Tyrone Forum

Popular Posts from Seansy48

Mayo V Tyrone All-Ireland Football Final - 10 Like(s)

Replying To carlowman:  "Well done Tyrone. An excellent first half of end to end stuff but Mayo will rue those goal chances. Tyrone were better decision makers and were clinical in front of goals. Tyrone benefitted from the long kick outs and Mayo just did not perform to the level they needed to to win. Against Dublin they did when needed but Tyrone were a different animal today to Dublin. In saying that Mayo can learn from the defeat and come back stronger. Lee Keegan was absolutely immense. Well done Brian and Fergal ! Top men."
Lee Keegan immense in what regard? Almost getting done for fouls and then screaming in opponents faces when they miss their shots. He should act like he's been there before, the act is done. He should grow up

Seansy48 (National) - 11/09/2021 20:11:17

Eamon McGee - True Gael! - 6 Like(s)
It might be a bit much for a Gaelic football forum to understand Eamon's passage from Lord of the Rings he posted on twitter and i'm not entirely sure myself of how exactly he's interpreted it but it hadn't been mentioned so I thought I might have a go! In the passage Aragorn is talking to Arwen who is the love of his life and he's essentially saying goodbye forever. Arwen Vanimelda Namarie means 'Arwen beautiful-beloved-elven-fair, farewell' I'm thinking that's Eamon saying goodbye to the game he loves or the county he loves to play for. The passage continues saying Here is the heart of Elvendom on earth,' he said, `and here my heart dwells ever. The passage then ends saying he left the hill of Cerin Amroth and came there never again as a living man." To me that's Eamon saying he's leaving Croke Park (the heart of the G.A.A on earth) though his heart will remain there. He left the hill of Cerin Amroth (Croke Park) and came there never again as a living man (Active player) I could be completely wrong but this way it's a true love letter to Gaelic football which I think shows the level of passion he had for the game and how much it meant to him. In the current climate of bashing the game at every turn not enough attention is paid to things like this!

Seansy48 (National) - 08/08/2016 22:00:41

All-Irelands won by a late dubious free? - 3 Like(s)

Replying To legendzxix:  "Tipperary nearly won the '14 hurling final after being awarded a late dubious free. They missed and Kilkenny won the replay. Are there examples of All-Irelands being won by award of a late dubious free?"
Any examples of a team falling asleep for the majority of the last 10 minutes of the match and losing the final from a very controlling position?

Seansy48 (National) - 25/08/2016 18:18:59

Tyrone - 3 Like(s)

Replying To waynoI:  "Are you serious ? Tyrone better than Mayo ? Basing that on what exactly ? The last time they met in the championship which was only last august, Mayo where crap and still won. Now you place them above Mayo, don't get the logic behind that I really don't."
That was Mayo's best game of the summer! What wasn't firing for them that day? If Aiden O Se could play against Dublin how he plays against Tyrone they'd be AI champions. When they play Tyrone he bring the game to them, when he plays Dublin or Kerry he seems to think he's better served as a decoy runner or something. Mayo won by 1 point and all the logical statistics of the game of Gaelic football said that Tyrone blew the game, watching Tyrone miss 3 or 4 shots to level the game says that. You want to believe Mayo are better so you don't have to deal with Tyrone because you know yourself how dangerous a primed and hungry Tyrone are. Luckily enough for Tyrone the linesman in Croke Park decided to win you lads the game on Saturday....if you think Saturday was tough wait until next time. We're coming for your throne!

Seansy48 (National) - 16/02/2017 15:13:45

County you least want to see win in football? - 3 Like(s)
Meath always and forver

Seansy48 (National) - 27/07/2016 15:08:51

If Lee Keegan played for Dublin - 2 Like(s)
Just change the rule from ref dealing with the most serious incident offense to the ref dealing with the first offense and this stuff and these conversations are over forever. Like Keegan hate Keegan, like Connolly hate Connolly the first offense in the famous incident last day out was the jersey pull by Keegan and that's a yellow by the book, if that's dealt with there and then we're not still talking about it! It's slightly outrageous that one of the skills of Gaelic football now is how much grief you can give or take without snapping, these things should happen organically we shouldn't know prior to a match that those 2 will likely get each other sent off at some point

Seansy48 (National) - 28/09/2016 19:45:08

Any regrets in Mayo for getting rid of 2015 management? - 2 Like(s)
Rochford had to bring them back from the brink and unfortunately out thought himself in the end up looking for that extra 5% to beat the Dubs. The management team last year for Mayo were willing to send out plan A and when they failed they just sat and watched! I know I'd rather have the man who dared to make the change, It won't be a mistake he'll make again

Seansy48 (National) - 05/10/2016 14:55:28

Donegal v Tyrone - 2 Like(s)
And all of a sudden there was silence! Tir Eoghain Abu!!

Seansy48 (National) - 17/07/2016 18:19:12

Dublin will not win the All Ireland - 2 Like(s)
When Tyrone were still in I have to say I was hoping Dublin wouldn't look well on the way to the final but I have to say they were really impressive against Donegal and they also looked like they had another gear. Ciaran Kilkenny gave one of THE great performances I've seen in Croke Park, absolutely peerless link play and vision. To me Dublin have much to much talent and on top of that momentum and a winning mentality, it'll take a major slip or a performance for the ages to knock them off at this point

Seansy48 (National) - 24/08/2016 14:56:45

Can Mayo exorcise the ghost of '13? - 2 Like(s)

Replying To legendzxix:  "Kerry following their own bottling in the 2011 final, free or no free at the end they let Dublin back into that position. Seansy48 (Tyrone) In '11 our crowd threw it away alright but didn't bottle it. We should never have been in the position that a dubious free kick was going to lose the game. We were sloppy. We had drifted our way through that championship and were like an oil tanker drifting into port. Our opponents on the day seized the day to respectfully draw level. '13 is the only time this Mayo team has bottled it. Last year clearly something wasn't right internally in their camp."
Dublin decided they wouldn't hand you the cup as so many teams have in the past and Kerry had no response, you could tell it was coming from the goal onwards. It's not said enough but Kevin McManamon decided he was going to win the game for Dublin and no one could stop him, Kerry were probably thinking about the night out. One team thinking ahh here we go same again I can't wait be drinking the champagne from Mr. Maguire tonight and another man on a team with their heads down saying give me the ball and get ready for the last 5 minutes so yeah maybe I should say Dublin won the match more than Kerry bottled but then again 64 minutes it an awful long time to control the match and lose

Seansy48 (National) - 23/08/2016 23:11:53

Sledging and blocking - 2 Like(s)
Awful lot of sensitive people around here, either that or a lot of lip readers and psychics! Grown men talk nonsense to each other in most if not all team sports so can I ask where we draw line? Is it no talking at all? Is it not saying anything nasty, something which i'd call impossible to police for a ref. Maybe lads could just grow up and overcome it, there's a fairly swift way to silence a mouth and we all know what it is....surely that's what should be done! Do we expect the man getting sledged to strike out and rightly so or what is it? In terms of targeting, I really can't believe some of the things people say about the bigger or in some cases vastly more skillful players. Sean Cavanagh and Aiden O Shea BOTH get the benefits of being bigger stronger more powerful men and absolutely nothing is done when they start throwing themselves around in inappropriate ways. The best example from the weekend is likely Murphy's "tackle" on Fenton if he's just another player he's off, we've already seen it this summer in the Connaught final, not to mention the fact Murphy is a much bigger man than O' Connor....there's a perception issue with the better players like they're less likely to do something nasty or feign injury for the good of the team. It's an unpopular opinion, but why does Ryan McMenamin have to let the Gooch get the best of him, i've personally never seen this dirty play against the Gooch, i've seen him talk to him all day long, maybe nip the arm....Do you not think as a Tyrone fan i've watched our famous victories more than some other fans? I'm sorry I don't see that behaviour as abhorrent or uncalled for, I call it psychological warfare, I call it not rolling over and giving in. Tyrone were the only team that rumbled that Kerry team in their prime...they did what needed to be done, it didn't effect the spectacle, Gooch never got injured, Gooch never even really had a bag game, he did lose though and that seems to be the ultimate offence to some

Seansy48 (National) - 09/08/2016 17:32:41

Neil McGee sending off - 1 Like(s)
Pretty simple question to the Donegal fans out there, or anyone else who can answer for that matter!
What happened to this man's play? When did being the hardest man on the pitch become more important to him than being the best defender on the pitch?
2 matches this year so far I've seen him be sent off for striking.
I actually can't remember another player getting 2 for striking in a summer, if anyone knows another throw it out

He's no good to anyone on the sideline, he's supposed to be a leader and he's acting like a teenager.

In my personal opinion he's not at the level he was at in 2012 he can shackle lower level forwards surely but when he meets the big guys he gets torched

Seansy48 (National) - 12/06/2016 14:51:23

The Best Ulster side of the last 30 years? - 1 Like(s)

Replying To MourneArmy:  "Seansy48, We're as far away from the top as we have ever been. My fear is that it is only going to get worse before it gets better. That said, Down football is not in as bad a place as our results this season would suggest. Everyone knows that the Down team that played throughout the league and against Monaghan and Longford in the championship is not the strongest team in the county. If it was, then I'd be extremely worried. The problems with Down football are multi faceted. But they do mainly stem from our stagnant county board. Those in a position of authority within the county are stale, unimaginative and uninspiring. Our county board is in debt and therefore investment in our underage structures is limited. We are relying too heavily on the goodwill of club volunteers, and limited sponsorship money to provide financial resources. We lack the funding which exists in counties like Tyrone, Donegal and Kerry to set up purposeful modern underage structures; something akin to Tyrone's centre of excellence would go a long way to solving the problem. But at this moment it is not a realistic goal. If we were a business we would have gone bankrupt a long time ago. From within the county the silence is deafening and nothing will change in the near future."
Mourne don't fret like, I remember a wee county who lives next door saying the same thing for a while before a man named Jim changed everything for them by simply making them believe they were a good enough team to win whatever they wanted but they really really had to want it

Seansy48 (National) - 28/07/2016 16:01:49

McFadden retirement - Tyrone response - 1 Like(s)

Replying To joncarter:  "Load of paranoid crap. Anyone who knows anything about gaelic football knows that he was a top footballer, wherever theyre from."
It is a big enough thing though considering the 2 counties are rivals! Also considering Tyrone seem to have been the only county to actually congratulate the man on his career (apart from his own) your point on everyone knowing he's a quality footballer is a bit broken....or are you trying to say it goes without saying? I think it's important to say these things with all the cynicism surrounding the game, why not state something positive that's arguably of more value than yet another complaint about the sport

Seansy48 (National) - 13/08/2016 15:49:55

Sean Cavanagh- Greatest Player of Modern Era? - 1 Like(s)

Replying To hoganstandforum:  "You can't go 7 years without winning an all ireland and be the greatest player of the modern era"
It's been 7 years for the Gooch, unless you count 2014 where he was part of the squad and didn't play

Seansy48 (National) - 23/07/2016 17:02:12

Kerry not getting their fair share of frees? - 1 Like(s)

Replying To MesAmis:  "There are plenty of of yous crying about it. Crying away for 5 years about it. Kerry lost because they only scored 2 points in the 1st half, had a decent spell for about 15 mins 45-60mins which looked to be enough, but were outscored 1-3 to 0-1 in the last 6/7 mins. But no they were robbed. Waawaaawaaa"
All that happened in the game and it still came down to Cluxton to win the match. I have massive respect for that man for that free alone, Canavan against Armagh in 2005 comes to mind but it was much further out the pitch, it was for a lot of those mens first medal and it was to end 16 years of waiting. We've all seen debatable frees hundreds of times in Gaelic football, seen plenty of them missed as well it should be said. It still took the stones of a rhino to knock that ball over. It was straight up man stuff, a boy would have crumbled Cluxton stood tall! Not that what he did afterwards wasn't one of the most confusing things i've seen in sport but hey you celebrate how you want Stevo!

Seansy48 (National) - 05/08/2016 15:30:09

Kerry have no chance of winning All-Ireland - 1 Like(s)
I'm beginning to wonder what Kerry have up their sleeves, does anyone else feel like we're being lulled into a false sense of security? Are they going to line up in the quarters with the Mountain from Game of Throne at midfield!?

Seansy48 (National) - 14/07/2016 15:17:05

Donegal v Tyrone - 1 Like(s)

Replying To DLlegends:  "We got you on an off day! Get over yourself lad. Whether you like it or not Donegal are classed as a big team. Now don't get me wrong Tyrone have a good chance on Sunday. This young team that Mickey has moulded are supposed All-Ireland conterders and are laying waste to all around them. All and good when teams sit back and admire ye. However we both know what happens when it's a dog fight. You normally fill your togs. As I said before this is an over hyped Tyrone team, but are still dangerous. All the pressure is on Tyrone. This is a must win for Mickey and Tyrone and you all know it."
Most you've beaten a Tyrone team by in this period of domination is 3 points as far as I can remember. 1 away game you've had to play...at Clones, a neutral venue in your all Ireland year and you beat us by a measly 2 points Don't take it badly when it's laid out in front of you. We'll see on Sunday, your county is very confident about beating us and you're all so sure we're over hyped. Even my suggestion above that players such as Mattie Donnelly will have the team ready to play has been disliked COME AND SEE! COME AND SEE!

Seansy48 (National) - 14/07/2016 21:38:22

Mayo v Tyrone - 1 Like(s)

Replying To ta32:  "The trend is increasing sadly for reasons only we can guess as to why many Donegal fans want Tyrone beaten . I for one stood in the jimmy camp when Donegal were getting slated left right and centre , after this latest trend . Will I be in that camp again . I doubt it . Find it quite sad to be honest"
We didn't beat them they themselves and the refs beat them and Rory Gallagher beat them and a woman who waved a Tyrone flag at their bus coming into Clones wrong beat them and sledging beat them and cynical fouling beat them Basically any known entity on the planet beat Donegal except the Tyrone team that actually beat them

Seansy48 (National) - 04/08/2016 14:23:26

Can Mayo exorcise the ghost of '13? - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Whammo86:  "The reason I think Mayo can win the AI is that come the morning of 18th September they will be one of the 2 teams preparing for the final. 1 win, 1 big day is all that it will take. They have a definite chance. They shouldn't be favourites but they are far from no hopers. They have a very good pedigree. 3rd final in 5 years, 2 semifinal losses in extra time to the eventual champions, they've come as close as possible without winning. I also think form isn't a great guide in Gaelic, not enough games are played. We have no idea yet how Mayo will match up versus Dublin or Kerry. I wouldn't read much into The league it's a preseason competition, particularly for a team like Mayo where only one prize matters to them."
Fair enough Whammo, we have a difference of opinion. I don't think you can turn it on like that just for a final, if they'd upped the intensity from the Tyrone game against Tipp then maybe i'd have thought they were getting somewhere To me they haven't shown they have it in them this year, they had in other years in blitzing Donegal in quarter finals etc.

Seansy48 (National) - 22/08/2016 15:02:36