Meath v Kildare Semi-final

Replying To nobull456:  "You have to remember Andy is a novice at inter county level. He has to be given time to develop in the job. He also has to find quite a few players. He won't be happy either.I will be critical if he uses mickey mouse excuses."
Fair enough he's a novice ! And he should a will be given time ! I fully agree that he is the man for the job but his performance today was very poor ! Picked the wrong team and I had no idea what the gamelan was !

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 17/06/2017 21:36:46    2000752

Hard to find any positive from this beating, so far behind Kildare, they brushed us aside with ease and it should have been more. Hard to credit that Meath players are incapable of winning their own ball, did we field any contested ball? Kildare were physically stronger, seemed to be much taller (nothing management can do about that) and way more composed on the ball. Could not understand why we only left one man inside when we needed goals. Many heads seemed to drop after 20 minutes, only 3 or 4 can say they gave it their all. Will find it very difficult in qualifiers any opposition will fancy their chances

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2141 - 17/06/2017 21:46:16    2000762

Christ

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6342 - 17/06/2017 21:46:23    2000763

Team going forward

1.O'Rourke
2.Tobin
3.McGill
4.Keoghan
5.James Mcentee
6.Power
7.???
8.Menton
9.???
10.O,Coilean
11.O,Sullivan
12.Reilly
13.McMahon
14.Tobin
15.Lenehan

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 17/06/2017 21:46:34    2000764

Its going to be hard for meath to regroup after that .cillian o sullivan is a great footballer but how many times did he give away possession instead of laying it off .the just kept driveing tru the middle no one to stop them.graham reilly didnt get into it or mcmahon .whoever we will meet now .everyone was buzzed up for this game.its a very bad defeat

condae99 (Meath) - Posts: 34 - 17/06/2017 21:51:52    2000768

Its going to be hard for meath to regroup after that .cillian o sullivan is a great footballer but how many times did he give away possession instead of laying it off .the just kept driveing tru the middle no one to stop them.graham reilly didnt get into it or mcmahon .whoever we will meet now .everyone was buzzed up for this game.its a very bad defeat

condae99 (Meath) - Posts: 34 - 17/06/2017 21:52:01    2000769

Replying To condae99:  "Its going to be hard for meath to regroup after that .cillian o sullivan is a great footballer but how many times did he give away possession instead of laying it off .the just kept driveing tru the middle no one to stop them.graham reilly didnt get into it or mcmahon .whoever we will meet now .everyone was buzzed up for this game.its a very bad defeat"
His decision making was poor but one of the few who kept trying

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2141 - 17/06/2017 22:02:06    2000772

Replying To condae99:  "Its going to be hard for meath to regroup after that .cillian o sullivan is a great footballer but how many times did he give away possession instead of laying it off .the just kept driveing tru the middle no one to stop them.graham reilly didnt get into it or mcmahon .whoever we will meet now .everyone was buzzed up for this game.its a very bad defeat"
Where was the support for o Sullivan?

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 17/06/2017 22:09:33    2000776

Dont ever put o sullivan and great footballer in the same sentance based on what he is very fast .but a one man show doesnt see a pass 100% has to be dropped not up to it so should burke tobin wallace and midfield well we dont have one

matthematx (Meath) - Posts: 177 - 17/06/2017 22:10:47    2000777

Replying To bert09:  "Where was the support for o Sullivan?"
Not there simple as !

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 17/06/2017 22:14:33    2000780

O sullivan plays with head down and should be dropped newman needs to start next game at 11 harnan at 10 and used as sweeper walllace dropped tobin dropped burke halfback or bench

matthematx (Meath) - Posts: 177 - 17/06/2017 22:16:50    2000783

O sullivan plays with head down and should be dropped newman needs to start next game at 11 harnan at 10 and used as sweeper walllace dropped tobin dropped burke halfback or bench

matthematx (Meath) - Posts: 177 - 17/06/2017 22:29:21    2000786

Another false dawn . When it mattered it was Men v boys. In fairness when you have Burke @ 6 , O Sullivan @ 11 & McMahon @14 as the spine of your Senior team hard to take us serious .Why small men are obsessed to continuously carry the ball into the tackle is mind boggling . But that's for the coach to put a stop to . Our decision making was very poor both on and off the field . Only players for me who performed are Menton ,Lenihan , O Coilean & to a lesser extent McGill & Harnan .Serious reality check tonight ....

royalpad (Meath) - Posts: 46 - 17/06/2017 22:32:42    2000787

Replying To nobull456:  "You have to remember Andy is a novice at inter county level. He has to be given time to develop in the job. He also has to find quite a few players. He won't be happy either.I will be critical if he uses mickey mouse excuses."
Let the man have his 3 years but if he can't see the team that he took on.now he kept the same as micko so he has to take responsibility for that.but we need strong ball winners not nice light runners when we under pressure go hiding.graham is graham no diff to any other year when you put any player on him to run with him he disappears.o Sullivan is me feiner looking at that game but with bit coaching could b proper footballer. Warming up since 6.10 seems extreme in that heat looked flat in first half looks good with 80 cones both not smart management really.leave him at it but he needs to b honest with himself now if he wants stay in job.

Reco (Meath) - Posts: 419 - 17/06/2017 22:34:57    2000788

True it wasn't always there but on at least 3 - 4 occasions he had options but instead fumbled the ball , slipped or made a very poor pass . I would put @ 13 where his pace would be a huge asset closer to goal .

royalpad (Meath) - Posts: 46 - 17/06/2017 22:35:38    2000789

Replying To matthematx:  "Well no excuses no complaints better team won we are going no where will have blind followers on saying this and that but manager went out with team and tactics ie man on man ? For 10 years we have had no midfield still no mid field no center forward o sullivan head down running straight into trouble went missing against louth tobin cleaned out at corner back this 3 years wallace got 35 min to give ball away one year on no better beaten by down hammered by kildare twice kicking mad shots wide open in defence dubs will be laughing heads of kildare are good in full forward and midfield but dubs will beat them pulling up god knows what they would do to meath back to the drawing board but the fact is the players are not there and thats a fact"
bull shit everyone knows this is going to take time, people comeing on here I told you so are too smart for their own boots. try and win the next game and take it from there. next year get to division one number one goal

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 17/06/2017 22:35:41    2000790

Replying To grahamc9897:  "Team going forward

1.O'Rourke
2.Tobin
3.McGill
4.Keoghan
5.James Mcentee
6.Power
7.???
8.Menton
9.???
10.O,Coilean
11.O,Sullivan
12.Reilly
13.McMahon
14.Tobin
15.Lenehan"
Please tell me you are joking right picking O'Rourke in goals. He has been and was again today a-----. His kickouts were, for the most part, terrible. Time for a change between the sticks.

RoylerKing (Meath) - Posts: 809 - 17/06/2017 22:36:16    2000791

Replying To pauk123:  "Well that was embarrassing. Where's the evidence of this much vaunted strength and conditioning coach? Absolutely no organization nothing from the sidelines and no idea how to change it, we have Banty mark II on the line, talks a big game but doesn't deliver."
oh bring back mick o dowd your some muppet Paul USA

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 17/06/2017 22:37:31    2000793

Replying To grahamc9897:  "Lads as I always say Graham Reilly wil do it against the louths and laois teams ! Today he was beyond terrible ! Management wise complete shambles ! Clueless ! This team is going now where! Remember it's only Kildare not Dublin!"
all the know alls are out of their box. great meath supporters $

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 17/06/2017 22:38:46    2000795

shocking display give andy 4 years like mod got and see wat he can do but very disappointed with tonight game hope we can regroup and go on a bit of a run in qualifiers but in time I hope andy can get more out of this team remember cian o neill had a very bad 1st year last year with Kildare and they looked like a different team tonight and promoted to div1 too listen we still in championship so lets see wat next few weeks bring and we need to keep turning out in big numbers for who ever we meet next

thecraw1 (Meath) - Posts: 106 - 17/06/2017 22:40:55    2000796