Places in Paris to watch gaa.

Right lads, there's a few well travelled people on here so I'm after a wee bit of help. For some reason herself has decided we're not making the pilgrimage home this summer and instead we're heading to France. Now when this was decided obviously herself hadn't consulted the calendar and realised that it's quarter final weekend and Galway have got there... so do any of ye know of any bars that show the gaa in Paris??? Any help much appreciated.

tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 24/07/2017 21:46:51    2022825

O'Sullivan's
92 Boulevard de Clichy, 75018 Paris

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 24/07/2017 22:31:48    2022857

Replying To MesAmis:  "O'Sullivan's
92 Boulevard de Clichy, 75018 Paris"
Yeah that was the one I was thinking of too. Next door to Moulin Rouge too so kill two birds with the one stone ;)

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 24/07/2017 23:01:03    2022884

Replying To tribeinbrum:  "Right lads, there's a few well travelled people on here so I'm after a wee bit of help. For some reason herself has decided we're not making the pilgrimage home this summer and instead we're heading to France. Now when this was decided obviously herself hadn't consulted the calendar and realised that it's quarter final weekend and Galway have got there... so do any of ye know of any bars that show the gaa in Paris??? Any help much appreciated."
Contact Paris Gaels GAA Club on Facebook or [email protected]. Mark Branigan is the man there. Who else to tell you the best spot other than the local GAA Club! I think O'Sullivans Bar sponsor them so that's probably where to go

Sindar (Roscommon) - Posts: 348 - 24/07/2017 23:02:51    2022887

The Guinness Tavern may also show it. It is a music bar but it may be worth checking out.

PS The Guinness is like piss water and near a tenner a pint but it packs a punch.

InishowenMan (Donegal) - Posts: 216 - 24/07/2017 23:09:49    2022891

Pretty much half the pubs in Montmartre will be showing it.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 24/07/2017 23:16:52    2022896

The Moulin Rouge has a thriving ladies Gaa section, you should see the way those French ladies can kick........

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 25/07/2017 00:21:33    2022921

Cheers for the help lads

tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 25/07/2017 10:43:28    2023037

beware of "le Carte Noir"

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 25/07/2017 17:52:05    2023392

Replying To s goldrick:  "beware of "le Carte Noir""
La carte noire. Sorry, couldn't resist being a grammar Nazi ;)

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 25/07/2017 19:36:23    2023437

Replying To Gleebo:  "La carte noire. Sorry, couldn't resist being a grammar Nazi ;)"
I wouldn't worry about that Gleebo, the French were more than happy to adopt that particular ideology!

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 25/07/2017 19:48:58    2023441

On the subject of bars to watch the GAA abroad, anyone heading to Amsterdam in the near future could do worse than checking out Dan Murphy's, who also sponsor Amsterdam GAA club. Hole in the Wall in Leidseplein (10 mins max by tram from city centre) also well worth a visit.

I'm over there this weekend for my 40th, can't wait!

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 25/07/2017 19:52:24    2023442

sneak in a few off licence bottles .youll get robbed otherwise..well over a tenner for anything decent.and the froth is over half the glass!!

kavvie (Clare) - Posts: 505 - 25/07/2017 21:17:40    2023488

Replying To kavvie:  "sneak in a few off licence bottles .youll get robbed otherwise..well over a tenner for anything decent.and the froth is over half the glass!!"
Not sure if you're talking Paris or Amsterdam there bud but you'd be roughly correct in either case! That said, I'll mainly be on the herb and you can't beat a nice piece of cake :) Well, at the time you can't anyway, doesn't seem like such a great idea when you're playing frogger with the trams and militant cyclists on the street!

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 25/07/2017 21:39:01    2023496

Replying To MedwayIrish:  "I wouldn't worry about that Gleebo, the French were more than happy to adopt that particular ideology!"
Hahaha!

Oi, merci. . .a hòhòhò

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 25/07/2017 21:59:14    2023511

Replying To MedwayIrish:  "I wouldn't worry about that Gleebo, the French were more than happy to adopt that particular ideology!"
Oooh, edgy ;) You've absorbed a hint of the Rosbif mentality by the looks of things...

Vive La France!

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 25/07/2017 22:24:18    2023525

Replying To Gleebo:  "Oooh, edgy ;) You've absorbed a hint of the Rosbif mentality by the looks of things...

Vive La France!"
Ouch that's a foot left in the tackle! Actually one of my first memories of France as an adult was coming back on a coach from Amsterdam and the customs fella asking me (well, telling me) I was British and I handed him my passport and he said "eeeeez the same thing I think". I was tempted to explain the difference in no uncertain terms but the other half at the time assured me it'd be an unwise move!

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 25/07/2017 22:48:14    2023546