Tyrone Forum

Popular Posts from Wally

How Long Have You Been Posting? - 11 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "I didn't see anything about a hard border or brexit. Now they are things no self respecting southerner would care about. Whereas the gaa?now that is important"
You try far too hard. Sometimes less is more when trying to be a WUM.

Wally (National) - 06/10/2019 17:32:56

Cathal McShane Going To The AFL? - 10 Like(s)

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Totally different thing leaving for work reasons wally, and leaving to play that badtardised game down under. Also what about loyalty to you club and pride of place? The GAA is also built on this premis is it not. I make no apologies for my views on this situation, or my views on the intercounty situation either. As far as I'm concerned I'm 100% correct."
Well I think this is probably the most childish reply i have ever seen. 'I am right and everyone else is wrong. I am now taking my ball and going home!' But I will entertain your comments one last time. First of all this is exactly like like leaving for work reasons. They are going to work in another country. That work just happens to be as a professional sports person. Secondly they are not going to play a bastardised game. This is a stand alone sport in it's own right. It has it's own rules and procedures. You are confusing the AFL with the international rules series. Thirdly you have the nerve to talk about loyalty to your club and pride of place when you had only earlier today stated that you only volunteer to achieve success. What about your loyalty to your club? Also are you really saying that young fellas should turn down hundreds of thousands of pounds so that they can stay at home and show pride of place lol! You are wrong on all counts my friend. I have proved that on numerous occasions. A bigger man would have admitted that and moved on.

Wally (National) - 08/01/2020 15:38:40

Mayo V Meath - 10 Like(s)

Replying To southmeathgael:  "Well they are there, and got there on merit..and have been at many more illustrious events then Tyrone down through the years, a johnny come lately in the grand scheme if things, so show some respect , go back to your game of Minecraft and stop going for the WUM approach"
Down through the years, down through the years. The usual line from Meath. Always living in the past. You need to get used to the fact that you are no longer relevant. You did not get there on merit. You got destroyed in your provincial final. You got the handiest of all draws in the qualifiers. Now you have got beaten by cricket scores in your 2 super 8 games.

Wally (National) - 21/07/2019 22:34:38

How Long Have You Been Posting? - 9 Like(s)
This thread is really cringeworthy. Everyone reminiscing about how long they have been wasting their time on a nameless and faceless forum posting about topics that nobody really cares about. Congratulations!

Wally (National) - 06/10/2019 09:21:29

Londonderry - will they ever learn? - 8 Like(s)

Replying To Offside_Rule:  "For those who think it was a slip of the tongue though - how naive."
Ok let's say it wasn't a slip of the tongue. Let's just say that this lady is a unionist who has been brought up in the unionist tradition her entire life and has always referred to Derry as Londonderry. What is the big deal?? Can you honestly say that if you were a news commentator and you were commentating on a unionist sport that you wouldn't refer to the county as Derry? Would you use the term Londonderry just so that you wouldn't offend your unionist neighbours? People like you are so quick to take offence yet I guarantee you that you wouldn't conduct yourself any differently if you were in her position. You really need to just grow up.

Wally (National) - 30/01/2018 14:21:29

Disgraceful Scenes At Half Time - 8 Like(s)
I for one am absolutely disgusted at the scenes at half time in the all ireland final today. I actually feel physically sick just thinking about the behaviour of both Dublin and Mayo players involved. Something has to be done about this and the gas needs to throw the book needs at both counties. I don't think it is taking it too far to say that both counties should be expelled from next years championship. I hope that all hoganstand posters will row in behind me in an act of solidarity and consistency on these issues.

Wally (National) - 19/12/2020 20:52:53

MONEY - 8 Like(s)

Replying To traleegerry:  "Right all you real Gaa buffs. Can we have a serious discussion on the money Dublin Gaa receive I can accept that as per head of population there is nothing wrong with the amount they receive as every other county receives the same per head of population so no prob there. Where the problem lies is and being honest I will tell you what people think in our 32 county Gaa world they are asking them self's does the Dublin goal keeper S. C GET OUT OF BED EVERY MORNING AND GO TO HIS PLACE OF Work I. E a lecturer in DCU I think and give lectures. If the Dubs want to quash these constant jibes about money let some body come out yes he does go to his place of work and lecture and do let us the last time at the very when he did and the same applies to the rest of the Dublin squad or is it that the squad are being paid as full time professionals and do not go to work at all. That is what people think that is where the funds are going to keep these guys as full time pros for 6 months of the year. No other county can afford this so it it is not a level playing field for all. I have done my research here in kerry and have done some research in Cork as well and the majority of the players are going to work and training. Would some in Dublin clear it up and it will stop the snipping. Tell the truth and if you do not know research it and confirm what is true"
Well that made very little sense. Try using grammar checker before posting.

Wally (National) - 24/09/2019 11:06:37

RTE pundits - 7 Like(s)
http://m.bbc.co.uk/sport/northern-ireland/40079442 Just compare this insightful, measured and articulate analysis on BBC compared to the drivel we have to listen to on RTE. When are we going to get rid of Spillane and O'Rourke?

Wally (National) - 28/05/2017 17:36:03

Antrim hurling RIP - 7 Like(s)

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Antrim hurling has been dead and buried for years, today was just further confirmation. Seriously lads just give it up. You are not good enough nor mentally or physically strong enough. Stop wasting your time!"
Any wonder with supporters like you following them and coming out with comments like that. Telling your county to give up is just disgraceful.

Wally (National) - 10/06/2017 19:49:22

Londonderry - will they ever learn? - 7 Like(s)

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Some very ignorant comments from people who know nothing about the North, culture, identity and the one sided Unionist media here."
Would you ever get over yourself. It was a slip of the tongue and nothing more. Whats the big deal anyway. If they had of been commenting on a prominently unionist sport such as hockey and they referred to the county as Derry instead of Londonderry would you still have the same issue?..somehow i doubt it. I really cant understand why BBC even bothered apologising. Just another over the top reactiuon from the over sensitive PC brigade.

Wally (National) - 30/01/2018 13:38:05

AI Football Quarter-finals - 7 Like(s)
Yeah not every team can play two division 3 sides and get into the last 8.

Wally (National) - 06/07/2016 07:25:00

NFL Division 1 - 7 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "Mick O'Dowd?? Seriously?? Been there and it was a disaster . One of the nicest guys you could meet, but not a inter county manager. Andy has another 2 years. Also the most successful manager in Meath since Eamon O'Brien, promotion, super 8s. Andy will see out his time, as for the players issue? We do have have about 10 first team players missing and I'd say we have one of the youngest teams in div 1. Meath won't peak for another 3/4 years, until then we do the best we can."
It's always another 3-4 years isn't it. God help your naivety.

Wally (National) - 21/02/2020 14:28:19

Galway Football thread - 6 Like(s)

Replying To Belclare:  "Your username is spot on!"
Very original. You are quite the sharp cookie.

Wally (National) - 24/05/2023 13:29:54

Londonderry - will they ever learn? - 6 Like(s)
Offside_Rule and Ulsterman You talk about narrow mindless yet you cant see the hypocrisy of your statements. People like you are so stuck in your own little world of hate. Always ready to be offended by the slightest little comment. It is actually embarrassing that a topic like this is getting so much traction, primarily due to the comments from you two. I am very comfortable in my own skin, I am a Nationalist Irish man but I work with and am friends with loads of unionists and it doesn't bother me in the slightest if they refer to the northern state as 'Northern Ireland' or if they refer to Derry as 'Londonderry'. These are only words. It doesn't bother them if I discuss Gaelic football or general nationalist life in the work environment and I can speak openly about being from the 'north of Ireland'. Only once we get rid of blinkered dinosaurs like you from both sides of our community will we finally evolve into a mature and proper functioning society.

Wally (National) - 30/01/2018 15:12:59

Londonderry - will they ever learn? - 6 Like(s)

Replying To Ulsterman:  "The fact that you refer to a conflict where nearly 4000 people died as a 'bunfight' really DOES show your ignorance."
Exactly what does the conflict or troubles have to do with the current topic Ulsterman??

Wally (National) - 30/01/2018 15:14:47

Disgraceful Scenes At Half Time - 6 Like(s)
Watched the Sunday Game last night and as I thought the panel never even mentioned this incident. What was worse was that Joanne actually had a joke with Philly about it. Could you imagine an RTE presenter having a laugh with any other county player about them attacking an opponent in the tunnel on the way to the changing rooms!? RTE's bias holds no bounds.

Wally (National) - 20/12/2020 09:46:23

Tyrone for Sam 2017 - 6 Like(s)

Replying To IrishGael3:  "Depends if Rosary isn't part of their pre-game setup - if Tyrone lads have a strong faith then fair play - this will help bond them and I'm sure other counties have the same rituals."
I just wish our lads would keep this stuff to themselves. Like why even bring something like this up? Personally I don't think it is right. Lads could have various beliefs or none and they may feel pressured to partake in these rituals. It has no place within a sporting organisation.

Wally (National) - 19/07/2017 13:41:09

Cathal McShane Going To The AFL? - 6 Like(s)

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Wally I'm a volunteer at my club the same as you and a lot of other people, I help out so that my club might have a chance of winning a County championship someday or maybe an allireland god be good but Im not doing it so geelong can win an AFL title we've lost 1 serious player already with probably another to go in 6 _12 months, Why will you or I or anyone else want to keep on trucking volunteering with our clubs if this is what we have to look forward to?"
So you are saying the only reason you volunteer at your club is so that you can achieve success on the field? If I was you I would I would give it up. You are clearly not in it for the right reasons. I volunteer at my club because I want the young people in my local area to have a sense of community. I want them to be active and learn about teamwork and make friends and enjoy the games and culture which the GAA provide. If success on the field is a byproduct of this then all the better but it is definitely not the primary reason why I do it. If you are willing to give up volunteering because about 0.01% of the amateur playing population decide to avail of a lucrative professional career abroad then I think the GAA is better rid of you.

Wally (National) - 08/01/2020 08:56:12

Move To National Forum Only Model - 6 Like(s)
Not that bothered myself. Very rarely used the county forum. The Tyrone threads were barely commented on. I would have liked to discuss the club scene more but there just didnt seem to be much interest. Personally I think a lot of you guys need to get a life. Some of the comments on here are totally OTT. Talking about losing friendships, etc. Its an online forum for gods sake.

Wally (National) - 30/09/2021 20:57:19

Taking Dublin away - I was right! - 5 Like(s)
So is it the venue or the ref that is to blame for Dublin winning by 8points with 45min gone? Catch yourself on..Dublin have won what they have over the past ten years cause they were significantly better than all other teams in leinster during that time.

Wally (National) - 03/06/2017 20:29:15