Tyrone Forum

Popular Posts from bulmccabe

Lack of Honour & Morals in the GAA - 6 Like(s)

Replying To Gleebo:  "I've never seen Morales in the GAA either. Do they play in Bolivia?"
there's always a fekin spelling Nazi on every forum, you well know what he means, doesn't make you any smarter than any other poster if that's all you can reply to his post

bulmccabe (National) - 07/06/2017 22:59:30

Kerry Vs Tyrone - 6 Like(s)
a lot of ppl saying give monaghan a rerun, so how far back do you go to get the semi-final played, the gaa talk big on player welfare yet they and whoever seems to be making decisions regarding this fixture don't have a clue and seem to just want the game played and gate takings banked, who knows what effects and damage has been done to those players who have tested positive, with lungs etc being compromised and if seriously infected may suffer long term covid effects like debilitating tiredness breathing difficulties, fatigue etc, surely the gaa would have logically consulted with the health authorities on this, looks like the gaa havent come out of this in a good light. Yes the clubs need players back but the way things are going its only a matter of a season or 2 before the county players are semi pro like provincial rugby contracted to provincial councils or gaa central and only back with clubs when inter county season for team is finished or are injured and need game time for rehab under supervision, well done tyrone gaa for once standing up for the players and their families,

bulmccabe (National) - 14/08/2021 14:55:01

NI Secretary of State attends GAA match - 6 Like(s)
Have no time for politicians of any persuasion, but at least he made the effort to attend. Maybe he could teach some of the so called unionist politicians how to make an effort to reach out and understand the others cultural games. Not that long ago the sf minister for sport attended a ni soccer game and also came in after the anthem and was also vilified for not respecting the anthem. It's 2016 for fsake time to get over this obsession with flegs, emblems and anthems and applaud people for the gesture even if it is for show. On a cold jan night I suppose the dup team was filling up the wood pellet hoppers to get more cash for ash before the money dries up. Did Aogan and Michael hasson come out late as well or did the sos come out on his own to take his seat?

bulmccabe (National) - 29/01/2017 22:31:10

Mental Health Awareness thread - 4 Like(s)
Finished reading born to run by the boss springstein and was amazed that for most of his playing career he has battled mental health problems which also affected his father. Todays society lives by a different culture than previous generations with the demand for information ec at the touch of a button. People stickin selfies of this that and the other on titter looking for comments and complaining if not all are complimentary pics of their dinner, lunch, breakfast, look at me I'm in the gym this types of thing really cheeses me off. For these reasons ive quit all social media got rid of the mobile and only read these pages and sometimes comment. Having been to the edge and actually went over and brought back literally from death I know all about the effects of mental illness on ones self and their immediate family and know that it is a constant struggle. Medication is ok but can get addictive and mask other problems but as a phone company used as their slogan its good to talk. Social media accounts can be lonely places you can have hundreds even thousands of friends/ followers but ultimately no one to talk to. MY sympathies and thoughts go out to those struggling and I know from friends working in the heath/ mental health field { who did not pick up on my signals looking for help but couldn't put it in words to say or ask } and they believe we are sitting on a time bomb with the perfect storm brewing across the island with government cuts and incompetence. I can't / wont judge Ormond bannerman { it would be easy just to shorten the title without trying to cause offence only handiness } that he suffers from mental health issues as I know very little can trigger a reaction. I don't wish to cause offence with this but The thing which pisses me off especially with so called celebs etc is their constant need for attention and lately the new in thing is I was raped/abused when I was younger or making my way through chosen career without ever having made complaint to the law which is disparaging and disrespectful to true victims and casts a cloud on those requesting /needing help. I believe that a lot of our young sports people could fall into serious health issues in years to come with the constant demands on their time, no personal life to share with friends and family due to the fixtures and training schedules placed upon them which in its self can be as addictive as any drug and when that comes to an end what do/will they turn to. I think its imperative of the gaa/gpa to ensure that along with all this physical training that they should provide some form of mental health training to help players cope with the end of playing careers. Anyhow for those suffering in silence please seek help from someone close to you or from the relevant people. its never too late.

bulmccabe (National) - 10/01/2017 18:12:23

No GAA news on RTÉ Six One news (Sunday)! - 4 Like(s)
not really, good updates on HS whilst watching an alright tyrone final on tg4 { hope Philip toners knee injury isn't too bad } went over then to check the ulster council website for the hurling results and finally got them long after hs had them. Overall the gaa coverage is basically nil once the AI finals are over, the life blood of the gaa THE CLUBS are basically forgotten.

bulmccabe (National) - 09/10/2016 19:42:38

Antrim hurling RIP - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Wally:  "Any wonder with supporters like you following them and coming out with comments like that. Telling your county to give up is just disgraceful."
Ulsterman, instead of being on here lambasting those out there trying their best to keep hurling alive in ulster against a tide of football bias from the ulster council and county boards, why don't you put yourself forward to help out or bring forward ideas that will work. With attitudes like yours it's no surprise that hurling is in decline, where you even there today to see your team? Die hard Tyrone hurling supporters and the hard work of a few passionate people have kept things going in the county. Yes we may not be all-Ireland winners like kk or tipp but we can and will compete at a level that our resources and talent allow. To get to the final is a good achievement in itself but some days you just come up against a better more determined team.

bulmccabe (National) - 10/06/2017 20:13:45

Kerry Vs Tyrone - 3 Like(s)
gaa statement reporting in tyrone herald game to be played on 28th august, thanking all counties involved and after receiving additional medical evidence and taking expert advice "The Tyrone players and management will prepare as safely as possible, in the continuing difficult circumstances, to ensure that the best available team will now fulfil this very important fixture," the short statement added. Saturday August 28 has now been confirmed as the new date for the big game between Tyrone and Kerry, with the All-Ireland Final between the winners and Mayo now scheduled for September 11. "This revised schedule has been finalised with the integrity of the championship in mind and to ensure that Kerry were not denied a semi-final outing," the statement from Croke Park said. "The GAA would like to acknowledge the co-operation of all of the counties still involvedin the championship and it looks forward to working with the government to finalise these arrangements. The times for both the All-Ireland semi-final and final have still to be confirmed.

bulmccabe (National) - 15/08/2021 20:06:37

Peter McKenna hits back at Michael Duignan - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "Peter McKenna totally missing the point, I am not an TV expert but would assume one would have to have a basic SKY package first of all before one could avail of the €10 one off purchase of any game on a one off basis. Whether Michael Duignan or I or anyone else has SKY is irrelevant, Michael Duignan said his father (for example) had not got SKY and missed the match on Sat night as a result. I was visiting an eldery relation Saturday evening and had to go home to see the match in my own house. Michael Duigan (or anyone else) is not solely responsible for whether their parents have SKY (or not)..Peter McKenna is being subjective in his reply hinting about Duignan going to watch the Lions Match etc on Sat morning..NOT everyone has SKY to avail of the one off purchase deal..I doubt very much if there is an "arrow" shaped analogue aerial or similar on Mr. McKennas house etc. etc."
it's 2017 the gaa should have it's own tv station similar to all the premiership teams, or laliga etc where punters could subscribe to the gaa world wide to view games or streamed live, can't be that big a deal to get up and going. selling to sky etc is taking the easy option with no thought to the ordinary people who can't afford sky packages or not physically able to attend games

bulmccabe (National) - 14/07/2017 17:00:43

Attention Posters - 3 Like(s)

Replying To MesAmis:  "Fair play Flaker."
both sets of players were out on their feet, great game played well, ref'd well, supported magnificently, thought it was a brilliant game for the neutrals, not a classic but then finals normally aren't and nobody on that pitch today could have given anymore if it had of went on a couple more mins. don't listen to the whingers or begrudgers because that's usually all they can contribute, enjoy the celebrations and commiserations to mayo, at least you gave Dublin a game

bulmccabe (National) - 17/09/2017 23:11:46

Slaughtneil on the march again - 3 Like(s)
congratulations to slaughtneil, keep up the hard work and don't listen to the begrudgers, when your on top everyone wants to knock you off the pedestal yet only a few will make the effort the rest will just complain and begrudge your success with petty comments

bulmccabe (National) - 22/10/2017 22:34:32

Gooch on Tyrone - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Wally:  "http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=276498 Yeah sledging is why we won the All Ireland Gooch! Listen I have always had a lot of time for Kerry, especially the team of the noughties. They are a fantastic county with a great tradition and some very humble and likeable characters but Colm is really starting to let himself down since his retirement."
yeah still smarting from the defeat, easy to talk the talk when you've retired and be controversial especially when you have a big event to promote

bulmccabe (National) - 02/10/2017 20:49:24

A GAA first? - 3 Like(s)

Replying To arock:  "Another first, Ref Gough and his family of umpires today, only in the GAA would you see madness like this."
the umpires should all be upto inter county ref level and be appointed by croke park along with the ref linesmen and 4th official. too much at stake at inter county level to just be related or a mate of the ref

bulmccabe (National) - 26/08/2017 20:58:57

Dublin v Tyrone Semi-Final - 2 Like(s)

Replying To bulmccabe:  "he has every right to be upset with rte, and again it won't sit well if tyrone beat the dubs, what will they do then for unbiased coverage over the 3rd weekend of sept?"
meant to be when tyrone beat the dubs

bulmccabe (National) - 25/08/2017 22:16:07

Eugene McGee on Jim McGuinnness - 2 Like(s)
It's time people like McGee stepped down and let a few younger people run the GAA for the 21st century. The problem does not just exist with the GAA, you have men that get into power and are loathe to step down or admit that they get things wrong sometimes and it is their rite to go when they want. As for the people he talks to, again probably the rest of the committee members and yes men climbers around the top floor of Croke Park who won't rock the boat or disagree with another committee member in case that stops the climb. As they say " a little bit of knowledge is dangerous " but it looks more and more that a little bit of power in Ireland can be just as dangerous.

bulmccabe (National) - 05/10/2016 13:33:24

Micky Harte extension rejected. - 2 Like(s)
Folks, not sure if any of you are even aware of, or just see headlines and red mist or whatever descends. Yes M Harte is entitled to ask for an extension but he does not have an automatic rite to get everything that he requests. For years county boards have jumped to his demands to the detriment of the clubs in Tyrone. Does he give players the same courtesy when leaving them warming benches for months and then drops their arse as soon as the big boys come back. Does he give them the option of staying on for another year to see if they can make it { does he jack } And on the subject of county boards, the county board is made up of 1 delegate from each club within the county who have the power to agree or disagree to his or anyone else's requests. ◾An Coiste Bainistí the county management committee are a different group. The county board did not agree to a further extension so regardless if the Cathaoirleach is a woman or man, it was the county board made up of club delegates who denied him an extension which doesn't sit well with some peoples agenda who didn't want her in the job to start with and think MH should have a job for life as manager. As a previous poster has already said, they may have won div2 and Ulster against a Donegal side not firing on all cylinders. This apart they seem to have hit a wall in regards real progress yes PD coming in has got them back up to speed, but the lack of a proper consistent free taker is hampering this team and MHs reluctance to take of a few of his pets regardless how they play and keep bringing back older players without blooding new talent. Maybe if he took the blinkers off he may find a couple of gems. Look how Brian Cody isn't afraid to drop household names and bring in lesser named players even for an AI final.

bulmccabe (National) - 07/09/2016 14:28:42

Sean Cavanagh: Dubs are the best team I've ever seen play the game - 2 Like(s)
when sean Cavanagh says this Dublin team is the best team he has ever played against it shouldn't be shrugged off. It sounded like an honest assessment during his interview and don't think he was making excuses for tyrone that day. Sometimes you just have to be honest and say well done lads that was some performance who nobody could have foreseen before hand. Anyway hats off to both Dublin and mayo next weekend, the best 2 counties by far are contesting what will hopefully be an epic game. I don't really have a preference for the winner as it would be nice to see Dublin do the 3 in a row, but also nice to see mayo lift it after a long wait. good luck too ye all pretty envious of those going to see it.

bulmccabe (National) - 06/09/2017 22:59:22

Slaughtneil Ulster Hurling Champions - 2 Like(s)
A brilliant club which epitomises the spirit and principles for which the GAA was founded. When you have a community that pulls together, supports the endeavours of the club and 3 games of the GAA then you have a club to be proud of, then those following through want to carry on the efforts of their forbearers and want to improve as they move on. Also a great example of a club that you can completely integrate Gaelic football, hurling, camogie and ladies gaelic football, after all we are all gaelic athletic clubs not as some suggest gaelic football clubs, hurling clubs etc, So well done Slaughtneil I know a lot of you up there and the tremendous amount of hard work which goes in to make you a successful Gaelic club, and good luck for the future games.

bulmccabe (National) - 23/10/2016 20:02:20

Dubs V Mayo - 2 Like(s)

Replying To BeJasus:  "Haha, state of his Talking up an unproven Kerry team while undermining his own teams chances because he knows they've done squat over the past decade. Bar Donegal in 2012 , a long.long time go i may add, no team in Ulster has been anywhere near Mayo's /kerrys ,Dublins level over past 10 years. Tyrone only got to the final in 2018 because of Mayo's shock exit at hands of Kildare."
of course tyrone done nothing since 2008 apart from 1 semi under harte, he was allowed to stay because of what he did but most supporters recognised his tenure should have ended as the players either just didnt perform or his ideas were dated, then again as i stated each time mayo have got to a final they bottled itwhich is there for all to see, you cant argue with the facts regardless of what tyrone did or didnt do and yes kerry are unproven but still look too strong

bulmccabe (National) - 18/08/2021 11:05:57

Is Dublin dominance good for football? - 2 Like(s)

Replying To mayotyroneman:  "err...resources?...dp you realise whats going on in dublin?"
yes I realise what's going on in Dublin, but i'm also well aware of what's going on up in garvaghy's windfarm and the resources that are given to the tyrone senior footballers and the backroom team that's half of the footballers in numbers

bulmccabe (National) - 28/08/2017 20:56:56

Killkenny vs Waterford (hurling) - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "no need to be posting that you got such gifts for your 50th on this forum...comment on game is enough..no need for all the details of why you were there and the golf etc...recession is right.."
couldn't help it, smiling like a chesire cat pardon the pun kk fans, but being from a football county that would burn every hurly if they could it's great to be able to take in so many great games in one weekend. If it weren't for the presents I would only have been at the munster final, guess sometimes they do be listen to my rants in the kitchen. On a side note fair play to kk who battled like demons to get to extra time but maybe the mileage told at the end. Has been some 20yr run for them and cody and we can only admire their achievements. Going off track again what a game from the tipp footballers to oust cavan, going from the reports they really blew cavan away, nice to see a team playing football for a change.

bulmccabe (National) - 09/07/2017 02:28:07