Monaghan Forum

Popular Posts from seanfinn

Cavan V Monaghan - 5 Like(s)

Replying To foxes_denn:  "History is with the Cavan man, Only women have all Ireland medals in Monaghan. Our minors set the tone on Sunday, Seniors will follow and ulster will follow that. Monaghan are 14 players short of winning an all ireland."
Depends on how far you want to go with History....65 years by the looks of it. If you do manage to beat Monaghan then history suggests than Down would beat you lot. More recent winners of Sam, in fact all FIVE wins since Cavan last won it. 39 ulster titles....1 in the last 48 years. In that same time Down have won five, Armagh have won TEN and Sam once. IF Cavan get over Monaghan they will need more than History on their side to win Ulster. (PS - In that same period Monaghan have won 5 Anglo Celts to Cavan's one - Imagine that. Success in colour TV) I will stick with my original prediction Monaghan +2....

seanfinn (National) - 31/05/2017 18:54:38

Cavan V Monaghan - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Breffni39:  "Love the stats mate. You forgot one though: Monaghan - 0 (Zero) All-Irelands in 132 (one hundred and thirty two) years"
No...I didn't forget that Cavan have one 39 Ulster titles or have won Sam 5 times. It just means little or nothing to the game ahead. In fairness, impossible to forget Cavan's great success in the past as like the English soccer fans....Cavan football fans are quick to remind us about their glory days. However, per Foxes Denn post, its history....and not even recent history. I have seen Cavan win one Anglo Celt in my lifetime. Not one of the players has won an ulster title (yet!!) and a fair few of them/most of them wouldn't even remember 1997. Cavan are overdue a title for sure....but long distant history means nothing.

seanfinn (National) - 01/06/2017 12:05:17

Season Ticket at €120 - is it worth it? - 3 Like(s)

Replying To hill16no1man:  "Hardtimes Does Cavan not run a scheme like Dublin do with the Parnell pass?"
If there is a scheme to save money, you can be sure they have it in Cavan of all places.

seanfinn (National) - 27/10/2017 12:19:04

Cavan V Monaghan - 3 Like(s)

Replying To MadgeKing:  "There's a lot of emphasis being put on league form as the reason Monaghan are strong favourites for Sunday. That's fair enough on face value but you can look at a bit different too. v Dublin: Both lost Head to head: A draw (that Cavan probably should have won) v Tyrone: Both lost v Donegal: Cavan lost, Monaghan draw (thanks to a dodgy injury time penalty) v Mayo: Both won v Kerry: Cavan draw, narrow Monaghan win (1 point swing) So the real differences came down to Cavan tanking against Roscommon while Monaghan beat Roscommon like every other team in the Division did. We are not that far off when you look at it that way. If Cavan can avoid the nightmare 'Roscommon-type' performance then its there for them. Plus Monaghan hate the favourites tag..."
Or….. V Dublin - Cavan were comprehensively beaten by Dublin, Monaghan deservedly beaten but gave a better account of themselves V Monaghan - Neither team deserved a win V Tyrone - again ye were more comprehensively beaten V Donegal - Cavan were trounced by Donegal…We got out of jail and could easily have lost this one….but we didn't! V Mayo - Fair enough. A great performance by Cavan against a Mayo team with a few games under the belt. V Kerry -We won when it mattered, ye didn't! V Roscommon - Again we won when it mattered, ye didn't! We finished with 4 more points with a much better points difference. We finished above Tyrone (by a point) and below Donegal by virtue of points difference (+7 in their favour) This is the actual real difference. Comfort yourself whatever way you want.

seanfinn (National) - 09/06/2017 17:54:44

Football All Stars 2018 - 3 Like(s)

Replying To witnof:  "Lets go through some points. 1. Frees Cluxton has not won an All-Star since Dean Rock started taking the frees! Remember the abuse Cluxton got for free taking? People talking about bringing in rules to put a clock on each free to stop keepers taking them etc. When Cluxton stopped taking frees, it was, considered an art form when other keepers did it. The fact Beggan takes the frees means there is a flaw in the Monaghan team (no long range taker). Dublin plugged this flaw but Cluxton is considered less for it. 2. Long range kick outs. People seem to forget Cluxton in the Semi aginst Kerry for Kevin Mc's goal, first kick out against Tryone last year, the kick out to Jack Mc this year to kick start us in the Final. Cluxton can kick it as long and as accruate as Beggan.....so people don't push up so he goes short. Cluxton's long kick outs have turned games. 3. Pressure Since his mistakes are so rare Cluxton's are amplified. But when the real pressure is on, take '16 and '17 finals, he misses nothing. The guy is at nearly 100% kick out possession in tight games in big finals. its mad. People say it is becuase he goes short, NO! It is becuase teams back off as they prefer to try and force Dublin to play it up 90Ms rather than let Cluxtion open them up with one of his long kick outs. 4. Leadership This is hard to see and measure especially with Cluxton as he is no a public speaker. But he runs that defense and he is the team leader that players follow. Hard to put a weight on this but with so many stars in a dressing room and they respect one man like they do says a lot. Yes he is a driven headbanger but all good goalkeepers are not normal. Every Dublin game analysis is given over to Cluxton and how he is the launch pad for every Dublin attack, how if you can't close him down your doomed............................yet he is not good enough to win an All-Star. Dubs are 'clowns' for even suggesting he should get it etc. The silver lining for Dublin? We know he has been disrespected in not getting an All-Star since 2013, the players around him know he has been disrepected and so he will not be allowed retire and they will go an win a 5 in a row for him and, as Captain, his legendary status will be forever cemented. Then when he wins the All-Star he won't be arsed turning up :) :) :)"
Yawn. Also McManus takes long range frees.

seanfinn (National) - 02/11/2018 10:44:54

What's going wrong with Ulster teams? - 3 Like(s)

Replying To uibhfhaili1986:  "I haven't been saying it IS competitive.i said it WAS competitive."
It was not competitive though. It does not matter if the game was lost by 3 points or 13 points. They lost. End of story. Competitive would say the winning streak was broke. It wasn't. I don't see a big difference in how any of the top teams play in the last few years...Maybe Mayo are a little more traditional at a push. Ultimately they all defend in numbers frequently and have cynical play throughout. Dublin are just a bit better than Kerry, Mayo. By current form, I would throw my own county, Donegal and Tyrone in there. As an Offaly supporter I expect you have more concerns than Ulster football.

seanfinn (National) - 19/04/2017 14:09:02

Monaghan GAA thread - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Fontofwisdom:  "How are they not underachievers. I didn't say they should be winning the all-ireland but they haven't won Ulster in 10 years. Bar praise for their resilience, they've little to show for a decade of great players. You're patronising them, pushing the 'they're great to have stuck at it so long' line."
2015 was the last one. You can only count your pennies it seems.

seanfinn (National) - 15/07/2023 21:12:20

What's going wrong with Ulster teams? - 2 Like(s)

Replying To uibhfhaili1986:  "Competitive means a challenge being made to the team.When people say a match is competitive it means the losing team put it up to the winning team."
We differ on that. The same team winning all the time is just not competitive.

seanfinn (National) - 21/04/2017 14:20:58

Cavan V Monaghan - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Cavanlife:  "Cavan by 2. Mccarron is overrated for one thing and it will only take 2 players to mark himself and McManus Killian on conor and padraig on jack the so called "star""
Nice. 1-09 against the reigning All Ireland and League champions in April, 1-05 from play. Thats more than the ENTIRE Cavan team mustered up when ye faced them.

seanfinn (National) - 09/06/2017 18:00:22

Cavan V Monaghan - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Breffni39:  "Yeah I know all the stats thanks. Pick any timeframe you like and Monaghan have zero all irelands, it's just funny seeing stats being quoted that are clearly knowingly ignoring this elephant in the room. You were quoting Down and Armaghs achievements to highlight Cavans underachievement in a selected timeframe. Apparently unaware that this highlights Monaghans as well. "In the last 48 years". That's a very arbitrary timeframe. I wonder why you went with that one? We had a colour TV in 97 - imagine that!"
Good for you on the TV in 97 - you will note I didn't ignore that somewhat recent success but you're missing the point. History doesn't matter at this stage. The stats are merely for the benefit of your Cavan comrade who thinks history does matter. Cavan would likely beat Armagh or Down and it wouldn't matter about their respective histories. If I would be swayed by the past and I don't tend to be - I would look towards players who have proven they can win on a reasonably big occasion (like an Ulster semi-final or better again….a final) and are there on the park playing. Cavan don't have any of those available and it may or may not count. The reason I would say that it might count is two years ago in Breff we were lucky. Our experienced players and bench made the difference. The ghost of Mick Higgins didn't do much for Cavan that day or any other day.

seanfinn (National) - 01/06/2017 13:39:38

Down v Monaghan - 2 Like(s)

Replying To s goldrick:  "I think Monaghan peaked against Cavan. They put so much in to that game that they havn't recovered. I can see a few straight reds in this game. Down to win again."
I dont think so...But I think Cavan peaked V Monaghan. Results since then would say the same....

seanfinn (National) - 19/07/2017 17:32:12

Michael Duignan on Sky coverage and the GAA - 2 Like(s)
Well if the best the 'free to air' can offer is their abysmal analysis on the qualifiers then I am happy for Sky to get involved. The highlights from those games was a joke and the comments were blatantly inaccurate....I don't believe Gooch watched the games at all. He may have known McManus was black carded early in the game (inexplicably) instead of 'flying' per his quote. The ref was terrible in Mon v Wex he gave awful decisions against Wexford and I think tried to balance his bad calls by giving a card to Conor McManus. The ref was awful it seems in Westmeath V Armagh but again no analysis given or no talking points. I am a fan of the SG and RTE but Duignan is full of nonsense on this one...If we want more premium coverage then Sky or other pay per view service must be involved and they will only do that if there are good ties on offer to them.

seanfinn (National) - 10/07/2017 14:12:36

Fermanagh V Monaghan - 2 Like(s)

Replying To lambofgod:  "Where are all the cocky Monaghan supporters now???"
Same place you were two weeks ago after the Tyrone game....

seanfinn (National) - 03/06/2018 19:56:38

Fermanagh V Monaghan - 2 Like(s)

Replying To lambofgod:  "Please explain. Win, lose or draw we have been involved in some the most entertaining games to have been played over the past couple of decades."
Give it a rest. We get it, you thought it wasn't entertaining. Would you rather have been watching Kerry rack up a massive score against Clare? Fermanagh did what was needed to win and it paid off perfectly. If they went out to play 'attractive' football they would most likely be well beat (they lost by 9 points last year) Their objective was to prevent scores first and put pressure on Monaghan....They only thing that was disappointing is that Monaghan let this happen. It wasn't a surprise....Ask Armagh.

seanfinn (National) - 05/06/2018 09:56:14

Diarmuid Connolly - 2 Like(s)

Replying To TheUsername:  "Thanks my friend, I apologize that you seem offended by a contrasting opinion to your own, but call people delusional if that is the height of your debating skills. Absolutely I don't think you can be considered a Tuvalu great player unles you win an all Ireland, I mean that is the actual point of the sport. I don't get your reasoning at all, it's that kind of mentality of nearly beating Dublin as some kind of success, it's not. Not having a Celtic cross doesn't mean your not a great player, your not. You can talk about all the moral victories in the world, it's competitve sport if your not a winner then your a looser, how close you came to the winner is irrelevant. I'm sorry are you asking me to go of and count how many frees Keegan caused on Connolly, eh right, of you tot mate, I made the point you prove me wrong. I've been to every Dublin and Mayo game since the 2012 semi, I don't need to be watching match back! ;) You can see from the narrative of that the posters that most think Keegan struggle a bit on Connolly. I'd say that's surprising for you. I actually quite like Leegan and Connolly to be honest."
Nonsense post. Of course you can be considered a great player without winning an all ireland. A team wins an all ireland, not a single player. How could one player be expected to win sam if the rest of the team are not at a level required to win? It does not negate the talent of the individual. The example of Declan Browne is one of the best. He played in a fairly poor Tipp team and faced kerry and cork sides routinely that would dominate munster. Yet he shone on the pitch...He won two all stars as a tipp footballer. Only time I have seen that in my life. Ciaran McDonald from Mayo another fine example..... A current example is Conor McManus. He is one of the finest forwards in the game and truly a great player. He has not won sam, I would love to think he will but the odds are not in his favour. However, he is a great, great player.

seanfinn (National) - 26/03/2018 18:41:36

Carlow vs Monaghan - 2 Like(s)

Replying To GaryMc82:  "Carlow are a team I have always wanted to see do well, and its great to finally see it. What I noted about their game against the Dubs, was how they physically bossed that game early on. They are physically very strong and exceptionally fit, and from that point of view will get stuck in to Monaghan. A notable weakness is their lack of firepower, I think against a very solid defensive outfit like Monaghan, they might struggle for scores. Keepin it tight will be grand for 40-50 mins, but keeping the likes of McManus, McCarron and Kieran Hughes quiet after that becomes tricky as your best defendors get tired. Monaghan are a hard edged team, I was shocked at how Down managed to boss them in the Ulster Semi final. Part of me feels they may have underestimated what Down were going to bring. I think that result combined with them seeing Carlow's formidable performance against Dublin will act as a wake up call. While Sean Murphy was driving through the Dubs and managed to gain a lot of ground, I expect him to be given special attention by Monaghan. Brendan Murphy will need to put in a top drawer performance if Carlow are to have any hope of prevailing. I'll be shouting for Carlow,"
Cheering for Carlow....Shocker.

seanfinn (National) - 13/07/2017 11:10:40

Dublin vs Monaghan - 1 Like(s)

Replying To HurlingSnob:  "Why do you believe you can beat Dublin? You should have lost to Carlow. When's the last time Monaghan beat anyone of note?"
Hilarious. If u were at the game in Carlow u would have seen how comfortable the win was in the end. We had to make changes and use our bench and tire the Carlow defence in the second half. We never hit full speed in that game. Does that sound familiar? It should do. Its exactly how the Dublin V Carlow game went. There is a chance we can beat Dublin but its slim. We need to start much quicker than we have in any previous game and put Dublin on the back foot while all the time trying to prevent the early big scores going in from Dublin.

seanfinn (National) - 01/08/2017 17:28:39

Kimmage rant at Jim Gavin - 1 Like(s)

Replying To HandballRef:  "I have absolutely no time for Paul Kimmage whatsoever. He wrote an extraordinary book 27 years ago and has managed to live off of it's success since. He is a completely below average journalist. He conducts decent interviews with people from time to time but to me, he just comes across as a bitter, self righteous, begrudger of a man with an axe to grind with the whole world. I think he craves attention, is chronically argumentative and embraces conflict wherever he can get it. As a journalist and one who specialises in sports journalism, his knowledge of sport is extremely limited. Listening to him on the radio, he hasn't got a clue about the majority of sports. His articles are laced with negativity and he has to revert to type on 'the latest sports doping controversy' every so often in order to try and stay relevant. Jim Gavin is 10 times the man Paul Kimmage is."
I will defend Kimmage on one bit of that...He wrote the biography of Matt Hampson. Its also a good book!

seanfinn (National) - 25/09/2017 14:05:52

Replying To kildare73:  "If you read my first post what I said is irrefutable. Leinster has indeed been too handy most years for Dublin, no argument there. Now what I actually said is this year every single other province has joined Leinster in being easy wins for the victors. No serious challenge on the way to the titles even though it's something leinster got criticized for. It's now spread countrywide. You took exception to that but it's still a fact. Doesn't matter how many quarter final places you fill. That's just the difference of being knocked out the last week of July or the first week in August. There was a dominant team in each province even though The Rossies blew up badly since. You give out about us not challenging Dublin, but your own county didn't even try to take them on when you had your chance. Went in trying to keep the score down which you didn't do either. I think it's around three years since Dublin conceded the scoreline we got against them. At least we gave it a go. Don't pontificate to us about giving Dublin no challenge then curl up on the ropes yourselves from the first whistle. Massively hypocritical."
"People come on here and berate leinster football and pontificate to us on how poor it is and how we can't get near Dublin and then we get a game like yesterday from what is supposed to be one of Ulster's top teams. They were simply blown away. Tyrone walked through Ulster, Kerry the same in Munster and even The Rossies had it handy in Connacht. There wasn't one decent provincial final this year. I said before on here if Dublin were in any of the other provinces they would have won the championship in that province most of the last few years and I think that stands up to scrutiny. But they are in Leinster and Leinster teams have to deal with them earlier than the rest, while the other teams around the country are battling it out to win their own provinces and at least pick up some silverware. It's easy to look down your nose at leinster football but look around your own province and ask how strong is it in reality." As your memory isn't great, above is what you posted and what I disagree with. Dublin would win the other provinces over the last few years is nonsense and impossible to prove or disprove. If a few means three you could argue they may have won the last two….as they won the eventual All Ireland. They wouldn't have won Ulster in 2014 that was Donegal who beat Dublin in the SF that year… Now you are saying this problem in Leinster has spread across the provinces. That is laughable. It's a mighty two in a row for Tyrone - they won by two points last year. You are looking at 2017 and forming an opinion without taking a wider view. Even look back 5-10 years. That's where you would find a trend. You can't form a trend with 1 or even two points of data. Only in Leinster there is a clear trend. The gap has got wider and wider. In ten anglo celts - 3 for Tyrone, 3 for Donegal, 2 for Monaghan and 1 for Armagh. For Connacht, Its 5 for Mayo, 2 for Galway, 2 for Roscommon and 1 for Sligo. Fair enough Mayo had 5 in a row but they haven't won the last two and they still are making the last 4 each year. So even though Mayo are clearly one of the big boys - the Connacht championship is competitive and does throw up surprises. Munster is same as ever Kerry 7 and Cork 3. Here there is an issue of Kerry pulling away from Cork and now Tipp and Clare. Cork will rise again though. They did show some signs v Mayo that they can build on…..In ten Delaneys - 9 for Dublin (7 in a row - they didn't even do that in the 70's), 1 for Meath. If Tyrone go on and win another 2-3 more and widen the gap year on year then you would be 100% correct. You are not correct now and I don't think you will be in the future.

seanfinn (National) - 11/08/2017 17:36:50

Replying To bangbang:  "I'm loving the attempts at cute h**rism from the Monaghan supporters this week. Fair play to yis lads. I think we all know how this one will pan out. What we'll see from Monaghan will be one of the most ultra defensive displays at Croke Park in history, with an attempt to try and hit Dublin on the break and score a few goals. I think the full time score will be something like 0-6 to 0-5, to whom I don't know. With Monaghan planning on not leaving their own half for 70 minutes, the score could be even lower."
None of our previous meetings have ever gone that way but maybe this one time you will be correct...

seanfinn (National) - 01/08/2017 12:48:05