Toolbar Header Preload Menu Menu
Home Football Hurling Counties

Derry Forum - Latest Posts
Click on the subject to bring you to the thread where the message was posted 
(this page is sorted differently from rest of forum in that the latest messages are at the top of the page)

Derry v Galway
Agreed, the hoop should be the whole way around. Was thinking it looked like Tyrone.

As for the performance, its all been said above.

Derry_ledd , 07/02/2012 at 09:42

Derry squad 2012
Does anyone know will any injuries like mc bride mcgoldrick o kane craig clear up before sunday and were is friel james kielt decky mullan etc ?

93vintageyear , 06/02/2012 at 21:41

Derry v Galway
it definitely looks like a tyrone jersey from the back

93vintageyear , 06/02/2012 at 21:32

Derry v Galway
someone needs to get a red marker and finish the back of the new jersey

brolly_4_pres , 06/02/2012 at 21:12

Derry v Galway
Glad the you all felt welcome, I was chatting to a few Galway fans during the match and the craic with them was mighty Was shocked to hear they thought they were going to get shot lol. Good bunch of supporters. You get fans who give you nothing but stick but they were gracious in Victory unlike a few other counties. Well done to the Galway yesterday Hope you enjoyed the match and the City. Best of luck for the rest of your games

Orlaith , 06/02/2012 at 20:20

Derry v Galway
Myself and a friend travelled to Derry City on Saturday night for the match.
And I have to say that a nicer bunch of people you couldn't find anywhere.
Anywhere we went we were made feel very welcome. Well worth the long journey.
Derry has had its fair share of ups and downs in the past but it certainly
hasn't affected the peoples sense of generosity and decency. Will definitely be back!

larrythecat , 06/02/2012 at 16:55

Derry v Galway
I'll like to give a big thank you to all the people of Derry. There were two supporters' buses in Derry on Saturday night and we all got a great welcome. The people up there were all very friendly. Good craic in Peadar O Donnels and the Gweedore Bar. We'll make sure and do the same when you come down west. Celtic Park is a venue you should all be proud off. As far the game: we are delighted with the win. It's only the first round of the league and we're not going to get carried away but it was great to see our lads back playing football.

gfsc , 06/02/2012 at 10:27

Derry v Galway
just reading some of the above posts - have to agree with some of what doirealltheway says we definitely have a serious injury crisis and we are heading up to Omagh with a second string side which will get a mauling because the men we have in there for our injured players just arent up to the task - this was supposed to be a Galway side in transition too inexperienced and young and oakgael makes a valid point that our lads must have been reading the papers and looking at us being tipped to win this one handy enough because they just didnt have the hunger - whether its league or championship its all about getting the heads right and having the correct attitude - I will always remember that june night in Omagh when after beating Kerry a few weeks earlier to become national league champions we walked into Healy pk wit a swagger believing our own hype only to be unceremoniously dumped out of the ulster championship by Fermanagh who were a 3rd div team at that time - at this stage we can forget about promotion to div 1 for this year (we might be lucky to avoid the drop) and all we can hope for is our injured players to come back over the coming weeks and months and have some sort of run in the championship -

doirebhoy , 05/02/2012 at 21:20

No more Ladbrokes
bosch
County: Derry
1104783 Dub1 - That the same crowd that sponsor Bellaghy?

Dont know if it is bosch ...

DUB1 , 05/02/2012 at 21:01

Derry v Galway
doairealltheway I have to disagree with you, as unclederry has said 'the attitude' was all wrong and I totally agree. Whether it was Galways 1st or last game under their manager they approached the game with the right attitude and you could see they wanted to dictate the play and play for one another. We had players running around like headless chicken today. I know we have players out with injuries but I would have thought that the players coming in would have the apetite to impress and make the managers decision to drop them for the next match impossible.

The match fitness argument is wrong, look at Kerry last night, that was their 1st competitive match this season as they have only played a few challenge games and they matched a Dublin team for fitness and Dublin have been training 4 days a week since January. Also, look at Tyrone they didn't look too infit either. If you are hoping to compete for promotion all your players should be match fit. We need a commanding full-back it's been a glaring hole for the past 5 seasons and it looks that way agin this year.

Overall, lack of ability to do the basics of the game, attitude, fitness and tactical knowledge let us down today.

OakGael , 05/02/2012 at 20:21

Derry v Galway
disappointing result today midfield defence looked vulnerable joyce and bradshaw tormented our defence ,our match fitness throw in the rookies our injuries adds up to where were at we need to raise our game next sunday in omagh if were looking to get out of div 2 .Caolan o boyle showing up well good target man bradleys shot well punched into net could have had another goal also.looking for a improved display in omagh.

93vintageyear , 05/02/2012 at 20:09

Derry v Galway
Bad display alright and when I came home and caught the last 15mins on TV, was even worse to watch on that. Main problem with Derry today IMO was that a lot of the players seemed to come into the game with a bad attitude and that it was a matter of only turning up. Midfield was disaster. As we all no defence and full back line in particular we are struggling with big time. Liam Morrow for me the jury is still out, he hasn't played many games as the other two and today Nicky Joyce would have gave any defender a tough time of it. Dermot McBride and O'Kane to come back but we definitely need to find a full back over the course of the NFL. As for attack, at times we were starved of the ball, then other times we didn't use the ball effectively. I like O'Boyle in there as he gives us an aerial threat, but he is a good finisher and footballer for his size, but we need to mix it up how many times he get aimless balls into him.

unclederry , 05/02/2012 at 19:23

Derry v Galway
lads calm down i was at the match too but you have to put things in perspective - that was Galways 1st match under their new manager and they were all busting a gut to inpress him - we were looking good and then lost Barry McGoldrick to injury and not long after that we lost Mark Craig to injury aswell - I agree we were inept after that but its early days we arent match fit - through in to the equation we are without Skinner Gerard O`Kane Dermot Mc bride michael Friel John mcCamley (who was playing our protective sweeper role very well) Emmett McGuckin - and today as i mentioned we lost Mark Craig and Barry McGoldrick and because of these injuries we will more than likely not get promotion this year but with a bit of luck towards the end of the league we will be getting these lads back gettin people up to match fitness and as the sod dries up and the championship comes around we should be starting to take shape - because at the end of the day its all about the championship !

doirealltheway , 05/02/2012 at 19:19

Derry v Galway
where have all the defenders in derry gone? seriously the full back line is terrible and thats being nice, is jb pinning his hopes on everything will be ok when mccamley and scullion are fit? two players with no big game championship experience! O'Boyle's form the only positive so far.

brolly_4_pres , 05/02/2012 at 17:26

Derry v Galway
Was in attendance today and was extremely optimistic about this years league and further development under JB. How wrong was I? That was absolute trash from start to finnish. Nicky Joyce absolutely took our whole half back and full back lines on a merry dance today and showed them for what they are. We are still dependant on Paddy Bradley, no other forward wants to take responsibility for scoring, why? give it to Paddy is the easy option. Joe Diver looks no were near match fit and was getting caught in possession more times than I can remember. Why do we take an eternity over a free kick? I thought after last year we might make progress but it seems we have went back 5 years, players getting caught in possession, no idea on how to create space, pointless kicking need I say anymore.

I feel we just don't have the players required at present except 4 or 6. That is a young inexperienced Galway side and they were able to tear through Derry at will, the looked sharp and fit, totally opposite to us.

OakGael , 05/02/2012 at 17:09

No more Ladbrokes
93vintageyear
County: Derry

Good to see new sponsors and jersey hope it brings us luck and success in 2012,specialist joinery owner bosco is a tyrone man so i dont know he will be supporting next sunday in omagh.

well he wouldn't be the first Tyrone man to help the DERRY Cause best of luck with the Club Derry / and your league campaign .

fortyfive , 04/02/2012 at 21:14

No more Ladbrokes
Good to see new sponsors and jersey hope it brings us luck and success in 2012,specialist joinery owner bosco is a tyrone man so i dont know he will be supporting next sunday in omagh.

93vintageyear , 04/02/2012 at 19:26

No more Ladbrokes
A new sponsor won't save ye tomorrow lads! Just kidding. Hoping for a good game up North!

ahsure. , 04/02/2012 at 11:56

No more Ladbrokes
Good news. I'll start buying Derry gear again.

RoverTin , 04/02/2012 at 11:44

McKenna Cup Final
if your from Monaghan why are you called after one of the all time Down greats ?

doirebhoy , 03/02/2012 at 20:47