County Managers should be paid

[url=]https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2017/0727/893508-martin-mchugh/

An article from Marty McHugh claiming County managers should be paid. I don't believe that County managers do not do this free of of charge maybe i'm wrong but stories of one former lily white manager apparently cleaned the county board.

I Agree with Mc Hugh if clubs are offering managers and coaching teams X amount of money for outsiders to come in and coach why would they aspire to go onto the county scene and manage there. However, the sport is moving closer and closer to professionalism nearly to the point that County players will then start getting paid and I personally think they're getting well looked after, maybe not paid directly and obviously in exchange they give up their time and effort and I don't see anything wrong with that.

I honestly think the club scene has went to the extreme I don't think I could count with one hand how many clubs have a manager within their club in Tyrone, Maybe more common in Junior football but in Intermediate and Senior there definitely isn't many.

Find_the_space (Tyrone) - Posts: 313 - 28/07/2017 14:41:27    2024901

Sad day when the transfer window comes in officially. For me I'll no longer be interested. The professionalism of other sports is exactly why I don't support a soccer/rugby team. It's not players getting paid that's an issue its the possibility that players won't stick to the loyalty of their county. I'm very conseravative with this and already don't like how managers from other counties and leading rival counties. I just couldn't do it regardless of pay. For me when that day comes GAA is dead (and I'm well aware there has been the odd transfer for fall outa with managers and other reason but talking about money loyalty)

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 28/07/2017 14:53:53    2024910

A lot of county Managers are getting paid at present, I know our lads are but McStay did give up the cushy number and few quid in doing the Sunday game to come to us. Three parts(Joint Manager+2 Selectors) of last years management team left us all Roscommon born and bred and between the three of them going the county board has saved over 100 Thousand thats the kind of Money been forked out.

An ex Dublin player was over my club until last year and won a county championship with us and on leaving Chairman asked him would he throw his hat into county management, He said no way theres way more money in the club seen. He was getting over 200 at night with us its gone mad

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 28/07/2017 14:57:10    2024918

i am amazed revenue didnt get involved long and ever ago.....sure no inter county manager or player gets paid,nod nod wink wink nothing to see here

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 28/07/2017 15:00:06    2024925

Replying To perfect10:  "i am amazed revenue didnt get involved long and ever ago.....sure no inter county manager or player gets paid,nod nod wink wink nothing to see here"
That's what I'm saying, They may not get money directly but they will be "looked after ;)" Thats why I used a former Kildare manager as an example and hearing rumors that he's the same with his current team.

Honestly I think it will have t come along way before the transfer window comes into play, but the fact that Seanie Johnson's move from cavan to kildare and back again may become more and more common in the sport.

Find_the_space (Tyrone) - Posts: 313 - 28/07/2017 15:26:12    2024951

Every county manager gets paid fact, most club managers get paid its all put under expenses to cover clubs, so Martin gets nothing from jordonstown? really Martin! I know one man who's a pundit on tv who got paid 60k ( he had 2 helpers so this was between them all ) to take a club in London he just came over weekends for games it was a joke his team in a championship semi final only scored 6 points, 10k a point.

Yourjoking (USA) - Posts: 703 - 28/07/2017 15:32:55    2024955

Replying To Yourjoking:  "Every county manager gets paid fact, most club managers get paid its all put under expenses to cover clubs, so Martin gets nothing from jordonstown? really Martin! I know one man who's a pundit on tv who got paid 60k ( he had 2 helpers so this was between them all ) to take a club in London he just came over weekends for games it was a joke his team in a championship semi final only scored 6 points, 10k a point."
Some of these clubs need to take a long hard look at themselves.

I heard of one guy in a dublin club getting 100k a year. Jaysus wept.

Doing the same job a club man would only be to happy to do voluntarily.

If the club are willing to part with the cash the laugh is on them.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 28/07/2017 15:46:42    2024965

Replying To daytona11:  "Some of these clubs need to take a long hard look at themselves.

I heard of one guy in a dublin club getting 100k a year. Jaysus wept.

Doing the same job a club man would only be to happy to do voluntarily.

If the club are willing to part with the cash the laugh is on them."
.sounds like a tall story. Did you hear it in a pub?

Bernardo (Monaghan) - Posts: 594 - 28/07/2017 16:49:35    2025012

I believe 100K is the going rate for a the top/high profile manager. I'm not 100% sure how it works with the revenue.

One thing I dont get is people giving out about managers who cost allot and leave the County Board finances in bad shape on departure!

The manager asks for a number, and someone agree's. Not the managers fault

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 28/07/2017 21:38:35    2025138

Sorry and no offence but how naive us this thread - they already all are

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 28/07/2017 22:12:16    2025145