Westmeath Forum

Popular Posts from iarmhi_an_mhaith

Should Cavan V Dublin Be In Navan? - 4 Like(s)
The game should be in a neutral venue, therefore I would suggest playing it in Parnell Park.

iarmhi_an_mhaith (National) - 24/11/2020 11:12:49

Dr Crokes vs S'neil - 4 Like(s)
The irony of some people complaining about Crokes' tactics. When northern teams were doing for years they were applauded for putting it up to Kerry. If it was your team winning an All Ireland you would be delighted. It's not up to Crokes to please everyone and solve all of the gaa's problems.

iarmhi_an_mhaith (National) - 17/03/2017 19:14:20

Roscommon GAA thread - 3 Like(s)
Our neighbours are very well placed to spring a surprise on Mayo next week imo. Mayo gave up a lot of goal chances today, the Rossies are very effective at creating and taking goal chances to my memory. If ye can stay in the game early on and not have a slow start like a few times this year, ye can put it up to them. The Mayo hype train is in full flow now, no better time to come in from the long grass. Best of luck to ye.

iarmhi_an_mhaith (National) - 02/04/2023 19:11:47

Dublin's Success Not Down To Money - GAA President - 3 Like(s)
Sure if it's all down to the volunteers and nothing to do with the financial backing, then the GAA can withdraw all of their funding and it won't make any difference.

iarmhi_an_mhaith (National) - 13/06/2019 10:59:14

Leinster Football The Reality - 3 Like(s)

Replying To baire:  "50% of the Leinster teams are already out of the championship!"
As are 50% of the Munster and Connacht teams too, and more than 50% of the Ulster teams. This tends to happen halfway through the championship.

iarmhi_an_mhaith (National) - 24/06/2019 15:30:04

Phrases that commentators use that annoy you!! - 2 Like(s)
Martin Carney - "It must be said".

iarmhi_an_mhaith (National) - 12/03/2017 11:54:53

Should The Rebel Flag Be Banned At Cork Matches? - 2 Like(s)

Replying To cavanman47:  "Are there a few people having 2 different arguments here? The title of the thread says rebel flag (the red flag with the diagonal blue cross and white stars). This is the only one I've seen at Cork matches. The OP and many subsequent posts, and the Cork GAA statement use the term Confederate flag (that flag is a blue square on red and white horizontal stripes, like a dumbed down - ironically! - version of the US flag)"
Confederate Battle Flag to give it it's full title, used as a battle flag/banner by the Confederacy during battle, with stars representing the confederate states. The flag you're thinking of is the Stars and Bars. Can't see why Cork fans couldn't modify the number of stars, to represent the number of All Irelands won for example.

iarmhi_an_mhaith (National) - 18/06/2020 18:19:25

Dr Crokes vs S'neil - 2 Like(s)
May not have been great to watch, but Crokes have been on the receiving end numerous times. You do what you need to do to win. Great to see Gooch finally win it, if anyone deserves a medal its him. One of the all time greats.

iarmhi_an_mhaith (National) - 17/03/2017 18:38:00

Analyst Claims Dubs 'Actually Being Underfunded' - 2 Like(s)
The idea that the likes of Leitrim should even be expected to compete with Dublin is preposterous. If funding is going to be split up by population, then teams should be decided by population also. The "expert" referenced in the link claims that Dublin has 33% of the population, and can't see any issue with this. They should be playing in the Railway Cup.

iarmhi_an_mhaith (National) - 28/07/2019 13:41:26

Westmeath Football thread - 2 Like(s)
Can't see Dessie resting players for this game. We are already down 4 of a possible starting back 6 in Smith, Gonoud, Drumm and Wallace, so lads are already getting their chances. Hopefully we will see some of these lads back as championship is not far away. Add in Heslin and that's a third of a team not available last weekend against Down. Hopefully we will go to Sligo and put in a performance to seal promotion, I feel there is more to come from this team.

iarmhi_an_mhaith (National) - 21/03/2024 16:54:33

The Drive For 5 Song - 2 Like(s)

Replying To ConnollyDub:  "https://youtu.be/1Ryn8-xStkU A song by me da. Have a listen, bit of craic. Any other songs out there for the lead up to the All Ireland? There's a few dubs ones I know..... Any kerry ones?"
Wow, so humble.

iarmhi_an_mhaith (National) - 30/08/2019 16:46:53

Should The Rebel Flag Be Banned At Cork Matches? - 1 Like(s)

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I can't see why not if it was done for a bit of a laugh. I have 1 for ye what if a Cork fan got a tee-shirt with the rebel flag on it would they take that off him as well."
I can't imagine they would or could take that off him, much the same as if Kildare fans turned up wearing KKK hoods. The symbolism would be similar though.

iarmhi_an_mhaith (National) - 18/06/2020 17:47:02

Meath V Dublin Leinster Final. - 1 Like(s)
I reckon Meath will stay tight to Dublin early on, maybe even go a couple of points ahead, but Dublin will push on in the second quarter to go in leading at half time. Once again early in the second half, Meath will push on and tag on a few scores in a purple patch, but Dublin will weather this storm and blow them away by the end, with their bench being far too strong. Final score : Dublin 4-17 Meath 0-14

iarmhi_an_mhaith (National) - 19/06/2019 22:07:04

Mayo 'Over Celebrating' - 1 Like(s)
Pundits have to try to keep their name relevant in some way, so what better way than with sensationalist nonsense?

iarmhi_an_mhaith (National) - 08/04/2019 15:32:02

Is David Clifford The Best Footballer In The Country Right Now? - 1 Like(s)
Has Con had much impact in the Dublin football championship, or is he primarily focused on hurling at club level?

iarmhi_an_mhaith (National) - 25/10/2019 10:27:15

Club Championships - Teams Play In The Same Championship Level According To Their League Position - 1 Like(s)
To me it seems unusual to have the 2 competitions linked. In Westmeath you play a lot of league games without your county players, so it wouldn't work here. An example is Killucan, who play division 3 in the league but in the second group of the senior championship. Imo this shows how division 3 isn't their level if they had a full team all the time.

iarmhi_an_mhaith (National) - 07/11/2019 10:39:40

Should The Rebel Flag Be Banned At Cork Matches? - 1 Like(s)

Replying To cavanman47:  "The reason Cork fans choose that particular flag is obvious tho? Well it seems obvious to me - it is a reference to being a southern county, it's predominantly red, and it's a reference to their status as the Rebel County. Interesting you mention Westmeath - if someone were to stand near you at a Westmeath game and wave a Qatar flag (maroon and white), would you ask them to take it down given that nation's links to what is essentially modern day slavery? And what about this request from Boyle GAA to their fans: link Were they being insensitive choosing that image?"
Just to be clear, I don't think any flags should be banned. I think we need to educate people on the message they are portraying by using these flags, and if they want to go ahead and use them anyway and understand the consequences, then fair enough. If someone stood near to me with a Qatar flag, I would politely remind them about the points you have mentioned, and you are absolutely correct in saying that it's modern day slavery. Or maybe I wouldn't, it's really none of my business if people want to fly any flag, and it wouldn't bother me, but they should know that it will bother some people and they should understand why. Regarding that Boyle GAA post, again I think that is out of ignorance on the subject rather than any malicious intent on their part. I doubt the PRO of the club would have used that image in the post if they understood what it stands for. People just need to be educated on the subjects.

iarmhi_an_mhaith (National) - 19/06/2020 11:21:35

Footballers 2017 - 1 Like(s)

Replying To tarfboy:  "Having read and listened to all media reports in the week before the game I actually thought Westmeath might pose some small threats to Dublin. How wrong was that!! They were worse than useless and were clueless after Dublin walked in the first goal. True Dubs were embarrassed for the travelling supporters. I remember the hiding Armagh gave to Offaly in the league so they might even better the 31 point margin of Dublin. Perhaps you might consider what Kilkenny do in football and concentrate on hurling where you seem to be making progress."
Very easy to say this in the position you're in. Many true gaa folk in Westmeath work as hard as anywhere else, yet they don't get pampered like those in the capital. I think it is in extremely bad taste to be having a go at a team who you have just beaten well and truly, and will have been extremely embarrassed and upset with their performance in the last few days. Maybe you should look at the "true Dubs" you mentioned and see how they are not rubbing salt in the wounds.

iarmhi_an_mhaith (Westmeath) - 27/06/2017 23:54:07

Cork Playing 3 Games In CP In 6 Days. - 1 Like(s)
Situations like this are why I think the gaa should invest in a proper stadium (i.e like PuC) in Athlone or somewhere else in the midlands. Perfectly central for people from all sides of the country.

iarmhi_an_mhaith (National) - 09/07/2019 10:56:59

The Highest Number Of Points Scored In A Hurling Championship Game - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Condorman:  "Did Waterford hit 33 against Offaly a couple of years back? I can't recall any team ever hitting 40 before.Did Westmeath play without a half back line?"
Even worse, they had 2 sweepers in the first half and no pressure put on out the field, and a young lad 20 or 21 on his own in the full forward line on his first start of the year, you'd have to wonder what the management were thinking. We had at least a somewhat competitive game against Tipp a few years ago when we tried to play.

iarmhi_an_mhaith (National) - 10/07/2019 17:01:54