Dublin v Tyrone Semi-Final

Replying To seanfinn:  "Hmmm. What I saw was a Tyrone team who held a rigid game plan that was clearly not correct. That was evident from the early stages. They actually were guilty of making the same mistakes as Monaghan before them. The tactic was never going to work and Tyrone were really disappointing as most people, me included, expected them to bring serious intensity and ferocious tackling. I expected they would have lost but not by that much. I actually thought they would have stayed close only to have the bench emptied and Dublin to push on and win by 5-6 points."
Just like the Monaghan game a fast start was everything and Dublin got that. The reaction from Tyrone was either going to be stick with the blanket or have a go. Incredibly, I think, they went for the former. They didn't factor in Dublin's own blanket and Dublin brought fierce intensity to the tackle, Tyrone 08 style. Dublin were also clinical in attack. On another day the 1 out of 2 or so long range efforts would have missed the target but yesterday almost every effort was right over the black spot. I wouldn't blame Tyrone players but you have to seriously question the lack of a plan B. Back to the drawing board for Tyrone and in search of a few forwards and a more in-game adaptable strategy.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 28/08/2017 19:40:10    2039567

Replying To HighKings:  "I think people are being overly harsh on the Tyrone players. While the tactics were wrong, those Tyrone players were trying their best. They trained for the last 10 months solely with that game in mind but physically they were blown away. Dublin are so athletic powerful and fast that they make you look slow and lazy in comparison. Listen to Sean Cavanagh's interview on Off The Ball. He says himself that the most exceptional thing about Dublin is their pace and power. It's like having 15 guys on your team with the athletic pace and power of a Sean Cavanagh in his prime on your team. Opposition teams like Monaghan, Kildare and Tyrone were trying their level best. They just can't cope with that pace on the Croke Park pitch. Then supporters criticise them for not trying and for rolling over but that's just not the case. For those players after 20 mins against Dublin yesterday they probably felt like their lungs were about to burst from chasing shadows."
In general, most are criticising the tactics of getting everyone behind the ball even when losing by 7 or so points. Don't think anybody is questioning the player's committment. Granted Dublin were very good but Tyrone surprised us all by not offering anything. Not even a hefty shoulder.

Kildare faced the same task (even harder considering they are not as seasoned as Tyrone) but least they pushed on at Dublin to try get something back, Cluxton was even forced to make a key save which effectively ended Kildare's gutsy effort. When your team lose, you at least hope they gave ye something to cheer about. Tyrone fans at the stadium were very disappointed with having very little to speak about in terms of their team's effort.

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 28/08/2017 19:42:31    2039569

Replying To HighKings:  "I think people are being overly harsh on the Tyrone players. While the tactics were wrong, those Tyrone players were trying their best. They trained for the last 10 months solely with that game in mind but physically they were blown away. Dublin are so athletic powerful and fast that they make you look slow and lazy in comparison. Listen to Sean Cavanagh's interview on Off The Ball. He says himself that the most exceptional thing about Dublin is their pace and power. It's like having 15 guys on your team with the athletic pace and power of a Sean Cavanagh in his prime on your team. Opposition teams like Monaghan, Kildare and Tyrone were trying their level best. They just can't cope with that pace on the Croke Park pitch. Then supporters criticise them for not trying and for rolling over but that's just not the case. For those players after 20 mins against Dublin yesterday they probably felt like their lungs were about to burst from chasing shadows."
That is all very true, the Dublin players move effortlessly across the ground like olympic athletes while many Tyrone players yesterday were much more cumbersome in comparison. I'd have great sympathy for the Tyrone lads yesterday but a lot more sympathy for footballers with Leinster counties. Lads in their 30's like Colm Cavanagh and McCarron know when they start back training next winter that there is a provincial title waiting if they prepare properly. However for lads in Kildare and Meath they know that barring a miracle they will be getting no reward for their efforts. I'd have great respect for lads who put in the effort knowing this just for the love of the jersey and iv no time for the ridicule they often get on here and elsewhere when Dublin win another Leinster. It is an incredible Dublin team, to be beaten by them is no shame.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 28/08/2017 20:09:48    2039582

Congratulations to an absolutely fantastic Dublin team, they were a pleasure to watch but it was very much painful to watch as a tyrone man. Our whole ethos was to defend in numbers and attack in numbers, we failed to do the later and it resulted in so many dublin turnovers. The amount of times a tyrone player would break and be met with a blue wall or take that extra second on the ball due to lack of options and get caught out was extremely frustrated. The lack of gameplan when we fell behind early was evident but again i feel that was due to the intensity Dublin brought, but again taking nothing away from Dublin we witnessed a masterclass, we are looking at one of thee great teams possibly the greatest. All the best in final, i thought mayo were fantastic against kerry but I suspect fantastic won't be good enough as Dublin are more or less the perfect team.

rockman1 (Tyrone) - Posts: 6 - 29/08/2017 09:32:45    2039845

Tyrone lads, if it's any consolation, that's as well as I have seen Dublin play in years. No one would have got near Dublin Sunday. If anything I am a little worried maybe we have peaked too soon..??
Dublin are a pleasure, a joy and a source of immense pride. It means the world to us who support them. Its incredible.

Also, Tyrone lads, in 2008 ye humiliated us, destroyed us.
2 years later we turned ye over, and the following year won Sam to start what you see now.

To all the Tyrone lads on here, keep the heads up, the chests out and remember; for all the slagging ye are getting, ye made the semi finals again. 30 counties didn't.........again!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 29/08/2017 15:46:52    2040168

Honestly this is not about Tyrone. Dublin were brilliant and nothing Tyrone could have done before or during the match would have made any difference. Sometimes you just have to acknowledge that the opposition were better. The way the players recognised Sean Cavanagh was also impressive. The manager and players are a credit to Dubln.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1780 - 29/08/2017 18:53:10    2040313

Tyrone were very flat on Sunday. No fight, no determination, no will and no plan B. It was pitiful to watch. What went so tragically wrong. Dublin supporters sitting around us all left at 45 minutes in as they said.. Enough seen..
They also said it was a reversal of 10 years ago. They also stated that the never had seen Tyrone give in the fight so easy..
Dublin are a brilliant professional outfit but what happened the normally highly determined, spirited Tyrone team?

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 29/08/2017 23:05:39    2040479

Replying To Byanthon:  "Honestly this is not about Tyrone. Dublin were brilliant and nothing Tyrone could have done before or during the match would have made any difference. Sometimes you just have to acknowledge that the opposition were better. The way the players recognised Sean Cavanagh was also impressive. The manager and players are a credit to Dubln."
Well said.

It was a fitting tribute and mark of respect shown by the Dublin palyers to line up like that to shake the big man's hand.
And Sean deserved it too.
He also got a good reception from Dubs on the Hill after been substituted. A legend of a footballer.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3724 - 29/08/2017 23:24:08    2040497

Replying To Soma:  "That is all very true, the Dublin players move effortlessly across the ground like olympic athletes while many Tyrone players yesterday were much more cumbersome in comparison. I'd have great sympathy for the Tyrone lads yesterday but a lot more sympathy for footballers with Leinster counties. Lads in their 30's like Colm Cavanagh and McCarron know when they start back training next winter that there is a provincial title waiting if they prepare properly. However for lads in Kildare and Meath they know that barring a miracle they will be getting no reward for their efforts. I'd have great respect for lads who put in the effort knowing this just for the love of the jersey and iv no time for the ridicule they often get on here and elsewhere when Dublin win another Leinster. It is an incredible Dublin team, to be beaten by them is no shame."
agree with some of that however there is no excuse for not beating other teams like armagh donegal etc which kildare and meath have failed to do...they arent exactly tearing it up when there not playing us despite having huge advantages in population and the rest when compared with other counties...they should be doing a lot better than they are at the minute however kildare are making strides and hopefully will return to prominence of some sort

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 30/08/2017 00:06:40    2040531