Wicklow Forum

Popular Posts from dubarra

Dublin Vs Kerry Replay - 12 Like(s)

Replying To TheHermit:  "Amazing how in the light of siring questions and the full glare of public opinion turning on D-GAA and by extension Dublin, the climate change deniers turn to googling provincial records of other counties or insinuating that people asking honest and hard questions are not "genuine" GAA people. I've seen it over on the Kerry forum by "guests" coming in to "commensurate" with us. Apparently if we point to the well know facts and figures we are dismissed as being "obsessed" with Dublin and are probably an "embarrassment" to genuine GAA people in our county. It's very interesting seeing how the arguments, deflections and rhetoric of Dublin supporters on places like this and on social media are evolving. One thing is for sure, it's getting more aggressive, more defensive and by implication they know public opinion has well and truly shifted and they can't hide behind words like volunteerism and once in a generation any longer. The horse has bolted. Also of course this isn't some reaction to the 5 in a row, for several years now people have rightly been asking questions about what has been allowed go on with Dublin by the GAA. We have the GPA, every major media outlet, every second poster on here and the majority of GAA supporters up and down the country raising these issues now. Are we all paranoid or obsessed or can Dublin supporters finally concide the simple premise that where there's smoke there's a fire. What's beyond doubt for me is that there's a semi-professional team playing 31 other counties and playing all but 1 or 2 of their games in their own ground. They are a talented, truly excellent group of players with an incredible manager but don't tell me or anyone else their dominance hasn't been greatly aided. In the past week we have heard how the Dublin senior team is able to engage in high-altitude training, no wonder they can keep running while other teams are out on their feet when the clock hits 70l! I'm sure the Dubs have enjoyed the 5 in a row, personally I don't think they being first to do it negates the wonderful tradition and history of my own county. History will judge this decade in the long run and the contexts of what went on will be set out. Looking forward to 2020 and also to the GAA (rightly) getting it in the neck all winter."
Jesus take a break and give this Dublin team a little credit for their wonderful achievement of winning 5 in row .Your problem is that you think Kerry have a god given right to win the All Ireland every year and you can't stomach what Dublin have achieved. Kerry had the Indian sign over Dublin for many years and now that the wheels have turned all you can do is moan about what money they have. Tell me this when was Kerry ever short of anything in preparation to win All Ireland's.. I'll answer it for you NEVER

dubarra (National) - 08/10/2019 11:30:17

Leinster Football Semi Finals 2022 - 7 Like(s)

Replying To Daith:  "Dublin can afford to loose the bulk of their team and regenerate within months because of the huge difference in resources they have over all other counties. I had decided to not attend the Leinster final after 10 minutes of the second game and went to leave at half time only to be beaten out the gate by Dublin fans ahead of me. Even some of their own fans are bored of this farce. The rest of them still get some bizarre kick out of booing freetakers and goading opposition when 16 points up. I don't understand the mentality of that. Its not like there is any sporting merit in their dominance."
Give it a rest will you Kildare have as much resources as any of the top counties, why not get behind your team instead of moaning like an auld one .

dubarra (National) - 15/05/2022 21:04:12

Good To Hear - 7 Like(s)

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "You can dig at me if you like i don't mind at all, it's only a forum and I don't take anything said on here personally . Also I'd say the reason you hear so much negative things now compared to the 70s and 80s is because everyone has access to social media now. By the way i don't begrudge Dublin their success I begrudge every thing being handed to them on a plate when we had to work so hard for our success, and by the way I'm pretty sure there was begrudgery in the 70s and 80s as well, I'm sure it's not a new phenomenon."
Dublin handed everything on a plate and Kerry have to work for everything. You sound like a four yr old crying to your mother because your little sister got more sweets than you.

dubarra (National) - 26/01/2019 12:18:06

Galway Vs Dublin - 7 Like(s)

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Do the Dublin players and management EVER smile or look as if they are enjoying winning? Definitely a cold, unemotional, mechanical, manufactured, robotic look about them. They have the Nick Faldo exterior about them. This is why most GAA folk can't and don't warm to them."
Most Gaa folk don't warm to them?Speak for yourself mate.They are in my opinion the best I've ever seen I just love watching play the game the way it should be played.

dubarra (National) - 12/08/2018 12:02:48

The Dubs Propaganda Machine - 7 Like(s)

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "The Dubs propaganda machine has kicked into gear proper this week with diamonds from manager Jim Gavin blaming cold play for Dean Rocks black card.

Also Charlie Redmonds attack on Jim McGuinness for calling Jim Gavin out on the Diarmuid Connolly fiasco.

And then last night I read Alan Brogan going to town on Nial Morgan for goading a player when the Dubs team under Pillar took that art to new heights them selves in the naughties.

Who's next on the Dubs propaganda hit list? Let's watch this space."
Kindomboy you have a fair few boyos yourselvs well able to get their point across people in glass houses comes to mind

dubarra (National) - 19/07/2017 20:19:29

Gough Speaks Out Against Shamefull Slurs - 6 Like(s)

Replying To Young_gael:  "There is always a very subtle but edgy element to Kerry GAA, its apparent in a lot of other counties, including my own of course. A difference however that sets Kerry apart is that Kerry try to maintain a false image of maturity, and superiority, the god-given right, the divine right. Butter wouldn't melt. Always a plethora of false modesty and empathy for teams when they're winning, and excuses and yakety yak when they lose. I still remember the abuse and vitriol from 2001 when Meath beat Kerry by 15 points in an all-Ireland semi. To this day they still blame the white jerseys they wore on the day. Its a sense of superiority that likely goes back a few generations, but its also masked with huge issues with self esteem and image, and pock marked by insincerity. Its not real. When Kerry are winning all-Irelands everything is a-ok, when they're not winning all-Irelands the ugly head rears again. Im as interested in sorting out the issues of the GAA as anyone, and yes everyone else has suffered while Dublin got bigger, better, and richer and that isnt up for debate at this stage, but Kerry fell short this decade and thats just it. They got close but not close enough and thats not anyone's fault. Dont worry, youll be back winning all-Irelands soon enough, maybe one out of every 3/4 that the Dubs somehow mess up. I think 2020 could be a big year for Kerry, they play great football no question about it but be wary of wolves in sheep's clothing."
That about sums them up in nutshell

dubarra (National) - 14/12/2019 12:08:25

Division 3 North 2021 - 5 Like(s)

Replying To declankillann:  "Just a minute, we have Wicklow guys coming on here telling us about the mighty footballers they have yet in the three league games they played they were trounced by a combined total of minus 17 p0ints. Hardly the stuff of world beaters. Lads just enjoy your win you deserved it on the day. What is seldom is wonderful and should be treasured. Declankillann."
Where did I say Wicklow were world beaters, I'm well aware of our standing in general and your right what's seldom is wonderful, bur reading some of the comments and excuses on here you would swear Cavan were the world beaters and the likes of Wicklow have no right to be winning games like Saturday.

dubarra (Cavan) - 14/06/2021 16:52:01

Careless Comments - 5 Like(s)

Replying To MillerX:  "I am not your "bud" by the way, and the original reference to "visiting" goes to show that Donegal were correct when asserting that Dublin were getting preferential treatment when playing their second 'Super eight' game in Croke Park. But today it was the mind set of casting Laois as 'outsiders' that I found annoying and indeed discriminatory. Those days we have to be careful of the language that we use."
Your easily annoyed it seems

dubarra (National) - 15/11/2020 18:23:47

Limerick V Kilkenny - 5 Like(s)

Replying To mickcunningham:  "in my opinion young hugh lawlor was man of the match . t j does nothing from play . delighted for the cats and hope wexford win tomorrow to kill the bullshit about munster hurling"
T J does nothing from play?What game were you watching?

dubarra (National) - 27/07/2019 22:24:21

Ominous Summer Ahead - 5 Like(s)

Replying To jimbodub:  "Teams that won Sam in 00's Kerry Tyrone Galway Armagh Teams that have won Sam in 10's Dublin Cork Donegal Kerry Seems like a fairly similar spread of 4 Sams to 4 counties"
Teams that won All Ireland's between from 1974 to 1986 Kerry 8 Dublin 4 Offally 1 .No complaints from Kerry boys then was there it seems to me a lot of them feel it's their God given right to win Sam every yr

dubarra (National) - 03/04/2018 13:45:04

Project Dublin - a great success - 5 Like(s)

Replying To suckvalleypaddy:  "There is way more to the Dublin senior success story than this conspiracy theory. They have a perfect storm of favourable variables that translates into success, the main one being the work ethic of JG and his greater team. Cuala deserved their win on Paddy's Day too, but you think it is a conspiracy. Dublin win on merit, but yes a capital city will have more human and financial resources than say Leitrim. Tyrone, Donegal and Kerry just drew with them, is this part of the conspiracy? How many hurling counties combined would still lose to KK or Tipp? Dublin's success in recent years is a problem for some, but I do not understand the resentment. They have raised the standards and SLOWED Kerry from getting to Sam # 40."
Plus most of the resentment seems to be coming from Kerry same as when Tyrone had their number. How dare any team beat them they seem to think they have a god given right to win the All Ireland every year.

dubarra (National) - 26/03/2017 13:55:38

Dubs and Kerry on TV? - 4 Like(s)

Replying To waynoI:  "just home .. delighted with the draw. fair result I feel. great atmosphere. tense right up until the end, brilliant. won't get drawn into all the shite that goes on here, the holier than thou Muppet's need to get a life. just let it go for God sake. it was a tough battle for both sides. two great counties. was a pleasure to be there and witness another brilliant game between the sides. Thanks to the kerry people for their hospitality, thanks to every dub on the hill (as we call it) behind the goal tonight who where phenomenal. great travelling support"
Another brilliant game are you for real. ?The first half was apsolutely brutal because of the Kerry tactics of fouling at every opportunity. Tell it like it is and stop sucking up to the opposition .Kerry were very cynical a blind man could see that last night .At the moment they know they can't play football with this Dublin team and hope to win hence the tactics we witnessed last. The only thing that I find funny is how so many on here seem so shocked by their tactics .

dubarra (National) - 19/03/2017 12:22:38

Kildare Vs Dublin - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Galway9801:  "The Munster championship isn't dead imo, I don't know what the hell happened to that Cork team last weekend but no way are they that bad,, it was such an outrageously bad performance that hopefully it might jolt someone into action behind the scenes, shake them out of whatever apathetic funk they're in, maybe take a look at the set up, underage development etc, Cork football, if prepared properly, have bar the last decade always historically been a strong team, only kerry and Dublin have won more all Irelands."
Cork are that bad they haven't a clue a county getting beaten by 22 points if that's not bad I don't know what is ?How come no one is shouting that they don't belong in the race for Sam like they do when the so called weaker counties take a hammering like Cork got.

dubarra (National) - 01/08/2021 19:36:34

Dublin Vs Donegal - 4 Like(s)
Isn't it amazing to hear all this giving out about Dublins tactics in the last 10 minutes .Donegal sat back when they should have been trying to win the game all Dublin done was show up how stupid this tactic of ultra defensive football really is.Laois played keep ball against Carlow for the last 10 minutes and i didn't hear the outcry that's coming from some on here. Remember Kerry tried the same tactic in the last 10 minutes of the All Ireland in 2011 and it backfired and the reason it did was because the Dubs pushed up and tried to win an All Ireland. Fortune favours the brave.

dubarra (National) - 15/07/2018 08:23:00

Houses In Order? - 4 Like(s)

Replying To AfricanGael:  "Well the first mistake you're making is believing you need "Super Stars" to win an All-Ireland or indeed any team sport for that matter. Is that really what you believe? And if so, who are the super stars in the Dublin team ?"
Easy answer to that is they are all super footballers even their bench.

dubarra (National) - 18/03/2021 08:58:27

County you least want to see win in football? - 4 Like(s)

Replying To waynoI:  "Yea i'm the same as you Jackeen I have no interest once the Dubs go out. If we win it, brilliant. If we go out, 9 times out of 10 I wouldn't be overly bothered watching another minute of championship football unless there was nothing else on and I had no plans. So I don't have a team I want/don't want to win it."
Some Gaa Man you are Waynol for a guy who has an opinion on almost every post here not just about Dublin but most other Counties and the players you dimiss as below average.

dubarra (National) - 28/07/2016 08:31:29

2020 Football All Stars - 3 Like(s)
What did Clifford do this year to get a nomination. Quinliven outstanding in Munster final doesn't get nominated?

dubarra (National) - 15/01/2021 13:31:44

Wicklow GAA thread - 3 Like(s)

Replying To wicklowsupport:  "have you anything to add in relation to the team and management or were you just there counting people?"
No I haven't anything to add, I will leave that to yourself as you seem to have all the answers. It's not that long ago you were saying the under 20 s shouldn't be picked on the senior team, now your applauding the fact that are getting game time. For someone who never seems to get to a game you have an awful lot to say .

dubarra (National) - 08/06/2023 18:04:48

Kerry 2022 - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Galway9801:  "More of a kerry forum this I think, but for what it's worth I'd make ye warm favourites to lift Sam next year."
Based on what?

dubarra (National) - 15/09/2021 10:30:03

Ominous Summer Ahead - 3 Like(s)

Replying To TheHermit:  "I think the most salient point is this: Counties that competed and have won All-Irelands through marshaling the resources and talents at their disposal since the dawn of the inter-county Championship in 1887 - 31 Counties that have been handed the financial resources to hire and maintain a professional back room staff the size of a small army which ensures every aspect of their fitness, conditioning and match preparation is professional and hence why they now dominate - 1 Add to that, the incessant home advantage, the officials being appointed for Dublin's major games with strong links to the Dublin GAA etc etc, and you see why they are now going for 4 in a row. If it was anyway a level playing field like it used be in the 2000s when Kerry/Cork/Tyrone/Armagh and the rest were going at each other you would just have to suck it up and admire what this Dublin team achieved. But it's not an even playing field anymore is it, its a system created to ensure Dublin win as much as they can. Our Dublin friends can put their heads in the sand, label people who point this out as whingers and laugh all they want, it won't change the reality of what inter-county football now is - an artificially created elite of 1. Now I better be off before Jimbo claims I've grievously insulted all his family and friends again ;D"
I see. So it has nothing to do with having some the best footballers I've ever had the pleasure to watch and I've seen them all over the last 50yrs. In my opinion the great Dublin team of the 70s would only have about three or four starting with the present set up.

dubarra (National) - 03/04/2018 19:25:39