Sligo Forum

Popular Posts from NewSligofan

Meath v Sligo - 2 Like(s)
Sligo won't be playing with a blanket defence. They may have played very deep against Mayo due to the fact they are the All-Ireland finalists and also because of the result in 2015. They play a formation similar to Kildare. The wing fowards work very hard up and down the lines. 2 forwards hold the half forward line with 2 lads inside. Meath are a division 2 team and Sligo will not fear them. Give Sligo room then Marren and Hughes will have a field day.

NewSligofan (Meath) - 21/06/2017 14:42:41

Club Championships 2019 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To westsligoawakes:  "What a load of rubbish. They are the exactly what we all want to be as a club. Well run with good underage structures. As a man from a rural club also, it's good to see a club like Tourlestrane prosper. Gives us all some hope"
Agreed. It is all about bringing through 1 or 2 players in to their senior panel each year. No worries about winning trophies or going off amalgamating with other clubs at underage. Themselves, Castleconnor and Curry are the 3 clubs I admire most I'm this county. No feeling sorry for themselves as small clubs. Minor 'A' finals were on this weekend. 7 clubs involved. Says it all really.

NewSligofan (Sligo) - 07/10/2019 10:49:21

Under 20'S - 1 Like(s)
I didn't make the game but I seen McMunn had the panel up on his Twitter page. A lot of names I've never heard of before. Big turnover of players from the 2017 minor name. I see Cummins has brought in Colm McGees backroom team from the Attracta's set up. Very interesting to see.

NewSligofan (Sligo) - 23/05/2019 22:07:49

The positive Sligo GAA thread - 1 Like(s)
Red Og Murphy. Another reason to be positive.

NewSligofan (Sligo) - 28/10/2017 10:45:50

Master Calendar 2020 - 1 Like(s)
Loads of silly talk before the matches. None then after the games. Tells a lot about some off ye.

NewSligofan (Sligo) - 22/09/2020 13:00:43

New Club Managers - 1 Like(s)

Replying To eoinog:  "The best team in the county would be close to 15k. Some junior team's are giving over 5 k.. Awful waste of money. Imagine if that money was put into facilities within the club. Tourlestrane have done exceptional over the last few years but when you see their facilities you realise that the success on the playing fields costs a lot of money as their facilities are poor."
That's a laughable comment about Tourlestranes facilities! You are obviously a townie.

NewSligofan (Sligo) - 15/01/2020 15:31:06

Sligo 2020 - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Sligoandkerry:  "The major GAA areas in Sligo would include the likes of tourlestrane, drumcliffe Rosses point, shamrock gaels, calry st Joseph's , and although they're in town st Mary's have a good success."
Drumcliffe and Calry?

NewSligofan (Sligo) - 27/02/2020 19:16:36

Club Championships 2018 - 1 Like(s)
Why in the name of god can we not have a double header for the Senior semi-finals?

NewSligofan (Sligo) - 19/09/2018 21:41:02

Sligo 2019 - 1 Like(s)

Replying To eoinog:  "Are you just playing 14 a side or will Galway play with 15"
Apologies. Hughes as well

NewSligofan (Sligo) - 13/05/2019 18:19:44

Qualifiers - 1 Like(s)
Question for the anti-Carew brigade, is there any Club Footballers in the County that should be on the 2017 County panel?

NewSligofan (Sligo) - 21/06/2017 13:06:18

Club Championships 2018 - 1 Like(s)

Replying To shorona:  "Anybody know what age level is the connaught minor championship? I would assume U-17? Does this mean the older lads in the Molaise and Tourlestrane teams will be ineligble?"
U18

NewSligofan (Sligo) - 23/10/2018 18:33:02

U17s - 1 Like(s)

Replying To NewSligofan:  "I don't blame the players. I believe we have a panel to be competitive. Time and time again the wrong people are getting control of the teams."
I mean I don't blame the panel of players. I'd run the lads who went to sea sessions.

NewSligofan (Sligo) - 05/07/2018 11:53:07

Master Calendar 2020 - 1 Like(s)
Tourlestrane had better teams in the last 20 years. The also had good opposition back then too. Fair play on their achievements and they are a good panel but the quality in Sligo is so poor.

NewSligofan (Sligo) - 09/09/2020 16:59:37

What harm if Sligonian is thinking outside the box? Not enough people like this in our County. Rich Dublin I must say I agree with you with regards coaching. We have some fine young coaches coming through here in Sligo. Higgins being a brilliant one in Shamrock Gaels and Sligo u16s. Then out west you've O'Connor from Farnans who was with the minors. Attractas have a very good management team with McGee, Henry and McDonagh. In the North you have young Waters from Molaise and Summerhill. All these are under 30. Question, are the County Board doing anything to upskill these lads even more? We keep talking about developing our players more in the underage teams. Is the same happening with our brilliant young Coaches

NewSligofan (Sligo) - 09/11/2017 19:17:19

Minors 2017 - 1 Like(s)

Replying To eoinog:  "We are in a Connacht Minor final. If Leitrim had brought their shooting boots it would be a different story. No idea what goes on at Dev squads cos this was a terrible game. Neither team can give a kick pass . Game was riddled with basic errors. We withdrew our half forward line so far that there was often a 70 metre gap between midfield and our 2 man full forward line. Awesome goal from Evan Lavin. Doubtful if a better goal was ever scored in Markievicz Park"
You'd swear we were playing a Kerry or Dublin in the first half with the defensive set up. Lads seemed to have stage fright. I can't understand how there isn't more St Attractas lads in the panel. It was the same in the u17 game a few weeks back. I notice there wasn't a South Sligo selector on either team. Very strange.

NewSligofan (Sligo) - 29/06/2017 01:07:24

Marren/Connolly - 1 Like(s)
A well known Sligo historian tells me he scored 25-371 in 136 competitive matches for Sligo. That is some record. He owes our county nothing.

NewSligofan (Sligo) - 02/10/2020 10:30:29

Armagh - 1 Like(s)

Replying To eoinog:  "Good to have a home game. Hopefully Mgt will throw caution to the wind and blood a few new player's."
Like who?

NewSligofan (Sligo) - 11/06/2018 12:16:38

It's the third A league final in a row for Attractas. Amazing stat

NewSligofan (Sligo) - 06/12/2017 22:31:48

Sligo 2019 - 1 Like(s)
I heard a few good yarns about the Junior Set up. The best is they named a player on the bench who can't even play as he's too young. The manager has just picked his club players really. Farce. Regards the senior game. Don't expect the team to line out as selected. It will be closer to the team I posted earlier. The handicap is -9. I feel we will beat this and come out of the game with lots of positives.

NewSligofan (Sligo) - 18/05/2019 12:33:15

Under 20'S - 1 Like(s)
I was leaving Salthill today and I overheard a man say it's ok we've Red Og coming through. He's a good one but he should be left alone and enjoy himself

NewSligofan (Sligo) - 03/06/2018 22:53:00