Westmeath Forum

Popular Posts from The_Biler

Meath V Dublin Leinster Final. - 6 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "The league part was won by Meath and Kerry. What is so hard to understand about that? Jees if this is the intelligence dubs are sending to Meath , I think we need to send some of them back."
Such scutter talk

The_Biler (National) - 20/06/2019 19:56:43

Leinster Football Championship - 6 Like(s)

Replying To Furlong1949:  "U said Meath have done nothing for decades. Well u r wrong and so prove my point. I said people always downgrade underated and undervalue Meaths achievements. With ur statement on Meath above saying Meath have done nothing for decades , u r doing exactly that , u r downgrading undervaling not recognising Meaths achievements. It doesnt matter how counties view us. But I am just drawing attention to the fact that people in the past, people in the present and people like good self always downgrade devalue not recognise Meaths achievements. U proved my point. Thank you. Meath have done nothing for decades is false. Meath have been second most successful team in leinster in this decade. 1 Dublin 8 leinster 2 Meath 1 leinster 4 leinster final appearances could be 5. 3 Westmeath 2 leinster final appearances 4 Loais kildare Wexford laois 1 leinster final appearance each. It is not as sucessful decade for Meath football in leinster as before. But we remain in the top 2 in leinster something we have done in every decade since 1920s. And outside All Ireland winning Meath Dublin Offaly teams 1 leinster title and 4 or 5 leinster final appearances would be seen as a very sucessful era in leinster football. We also were the only county in the country to hammer the greatest Dublin team ever in championship in this decade, the decade u said we did nothing. U said we did nothing for decades. Well that includes 00s the decade before this one a decade we were more sucessful then Dublin in many ways. We were most sucessful leinster outside provience in 00s. We defeated the great kerry team of 00s by a record 15 points in All Ireland semi final, kerrys worst defeat in 100 years. Dublin failed to beat great kerry team of 00s. We defeated great Tyrone team of 00s in All Ireland quarter final. Dublin failed to beat great Tyrone team of 00s. And we also defeated Mayo in All Ireland quarter final in 00s. Dublin couldn't beat Kerry Tyrone or Mayo in 00s. Meath did. Meath reached 1 All Ireland senior final in 00s. Dublin reached 0 All-Ireland senior final in 00s. Meath played in 1 All Ireland senior final in 00s and reached 3 All Ireland senior finals in 00s making it more sucessful then Dublin in 00s or any team in leinster in the decade u said Meath did nothing. After Kerry Tyrone Cork and Armagh Meath were one of most sucessful teams of the decade u said we did nothing. U said Meath did nothing in decades is that 3 or 4 decades. Well in 90s we were team of 90s winning 2 All Ireland senior titles playing 4 All Ireland senior finals winning 2 national league div 1 titles and winning 4 leinster titles in an era that is considered the most competitive era in leinster football history. In 80s we produced one of greatest teams of all time. So when u said we did nothing for decades u r wrong. And u prove my point. Yes fair play to Monaghan. But yes Meath are having worst decade for generations. But so are so many strong counties. This has been worst decade in generations for Meath Galway kildare ( only 80s ) Cork Down Derry Armagh Laois Offaly. Regards underachieving. Meath after kerry are a county that has overachieved more then any other. Meath overachieved for 80 years while Dublin underachieved for 80 years. The top 5 sucessful counties are kerry Dublin Galway Meath and Cork. After kerry , Dublin Galway and Cork should bein top 5 counties. Look.at their stature in Irish society they are the three nost iconic famous powerful counties in Ireland. They are the social economic centres of their provience. Meath is an average midlands county in comparison in terms of stature wealth and population. Yet Meath went toe to toe with Dublin Kerry Dublin Cork and Galway for decades from 30s to 00s. Look at where Meath comes from in Ireland. A football mad area with football mad counties. But Meath have won more All-Irelands in the last 35 years then whole rest of leinster have won together in last 60 years ( leaving Dublin to one side). In the last 35 years Meath have been more sucessful then the whole provience of Connacht put together in last 50 years. Look.at Meaths neighbours. Kildare had similar gaa structures and more clubs. Kildare had great tradition and great supporters and similar size county similar size population and landscape. But when u compare u see how Meath have overachieved. Kildare have reached 1 All Ireland senior finals in 90 years Meath have reached 15 All senior finals in 90 years. kildare have won 2 All Ireland titles in all grade in 90 years Meath have won 11 All-Irelands in all grades in 60 years. Kildare have never won national league div 1 title. Meath have won 7 national league div 1 titles. So county u said has underachieved is the county after kerry that has overachieved on a grand scale in gaelic football terms more then any county in the country. In last 35 years , in the decades u said Meath did nothing in last 35 years only Dublin and kerry have been more sucessful then Meath. Thanks for proving my point people always undervalue underate Meath , always fail to recognise Meaths achievements. PS U said this fella scored a point. It was not just any point. It was at very tight angle in dying seconds of All Ireland final to win an All Ireland title for his county. Thats just not any other point. .People always rave about Cluxton point in 2011. Reilly point was from play and when got the ball it he was in the corner near the sideline and he had to dummy Mayo best defenders Mortimer hold his nerve with seconds left and scored an exquistie point of his weaker foot from a very tight angle to win Sam Maguire. Now that is no ordinary point. That is the greatest winning point to win an All Ireland in last 50 years. Name a better point scored by player in dying seconds of the game that won Sam Maguire. There is not one."
Bit pointless all this rubbish talk about the past?? Who cares or remembers how many Leinster finals you were in over the last 10 years when Dublin have been using the Leinster championship as a warm up for the All Ireland?? How many players from 2010 are in your current squad?? Its 2019, Meath are in a better place than they were a few seasons ago, but a long way off the teams of 20 years ago. As for great points to win All Irelands, Steve McDonnell 2002, won ball in front of Moynihan turned without looking at the posts and slotted over. Armagh win my 1.

The_Biler (National) - 14/04/2019 09:06:41

Meath V Dublin Leinster Final. - 6 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "I'm self employed, run a small business. Indeed all Dunne's hail from Laois, it's a laois name , I don't have anything against Laois at all, until we play each other :) and tbh because of the family tree they are up there with Galway and Down as counties I like to see doing well. (Despite what some think, ) I have a huge respect for both Galway and Down, now on the other hand I have a serious dislike for Offaly, Kildare and Westmeath, in football terms of course. As their people are lovely"
Mustn't be too busy if you can have 15000 posts on honganstand

The_Biler (National) - 22/06/2019 07:13:22

Mayo V Kerry - 6 Like(s)
AOS dirty kick in the air missed by ref

The_Biler (National) - 14/07/2019 16:36:37

Meath V Dublin Leinster Final. - 5 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "And in Leinster Kildare have beat Meath once in 8 years, longford once in 35 years and Westmeath once in 135. All in Leinster. Google it."
Westmeath did not beat Meath once in 135 years of the Leinster championship. For a start the first Leinster championship was in 1888 which makes the Leinster championship 131 years old. And Meath and Westmeath met each other for the first time in championship football in 1935. So it really took us 80 years to beat Meath. Google it!

The_Biler (National) - 22/06/2019 12:45:09

Leinster Football Championship - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Furlong1949:  "Firstly I wouldn't judge Meath this year.Judge Meath next year at end of 2020 season. See how they do in divsion 1 next year. It will be hard for Meath to peak twice in this year. There are so many examples of teams having good league then a poor championship. From Loais in 1986 winning the league and then losing to Wicklow in first round. And in this decade Cork kildare Derry Roscommon all had great leagues and had poor championship in the same years. So the odds on Meath having a good championship are low. Personally I think we will get leinster final and perform well v Dublin. But we r looking after at qualifier game after v Donegal ot Tyrone possibly. Both teams again will find it hard to beat Meath and game will be decided in injury time but Donegal and Tyrone wud have to be favourites to win. Until Meath beat a Tyrone or Donegal Meath have to be underdog in those games. ( Just regards Meath v Dublin. Remeber if Meath get to leinster final and dont play semi final in Croker. Meath would be a team who have never won a match in Croke Park going up against Dublin team that has probaly won up to 100 league and championship matchs in Croke Park. A Dublin team that have won 4 All Irelands in a row in Croke Park, A Dublin team that have won 8 leinster in a row in Croke Park and Meath would have no wins in Croker. Remeber the obstacles Meath face if they reach the Leinster final. Basically they wud be playing possibly greatest team ever. So judging Meath on the leinster final performance this year. Seems unfair and will not tell us how good Meath are. See how Meath do if they play Dublin in Navan and how they do if play Dublin in next years championship. Then we will have a truer and proper idea of Meaths ability and worth. ) Secondly it looks possible we will have Meath v Westmeath semi final. That will be 50 50 game in many ways. Westmeath r flying, the only county to win two trophies this spring. Westmeath in the last 20 years always throw the kitchen sink at Meath in the championship. So that is tough game for Meath. But I would be very hopeful Meath will.win. But a loss and run through back door could do this Meath a world of good. In last few years we have been very unlucky in that in our first game in the backdoor has been against Tyrone in 2013 2015 2018 and Donegal in 2017. If we aviod a top team in our first game in backdoor we could on a good run in the backdoor. That cud be our best bet to get super 8. Thirdly over and over again people on this forum have got it completely wrong about Meath over and over again and allot of people in gaa world have also. Meath are always downgraded and underated even when we won All Irelands. On this forum there was comments before Tyrone game last year , Tyrone wud beat Meath by 10 points or more. We all know how for a point in 7th min of injury time, Tyrone would have been knocked out of championship. Before Donegal game in div 2 final there was comments on this forum that Meath would lose by 10 points. And start of the league 99% people on this forum and gaa world gave Meath no chance of promotion. And many people predicted Meath would get relegated . It was pretty obvious that if u examined closely that Meath wud put it up Tyrone and Donegal and before the league there was obvious signs Meath would be strong contenders for promotion. I am a bogman from the backwoods of Meath but for me it was pretty obvious Meath would improve this year. I said three years ago Meath wud improve in McEntees third year on this forum. I said last year on this forum we would improve this year and I predicted at the start of the league we wud get promoted on this forum. I gave a number of reasons. why. It wasnt some sort of amazing hindsight to predict that. It was very obvious that Meath wud improve this year. Regards next year everyone seems to have completely ruled out Meath will survive in div 1. For me I would be very surprised if Meath dont survive in div 1 next year . That is not blind faith. If Meath went up to div 1 anytime in last 7 years to divsion 1, Meath wud be definitely relegated. Next year Meath are promoted at just the right time in this teams development. Meath players peaking , first wave of new talent from best talent Meath have produced since 90s , McEntees fourth year in charge , Navan is one toughest places to win in the country are all reasons why I believe Meath will survive in div 1. Also the real concrete evidence that Meath would survive, Meath have played div 1 top 8 teams have played them 5 times v division 1 teams in last two years. This is a good way of predicting how Meath will do in divsion 1. If Meath lost and were comfortably beaten in all game v division 1 opposition then people wud have grounds to say Meath will not survive. Why cannot people see the obvious. Meath played 5 times v division 1 in last 2 years and every singles one of those games Meath played really well.and in every single one of those games v division 1 teams Meath were ahead or level in injury time v top teams in country. Surely Meaths excellent performances v Donegal three times Tyrone Roscommon and Galway are signs that Meath will be competitive v div 1 opposition. People have referenced Cavan Roscommon and kildare failing to stay in div 1 ( Roscommon did stay for two years in a row ). But people are not mentioning that one county stayed in div 1. Galway were promoted to div 1 and stayed. And the county that has similar traits to Galway is Meath. Both have same sort of sucess , both traditionaly play kicking game , both were the only counties to go toe to toe with kerry Dublin and Cork for 80 years or so and both have no inferior complex and would not be in awe of Dublins and kerrys. Galway feel like they belong in div 1. And yes Meath do feel like they belong in divsion 1. After kerry and Dublin only Meath have spent longer in div 1. Look at the confidence of some lads here on this forum regards Meath. There. is an inner confidence , cockiness even a touch of arrogance to Meath football. When we are weak this a weakness. We think we r better then say Westmeath and longford . We r not and they beat us in 2015 and 2018. But when we r strong this is strenght. We have a great tradiation v top teams we have a great record v the top teams. This gives Meath and Galway an inner belief v the top teams. Look at Meath performances v Donegal this year and there performances v Tyrone last and results v Roscommon and Galway in the last two years. Are they not signs Meath will be competitive. But people ignore these performances. Meath lost very narrowly to Donegal and Tyrone and drew with Roscommon and defeated Galway. These are all good evidence to suggest Meath will do better then people think or want or need to do. But I believe Meath will be stronger next year with players like J McEntee and Sullivan peaking , introduction of new talent eg Costello Dunshaughlin, return of players eg lenihan, Jones, Forde , Kennelly and kane. And Meaths record in Navan. Its pretty obvious there is a good chance Meath will do better then people think. Meath like Galway have the tradition and mentality to survive div 1. Look at the below how they are following each others path. Both Meath and Galway declined after 2001 final. Both Meath and Galway saw their rivals prosper eg Mayo and Dublin Galway under Walsh were very poor in his first seasons and had bad results Meath under McEntee were very poor in his first two seasons and had bad results. Galway under Walsh improved and got promoted in his third year Meath under McEntee improved and got promoted in his 3rd year. Galway under Walsh survived in div 1 in his 4th year Meath under McEntee, will he survive in div 1 in his 4th year. I believe if u really look closely put away any Meath bias and there allot of supporters here who need and want Meath to reamin down. But if you look at the evidence Meath are getting promoted just at the right time . And in terms stage of team development, returning players , new talent, managers 4th year , Meath inner belief and cockiness , Meath tradition , and Meaths performances v division 1 teams like Donegal in three games v Donegal and in excellent Meath performances v div 1 teams like Galway and Roscommon in last two years. There is evidence to suggest Meath will survive next year. The evidence they woulsnt ie usually people saying Cavan Roscommon and kildare failed to stay div 1 . My response to that is , what about Galway. Are this idea are crap team going nowhere . If someone says that they havent a clue. Because they haven't seen Meath play with exception of 2 final. Since longford game Meath have changed players, changed coachs and changed tactics. Meath are a changed team. Since Tyrone game Meath have introduced 6 new players to the first 15. This is a very young team only months together. So how can u rate them when u didnt see the heroric performance v Tyrone , excellent first half v Donegal, the never say die spirit v kildare in second half , 65 mins of top class football by Meath v Donegal in Ballybofey and excellent performance v Armagh. Meath have improved. And all the signs in the next decade Meath will be much stronger then in this decade. The signs are there but its up you to ignore the bloody obvious or maybe ur Meath bias doesn't let u see the obvious. Just like when people said Tyrone would hammer Meath last year and people were predicting Meath would be relegated and had no chance of promotion this year. Again people are saying Meath wouldnt survive in divsion 1. I think quite few people will be surprised by Meaths performance in div 1 next year. But the truth is u shouldnt be surprised . The signs are there already that Meath can survive in div 1. Its up to u if u to choose to ignore them or recognise them."
Me eyes got heavy after the first sentence

The_Biler (National) - 13/04/2019 08:30:52

Meath V Dublin Leinster Final. - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Richieq:  "Maybe, maybe not, but we still are on an upward curve with a group of players who are playing for their manager and doing their best to improve the lot of the county, we have Division 1 football to look forward to next year and to learn from just as we can learn plenty yet in 2019, many counties sound envy that position......."
Kildare were a Div1 team last year and still got pasted this year by Dublin. What makes you think you are so far ahead? One of the worst Offaly teams in recent times had you on the ropes in Navan.

The_Biler (National) - 20/06/2019 22:45:07

Those Peter Harte Black Cards - 3 Like(s)

Replying To seanie_boy:  "And falling to the ground without good reason like a big Fairy is also a deliberate act. The point I'm making is that sometimes refs make the wrong call that can have massive implications for certain players and teams."
Peteen did a bit a that yesterday evening too.

The_Biler (National) - 14/07/2019 09:01:40

Leinster Football Championship - 2 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "Only for a black card that wasn't and ineptitude on sideline afterward it would never have happened."
2-8 to 1 point in the last 20 minutes was the reason you lost. 10 point lead and Meath dropped the momentum and couldn't regain it. Fitness looked to be a real issue in the last quarter that day for Meath. As for the black card? Which one wasn't a black card? The trip or the rugby tackle??

The_Biler (National) - 16/04/2019 16:12:48

Mayo V Meath - 2 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "Haha. Now I know ur a kid. Red thumbs?? Jesus wept Here is a better stat. royaldunne Meath 2449 . Those are likes. Second Meath poster only to the great ziggy. Now enjoy the summer holidays from school."
Ah your a great gosson a vic.

The_Biler (National) - 16/07/2019 18:08:33

Donegal V Meath - 2 Like(s)

Replying To southmeathgael:  "I agree with most things you say, but we certainly aren't poor at the back, full back line is excellent."
Your full back line has been good, but as an outsider who only seen Meath play against Clare this year your half back line was woeful, in fact for long periods they were non existent against Clare. Better teams who can shoot from distance would have wrapped up Meath handy enough last weekend. Clares half back and full backs sauntered down the field at ease unopposed on several occasions. Donegal who can break at speed would expose the half back line a lot more than Clare would. They are very quick at transitioning the ball from back to front as was seen against Cavan in the Ulster final and have no fear shooting from distance.

The_Biler (National) - 08/07/2019 21:07:10

Replying To southmeathgael:  "If Clare's full back and half back line breaking out with the ball was our half back line fault, then you are right to criticise them cause they must have been woefully out of possition. Harnan was immense against Clare at 6, and keogan, at 5, has now secured an all star nomination with super 8 qualification. All meaths issues are from 9 to 15 imo, not enoigh physical presence to win any type of ball and or defend well enough rom the front to stop any sort of momentum building..... this is why clare sauntered out so easily and why donegal will do the same unfortunetwly. Wouldnt be confident of our gk either."
Keoghan all star nomination?? Not likely after that. And it shows how much ambition you have when your worrying about All Star nominations. Wouldn't you rather be walking out of Ballybofey winners and have no All star nominations. I would.

The_Biler (National) - 14/07/2019 15:48:00

Outscored 1-7 to 1 point in last 17 or 18 minutes. Poor finish from Meath.

The_Biler (National) - 14/07/2019 15:59:12

Mayo V Kerry - 2 Like(s)
Cillian O C having a woeful bad game

The_Biler (National) - 14/07/2019 16:16:43

Mayo V Meath - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "Meath man Dean rock might pass him out if he stays as dublins main free taker for the next 5 years or so."
What part a Meath is Dean Rock from??

The_Biler (National) - 18/07/2019 17:44:43

Dublin V Kildare - Is This Not Being Televised? - 1 Like(s)
The state broadcaster have turned their back on the provincial championships in favour of hurling.

The_Biler (National) - 04/06/2019 18:10:29

NFL Division 3 - 1 Like(s)

Replying To in_a_bind:  "Seriously Biler? Has to be a wind-up! Louth had plenty of chances in first half but Westmeath definitely got easier frees. Best of luck in the Final."
You'd have to go back to Pat McEnaney to find as good. He's one of the best on the go at the moment.

The_Biler (National) - 03/04/2019 19:36:45

Championship Team - 1 Like(s)

Replying To valley84:  "Stop being so negative lads. You need to be more positive, like myself We've a great chance of making a final again"
So anyone who hasn't an opinion like yours, they are negative? I thought that's what forums are supposed to be about? Varying opinions like? If everyone had the same opinion would forums not become pointless??

The_Biler (Westmeath) - 03/05/2019 14:59:31

Croke Park Stewards - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Uimhir.a.3.:  "Professional stewards, so you can confirm they have training, Garda vetting & PSA licence ?? Then you mention volunteer stewards, perhaps you can let us know what the breakdown is ??"
Is it not the law now? That security has to be garda vetted and PSA trained?? Stewards are security personel are they not?

The_Biler (National) - 03/04/2019 23:15:52

Greatest GAA Comeback Of All Time??? - 1 Like(s)
Meaths collapse against Westmeath in 2015. 10 points at one stage Meath were ahead and Westmeath won by 4.

The_Biler (National) - 21/05/2019 16:34:01