Where is John 3:7?

Replying To Miami305:  "So you would ban all players from wearing a cross/crucifix? Are you against a player coming onto the pitch and blessing himself? Do you have a problem with Mo Salah (for example) kissing the ground after the goal as he is of Islamic belief?

If its not offensive, inflammatory or what is the issue? I look forward to the day a player from an Islamic background who loves the GAA scores a goal in front of the hill and kisses the ground. Life is all about diversity and being inclusive and respectful of all our wonderful differences without having to leave our identity at the door on the way in."
I personally find it odd when players pray or bless themselves after a goal or a win. Surely if god made one team score or win, he made the other team concede/lose?

extranjero (Wexford) - Posts: 375 - 18/06/2018 21:18:44    2112866

Replying To Htaem:  "Nah not really big on bans, can't say I have a problem with players blessing themselves or kissing the ground (so used to seeing at this stage). But I don't share or respect their beliefs, however I do respect their rights to hold them once they don't infringe on other people, I think that's an important distinction.

As a matter of interest, would you have an issue with someone going to games holding a sign which read 'there is no god'."
Re: "there is no god", that was something I was thinking aswell. I reckon it'd be great craic if someone stood beside him during a match with a banner with something like "The Epicurean Paradox is Right!".
At the same time, the only people who'd probably take any notice would be sad sacks here on hoganstand like myself

extranjero (Wexford) - Posts: 375 - 18/06/2018 21:51:53    2112889

Replying To extranjero:  "I personally find it odd when players pray or bless themselves after a goal or a win. Surely if god made one team score or win, he made the other team concede/lose?"
Or get superstitious about the route they take to a match, or the underwear they play in at a game or or or its just being human

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 19/06/2018 22:52:51    2113224

Where is John 3:7

Well, given that the GAA has decided to crack down on anything not GAA going on at a GAA game then I doubt we will see him again. He should show up the next day with Ezekiel 25:17 as a warning to the men in the blue uniforms.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 20/06/2018 15:05:27    2113368

Didn't he replace John 3:16 ?

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 20/06/2018 15:16:02    2113371

Replying To keeper7:  "Didn't he replace John 3:16 ?"
I have a feeling you are correct keeper7 - something tells me back in the day it used to be John 3:16 but open to correction on that.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 20/06/2018 15:26:01    2113376

I think yous mean Austin 3:16......who just whooped your ass!!!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 20/06/2018 17:09:26    2113403

Replying To Offside_Rule:  "Where is John 3:7

Well, given that the GAA has decided to crack down on anything not GAA going on at a GAA game then I doubt we will see him again. He should show up the next day with Ezekiel 25:17 as a warning to the men in the blue uniforms."
Our paths is indeed beset by evil men on all sides. ;)

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 20/06/2018 17:47:46    2113409

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Met the chap a few times...... Would not concur with general opinion on here. Wont say too much but, lets just say he wouldn't be everyones cup of tea"
And who exactly IS everybody's cup of tea? Do you feel you are? If so, did John 3.7 have you with or without sugar?

MiAmigaVERONICA (Clare) - Posts: 299 - 20/06/2018 18:24:44    2113416

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "I'm sorry to rain on his parade (I'm not really). But, good riddance to him and his dogma. There should be no religious or political banners at GAA games, or any sporting events for that matter. In fact, they are not allowed in soccer."
What has soccer got to do with it? In case you have not noticed, soccer itself is not allowed at GAA grounds (bar the odd token gesture) for intrinsically political purposes. You are entitled to your opinion but remember it is just that. And my opinion here does not, as seems to be pretty much the norm, does not concur with yours.

MiAmigaVERONICA (Clare) - Posts: 299 - 20/06/2018 18:38:24    2113422

Replying To royaldunne:  "Actually I don't think pontificating one religion over another should be part of any sport. I am also hugely against the Palestinian flag been brought into gaa games. They should be banned IMMEDIATELY."
You made that point already - and it didn't gether overwhelming support. Why are you repeating yourself?

MiAmigaVERONICA (Clare) - Posts: 299 - 20/06/2018 19:03:47    2113426

Tomsmith here

In relation to John 3.16 or whatever board he shows on the Television, I just wonder does he go to mass before a Game . Will he show the Board to the Priest or is he just a Tv man.
I have never seen him at a GAA game up here in Cavan.
Maybe he thinks that us are lost causes , but sure we can always be saved, ever we have fallen by the wayside.

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3855 - 21/06/2018 00:03:21    2113477

Replying To arock:  "Or get superstitious about the route they take to a match, or the underwear they play in at a game or or or its just being human"
Reminds me of the late Paudi OSes story about his lucky underpants

Jack_Sparrow (Westmeath) - Posts: 1014 - 21/06/2018 08:30:03    2113492

Replying To Offside_Rule:  "I have a feeling you are correct keeper7 - something tells me back in the day it used to be John 3:16 but open to correction on that."
I think it was like Trigger's brush in Only Fools and Horses. Same man, different sign.

Last I heard he was seriously ill, that was about 2 years ago now.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 22/06/2018 05:53:35    2113684

Replying To tomsmith:  "Tomsmith here

In relation to John 3.16 or whatever board he shows on the Television, I just wonder does he go to mass before a Game . Will he show the Board to the Priest or is he just a Tv man.
I have never seen him at a GAA game up here in Cavan.
Maybe he thinks that us are lost causes , but sure we can always be saved, ever we have fallen by the wayside."
dont give up that easily tom,redemption might be just around the corner.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 22/06/2018 11:46:35    2113730