Tyrone Forum

Popular Posts from GetOverTheBar

Media Mayo Mourning - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "This will make me as popular as a fart in bed but anyone else sick to death of the print and broadcasts l medias group orgy of sorrow and woe regarding Mayo?? Youd be forgiven for thinking Mayo were horsewhipped by the Gestapo ffs I have said my piece in here re my respect and admiration for Mayo and their fans but Jesus at this stage it's getting to famine esque levels of anguish in the media . Sorry lads"
Poor taste. Sorry.

GetOverTheBar (National) - 18/09/2017 21:42:00

Gooch on Tyrone - 4 Like(s)
Cooper has every right to give his views now he's retired IMO. It's no secret he was given a very rough ride by some of the antics of Tyrone in those games, but as he's said himself Tyrone were willing to do whatever it took back then, don't necessarily see that as an insult to Tyrone.

GetOverTheBar (National) - 02/10/2017 17:27:48

O Cinneide comments on 2005 AI Final - 4 Like(s)
Think this thread will turn into a bit of a fiasco to be honest, lets hope not. For what its worth I think O Cinneide's comments are probably right, Kerry should have certainly done something to 'even the score' that day, or maybe even have started it off the bat to show they weren't going to be 'bullied' for want of a better word, a la Kennedlly hit in the AI Final. Tyrone leant on the players they knew the could and were allowed to. However I think that particular Tyrone team at that time would have loved that - they were too battled hardened, not sure that it would have affected too many of the Tyrone players on the pitch that day.

GetOverTheBar (National) - 22/03/2017 20:49:43

Jim McGuinness & Mayo game plan - 3 Like(s)
Jim is a trained sports psychologist.....nothing to see here.

GetOverTheBar (National) - 17/09/2016 11:40:37

Ballyragget - 3 Like(s)
Time to lock this one up. It's all over, something about nothing. Everyone makes mistakes, it got out of hand but thankfully nobody was hurt and no lasting damage, except to a bit of pride and maybe some girlfriends.

GetOverTheBar (National) - 03/11/2017 10:28:44

Karl Lacey retires - 3 Like(s)

Replying To ruanua:  "Wishing Karl Lacey the best in retirement Donegals most decorated footballer with 4 all stars and a POTY award Karl had won 3 all stars prior to 2012 which is remarkable considering the teams he played in won just one provincial title in that period Prior to 2010 he was the best man marker in the game - always tasked with man marking the opposition key attacking threat - evolved into a key playmaker at CHB dynamically shifting play to attack whilst marshalling the defence formation What stood out for me was his footballing Brain - always in the right place and always taking the right option in possession. Calmness personified whilst having a habit of picking off scores at key moments in the game. Abiding memories his winning point v Kerry and delivery to Murphy v mayo. One of and argueably Donegals greatest Karl - All the best with family life and retirement"
+1 Wonderful player and seemed a very decent man too.

GetOverTheBar (National) - 31/08/2017 20:17:20

Philly McMahon's half time talk. - 2 Like(s)
Can't help but be impressed by this fellow, fair play to him.

GetOverTheBar (National) - 30/05/2016 19:46:51

Tyrone for Sam 2016 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To IrishGael3:  "I'd love to know what "the usual tactics on MM" means - I wish people would not use acronyms assuming we all know what they mean. However I'm sure its not too complimentary but I hope Donegal or Tyrone people don't start this negative slagging against each other prior to game - lets keep it positive to what will be game of the championship so far. As its a Donegal man who posted this, if I were you I would hope your manager instils some discipline on your team - when is the last time you finished with 15 players on the pitch - Tyrone's fast moving style will totally get under your skin and I can see some dodgy tackles and cards. As with Tyrone they really need a free taker - they will get frees against Donegal and in a tight game they need to score them."
Everyone knows Tyrone have, in the past singled Michael Murphy out for 'special treatment'. Justin McMahon will probably go on him again and probably get involved in some hard hitting both fair and foul. It's the truth, I don't see why anyone would try and deny obvious tactics.

GetOverTheBar (National) - 04/07/2016 12:42:15

Jimmy McGuinness. An Overrated manager? - 2 Like(s)
As someone who was at the game in Crossmaglen the year before McGuinness took over, and from what is a rival county. I find that question offensive. What McGuinness did, like it (methods) or not was one of the greatest turn arounds in any sport, from any team. Essentially it's like saying, at the moment - no offense to the county mentioned, but I feel they are at a similar low ebb right now. Armagh going on to win the All Ireland in the next two years. Completely ludicrious, but that's what Donegal did.

GetOverTheBar (National) - 15/07/2016 11:46:10

Meath taking on Dublin subs...... - 2 Like(s)
Nobody is likely to be too bothered to be honest, especially when Dublin clubs actively go around doing something similar. Meath people will know more about their own county than us, but any player that is eligible and can improve, why would you not take a look at them. Anything that gives the county that bit extra, sure, go for it.

GetOverTheBar (National) - 22/12/2016 13:40:30

Cavan v Tyrone - 2 Like(s)
Don't know why people are disputing the goals to be honest, Cavan struck them well - the third I thought was incredibly well worked and tricky - Tyrone were expecting the hail mary in but Mackay (correct me if wrong) played in a wonderful little dinked pass that seemed to catch maybe 4/5 Tyrone players cold and by time everyone copped on the ball was in the back of the net. I wouldn't blame Mickey O'Neill at all, to me - the ball should never be allowed to get in that close in the dying moments, but again - credit to Cavan for that. I thought at 3 points up into injury time Tyrone should "have seen it out"...by that we all know what I mean. Tyrone can't complain one bit - you can't ship 3 goals in any game and be anything but thankful you are still in the tie. I do think Tyrone will see them out second time of asking and you'll probably see Justin/Joe McMahon or one of the taller defenders come back in for that one as the secret is out, Tyrone aren't equipped to deal with the long pass in. Great game in poor conditions though - Did Tyrone take Cavan a bit lightly? Certainly looked like it in the first 20 minutes. Cavan look like a team on the edge of making that mental breakthrough...but they'll have to do it the hard way in a fortnights time.

GetOverTheBar (National) - 20/06/2016 16:30:21

Is Rochford Calling The Shots - 2 Like(s)

Replying To keithlemon:  "Well you only have to go back to the goalkeeper decision in the All Ireland final replay last year. Did he make that decision or was that forced on him by the players?"
I'd bet my money on that being Rochford's decision, to me I don't see the problem - as a previous poster said he's got the balls to back his own decisions and that alone gets him my respect too. Nobody really knows the full story on that one. I think Rochford would walk if any of that carry on was really going on. Mayo are just the easy media target in my opinion - slow week? Sure Mayo will fill up that page.

GetOverTheBar (National) - 21/08/2017 11:50:55

Connelly/Holmes - 1 Like(s)
Bit of a mess this one alright lads. The ex managers have every right to say how they feel, the timing is....strange though to say the least. But surely the players had to expect this somewhere down the line and they've not spared the public any guessing about the group behind it all either. The easy thing is to be negative, obviously bad press sells so this is great stuff for the media. The players and current management need to make this into a positive going into the new year, if they don't it could get even messier. I've a great affection for Mayo GAA and fella's like Andy Moran would have been people I looked up to myself, it's not nice to hear this stuff coming out but that's where it's at - it needs to be taken forward in a positive manner, these are a group of players extremely determined - is this what goes up in the dressing room walls for months to finally drive them over the line? Who knows.

GetOverTheBar (National) - 19/12/2016 17:26:23

Donegal v Tyrone - 1 Like(s)
Very surprised the bookies have Donegal at 2/1 for this game considering recent history between the two teams. I'll be taking a look at that personally, think it's a great price for a Donegal side I see as more battle hardened. Not really sure what the arguments about which player would get into which side prove lads, surely the discussion should be about matchups and who will get the better of who? Really interested to see what Gallagher does with Michael Murphy in this game considering the way C.Cavanagh will largely ignore play in order to get back into the 'defensive d' when Tyrone are defending. I'd posted on this thread earlier that I expect Justin McMahon to come in to mark him, but the more I think of that, Rory Gallagher will obviously know more about football than me - surely he'll look to avoid a potential 'double team' from Cavanagh/McMahon on Murphy and keep him out around the middle? Can't wait for the game - matchups are key, agree with previous posts on it being a defensive hard hitting game - but sure that's what everyone wants, a war.

GetOverTheBar (National) - 14/07/2016 14:11:53

Harte can't see Mayo winning the AI - 1 Like(s)

Replying To ZeitChrist:  "For some reason, I think it'll suit Mayo down to the ground to go into a final as serious underdogs. A written off Mayo team is a dangerous proposition, as Mickey Harte found out himself. As I've said before, you don't need to play every match like Dublin to win an All-Ireland. You just need to have one big match when it matters. Mayo have played stylish, exciting football in the past and come up short. They now look like they're sick of moral victories and looking good while losing. They're learning the value of winning ugly and by any means possible. I kinda fancy them to go all the way."
Exactly this, Mayo haven't played their big match yet. I was very impressed with how they saw Tyrone out - albeit, they nearly managed to end up drawing it with some dodgy choices during the keep ball phase. The reason I posted the thread was because it seems like sour grapes from Harte from me, sure I admire the honesty and it's refreshing to an extent but had Tyrone beaten Mayo (and then Tipp!) would he say he couldn't see Tyrone winning an AI?

GetOverTheBar (National) - 26/08/2016 09:41:06

Mickey Harte on how they would have faired against Dublin - 1 Like(s)

Replying To The_Fridge:  "From the Tyrone forum it's clear from your posts that you have an agenda against MH. It's clear to see. Any chance to stick the boot in you do. I'm not going to waste my time arguing with you because I know that's what you want. Probably best to leave it at that. Merry Christmas too you."
I've no agenda against anyone but nor is Mickey Harte beyond critique just as a point of conversation. So put the toys back in pram. My only 'agenda' has ever been the county board v club fixtures which as a player, I feel I have every right to voice my opinon. Mickey Harte obviously has a say in that, but so too does Roisin Jordan and other names. Feel free to find any post where I've shown this supposed agenda v Mickey Harte or any single Tyrone player. I've stated there are good players not in the county panel - do you consider this 'outrageous'? How dare I suggest someone might be a decent player - does only Mickey Harte have an acceptable opinon? My post in this thread is there for discussion if you wish. Tyrone faded against Mayo (when Mayo got stuck into them). I don't think anyone can argue with that. Perhaps Tyrone could have sneaked the draw but they were never winning that game once Cavanagh saw the line. I don't think I'm being harsh on Tyrone. The red card is a matter of opinons, maybe it was, maybe it wasn't....but it happened. As for Dublin, Tyrone didn't earn the right to play the Dubs (or Tipperary). Do I think they would have beat them? No....I'll even give you a reason why. I consider Dublin the best team I've ever seen - to beat them you need to do absolutely everything correct - to beat them you need to outscore them, Tyrone do not have a regular accurate Dean Rock who will punish every foul which Dublin (as every top team) knows. You can foul Tyrone players anywhere in and around the opposition 45 and the county is unable to punish, even the biggest Tyrone fan would accept this. So I don't see how you can beat Dublin 15 v 15 with free takers who cannot punish every single mistake like Dublin would. I can see why you think Tyrone would give Dublin a game, athletic and vibrant and everyone of them could probably cover 70 metres in Olympic time - they are all even winners at senior and underage level now. But Tyrone lack targets in their scoring area, a lot of the county forwards are the same ilk of player. Dublin can afford to drop one of the greatest players of his generation, Bernard Brogan for god sake. We will see who is correct next year should they meet in the white heat of battle.

GetOverTheBar (National) - 26/12/2016 08:58:43

All Stars - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Torcaill:  "Mayos Durkan is very unlucky not to get one."
Thought he was nailed on myself to be honest.

GetOverTheBar (National) - 03/11/2016 10:37:05

Eamon McGee - True Gael! - 1 Like(s)
How the media presented McGee - and how he really is, i.e. his twitter account are staggering. He's been some servant for Donegal - I'd say him and the brother have influenced a serious amount of young lads in Donegal we haven't heard of yet to come through the ranks. I've always liked both McGee's, they hit hard and get it back and then it's over at the whistle, I admire that type of player - I hope he enjoys intercounty retirement, saying that, I'm sure Eamon knows how to enjoy himself alright as mentioned above!!

GetOverTheBar (National) - 09/08/2016 10:23:12

Dublin v Tyrone Semi-Final - 1 Like(s)
Dublin to win by 3/4 after a serious effort from Tyrone. Personally think Tyrone bench is incomparable to Dublin and that could really be that. If the weather is rough on Sunday though I could be forced into a rethink, Tyrone will need lots to go right for them - poor conditions (in my opinion) favor Tyrone than Dublin.

GetOverTheBar (National) - 24/08/2017 12:34:54

Football Player of the Year 2016 - 1 Like(s)
Bar a masterclass by another Dub or Mayo winning the final, has to be Kev Mc doesnt it? As stated earlier in the thread - class act, no sulking - to be honest I couldn't even recognise his voice if it was played now. A great player to watch and I'm sure the Dubs love him for his attitude.

GetOverTheBar (National) - 15/09/2016 18:06:32