Sligo Forum

Popular Posts from pointman2007

Sligo 2019 - 2 Like(s)
Any word on whether the rest of Sligo's home games be played in Connolly Park? After everything running so smoothly last week, the club deserves to be guranteed the rest of the league games.

pointman2007 (Sligo) - 08/02/2019 15:22:23

The positive Sligo GAA thread - 2 Like(s)
Massive congrats to the owenmore gaels u14 feile team winning a national title, beating a Kerry team in the final. A proud day for the club.

pointman2007 (Sligo) - 01/07/2018 21:18:12

The positive Sligo GAA thread - 2 Like(s)
It's a disgrace what is happening to our minors. After a wonderul round robin campaign (losing only to Galway) and finishing second in the group. They are forced to play their semi-final away to Mayo who finished 3rd on 4 pts. What is worse, when they fixtures were set out in early May it clearly states that the runners up of the group will have home advantage vs the 3rd place finishers. Typical Connacht GAA are suiting themselves and the big counties, one wonders what would have happened if Mayo came 2nd and Sligo 3rd? It's time for our CB and Connnacht delegates to step up, this is unacceptable and not good enough and unfair on our young players! Our CB are well able to be the bully boys in our county when it suits them, let's see them actually do something to help our own county and stand up to the big boys in Connacht.

pointman2007 (Sligo) - 25/06/2019 15:07:07

Sligo 2019 - 2 Like(s)
Its clear this season has been a disaster and there is certain factors that were beyond Taylor's control such as the losing of so many players. But it was clear from the get go he was not the best man for the job, no previous experience as a club manager, not even going for the job in the first place, to name but a few. Then you have other players not committing because of him and other such issues. We in Sligo are not blessed with 40+ intercounty standard players, we need every player committing to the county as much as possible, I acknowledge that every player cannot commit for a plethora of reasons but the drop off this year was no coincidence. Another problem was the game plan, was there a clear game plan? In the first half against Galway we defended very well, frustrated them and worked as a unit but then for the Offaley game according to reports we abandoned this system and they get in for 2 early goals and we're facing an uphill battle well before HT, surely the sensible thing to do was to build on the first half display against Galway and work it from there, be in the game at HT and review the plan/system then. It's clear Taylor will not be stepping down, we have a new CB (well for the most part) from the one that appointed him and the onus is now on them to do the right thing and relieve him of his duties. The question then is where do you go from there? It's quite obvious we still do not have the funds for a high profile outside man (Fergal O'Donnell, Malachy O'Rourke etc) there's not too many local candidates pulling up trees, apart from the obvious and Brendan Leonard will know O'Hara, his regime and whether he is up to the task better than most. Or are we yet again back to the outside candidate with no managerial experience but is married to Kieran McGeeneys wifes first cousin's cat, in the ilk of Corey and Carew. A lot of questions remain unanswered

pointman2007 (Sligo) - 25/06/2019 15:24:46

Sligo 2019 - 2 Like(s)
Embarrassing beyond belief the only team in the country to have 0 points. Clealry lacking a game plan or any cohesion, players being chopped and changed, not being given a chance to gel. Management look clueless. We all knew this was a costing cutting appointment but it has come at a very expensive price, this season could knock us back for years, some good players coming true but haven't been given the correct platform to flourish and settle into the team. Taylor has to be let go before Galway, give another man a chance to put a proper plan in place for it and the qualifiers and can plan for next season. On and off the field problems for the CB at the moment

pointman2007 (Sligo) - 24/03/2019 19:27:02

Club Championships 2018 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To ChasingShadows:  "They seem to be allergic to having any double headers at all, determined to squeeze as much money as they can out of supporters. As bad as not having the senior semis as a double header is, the following weekend it's worse - the junior final is on in Cloonacool and the intermediate afterwards in Bunninadden. A joke."
I'm sure it's just purely coincidence that the clubs with members high up on CB or CCC are getting these games! surely a double header in Tubber with Junior & Intermediate final would have been a viable option. I see other counties like Tipp are running a great initiative of selling a weekend pass to all club championship games for €20, can't ever see our own CB doing something like that.

pointman2007 (Sligo) - 26/09/2018 12:21:47

NFL 2018 Division 3 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To eoinog:  "When we had one foot in Division 4 and all seemed lost we showed the character and balls that was needed. An excellent example of a captain leading the way. The down side is that we will be in the same boat next year clinging for survival as we unearthed no talent except Liam Gaughan... Mikey Gordon, Eddie MC Guinness, Luke Nicholson, Darragh Cummins, Sean Carrabine were all tried and they are not at the required level yet. Both our corner backs have given sterling service but reastically their race is run.We need to win at u.17 or at school level. In Croke Park in 2 week's time Mayo teams will be in both the A and B All Ireland P.P.S competition. How we would love to be there with some of our schools."
Surely your having a laugh?? carabine turned the game when he came on yesterday. Paddy O'Connor still only 19, Breheny and McDonnell 22, not to mention Kyle Cawley and Gaughan. The future is bright. This guys are all yet to still hit their prime, Murphy included too. It was some of the old guard that were disappointing yesterday and we relied on the young fellas to carry them through.

pointman2007 (Sligo) - 26/03/2018 17:31:50

Meath in the Qualifiers - 1 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "Graham Reilly is one of the hardest players to man mark in the game. However if you can do It successfully like Kildare did, then.Meath become a very different opponent."
A class act alright, surely he's getting on a bit now though? I think we have just the man in Daniel Maye to quiten him though could be difference in winning and losing the game.

pointman2007 (Sligo) - 29/06/2017 17:30:26

Club Season 2017 - 1 Like(s)
It's a complete joke at one venue a couple of weeks back the admission was 10, I only had 8 on me but I told them at the gate I was only going to the first game as I had to take part in officiating at another game at another venue. Under no circumstances would they let me which meant I had to go and get money and come back 15 minutes later to get in, so I ended paying €10 to watch 45 minutes of unbelievably one sided football. And people are wondering why attendances are low??

pointman2007 (Sligo) - 29/08/2017 20:53:29

The positive Sligo GAA thread - 1 Like(s)
Also well done to the sligo lads who qualified for the all Ireland freshers final with dcu

pointman2007 (Sligo) - 16/03/2018 15:08:09

Galway V Sligo - Salthill June 3Rd - 1 Like(s)
So you're giving out to us for being realistic and not all believing in the fantasy sligo football world youre clearly in sligonian?. Lets face facts here no warm up in the world would big or small would have resulted in that match being close, Galway are streets ahead of sligo. A team that was in the top two in the country during the league and a team staying in division 3 by the skin of their teeth the facts dont lie What is your obsession with Fergal O Donnell? There has been numerous roscommon posters on here who have previously given an honest opinion on him and it wasnt all pretty. Any consequence on the roscommon team being so successful since he walked out in them? That connaught title in 2010 was a complete fluke we all now sligo left it behind them that day. To what extent were you involved in sligo football? because id be very worried for the future of sligo football, if you were in a position of responsibility given your lack of knowledge and inept tactics that you have frequently showcased on this forum. We just dont have the players, lots of great servants on the panel but there has beens and have to go, worryingly not enough quality coming through to replace them. I think we urgently need a local man, too many times an outsider has come in, given poor advice and have failed dramatically.

pointman2007 (Sligo) - 14/06/2018 18:07:53

Club Championships 2018 - 1 Like(s)

Replying To shorona:  "Anybody know what age level is the connaught minor championship? I would assume U-17? Does this mean the older lads in the Molaise and Tourlestrane teams will be ineligble?"
Connacht club is u18

pointman2007 (Sligo) - 23/10/2018 18:18:38

Club Championships 2018 - 1 Like(s)
Coming to the business end of the season now. Big win for Curry in the Intermediate against a fancied Castleconor, will be expecting SG to join them in the final, Ennsicrone have had a good year, exceeding expectation but the 2 games with Ballymote including injury time will have taking its toll on them so fancy SG by 4. It's a huge advantage to both teams getting acclimatized with the Bunninadden pitch as the final is down for there too. I think it's a disgrace that a county final will be played on that pitch, one of the worst pitches in the county IMO. It's a shame that the senior semi-finals isn't a double header in Collooney, it would have been a great occasion and while it is still technically possible to take in both games, I don' think many if any will bomb up the N17 to the second game. As good as Coolera were against St.Mary's, getting their match ups spot on and playing as a team. I think Tour will have too much experience and class for them expecting a good game but tour to win with 3 to spare. In the other the semi, I think this could be a cracking game, two sides who knew each other very well, Tubber will be favorites, but I think the long lay off may work against them and I fancy C/MUL to pull off a shock and sneak the win. In the Junior, Easky are looking impressive.

pointman2007 (Sligo) - 26/09/2018 10:02:47

New Sligo Manager - 1 Like(s)
Why didn't he come out and just gives us the real reasons? Hearing strong rumours of player driven or else he is eyeing up another job.
The Co.board really need to deliver now there's a lot of pressure on the them.
Rory Gallagher, Pete McGrath and Banty could all be candidates. I'd like to see us go big and approach someone like James Horan. I don't think the O'Hara/McGowan syndicate is ready just yet, no other creditable local candidates spring to mind

pointman2007 (Sligo) - 07/09/2017 12:48:45

Sligo 2019 - 1 Like(s)
Lads we don't have the cash for any outside manager of any quality. They'll give it to Taylor again, he's nice and cheap. They couldn't care less about the on field disaster, his demands are nice and low resources/financially wise.

pointman2007 (Sligo) - 06/08/2019 23:55:36

Galway V Sligo - Salthill June 3Rd - 1 Like(s)
An awful lot of rubbish being put up here. Galway are streets a head of us at the moment, a good performance is all we can hope for you and hopefully that will give us momentum going into the qualifers. We will struggle at midfield, was very impressed with Duggan on Sunday. The only man to mark Comer is McDonnell and he'll probably be in MF. Can see walsh et al running riot. Hopefully we can put in a good performance and give a good account of ourselves, if the rumours about Coen are true then he'll be a huge loss. Cawley IMO has failed to live up the hype that has surrounded him the last number of years, the game v mayo last year springs to mind when he was a spectator, in the absence of coen he has to deliver. Breheny has to start, any word if Kiwi will be fit?

pointman2007 (Sligo) - 15/05/2018 22:38:33

Club Season 2017 - 1 Like(s)

Replying To shorona:  "Gents? Very presumptuous in the year 2017!!"
My sincere apologies shorona, a mere slip of the online tongue! Thoughts for the weekend, some intriguing games at both senior and intermediate level

pointman2007 (Sligo) - 15/08/2017 14:23:41

New Sligo Manager - 1 Like(s)
Have to agree with sligonian an absolute disrace what happened to John's especially the way they found that it was moved, funny enough if it was the senior champions I couldn't imagine it happening. Heard taffe on the radio saying all county grounds were unplayable although he left out Collooney which has hosted fbd games in the past and various schools connacht and all Ireland finals, especially with the new stand it would have been the ideal venue. As regards to the new manager, alarm bells start ringing immediately no previous county experience has been on the periphery of management teams in the past but surely if mcguinness valued him he would have become part of his Donegal set-up reminds me a lot of the carew appointment. Unfortunately I feel as if funds or a lack of them has dictated this appointment. I hope I'm wrong and he can bring the squad together, this is a squad which had to go through the turmoil of carew signing a new contract without contacting the players and only resigning after a player upheaval surely there will be a split in the camp after that. Be interesting to see what faces come in and are deemed surplus to requirements.

pointman2007 (Sligo) - 24/10/2017 21:21:15

The positive Sligo GAA thread - 1 Like(s)
Great win as right, considering Lancashire bet them well in the league and the pitch they played on was far from ideal. Great to see lots of young lads coming through and playing yesterday. Also great to see gerry o kelly lynch playing the 2 codes and some say the dual days are over!

pointman2007 (Sligo) - 20/05/2018 11:51:54