The Dubs Propaganda Machine

Replying To lilypad:  "yerra a lot of the original kerry posters seemed to have disappeared since the dubs started being their masters. the whining kingdomboy and hermit left to fight the good fight. Ive got a feeling if dubs equal 4 in a row, or god have mercy, the 5, they will jump ship too. not that posters from my own county can talk but we aint front page news, for now. c'mon moorefield."
Yerra don't worry I'll be sticking around a while yet, plenty of noveau riche Dub posters on here that need to be reminded the GAA didn't begin in 2011 ;D

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 18/12/2017 12:37:06    2065512

Replying To TheHermit:  "Yerra don't worry I'll be sticking around a while yet, plenty of noveau riche Dub posters on here that need to be reminded the GAA didn't begin in 2011 ;D"
Wow. Haha. :D

Best of luck to Kerry this year.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 18/12/2017 13:19:06    2065518

Replying To TheHermit:  "Yerra don't worry I'll be sticking around a while yet, plenty of noveau riche Dub posters on here that need to be reminded the GAA didn't begin in 2011 ;D"
Glad to see the likes of Kingdomboy and the hermit stick around

Always good for a laugh

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 18/12/2017 19:29:41    2065544

Replying To jimbodub:  "Glad to see the likes of Kingdomboy and the hermit stick around

Always good for a laugh"
Suppose there's no chance of you moving on to pastures new in 2018?

Ah well, they say suffering is good for the soul. And reading your posts is surely that.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 18/12/2017 23:02:58    2065556

Replying To TheHermit:  "Suppose there's no chance of you moving on to pastures new in 2018?

Ah well, they say suffering is good for the soul. And reading your posts is surely that."
yerra

BartMcQueen (Cork) - Posts: 196 - 19/12/2017 09:04:25    2065567

I just read that jim gavin is refusing to do interviews with RTÉ again which he is totally within his rights to do but could he be causing problems for himself and his team in the long run by taking this stance?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 14/02/2018 12:38:42    2076760

Couldn't see it making a blind bit of difference to the team to be fair or Jim. Dissapointed if the Indo isn't part of his embargo as well.

No real loss for Dublin, is there a loss to RTE, Dublin are the most marketable commodity in the GAA at the moment, you would have to say yes. Although im pretty certain the players will chat away to them.

Bad luck RTE.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 14/02/2018 12:55:58    2076767

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I just read that jim gavin is refusing to do interviews with RTÉ again which he is totally within his rights to do but could he be causing problems for himself and his team in the long run by taking this stance?"
The Dubs do not need RTE - they already have the vast majority of written press based in the capital. They are guaranteed to get to the next three or four All Ireland finals and will likely win most of them. So sponsors will not be too fussed at the lack of RTE involvement. It is also unlikely to impact on the success of the team. RTE need Dublin so I am sure the broadcaster will be getting nervous that Dublin could cut all links.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 14/02/2018 13:11:25    2076774

As I understand his beef is with accessing DVD's of matches for analysis from RTE. Now don't get me wrong but Dublin have a person to do every job for this team bar wipe their backsides after they go to the toilet, and maybe there is someone for that job too. With everything at their disposal can they not arrange to have their matches recorded by their own personnel, other counties have their own camera men, certainly I know Meath and Donegal do, so why should RTÉ provide this service to the Dubs if not everyone?? Sounds like a bit of an excuse to me now

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 14/02/2018 13:13:20    2076775

Replying To TheUsername:  "Couldn't see it making a blind bit of difference to the team to be fair or Jim. Dissapointed if the Indo isn't part of his embargo as well.

No real loss for Dublin, is there a loss to RTE, Dublin are the most marketable commodity in the GAA at the moment, you would have to say yes. Although im pretty certain the players will chat away to them.

Bad luck RTE."
Im sure the Dublin Team don't care about this either way, the question is do AIG care if RTE suddenly stopped broadcasting all Dublin games and highlights, the expression quid pro quo springs to mind :-)
anyway Dublin team boycotting the media....this story is getting old and tiresome.

Risteard (Kerry) - Posts: 6 - 14/02/2018 13:44:05    2076790

I know what yer saying lads but at the same time RTÉ have never gone back to try and fix things up with Mickey Harte maybe they thought he would have retired by now or something, but at the same time do any of us really care too much about pre or post match interviews? In fairness I could tell ye what every manager would say before and after a game except maybe for john Evans who does really speaks his mind.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 14/02/2018 13:56:58    2076801

Replying To sam1884:  "The Dubs do not need RTE - they already have the vast majority of written press based in the capital. They are guaranteed to get to the next three or four All Ireland finals and will likely win most of them. So sponsors will not be too fussed at the lack of RTE involvement. It is also unlikely to impact on the success of the team. RTE need Dublin so I am sure the broadcaster will be getting nervous that Dublin could cut all links."
How exactly do RTE need Dublin?

I can't imagine this is going to affect RTE to much anyways, they're hardly going to lose viewers because they don't have an interview with Jim Gavin or Stephen Cluxton reading from the same script as before after another facile Leinster championship win.

It's not going to put sponsors off advertising during the Sunday Game or anything like that as people aren't tuning in to see interviews either. And it won't have any impact on RTE getting former players in for cameo's on Up for the Match and the likes either.

Just seems like a bit of a toys out of the pram scenario if what Richieq says is true.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 14/02/2018 14:41:57    2076812

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I know what yer saying lads but at the same time RTÉ have never gone back to try and fix things up with Mickey Harte maybe they thought he would have retired by now or something, but at the same time do any of us really care too much about pre or post match interviews? In fairness I could tell ye what every manager would say before and after a game except maybe for john Evans who does really speaks his mind."
Ah they tried alright, as recently as last year they were still trying to get him back on board I think. I've said it before but when you see the rush of retired Tyrone players to get on RTÉ it kind of says what they think about Harte's stance. Sean Cavanagh wasn't 24 hours retired and he was in front of an RTÉ camera.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 14/02/2018 14:46:45    2076814

Replying To Richieq:  "Ah they tried alright, as recently as last year they were still trying to get him back on board I think. I've said it before but when you see the rush of retired Tyrone players to get on RTÉ it kind of says what they think about Harte's stance. Sean Cavanagh wasn't 24 hours retired and he was in front of an RTÉ camera."
In fairness I wouldn't be basing my opinion of the Tyrone players on Sean Cavanagh.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 14/02/2018 15:02:05    2076819

Replying To gotmilk:  "In fairness I wouldn't be basing my opinion of the Tyrone players on Sean Cavanagh."
Why not?

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 912 - 14/02/2018 15:07:38    2076821

Not sure why RTE need Dublin interviews. They do their deals with the GAA so it's not as if they need Dublin's permission to show a game. And it's not as if Jim gives anything earth shattering away in interviews either. I wonder what sponsors think though if they were to feel his stance was having an impact on their exposure. And it's a good question, do RTE provide this dvd service to all counties? If not why does Gavin feel Dublin have a right to it?

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 14/02/2018 15:23:58    2076830

Replying To if_in_doubt:  "How exactly do RTE need Dublin?

I can't imagine this is going to affect RTE to much anyways, they're hardly going to lose viewers because they don't have an interview with Jim Gavin or Stephen Cluxton reading from the same script as before after another facile Leinster championship win.

It's not going to put sponsors off advertising during the Sunday Game or anything like that as people aren't tuning in to see interviews either. And it won't have any impact on RTE getting former players in for cameo's on Up for the Match and the likes either.

Just seems like a bit of a toys out of the pram scenario if what Richieq says is true."
Pretty much sums is up mate, its a non event. I wouldn't be to worried about not hearing Jim Gavin after a match, as he never gives the media anything meaningful to the media. I suppose its a minor inconvenience to RTE, but cant see anyone not tuning into the Sunday game etc. The controversy will create more publicity then the actual solution. RTE will be in the sin bin for a couple of games then all back to normal.

Its a bit of nothing really, apart from having journos on guard.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 14/02/2018 15:26:04    2076831

County managers don't need to give interviews to RTE if they don't want to.

However, if I were RTE, I would reduce the amount of time showing games where managers have taken the hump over something minor and refused interviews. And make sure that those counties jerseys aren't visible in advertising, promos etc.

And wait for the sponsors to kick up

BlastCalyle (Mayo) - Posts: 206 - 14/02/2018 16:11:27    2076849

Replying To Richieq:  "Ah they tried alright, as recently as last year they were still trying to get him back on board I think. I've said it before but when you see the rush of retired Tyrone players to get on RTÉ it kind of says what they think about Harte's stance. Sean Cavanagh wasn't 24 hours retired and he was in front of an RTÉ camera."
I didn't know that Richieq but fair play to RTÉ for that.

Why do the dubs need a dvd of the game? Why can't the record it on their sky boxes like the rest of us.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 14/02/2018 17:17:02    2076869

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I just read that jim gavin is refusing to do interviews with RTÉ again which he is totally within his rights to do but could he be causing problems for himself and his team in the long run by taking this stance?"
Jaysus Kingdomboy you seem a bit concerned there about JG and how it might affect the team.
Sure we'll struggle on and do the best we can.
Half the posters on here don't think much of RTE coverage anyway. Jim just doing his bit for the common man and viewers of the games all over the country.
You should be gratefully to have him championing the cause.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 14/02/2018 18:34:31    2076878