Replying To Farney1977:  "This one really comes down to the numbers;
Titles: Dubs 26 Monaghan 0
Clubs: Dubs 215 Monaghan 32
Population: Dubs 1.345,402 Monaghan 62,483
Funding 2016 :Dubs 1.46 mil Monaghan 121,000
Players: 15 vs 15

3 more games.

HON THE FARNEY"
215 clubs in Dublin? You are obviously including rugby and soccer clubs as well...

AHP (Dublin) - Posts: 323 - 30/07/2017 23:08:02    2026299

Replying To sean og:  "Has the throw in times been announced yet? Take it the Dub's will be on second to allow their fans 2 extra hours in the pub...."
Yep. Throw-in 6pm. Ideally timed for a nice few Saturday afternoon pints beforehand to get the vocal chords in action :)

Monaghan haven't been overly impressive in the championship but they'll be well up for this. They nearly beat us up in Monaghan in the league this year, but for a very late Dublin rally including a Jack McCaffrey goal. They'll need McManus on top of his game though.

Rock will be eager for this after getting a seemingly harsh black card against Kildare the last day. He'll certainly start but interesting to see what happens with Bernard Brogan - he was near flawless coming on in the Leinster final so Jim might be tempted to start him. We won't know until a while before throw-in because they only thing you can be sure of is that the team Gavin names won't start!

Dubfire (Dublin) - Posts: 9 - 30/07/2017 23:18:01    2026304

At present only basis to judge this game on is our our previous meeting iwith Monaghon in Clones which was a league gane . ( something Liamwalkinstown never goes too) which was a tight game. So I'd expect a tough game for the Dubs

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 31/07/2017 01:11:15    2026349

Replying To dubdec99:  "Monaghan were unlucky not to beat us in the league this year (as were Tyrone), they're well capable of frustrating us and tacking on points, even if not free flowing, McManus is a master at winning scorable frees and the more frees they get the more the flow of the game gets interrupted."
Dubs hot favourites & rightly so!
The quality of the Dublin bench is legendary at this stage!........ Perhaps one ot our "Stato's" might give a comparison with the Farney bench this year? Result might be very interesting?

Monaghan Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 442 - 31/07/2017 08:04:13    2026373

Replying To dubdec99:  "Monaghan were unlucky not to beat us in the league this year (as were Tyrone), they're well capable of frustrating us and tacking on points, even if not free flowing, McManus is a master at winning scorable frees and the more frees they get the more the flow of the game gets interrupted."
Dublin were in 2nd gear for that league game though

Scarabin (Dublin) - Posts: 116 - 31/07/2017 08:29:40    2026380

Replying To Scarabin:  "Dublin were in 2nd gear for that league game though"
2nd gear maybe but i watched the Dublin management that day and with 10 minutes to go they brought in the big guns to win the match,and rightfully so.I think we are better than the 9/1 tag,hopefully we can make a game of it and keep everyone in their seats till the final whistle

stoneygrey (Monaghan) - Posts: 213 - 31/07/2017 08:56:34    2026392

dublin by 10. monaghan will find it tough in croke park

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 31/07/2017 09:02:33    2026395

Replying To AHP:  "215 clubs in Dublin? You are obviously including rugby and soccer clubs as well..."
I don't what the figure is in total clubs for Dublin but there are certainly 32 Senior clubs in Dublin, many of them fielding multiple teams at Junior levels.

This is David v Goliath. We are the fourth smallest county in the country against the biggest and presently best. The fact we get ourselves in these positions is already beyond belief. The heart says yes we can, the head says we will do well to keep it below 8-10.

seanfinn (Monaghan) - Posts: 360 - 31/07/2017 09:41:21    2026436

Replying To ziggy32001:  "dublin by 10. monaghan will find it tough in croke park"
Yea

But hey, least they've played there in 2017.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 31/07/2017 11:05:50    2026512

Im expecting an absolutely monumental effort from Monaghan this weekend. I expect all of their players to hit top form and drain every ounce of blood sweat and tears from their body in order to win this one. Anything less will shock me. They are under absolutely no pressure, its all on the dubs as everyone will expect them to win and win well. Dublin however don't tend to feel pressure, they have been here before in big games they know exactly what to expect and they themselves will knuckle down over the next few days.

Everything that can be said about what Monaghan have to do has already been said. Dublin will have to be below par, Monaghan will have to stop us scoring goals, starting well and getting into a rhythm. Stay in the game as long as possible.

I expect them to be winning this game at half time actually, I expect a rampant start from them and I fully, fully expect them to make life tough and miserable for us, but we wont panic, we will empty the bench and that little bit extra experience and class, as well as fitness will JUST see us over the line, but itll be tough, itll be tense, itll be a nerve jangler for the dubs

Dubs by 2 or 3 points in the end.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 31/07/2017 11:12:36    2026520

Replying To waynoI:  "Im expecting an absolutely monumental effort from Monaghan this weekend. I expect all of their players to hit top form and drain every ounce of blood sweat and tears from their body in order to win this one. Anything less will shock me. They are under absolutely no pressure, its all on the dubs as everyone will expect them to win and win well. Dublin however don't tend to feel pressure, they have been here before in big games they know exactly what to expect and they themselves will knuckle down over the next few days.

Everything that can be said about what Monaghan have to do has already been said. Dublin will have to be below par, Monaghan will have to stop us scoring goals, starting well and getting into a rhythm. Stay in the game as long as possible.

I expect them to be winning this game at half time actually, I expect a rampant start from them and I fully, fully expect them to make life tough and miserable for us, but we wont panic, we will empty the bench and that little bit extra experience and class, as well as fitness will JUST see us over the line, but itll be tough, itll be tense, itll be a nerve jangler for the dubs

Dubs by 2 or 3 points in the end."
That's a reasonably fair assessment, however if its tight coming down the stretch Dublin won't win because of fitness. I think Monaghan are as fit as anyone in Ireland I would always back Monaghan on fitness.
My concern as a Monaghan fan is the first half. Monaghan have underperformed in every first half this year with the exception of the Wexford match. If Monaghan can actually play to potential in the first half that would give us a chance.
- To perform in the first half the question for Malachy O'Rourke is; does he start the flair players (McCarthy and McCarron) or does he sacrifice them for more combative players in the first half. i think one of McCarthy or McCarron will start this time and one will be held in reserve. Personally I think Monaghan need to go for it and start both of them.

farneymanabroad (Monaghan) - Posts: 2 - 31/07/2017 11:48:39    2026551

Replying To farneymanabroad:  "That's a reasonably fair assessment, however if its tight coming down the stretch Dublin won't win because of fitness. I think Monaghan are as fit as anyone in Ireland I would always back Monaghan on fitness.
My concern as a Monaghan fan is the first half. Monaghan have underperformed in every first half this year with the exception of the Wexford match. If Monaghan can actually play to potential in the first half that would give us a chance.
- To perform in the first half the question for Malachy O'Rourke is; does he start the flair players (McCarthy and McCarron) or does he sacrifice them for more combative players in the first half. i think one of McCarthy or McCarron will start this time and one will be held in reserve. Personally I think Monaghan need to go for it and start both of them."
I know the league isn't always the best indicator but watch the last 10-15 mins of the league game if you can get it somewhere and look at the difference in fitness between the dublin and monaghan lads. or just look at how dublin outscored them in that period. I was up in clones that day and I remember well looking at the monaghan players as dublins comeback started thinking these fellas are absolutely out on their feet and Dublin looked as though they could have played another game straight after it.

Dublin are so comfortable playing these huge games in croker now aswell that the crowd, occasion and so on just won't faze ... I don't believe for one second that monaghan will just take a trimming and move on to next year. they will give it everything but for the reasons I pointed out including fitness I just can't see a world where dublin lose. but we will see

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 31/07/2017 13:07:49    2026608

It may be David V Goliath population wise, but not in the 15/20 v 15/20 case. Monaghan have an excellent team despite their lack of player resources and have made us sweat a few times in the recent past, I'm expecting to sweat it a bit on Saturday. The 9/1 odds are outrageous in my opinion.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8586 - 31/07/2017 14:23:54    2026671

Replying To realdub:  "It may be David V Goliath population wise, but not in the 15/20 v 15/20 case. Monaghan have an excellent team despite their lack of player resources and have made us sweat a few times in the recent past, I'm expecting to sweat it a bit on Saturday. The 9/1 odds are outrageous in my opinion."
Ah here. We have a good team for sure. A top 6-8 team for sure. However, we win few match ups when you go against the dubs squad. We dont have all stars and all ireland winners that would be the marque player in any other team sitting on the bench. A couple of injuries or black cards and we are weakened - nearly the opposite in Dublin.

Really a lot needs to go right for us to have a chance.

seanfinn (Monaghan) - Posts: 360 - 31/07/2017 14:47:14    2026699

I'm loving the attempts at cute h**rism from the Monaghan supporters this week. Fair play to yis lads.

I think we all know how this one will pan out. What we'll see from Monaghan will be one of the most ultra defensive displays at Croke Park in history, with an attempt to try and hit Dublin on the break and score a few goals.

I think the full time score will be something like 0-6 to 0-5, to whom I don't know. With Monaghan planning on not leaving their own half for 70 minutes, the score could be even lower.

bangbang (Dublin) - Posts: 113 - 01/08/2017 12:16:29    2027283

Dublin will win this have no doubt .

The fact that they won't have their usual 55,000 plus fans behind them for a big game might be a factor I expect a Full house or very Close close Saturday the three ulster counties will unite in their support for Monaghan esp Armagh who have always cheered on the farney and vice versa ..

The fresher Dublin team and especially will make the difference in the end of this encounter.

If Monaghan can stop dublin getting first half goals it could be really interesting but my prediction is

Dublin 3-17 Monaghan 0-15 points

BigJohn.6_8 (Galway) - Posts: 704 - 01/08/2017 12:32:48    2027295

Replying To bangbang:  "I'm loving the attempts at cute h**rism from the Monaghan supporters this week. Fair play to yis lads.

I think we all know how this one will pan out. What we'll see from Monaghan will be one of the most ultra defensive displays at Croke Park in history, with an attempt to try and hit Dublin on the break and score a few goals.

I think the full time score will be something like 0-6 to 0-5, to whom I don't know. With Monaghan planning on not leaving their own half for 70 minutes, the score could be even lower."
None of our previous meetings have ever gone that way but maybe this one time you will be correct...

seanfinn (Monaghan) - Posts: 360 - 01/08/2017 12:48:05    2027307

Replying To Farney1977:  "This one really comes down to the numbers;
Titles: Dubs 26 Monaghan 0
Clubs: Dubs 215 Monaghan 32
Population: Dubs 1.345,402 Monaghan 62,483
Funding 2016 :Dubs 1.46 mil Monaghan 121,000
Players: 15 vs 15

3 more games.

HON THE FARNEY"
Monaghan funding per head of population €2 per head. Dublin funding per head of population €1 per head. Weight of expectation on Dublin panel shoulders, the world, weight of expectation on Monaghan panel, a goose feather. 15 players v 15 players. Either team can win.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 01/08/2017 12:49:30    2027312

Replying To AthCliath:  "At present only basis to judge this game on is our our previous meeting iwith Monaghon in Clones which was a league gane . ( something Liamwalkinstown never goes too) which was a tight game. So I'd expect a tough game for the Dubs"
what the feck are you talking about??

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 01/08/2017 12:51:08    2027314

Replying To bangbang:  "I'm loving the attempts at cute h**rism from the Monaghan supporters this week. Fair play to yis lads.

I think the full time score will be something like 0-6 to 0-5, to whom I don't know. With Monaghan planning on not leaving their own half for 70 minutes, the score could be even lower."
now now we'll have none of that ! 06-05 ? jasus its not gonna be that bad ,you're thinking of another team that tried that on yis !

stoneygrey (Monaghan) - Posts: 213 - 01/08/2017 12:51:30    2027315