Sligo Forum

Popular Posts from Sligonian

Sligo GAA thread - 3 Like(s)
Rest in peace Red Og, thanks for the memories. My heart goes out to his family and friends, the Curry and Sligo community. Still so hard to comprehend, so tragic and heartbreaking. Just two weeks I was so happy to see him named in the Sigerson team of the year. He would always come up in conversations about the future of Sligo GAA as a beacon of hope. From all the tributes he was much more than a footballer to those that knew him best, a gentle soul. As Eoinog says hopefully, anyone else out there suffering in a dark place will reach out and get the help they need. It's ok not to feel ok. It cant be easy for any of the Sligo GAA teams to play over the next few weeks or past week, no matter what happens we are proud of you all and we are all with you always.

Sligonian (National) - 08/04/2022 18:45:43

Sligo GAA thread - 3 Like(s)
Roscommon lads, calm down, it was one post and it wouldn't be shared by most Sligo fans. Hyde is probably the venue in Connacht I have been to most and would have a lot of time for Town, the ground and people of Roscommon. We have plenty of great memories from there. Easy to get to, for the North Sligo folk as we always take the Roosky Lanesborough route and avoid all the traffic. Last years game was a bit strange given we were down to 14 men so early and I don't think that will have any bearing this year. Roscommon have improved since then imo and were very impressive against Dublin. For our team its all about being competitive and learning the lessons as we continue to develop.

Sligonian (National) - 02/06/2023 16:31:43

Sligo 2019 - 3 Like(s)
Taylor Resign please, your not the source of our issues but you are a symptom of the choices of an incompetent county board. Given the results which show to me a lack of learning or progress, conceding 3-17 today to Offaly, not a div2 side, a side that's struggled to stay in div 3 is unacceptable. The worst year in a long time if ever for our Seniors. We are in danger of throwing away all the good work at underage if Taylor stays.

Sligonian (Sligo) - 23/06/2019 15:50:51

Sligo 2019 - 2 Like(s)
Where do you start with this 2019. So far it's been the disaster we feared. Does anyone see any sign of us learning? Is anyone surprised? When Taylor was selected as Manager I feel our fate was sealed. I do rate Joe Keane and he will do his best to have our players believing on Sunday but will they. Can you trust this group to believe they can do anything? I don't believe they do and you will see it early on in our expression on the field. I heard Taylor is the king of mixed messages and listening to his ocean fm its clear to see why. He contradicts himself a lot and talks a lot of waffle. He said morale is great in the camp and a minute later well sure of course losing creates low morale. He will be telling the players Galway isn't that great after watching London but does he really believe the same Galway will turn up against us. Galway didn't show their hand against London, they'll try to hold a little bit back against us too but ever since 2015 Connacht final where mayo showed our naivety and lack of pace in defending, time and again teams have got 4/5 goals against us. Louth this year, Offaly missed 4 or 5 goal chances, are we learning? Sligo defenders don't track the runs from deep, through laziness or lack of pace, lack of defensive skills, overrunning the runners, diving in etc... expect to see more of this on Sunday. Any chance we stand the runners up and use our bodies to slow them down then choke with 2 or 3 defenders coming in. At the weekend I watched the u21 Connacht final, the 2 Connacht minor finals and Derry qtr final from 2015 and 2017 and it's shocking how little has filtered through. Kyle Cawley is a huge loss. If Taylor wasn't manager would he play, the county board messed up too. Tommy Breheny said a 6pt loss would be a success, at home in Markievicz, I agree with him sadly. That's the level of belief in this setup and team. Austin O Callaghan who has massively improved the sports coverage said a lot of fans have a go at him for giving Taylor such an easy ride, free pass, no critical analysis, he put that to Breheny, and Breheny said he got a lot more hassle when he was winning, than Taylor losing. He did say he was entitled to time and its a big step up from managing nothing but CB ensured to dampen any criticism of their poor decisions. I can imagine Keane has torn his hair out comparing this to Mayo getting to All Ireland finals. Taylor is a popular guy, maybe but he is not a good manager. The county deserves better, the players deserve better, and the fans deserve better. There's not much pride in Sligo at the minute. There's a reason our best players are leaving and not committing. With the game in Markievicz, it will be interesting to see what kind of performance we get. If we haven't learned a defensive strategy yet that allows so many easy goal chances we are in trouble. Will pride be restored in the jersey. Taylor will tell the players there's no pressure on them, well actually there is, your in Markievicz and there will be no hiding place from the locals and Galway still have the potential without conroy and comer to massacre us. I just want us to give a massive performance, show courage, show we are learning how to slow teams down and defend properly. If I see the Galway players prancing through the middle of our defence without a finger being laid on them I will be disappointed. For what it is worth best of luck. Sport has a habit of surprising us, this will be a huge one if we do it. Anything is possible. Sligeach abu.

Sligonian (Sligo) - 14/05/2019 06:35:16

Sligo GAA thread - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Drax_the_destroyer:  "McEntee comments after the game was odd in regards to the current Sligo U20s. "I don't know if those players are good or bad as I have seen them" Surely any senior manager should be keeping a close eye of their U20s to see what's coming through? And 11 of the current starters played in last years All-Ireland final did he not watch that either."
In fairness, McEntee was at the u20 final last year for sure and he probably can't attend the midweek matches. I have never felt he was very interested in the u20s but his tone has actually changed towards them from listening to him. When he mentioned Canice, he said it doesn't matter what age you are, when you are ready, you are ready. In previous years he would deflect and say they're not ready all time. McEntee may be stubborn and a slow learner but he at least he does eventually learn. He is still making mistakes on team selection and Leitrim were never going to expose that yesterday but hopefully he can get it right against Galway because they will. The biggest thing will hopefully the players will have learned from last year and the level required. I'd like to see Mark Walsh get more minutes would be a good starting point. 4,111 was the attendance yesterday which is very poor.

Sligonian (National) - 08/04/2024 16:06:00

Sligo 2019 - 2 Like(s)
Don't post the result lads, ye might offend Eoinog, the players, management and county board. And when you read my post from before the game ask yourself this how in the hell does someone 6000 miles away know more about player positions and our weaknesses than current management. Louth had us figured out halfway through the first half (not hard), we were 6-3 up then at HT we were 3-8 to 0-8 down, they brought on Duffy, they scored a goal straight from sideline in 2nd half, how is that even possible, just shambolic. For CB now is Taylor viable for now never mind 2020. Our CB managerial selections have been a disaster. This is Leonard's first test as chairman. They should apologise to every fan who made that journey today I know I would.

Sligonian (Sligo) - 24/02/2019 16:47:53

Sligo GAA thread - 1 Like(s)
Great win for Summerhill, congrats to all involved. Mark Breheny stock continues to rise as a manager and Bree as a coach. The first half especially was impressive as they regained control after the early goal and dominated. Second half the cheap turnovers brought them into it but Summerhill finished strong after the great individual goal by Niland. Awesome resilience and mental strength. Great feeling to see a Sligo team in the A final but no good just getting there. If we can keep up the 1st half performance for the full 60mins we can do it. Omagh look very good and have the potential to hammer a team but weren't put under pressure today. They remind me of Claregalway so if Summerhill stay with them I could see them getting nervous. Unfortunately I am not sure how St Attractas didn't win when we had big leads but then showed unreal character to get both to ET and pens. Strange game and tough on those lads. I feel for McGee and all the players. Either way a huge amount of belief should transfer into the u20 and minor set ups this year. Great start to the weekend. Sligo seniors need to win in London after Wicklow toppling Laois and Wexford gaining momentum.

Sligonian (National) - 25/02/2023 21:27:38

All the best to Sligo Senior footballers and hurlers tomorrow. Hopefully we get promotion and stay up. Both are well capable of winning. Congrats to the minors today with a great win against Donegal 2-6 to 11pts. Sligeach Abu

Sligonian (National) - 25/03/2023 19:40:32

If the table is correct on Connachtgaa.ie then the draw doesn't affect us, Eoinog. If we win and Leitrim and Roscommon draw. We all end on 4 pts. 3 way tie goes on score difference. Roscommon have 0pts difference Leitrim have -4 Sligo have -4 It if we beat Mayo we go to -3 and knock Leitrim and Mayo out (if other game is a draw). So we don't need to rely on anyone else. Its in our hands. I am open to correction. Hard to believe we are still in it as we are playing awful stuff and well below capabilities but special mention to Marren and Dillon Walsh for bringing the energy and quality to drag it back from the death. Fair play to them both. There is hope but that performance was shocking at times. So many headless decisions and carries into contact without support.

Sligonian (National) - 10/04/2024 21:20:00

By all accounts yesterday was very poor. McEntee himself said he was "mad" is more his emotions after the game. Carrying into 3 players, giving away possession, very poor discipline, several frees brought forward, no punch, going nowhere with the ball. McEntee said the pressure of Div3 maybe an issue for the players. Ball in possession a problem. " our target is to be promoted, hopefully as champions" easily said. Most reports I got were, we looked a mess, we look like no gameplan, didn't know what to do, no structure to our attacks, This is McEntee's 4th year and he pretty much uses the same players, should he not be mad at himself? Does the team not reflect the manager and his mistakes. We were here last year after Laois. He picked an atrocious team that day and I was angry when I saw the 26 and then starting 15 yday. 4 or 5 of the starting 15 wouldn't make the 26 if I was manager and players continue to regress within this set up. I have always felt it was a mistake keeping McEntee on another year. I think he's very poor on team selection and tactics. I don't really see how he develops or improves players. Where is the evidence? 3 months of preparation and 3 years of developing that squad and your team produces that yday? For me we were always far more likely to go down than up. The players and management can talk about promotion all they want but you keep picking this starting 15 and you'll get a rude awakening. We are vunerable against Wicklow but starting Alan Mcloughlin and home advantage should see us win that one. Towey will be suspended. Hopefully Canice and Joe make the 26. Hopefully we can stay up as its like its going to be tough year for the seniors.

Sligonian (National) - 29/01/2024 20:04:02

Replying To muscles:  "I am writing him off as I know he needed to show McEntee something to get a chance, I'm only writing him off only as I know McEntee is unlikely to give him a chance unless something dramatic changes It's very hard for to select a player for a league game in January when that player does not train well or plays well in challenge games in January, especially when that player has not shown himself to be capable at this level yet. He can't select a player because a lad over in Canada from his club wrote on the internet that he could be a big game player and only plays well in big games. I am still hoping Joe will be the answer to our midfield woes in the future, he is still very young"
Fair enough, I agree, McEntee is unlikely to give him a chance by all accounts which is the wrong way to manage him in my opinion or anyone for that matter. Its a bit mad we are talking about the 26 not the starting 15.

Sligonian (National) - 30/01/2024 22:52:14

NFL 2018 Division 3 - 1 Like(s)
Wow that was nerve wracking, what a win, what character 4pts down mid way through the 2nd half offaly winning well, that goal from McDonnell the captain turns the tide Well done the Players, massive massive win for Sligo GAA

Sligonian (Sligo) - 25/03/2018 16:47:56

Massive win for the u20s Ros 1-8 Sligo 15. It was impressive after being 10-1 up to 12 to 1-8 up and closing it out with the last 3 scores. Congrats to all involved. All the best against Mayo.

Sligonian (National) - 05/04/2023 20:14:29

The positive Sligo GAA thread - 1 Like(s)
Sligo Centre of Excellence now complete, well done all involved, great achievement. Also good to hear Markievicz Park is now debt free, wouldn't it be great to someday look at upping capacity to holding a Home Senior Connacht Final. Feel our record in Senior finals would change for the better if we were at home.

Sligonian (Sligo) - 20/12/2017 16:58:12

Meath in the Qualifiers - 1 Like(s)
Good luck Sligo, thought our fans against Antrim were fantastic when the team really needed it, bring the Sligo roar

Sligonian (Sligo) - 30/06/2017 18:26:34

Sligo 2019 - 1 Like(s)
Taylor ratified unanimously by the idiots on the county committee. We are not a successful county because clowns get into these positions of power who have no clue what winning is nor do they even seek it. Just be a yes men and stay in power. This is why good GAA men leave or don't get involved. Players walked too. If Taylor had any self respect or cared about Sligo GAA he would have resigned. What other man wouldn't with his record and level of performance? Being Sligo manager does help his political persona and gives him more exposure. He needs media training too, if I hear him saying players losing by 15 pts are gaining great experience again or that the players morale is great and then in the same sentence well having these tough defeats has lowered morale, or that he would like to be up there with the big teams ETC... Well we are 11pts off Offaly who are poor. That's how low you've taken us and whilst its not all Taylor's fault re-appointing him ensures Division 4 for the foreseeable future and it makes us very vunerable to losses to Leitrim, London and New York. We wont progress under Taylor but looks like new members of CB are as useless as the last. He has little to no experience of developing younger players. With a better manager, here's my take if I was County Chairman, get local Businessmen to invest in Sligo GAA like other counties do, get them to fund the set up and a big name manager all of our big name players would commit. There is money in Sligo to be invested if you look hard enough. It would be hard for any self respecting Manager to work with our County board I know but money talks. Other counties see this decision as a laughing stock. To allow Taylor with little previous experience to learn on the job is disrespectful to the players and fans. Mark my words some of the players from this year will be thinking this but love playing too much to walk away. Its a mess and results and performances will follow suit.

Sligonian (Sligo) - 07/08/2019 20:06:24

I agree also, McEntee should not be getting another year. His 3 year term is up now and we should move on. There will be a post season review with the management and county board. There is enough possibility of good candidates within Sligo who are tactically aware, knowledgable, passionate and know the mindset of Sligo to be considered. McGowan, Brehony, McGee, Bree, Mitchell, Henry are all top tier coaches and/or managers. O Hara and Sloyan would be just off that for me. Timing is obviously another issue but McGowan and Breheny would be my top choices until Henry and Mitchell are ready for it. Only 1 person I know in my footballing community would want McEntee back none of the rest want him and these are people who actually go to the games. The casual viewer hasn't a clue on his mistakes or lack of tactical know how. The seniors have so many basic bad habits which look for me is a reflections of 5 years under keane. He has made some shocking mistakes even this last year. His team selection against Laois cost us, his match up on Tierney was -10pts, his match up choice on Enda Smith was very poor. Changing the goal keepers, not starting paddy in final after his best game. Those were mistakes a Junior B manager would not make and we are supposed to just take it because we are far too nice in Sligo. I would love a face to face with McEntee to understand his thinking. It doesn't matter what type of game or the way the game is going we all know the subs he will bring on, and the sequence. His team selections and tactics are the same. He likes players who have very low ceilings. He has shown he can't manage talented players and you won't win anything without them. He has watched club games so evaluation of players is poor too. I see certain talented players regressing under him this year. Is he getting the best out of Paddy, Lally, Evan, Spillane, etc... I don't think so. There is no clear pathway for Players. Players who are injured with no gametime come straight back into battle the heat of championship. No consistency with players who have the S+C done or not done. Picking players on Personality. Do the people of Sligo want to accept continued mediocrity? What if scraping us out of a poor div4 is McEntees peak? He gave the u20s from last year little to no gametime, how does he know there good enough yet or not if he hasn't given them a chance? Is he really putting that much of a weight on training... McEntee had no intention of giving last years u20s a chance and he will do the exact same next year. I heard O Boyle and Walsh are flying in training and showing some of the starters up, I heard the exact same last year. We need to be careful because our starting 15 needs an overhaul and McEntee is too loyal to average players and that could stagnate our u20s development like this year. The CB know this. Do we really trust Keane as well, he has been around for too long. I find McEntee very negative, yesterday after the game saying "15 to 20 point defeat would have been a good result before the game" so I guess 24 wasn't too bad. Our media were way too soft on that comment. There is a reason there was thousands following the u20s and hundreds following the seniors. Once you wear the black and white you have no right to throw in the towel like yesterday. I don't care the odds or who you are playing. With all due respect to the Tourlestrane lads, it was Leonard who picked McEntee over his own Clubman O Hara and just because I don't like McEntee as manager doesn't mean I stop supporting Sligo. Liam Gaughan and Johnny Kelly should be in there regardless. If only average players are committed it doesn't leave us looking very good. McEntee or Keane cannot be entrusted with our future. We have the evidence of the past that proves this. Hopefully the county board will listen to the lack of crowds and opinions of those who actually go to games. A new manager like McGowan would give the county a lift and re engage players who don't rate current management. He has also had great insight into Clare and Roscommon set ups. However, sadly I think the CB will retain McEntee for another year which is very frustrating and missed opportunity.

Sligonian (National) - 19/06/2023 20:12:43

Congrats enniscrone secondary school winning the Connacht juvenile D final, great for all the clubs out west

Sligonian (Sligo) - 26/04/2018 19:41:32

Replying To eoinog:  "MC Entee is doing a very good job. The last time we were in Div 3 I don't think we won a game. We have won 9 out of the last 11 games in the league and we are on an upward trajectory. Isn't it great to be in this position and knowing that we have good players to come on board in the next few years. As it stands we are still a very young team. Dean Rock retired recently with a bagful of medals and I heard him say he was 23/24 before he broke into the Dublin team and they weren't the all conquering team at that time. Once we got rid of the Daddy's on the sideline at underage, success arrived. How many titles did we throw away? What I like about MC Entee is that he doesn't give a flying f..K what people think of his style. I don't always agree with it but you can't argue with what he has done as a player or manager. He doesn't get involved with referees, sideline officials or doesn't make sensational headlines. When Towey got his red card, there was no question of an appeal. You take your punishment. Sligo never had as an experienced manager. Someone mentioned 3 players not involved. Rooney got loads of chances and never nailed a spot, Kyle Cawley I don't think is even playing club football. Haven't seen him with Mary's in a few years and Gaughan chose not to commit. This happens all the time. For the Down game we are on a hiding to nothing as no one is expecting anything."
There are a few digs in Eoinog's post towards a few Sligo greats who actually won Connacht. The CB seem to think beating div4 standard teams as some sort of worldly feat over that. So according to Eoinog McEntee is doing a very good job because he stands like a statue on the sideline, because he didn't appeal a clearcut sending off and because he doesn't care what people think. Embarrassing nonsense and metrics. Few Sligofans that are outside the circle think McEntee is doing a good job. The team yesterday looked disorganised, poorly set up and poorly conditioned and off the pace in key areas. As I said low defensive energy and low defensive IQ exposed badly against above average teams. With all the new posters the CB will be thinking there is some sort of agenda at play which is nonsense. They do read on here. All that being said I can't see the CB keeping McEntee on. Too much pressure and with better candidates in house.

Sligonian (National) - 04/03/2024 22:23:30

Great credit to the Sligo County Board on the Development squad pathway proposal to provide educational support to our young players doing junior cert exams providing a free maths revision programme with qualified Maths teacher over the next 6 saturdays in scarden, well done all involved in this great initiative.

Sligonian (Sligo) - 13/03/2018 05:40:59