The Dubs Propaganda Machine

Replying To jacktheDub:  "There is a big difference in the examples mcdonnell gave cluxton was was rightly sent off for striking out what Morgan did was taunt and rub a players face in it for a miss which is disgusting Morgan has previous for this I seem to remember him folding like a pack of cards when the Donegal fans gave it back to him. Don't get me wrong Dublin were at it when caffrey was in charge I hated it then and thank God the current crop of Dubs are above that and are only interested in playing football and winning all ireland's."
Fair play to ye, Dublin re squeaky clean, you're some comedian!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1785 - 22/07/2017 15:51:52    2020950

Replying To baire:  "Fair play to ye, Dublin re squeaky clean, you're some comedian!"
Were in my post did I say that read my post again..

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 22/07/2017 16:32:06    2020974

Replying To baire:  "Stephen O' Neill, that wonderful and skilful Armagh forward, is right to point out the Dublin bias (propaganda) re Cluxton:
http://hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=273322
Those in glass houses...."
Hmmm...to understand how this works. Ex Dub players say things that back up Dublin players, its 'Dublin Propaganda'...other County ex-players have digs at Dublin , it's not anti-Dublin propaganda but fair rational comment. Think I get it how this works on here.

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 22/07/2017 19:35:30    2021052

Replying To jacktheDub:  "Were in my post did I say that read my post again.."
Your words: "thank God the current crop of Dubs are above that and are only interested in playing football and winning all ireland's."
Sounds like arrogance to me not to mention the holier than thou attitude. Lets see how 'above that' they'll be when the real heat comes on in August.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1785 - 22/07/2017 22:24:51    2021235

Replying To baire:  "Your words: "thank God the current crop of Dubs are above that and are only interested in playing football and winning all ireland's."
Sounds like arrogance to me not to mention the holier than thou attitude. Lets see how 'above that' they'll be when the real heat comes on in August."
Moo moo?

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8586 - 22/07/2017 22:35:42    2021246

Replying To poguemahone:  "Hmmm...to understand how this works. Ex Dub players say things that back up Dublin players, its 'Dublin Propaganda'...other County ex-players have digs at Dublin , it's not anti-Dublin propaganda but fair rational comment. Think I get it how this works on here."
I don't care which county the ex-player is from if he's making out that his Johnny is holier than everyone else and it's patently not true, he should be taken to task. Stevie McDonnell in this instance was correct in exposing the spin re Cluxton. It seems to be a trait that winning teams like to portray, Kerry and KK had a habit of doing it too.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1785 - 22/07/2017 22:40:22    2021248

Replying To baire:  "Stephen O' Neill, that wonderful and skilful Armagh forward, is right to point out the Dublin bias (propaganda) re Cluxton:
http://hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=273322
Those in glass houses...."
2003 Their old glass houses

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 23/07/2017 08:03:24    2021428

Replying To Damothedub:  "2003 Their old glass houses"
My mistake, meant Stevie McDonnell. Both great players, totally focused on football and skill and did their talking on the pitch.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1785 - 23/07/2017 13:41:38    2021689

I see collie Moran saying on HoganStand that he wants the ref to give special treatment to diarmuid Connolly should he start .

It's a good laugh and worth a read.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 25/08/2017 21:57:58    2037758

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I see collie Moran saying on HoganStand that he wants the ref to give special treatment to diarmuid Connolly should he start .

It's a good laugh and worth a read."
Yes, you could almost read it as the ref should let him away with a few elbows or something, seeing as he was so decent about not appealing assaulting a linesman (context: his appeal would have failed and Gavin was happy to let him cool his heels for a bit and reflect on his discipline). I reckon Tyrone won't even be able to handle the Dubs, and we have no chance if we have to play the Dubs and the ref., especially with Rock available to pop over the frees that "poor Connolly" might now be getting. I'd like to see Kerry prevailing tomorrow, not least as they may be the rest of the country's best chance against Dublin. But if Kerry do win tomorrow, there'll be even more pressure on the ref to lean to Dublin to set up the final that, let's be honest, most of the country wants to see - Dublin v Kerry.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 25/08/2017 22:16:08    2037771

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I see collie Moran saying on HoganStand that he wants the ref to give special treatment to diarmuid Connolly should he start .

why does Connolly need any more or less protection than any of the other 29players on the pitch. Every player who crosses that white line is responsible for his own actions and it's not the refs or other players who get him sent off but his own actions

bulmccabe (Tyrone) - Posts: 361 - 25/08/2017 22:20:02    2037774

Yeah, it's outrageous that he is calling on match officials to do their jobs and apply the rules fairly, the cheek of him thinking that Connolly should get the same protection on the pitch that every other player is entitled to.

AHP (Dublin) - Posts: 323 - 25/08/2017 22:20:02    2037775

does he want one of the umpires to stand on the pitch and hold the big man's hand in case the other big lads call him names?

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 25/08/2017 22:21:26    2037776

Replying To essmac:  "Yes, you could almost read it as the ref should let him away with a few elbows or something, seeing as he was so decent about not appealing assaulting a linesman (context: his appeal would have failed and Gavin was happy to let him cool his heels for a bit and reflect on his discipline). I reckon Tyrone won't even be able to handle the Dubs, and we have no chance if we have to play the Dubs and the ref., especially with Rock available to pop over the frees that "poor Connolly" might now be getting. I'd like to see Kerry prevailing tomorrow, not least as they may be the rest of the country's best chance against Dublin. But if Kerry do win tomorrow, there'll be even more pressure on the ref to lean to Dublin to set up the final that, let's be honest, most of the country wants to see - Dublin v Kerry."
Esmac
Tyrone are the best and fairest tacklers in the game at the minute and it'll be easy to spot if there is a crazy free count against them .

I heard today that Ye kept Dublin scoreless from play till the 62nd minute in the league game last February and unlike nearly all other teams ye won't be a beaten docket before the game begins.

Will Dublin play rock on Sunday?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 25/08/2017 22:28:37    2037778

Some awful stuff on this thread. Bitterness , begrudgery and hearsay over anything to do with playing football.

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 25/08/2017 22:59:51    2037788

Replying To SaffronDon:  "does he want one of the umpires to stand on the pitch and hold the big man's hand in case the other big lads call him names?"
How did Dermo do the last time these teams met in the championship? Somebody better keep an eye on him I'd say.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 25/08/2017 23:04:47    2037791

The Dubs are really scared with all the fake news and crap they are coming out with
Love it
Bring it on
Tyrone for Sam

cjx (Tyrone) - Posts: 270 - 25/08/2017 23:06:45    2037792

It's good to see how willing ex-Dublin players are to 'put their shoulder to the wheel' and do whatever is required of them to help Jim and the boys.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 25/08/2017 23:10:05    2037794

Replying To Joxer:  "How did Dermo do the last time these teams met in the championship? Somebody better keep an eye on him I'd say."
your right. Tyrone should keep a close eye on him. But officials focusing in on one player in a game like this could be disastrous.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 26/08/2017 00:04:27    2037811

Replying To bulmccabe:  "why does Connolly need any more or less protection than any of the other 29players on the pitch. Every player who crosses that white line is responsible for his own actions and it's not the refs or other players who get him sent off but his own actions"
Exactly bull, diarmuid Connolly can give it plenty, he just needs to behave him self and get on with playing football.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 26/08/2017 01:05:11    2037817