The Dubs Propaganda Machine

Replying To TheUsername:  "Pretty much sums is up mate, its a non event. I wouldn't be to worried about not hearing Jim Gavin after a match, as he never gives the media anything meaningful to the media. I suppose its a minor inconvenience to RTE, but cant see anyone not tuning into the Sunday game etc. The controversy will create more publicity then the actual solution. RTE will be in the sin bin for a couple of games then all back to normal.

Its a bit of nothing really, apart from having journos on guard."
The dubs PR team will put the jurnos in their place won't the username ;-0 ?

Fire an ould across their bow .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 14/02/2018 18:36:30    2076879

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Jaysus Kingdomboy you seem a bit concerned there about JG and how it might affect the team.
Sure we'll struggle on and do the best we can.
Half the posters on here don't think much of RTE coverage anyway. Jim just doing his bit for the common man and viewers of the games all over the country.
You should be gratefully to have him championing the cause."
I'm trying to turn over a new leaf for lent dubh linn, I'm going to try and be nicer to the dubs for the next 40 days. We'll see how that goes :-0

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 14/02/2018 18:41:17    2076880

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "The dubs PR team will put the jurnos in their place won't the username ;-0 ?

Fire an ould across their bow ."
That should say fire a shot across their bow.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 14/02/2018 18:42:42    2076881

Give more time to showing actual football & hurling and less time to banal interviews & rubbish analysis with crap slow motion replays from 16 angles.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 14/02/2018 19:27:38    2076891

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I'm trying to turn over a new leaf for lent dubh linn, I'm going to try and be nicer to the dubs for the next 40 days. We'll see how that goes :-0"
Hahaha.
That'll test your willpower I'd say.
You'll be lucky to make it to the morning.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 14/02/2018 20:08:16    2076902

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Hahaha.
That'll test your willpower I'd say.
You'll be lucky to make it to the morning."
I love a challenge dubh linn :-) and I reckon il be ok till our teams meet at the start of March :-0

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 14/02/2018 20:47:24    2076910

Replying To TheUsername:  "Couldn't see it making a blind bit of difference to the team to be fair or Jim. Dissapointed if the Indo isn't part of his embargo as well.

No real loss for Dublin, is there a loss to RTE, Dublin are the most marketable commodity in the GAA at the moment, you would have to say yes. Although im pretty certain the players will chat away to them.

Bad luck RTE."
Yep, this'll surely put RTE on the ropes, I'm sure there'll be a raft of advertiser's jumping ship now, probably tripping over themselves to get a slot on www.dubgaa.com/jimgavsaysnothin.
I'd say Radio na Gaeltacht will be the first casualty what with the all-round drop in advertising revenue, expect redundancies nationwide from all RTE departments. Tough times ahead.

extranjero (Wexford) - Posts: 375 - 14/02/2018 21:25:09    2076920

Replying To BlastCalyle:  "County managers don't need to give interviews to RTE if they don't want to.

However, if I were RTE, I would reduce the amount of time showing games where managers have taken the hump over something minor and refused interviews. And make sure that those counties jerseys aren't visible in advertising, promos etc.

And wait for the sponsors to kick up"
Hard to do in a provincial, quarter, semi and all Ireland final though.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 14/02/2018 21:32:30    2076923

Replying To extranjero:  "Yep, this'll surely put RTE on the ropes, I'm sure there'll be a raft of advertiser's jumping ship now, probably tripping over themselves to get a slot on www.dubgaa.com/jimgavsaysnothin.
I'd say Radio na Gaeltacht will be the first casualty what with the all-round drop in advertising revenue, expect redundancies nationwide from all RTE departments. Tough times ahead."
Debates are often more broad then all or nothing mate, but I take your hyperbole, all good fun.

Advertising, brands and markets are sometimes a science in themselves.

Does it benifit RTE to be aligned with the most marketable and currently successful GAA county in the country who are aligned to the biggest single market in the country, yes I would say.

Does it benifit Dublin to be aligned RTE, not greatly, they can shorten highlights etc, but do you think an advertising slot on tv for a game between Roscommon Vs Galway would cost the same as Dublin Vs Kildare, of course not. It's not in RTEs interest to dinefranchise that market,

But we are talking in extremes, it's a phony war and just Jim sending a warning shot in my opinion, he's done it before, he will do it again, ultimately his end game isn't about DVDs it will be getting an edge somehow in my opinion.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 14/02/2018 22:09:49    2076932

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "Give more time to showing actual football & hurling and less time to banal interviews & rubbish analysis with crap slow motion replays from 16 angles."
I agree

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 14/02/2018 23:20:53    2076947

Replying To TheUsername:  "Debates are often more broad then all or nothing mate, but I take your hyperbole, all good fun.

Advertising, brands and markets are sometimes a science in themselves.

Does it benifit RTE to be aligned with the most marketable and currently successful GAA county in the country who are aligned to the biggest single market in the country, yes I would say.

Does it benifit Dublin to be aligned RTE, not greatly, they can shorten highlights etc, but do you think an advertising slot on tv for a game between Roscommon Vs Galway would cost the same as Dublin Vs Kildare, of course not. It's not in RTEs interest to dinefranchise that market,

But we are talking in extremes, it's a phony war and just Jim sending a warning shot in my opinion, he's done it before, he will do it again, ultimately his end game isn't about DVDs it will be getting an edge somehow in my opinion."
A lot business lingo, strategy and money talk there. Very disheartening post. Premiership nonsense.

If he doesn't want to give an interview, good luck to him. His interviews are pretty banal at the best of times.

Cupotay (Donegal) - Posts: 31 - 15/02/2018 11:10:27    2077016

Replying To Cupotay:  "A lot business lingo, strategy and money talk there. Very disheartening post. Premiership nonsense.

If he doesn't want to give an interview, good luck to him. His interviews are pretty banal at the best of times."
Aye

Keep cutting that turk and kicking rocks around up there

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 15/02/2018 11:54:34    2077027

Breaking news or is it news on Googledrivegate.

It's funny that people criticise Gavin for not giving interviews or not providing entertainment in interviews. His record speaks for itself and that's all that matters. He's not a contestant on Ireland's got Talent. He manages the most talented squad of foofballers in Ireland and getting them to win matches is his talent. It surely makes him laugh that many see him as boring.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 15/02/2018 12:15:02    2077036

Replying To GreenandRed:  "link

Breaking news or is it news on Googledrivegate.

It's funny that people criticise Gavin for not giving interviews or not providing entertainment in interviews. His record speaks for itself and that's all that matters. He's not a contestant on Ireland's got Talent. He manages the most talented squad of foofballers in Ireland and getting them to win matches is his talent. It surely makes him laugh that many see him as boring."
The chap goes out of his way for every fan to boot. I've met him numerous times after U21 games and at Blue Star games. He's an absolute gent and the effort he goes to make himself available to every fan on the ground is far more important than speaking to fecking RTE.

If yiz saw his efforts up close there's many that would have a very different opinion of him. He is a genuinely good hearted chap.

You see the term "True Gael" banded around.. this fella embodieds all that is good and found within that term.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 15/02/2018 12:25:17    2077044

How exactly would not giving post match interviews impact the Dublin sponsors? It's not as if Jim is going to be saying things like, "Oh yes, the lads are a lot fresher now that they are driving around in their amazingly comfortable cars thanks to our good friends at Subaru"..etc

RTE are going to be showing the big Dublin games regardless if they do interviews or not so sponsors are not affected. I hate this expectation that all managers HAVE to give interviews after games. It's an amateur organisation they can do what they like IMO

sam09 (Tyrone) - Posts: 339 - 15/02/2018 12:29:01    2077047

You see the term "True Gael" banded around.. this fella embodieds all that is good and found within that term.
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 17596 - 15/02/2018 12:25:17

Enlighten us so Jimbo, what exactly is a "True Gael", how would you define one, and how did you arrive at such a definition? For example, how would I recognize a False Gael?

extranjero (Wexford) - Posts: 375 - 15/02/2018 14:20:04    2077103

Replying To extranjero:  "You see the term "True Gael" banded around.. this fella embodieds all that is good and found within that term.

Enlighten us so Jimbo, what exactly is a "True Gael", how would you define one, and how did you arrive at such a definition? For example, how would I recognize a False Gael?"
No.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 15/02/2018 15:17:33    2077125

Who wants to listen to Harte, Gavin or indeed any manager, talking a load of claptrap after a game.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 15/02/2018 15:32:46    2077136

Replying To jimbodub:  "
Replying To extranjero:  "You see the term "True Gael" banded around.. this fella embodieds all that is good and found within that term.

Enlighten us so Jimbo, what exactly is a "True Gael", how would you define one, and how did you arrive at such a definition? For example, how would I recognize a False Gael?"
No."
Aaaahhhh Jimbo, don't be like that! Look it, we've all the "turk" cut and rocks kicked away down here in Wexford, so all we've left to do is await your no doubt fascinating insights on True Gaelism. Don't leave us hangin Dawg!!

extranjero (Wexford) - Posts: 375 - 15/02/2018 16:11:42    2077150

Replying To extranjero:  "
Replying To jimbodub:  "[quote=extranjero:  "You see the term "True Gael" banded around.. this fella embodieds all that is good and found within that term.

No."
Aaaahhhh Jimbo, don't be like that! Look it, we've all the "turk" cut and rocks kicked away down here in Wexford, so all we've left to do is await your no doubt fascinating insights on True Gaelism. Don't leave us hangin Dawg!!"]I think you've got your wires crossed a wee bit

Apologies for my last reply and perhaps I didn't make myself clear enough, my bad.

I don't usually spoon feed posters but there you go.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 15/02/2018 16:54:55    2077164