Social Media losers

Genuinely do not get involved in the social media forums that tend to be outlets for every goon with a grievance and looks like Rory Gallagher is taking some serious flack from these same heroes of the scene at the moment.
Now Gallagher would not be popular with a lot of Donegal supporters at the minute and I know tempers can boil over when you are seeing the team that you love going apparently backwards but that is not on at all and you would only hope that he or his friends and family can somehow avoid the low lives that are up to this.
I'm sure there are other examples in all counties and its cowardly stuff from what are probably dry day followers.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 28/07/2017 14:47:28    2024905

do you know what a looser is?somebody who cant spell loser!!
happy friday!

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 28/07/2017 15:02:40    2024928

Replying To perfect10:  "do you know what a looser is?somebody who cant spell loser!!
happy friday!"
Says the guy who didn't start his sentence with a capital letter, forgot to write Friday with a capital letter and left an apostrophe out of can't! :-)

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 28/07/2017 15:08:14    2024933

Replying To catch22:  "Genuinely do not get involved in the social media forums that tend to be outlets for every goon with a grievance and looks like Rory Gallagher is taking some serious flack from these same heroes of the scene at the moment.
Now Gallagher would not be popular with a lot of Donegal supporters at the minute and I know tempers can boil over when you are seeing the team that you love going apparently backwards but that is not on at all and you would only hope that he or his friends and family can somehow avoid the low lives that are up to this.
I'm sure there are other examples in all counties and its cowardly stuff from what are probably dry day followers."
It's not just reserved for social media. Happens on here too.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 28/07/2017 15:11:35    2024938

People always look to blame someone.

Sometimes it easier to blame a manager rather than simply excepting (in donegals case) that they do not have the players they once had . It's hard to accept.

Many old timers have left the panel with a few decent but really young inexperienced lads to replace them.

Maybe in a few years but right now I feel like no manager in the country could make them into anything near all ulster contenders never mind all Ireland.

Few years growth they'll be back but pointing the finger at the manager is useless in this case . Especially on social media

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 28/07/2017 15:13:29    2024939

I see young Peter Boyle put manners on Wooly on Twitter there last weekend! The only highlight for us after the trimming we got from Galway! :D

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9115 - 28/07/2017 15:26:54    2024953

did anyone both inside and outside Donegal seriously think that they could continue producing miracles without a miracle worker at the helm?

ok miracle might be a bit strong but the fact that JMcG had all the ingredients ie knowledge, experience, passion and innovation etc to create a winning side who achieved their maximum potential.

After this happens, other top teams work on ways to beat them and come bacl netter prepared. RG, as much as I think he is a glory hunter, probably was the right choice for the job. He had inside knowledge of what maked that team tick as well as doing a decent job in the Donegal club scene. Donegal have regressed under RG but i cant think of a manger in the game who could have continued the high standards that Jim started.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 28/07/2017 15:34:49    2024956

Replying To SaffronDon:  "did anyone both inside and outside Donegal seriously think that they could continue producing miracles without a miracle worker at the helm?

ok miracle might be a bit strong but the fact that JMcG had all the ingredients ie knowledge, experience, passion and innovation etc to create a winning side who achieved their maximum potential.

After this happens, other top teams work on ways to beat them and come bacl netter prepared. RG, as much as I think he is a glory hunter, probably was the right choice for the job. He had inside knowledge of what maked that team tick as well as doing a decent job in the Donegal club scene. Donegal have regressed under RG but i cant think of a manger in the game who could have continued the high standards that Jim started."
Don't forget that Jim has some serious ballers also.

Mick Murphy, Paddy Brearty , McFadden , the McGees etc.

No matter how good a manager is they need the players to be there. You can't make a silk purse from a sows ear.

When you look at it from a players perspective the current Donegal management team look joyless to play for.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 28/07/2017 15:44:15    2024962

Replying To SaffronDon:  "did anyone both inside and outside Donegal seriously think that they could continue producing miracles without a miracle worker at the helm?

After this happens, other top teams work on ways to beat them and come bacl netter prepared. RG, as much as I think he is a glory hunter, probably was the right choice for the job. He had inside knowledge of what maked that team tick as well as doing a decent job in the Donegal club scene. Donegal have regressed under RG but i cant think of a manger in the game who could have continued the high standards that Jim started."
True to an extent. Any team would suffer losing the likes of Neil Gallagher, Eamon McGee, Christy Toye, Rory Kavanagh etc all at the one time. Arguably the biggest loss of all was Durcan. Apart from Cluxton there weren't many better exponents of the kickout than big Papa.

Look everyone appreciates the difficulty of Rory Gallagher's task taking over from Jim. But in saying that though I think supporters are within their rights (within reason of course) to question what they're seeing in front of them. Namely an outdated tactical gameplan, little variation, good players walking away from the setup for whatever reason, baffling substitutions etc etc.
This isn't North Korea.

The county board's reaction has been a wee bit condescending if you ask me. True there are some idiots who become super brave behind a keyboard on social media. It's like tabloid garbage. Quite frankly, if you're paying any heed to that nonsense then a thicker skin is needed. It's complete crap.

But for the genuine football fan who is spending a lot of money following the county through thick and thin, a bit more transparency and respect wouldn't go amiss.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9115 - 28/07/2017 15:52:15    2024970

Replying To Lockjaw:  "True to an extent. Any team would suffer losing the likes of Neil Gallagher, Eamon McGee, Christy Toye, Rory Kavanagh etc all at the one time. Arguably the biggest loss of all was Durcan. Apart from Cluxton there weren't many better exponents of the kickout than big Papa.

Look everyone appreciates the difficulty of Rory Gallagher's task taking over from Jim. But in saying that though I think supporters are within their rights (within reason of course) to question what they're seeing in front of them. Namely an outdated tactical gameplan, little variation, good players walking away from the setup for whatever reason, baffling substitutions etc etc.
This isn't North Korea.

The county board's reaction has been a wee bit condescending if you ask me. True there are some idiots who become super brave behind a keyboard on social media. It's like tabloid garbage. Quite frankly, if you're paying any heed to that nonsense then a thicker skin is needed. It's complete crap.

But for the genuine football fan who is spending a lot of money following the county through thick and thin, a bit more transparency and respect wouldn't go amiss."
Good post lockjaw

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 28/07/2017 16:30:04    2024997

Replying To Lifford Gael:  "Says the guy who didn't start his sentence with a capital letter, forgot to write Friday with a capital letter and left an apostrophe out of can't! :-)"
Didn't start both sentences with a capital! Also forgot a space after the question mark.

Will I get my red pen?

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 705 - 28/07/2017 16:31:09    2024998

Replying To perfect10:  "do you know what a looser is?somebody who cant spell loser!!
happy friday!"
A classic!

marooney (Galway) - Posts: 88 - 28/07/2017 16:37:02    2025002

Donegal County Board have taken the classic response that under pressure politicians resort to when they're questioned on something they can't answer - the awful keyboard warriors are "abusing" me. Well excuse me if after what I saw in Ballybofey against Longford really concerns me about the direction of Donegal football going forward. Is that abuse? Is it abuse if I say I think Maxi running on and off the pitch every 2 seconds is ridiculous and embarrassing? Is it abuse if I say Rory needs to be clearer in his instructions and stop with the ridiculous substitutions? Is it abuse if I question how much we regressed in Championship after an encouraging League?

Seems you can't say anything unless you'll be told you're abusing someone, and in all honesty with all the talk of a Snowflake Generation and Safe Spaces, seems to me the biggest Snowflakes are those in positions of power, be that government or a GAA county board.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 28/07/2017 17:00:31    2025018

happy friday!"
Happy Friday.

Hope you don't own a gun or you'll have no feet left soon .
Cant is probably the best word there for you.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 28/07/2017 18:15:31    2025065

Replying To daytona11:  "Don't forget that Jim has some serious ballers also.

Mick Murphy, Paddy Brearty , McFadden , the McGees etc.

No matter how good a manager is they need the players to be there. You can't make a silk purse from a sows ear.

When you look at it from a players perspective the current Donegal management team look joyless to play for."
not forgetting that at all. But as you know many counties in Ireland can brag of having a few players in their ranks that on their day would get in to any team in Ireland but how many of them go from average at best to AI champions in 18 months? Give the man his credit.

I dont know if Jim's regeme was any more joyful than Rory's apart from obviously the results. I think the difference is that the players bought in to Jim's plan. They haven't bought into Rory's and to be honest, after achieving so much under a winning formula, any manager coming in and telling players to do things diffferently will be met with disapproval. A bit like Moyes after Ferguson its a poisoned chalice.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 28/07/2017 18:45:34    2025076

Replying To Lockjaw:  "True to an extent. Any team would suffer losing the likes of Neil Gallagher, Eamon McGee, Christy Toye, Rory Kavanagh etc all at the one time. Arguably the biggest loss of all was Durcan. Apart from Cluxton there weren't many better exponents of the kickout than big Papa.

This isn't North Korea.

But for the genuine football fan who is spending a lot of money following the county through thick and thin, a bit more transparency and respect wouldn't go amiss."
good post. I'm in agreement that RG has probably run his course. When you see players leaving the panel and a few roastings in the championship Donegal supporters are well within their right to question things. I just feel as though its one of those instances that you have to get the next manager after the legend out of the way in order to start fresh. But I can't see whoever takes the job taking Donegal to the heights that Jimmy achieved. No shame in that of course but hopefully Donegal will have their strongest panel back together if there is a change.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 28/07/2017 19:26:15    2025088

Replying To GameOfTyrones:  "People always look to blame someone.

Sometimes it easier to blame a manager rather than simply excepting (in donegals case) that they do not have the players they once had . It's hard to accept.

Many old timers have left the panel with a few decent but really young inexperienced lads to replace them.

Maybe in a few years but right now I feel like no manager in the country could make them into anything near all ulster contenders never mind all Ireland.

Few years growth they'll be back but pointing the finger at the manager is useless in this case . Especially on social media"
Couldn't agree more. Good teams are put together over time and when the end comes for a good side it takes time to rebuild a new team. We all know this.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 28/07/2017 21:09:59    2025126

Replying To JoeSoap:  "Donegal County Board have taken the classic response that under pressure politicians resort to when they're questioned on something they can't answer - the awful keyboard warriors are "abusing" me. Well excuse me if after what I saw in Ballybofey against Longford really concerns me about the direction of Donegal football going forward. Is that abuse? Is it abuse if I say I think Maxi running on and off the pitch every 2 seconds is ridiculous and embarrassing? Is it abuse if I say Rory needs to be clearer in his instructions and stop with the ridiculous substitutions? Is it abuse if I question how much we regressed in Championship after an encouraging League?

Seems you can't say anything unless you'll be told you're abusing someone, and in all honesty with all the talk of a Snowflake Generation and Safe Spaces, seems to me the biggest Snowflakes are those in positions of power, be that government or a GAA county board."
You'd be entitled to question everything you just mentioned. I think the complaint is about personally attacking the manager through name calling and derogatory personal remarks that have nothing to do with the football.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 28/07/2017 21:13:21    2025128

Replying To seanie_boy:  "Couldn't agree more. Good teams are put together over time and when the end comes for a good side it takes time to rebuild a new team. We all know this."
Ha Ha the Tyrone lads coming out backing the management of DL. Hmm I wonder why. In 2015 ye got beat by DL and have built from there. Alot of the present team built around the U-21 team from the same season. Where ye just about beat Donegal now look where both are now? The big difference IS the management teams. But yes team in transitions, takes time etc etc suits Tyrone grand as with RG at the helm ye are certs to win Ulster in that period.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2779 - 28/07/2017 22:42:26    2025161

happy friday!"
Well this is awkward. Maybe proof read your own posts before attempting to correct others.

GaaGaa78 (UK) - Posts: 285 - 29/07/2017 08:06:17    2025223