team are knocked when they fall, no matter how recent their success. Sports psychologist Bob Rotella likes to consider that teams and sports athletes struggling under pressure are simply becoming mentally distracted in key moments. This is not only a fair analysis of situations described by many television analysts as 'bottling' or 'choking', I have no doubt that it is also far more accurate and objective.

Mayo footballers head to the Lion's den on Sunday afternoon against Kerry. I hope we don't have to expect more of the same hyper-criticism of another team that have come up short in recent years at high level sport.

MassiMaher (Tipperary) - Posts: 2 - 19/08/2017 10:57:27    2035317