Qualifiers

Replying To meath1977:  "very true and a cavan ref last night yes the better team won but cos was hit with a shoulder heading in for goal in first half no free second half early stages Shane mc entee great shoulder to one of Kildare men free in and a lot other soft frees to Kildare"
I'm glad someone has mentioned that tackle of shanes in the second half. It happened right infront of me and was absolutely no free. It was a perfectly fair hit.
Afternoon restart when we got a bit of momentum we had to scrap for scores, but I'd say 4 of 5 of kildares scores which kept them in it were handy frees.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6342 - 18/06/2017 21:59:38    2001433

lets be honest,we should beat any of those teams.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 18/06/2017 22:04:46    2001437

Replying To meath1977:  "very true and a cavan ref last night yes the better team won but cos was hit with a shoulder heading in for goal in first half no free second half early stages Shane mc entee great shoulder to one of Kildare men free in and a lot other soft frees to Kildare"
I don't mind a referee who's bad for both teams but it's inconsistency like this that is infuriating.
Also, while I haven't seen a replay, I think the Kildare number 7 should have gotten the line for the off the ball incident with ROC. Seemed from where I was standing that he gave him a knee.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 18/06/2017 22:24:38    2001452

Lads don't start moaning about the ref he did not do any harm ... meath where so inept he could not have

Brownepat (Meath) - Posts: 532 - 18/06/2017 22:59:12    2001472

Lads don't start moaning about the ref he did not do any harm ... meath where so inept he could not have

Brownepat (Meath) - Posts: 532 - 18/06/2017 22:59:31    2001473

Replying To Ratoath Royal:  "I don't mind a referee who's bad for both teams but it's inconsistency like this that is infuriating.
Also, while I haven't seen a replay, I think the Kildare number 7 should have gotten the line for the off the ball incident with ROC. Seemed from where I was standing that he gave him a knee."
Lads we arent good enough ..... stop clutching at straws , we were 15 pts a poor 2nd,

dnewlad (Meath) - Posts: 137 - 18/06/2017 23:03:09    2001477

Looking at the highlights on TSG, most of the teams we could draw in this round of qualifiers will be difficult enough to beat, especially if they have home advantage. A home draw is what we need in the morning.

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 18/06/2017 23:11:48    2001483

I think I had a typo in previous post. Would go with the following upon further reflection. This team needs a fit of freshening up & a couple of risks taken as the team so far are just not good enough. These might not cut the mustard either but worth a go imho. Work rate from forwards needs to be upped.

Paddy O'Rourke
Keoghan
McGill
J. McEntee
Conlon
Power
Harnan
Menton
C. O'Brien
A. Douglas
M. Newman
R. O.Coileann
Lenihan
G. Reilly
COSullivan

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 18/06/2017 23:14:39    2001485

Replying To ziggy32001:  "lets be honest,we should beat any of those teams."
Why should we? Who have we beaten in championship in last few years? We need a home draw to get us up and running again

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2135 - 18/06/2017 23:39:07    2001505

Replying To WhyTheLongFace:  "I am going to try a make a stab at this see can i guess who will play who !

Sligo(h) v Donegal(A)

Mayo(h) v Longford(A)

Clare(h) v Laois(A)

Derry(h) v Meath(A)

I could be way out after tomorrow morning .."
Mayo v Longford is a cert! I was thinking Meath v Laois, Donegal v Derry and Clare v Sligo

MarkMyWords (Meath) - Posts: 498 - 19/06/2017 00:19:45    2001520

Replying To Jinxie:  "I'm glad someone has mentioned that tackle of shanes in the second half. It happened right infront of me and was absolutely no free. It was a perfectly fair hit.
Afternoon restart when we got a bit of momentum we had to scrap for scores, but I'd say 4 of 5 of kildares scores which kept them in it were handy frees."
Yep and biggie got closed lined and wasn't given a free , clear black card, the tackle on roc was a red clear as could be.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/06/2017 00:34:18    2001531

Sligo at home. Not bad at all. No excuses have to win that

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1454 - 19/06/2017 08:45:34    2001574

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "Sligo at home. Not bad at all. No excuses have to win that"
A home draw is a huge plus for us

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2135 - 19/06/2017 10:40:07    2001658

Howya Meath lads

You'll have to sort out your defence

You've conceded a bucket load of scores in two goals - most notably 5 goals in two games

I'd be looking at setting up like Dublin after the trimming Meath gave them in 2010

If you continue to be so open at the back you'll soon be out and it'll be a very poor championship

Time to shore up a bit and try and regain a bit of confidence and go on a bit of a run

But some serious tactical changes needed!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 19/06/2017 10:51:55    2001662

Replying To jimbodub:  "Howya Meath lads

You'll have to sort out your defence

You've conceded a bucket load of scores in two goals - most notably 5 goals in two games

I'd be looking at setting up like Dublin after the trimming Meath gave them in 2010

If you continue to be so open at the back you'll soon be out and it'll be a very poor championship

Time to shore up a bit and try and regain a bit of confidence and go on a bit of a run

But some serious tactical changes needed!"
Hard to disagree with that, we may not be playing Sligo after all, awaiting to see if they used too many subs on Saturday.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2135 - 19/06/2017 12:01:30    2001725

Grand Job should be able for Sligo but a week later it be Donegal, Mayo or winners of Clare or Laois. Could be all over by 8th July

numberedjerseys (USA) - Posts: 348 - 19/06/2017 14:07:07    2001849

Replying To numberedjerseys:  "Grand Job should be able for Sligo but a week later it be Donegal, Mayo or winners of Clare or Laois. Could be all over by 8th July"
I know where your coming from bit these 2 teams have been beaten already too..By Tyrone and Galway who wont be winning any all Irelands this year ! We can't just accept were gone after this if we win !

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 19/06/2017 19:31:16    2002080

Replying To grahamc9897:  "I know where your coming from bit these 2 teams have been beaten already too..By Tyrone and Galway who wont be winning any all Irelands this year ! We can't just accept were gone after this if we win !"
Wel you'l just have too cause thats just the way it is.

otherlad (Meath) - Posts: 137 - 19/06/2017 21:20:20    2002136

Replying To otherlad:  "Wel you'l just have too cause thats just the way it is."
Grand...Sure why bother turn up against Sligo ! Give them a bell and let them know so ! Or better still we will both forfeit now and give them a bye,

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 19/06/2017 22:01:16    2002179

Really don't like being negative but after seeing them in both Parnell Park and Tullamore, I think Sligo will beat us! Whilst I'm certain there are better players in the county, the current panel has way too many passengers and will struggle to get a win over an underestimated Sligo team. They have decent forwards whom will look to benefit from the severe confidence drain after the Kildare game.

Tweety (Meath) - Posts: 30 - 20/06/2017 13:30:53    2002508